Detailed Action
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submitted on February 11, 2026.
Claims 21, 23-25, 27, 29-30, 32-34, 36-39, 41-45 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Priority
It was noted that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202210134223.1 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Applicant contacted the Application Assistance Unit (AAU) and was notified, by the AAU, that the certified copy of the priority document is in the PCT application. AAU indicated to notify the examiner to recognized the certified copy of the foreign application in PCT/CN2023/075660. See Interview Summary Record dated February 6, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention was not descriptive. Applicant has submitted a replacement title, which has addressed the objection. Accordingly, the objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 29 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention was directed to non-statutory subject matter. Applicant has amended the system to further comprise “at least one first processor” and “at least one second processor.” The amendment has overcome the rejection. Accordingly, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-31, 33-36, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramaniam et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0368767 (“Subramaniam”) in view of Lee et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0022541 (priority to foreign document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, “Lee”).
Applicant submitted that Lee says nothing about obtaining first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to an identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet. As such, Lee also doesn't disclose the above features of claim 21.
In response, Lee discloses receiving a query comprising a FQDN and determining whether the EASDF 112 comprises EAS domain configuration information corresponding to the FQDN (para. [0141]-[0142]), wherein the EAS domain configuration may include DNS server address and an ECS option (para. [0059],[0098],[0104]). Lee further discloses sending DNS query message based on the DNS server address. Lee discloses adding an ECS option to a DNS query sent to a DNS server (para. [0158]), wherein the ECS option corresponds to the FQDN and edge computing-related position of the UE (para. [0168]). A plurality of DNS servers may identify the ECS option transferred by the EASDF to identify the area that the UE is in and identifies an IP address of the EAS (para. [0144]). (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, see at least p. 7, 10, 12 of English translation))
While Lee discloses that the FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0079126 is further applied, which discloses the FQDN is an identifier of a service.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-25, 27, 29-30, 32-34, 36, 39, 41-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramaniam et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0368767 (“Subramaniam”) in view of Lee et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0022541 (priority to foreign document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, “Lee”) and Mas Rosique et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0079126 (“Mas Rosique”).
Regarding claim 21, Subramaniam teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by an application server discovery network element, an identifier of a target service from a first terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101. para. [0084] functionality of multiple devices may be performed by a single device);
obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, an address of a target application server that needs to be accessed by a plurality of terminals to access the target service (para. [0027] provide (at 214) a list of identified MECs 105 (e.g., MECs meeting the service requirements and location criteria) to Application Server 111. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. para. [0034] MEC Discovery/Orchestration System (“MDOS”) 301), wherein the plurality of terminals comprise the first terminal (para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate… an identification of one or more UEs 101 to which the service should be provided.).
Subramaniam does not teach obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to the identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet;
Subramaniam teaches obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, an address of a target application server but not based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server.
Subramaniam does not teach sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the first terminal.
Lee teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by an application server discovery network element, an identifier of a target from a first terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304);
obtaining, by an application server discovery network element, first information or an address of a local domain name system server from a session management network element corresponding to the identifier of the target from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subset (para. [0016] receiving EAS domain configuration information including an enhanced DNS client subnet ECS option from an edge application service domain repository (EDR). para. [0142] if the EAS domain configuration information for the FQDN included in the DNS query message… is not configured in the EASDF 304. EASDF 304 may send a request for EAS domain configuration information to the NEF (EDR). para. [0058] EDR 113 may coexist with other NFs, e.g., SMF. para. [0059] EASDF 112 receives EAS domain configuration information from the EDR 113. para. [0095]-[0097] EAS domain configuration information… may include… DNS server address, ECS option (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 7, 10, 12 of English translation));
obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server (para. [0144] a plurality of DNS servers may identify the ECS option transferred by the EASDF to identify the area that the UE is in and identifies an IP address of the EAS. para. [0369] DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include… the EAS IP address. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 31 of English translation);
sending, by an application server discovery network element, an address of a target application server to a first terminal (para. [0369] SMF 1103 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include the FQDN requested by the UE 1100 and the EAS IP address. para. [00373] EASDF 1104 transmits, to the UE 1100, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, see p. 31 of English translation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that the FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 29, Subramaniam teaches a system, comprising:
a session management network element (para. [0052], [0054] session management function, SMF);
an application server discovery network element, configured to:
receive an identifier of a target service from a first terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101. para. [0084] functionality of multiple devices may be performed by a single device);
obtain an address of target application server that needs to be accessed by a plurality of terminals to access the target service, wherein the plurality of terminals comprise the first terminal (para. [0027] provide (at 214) a list of identified MECs 105 (e.g., MECs meeting the service requirements and location criteria) to Application Server 111. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. para. [0034] MEC Discovery/Orchestration System (“MDOS”) 301. para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate… an identification of one or more UEs 101 to which the service should be provided).
Subramaniam does not teach wherein obtaining the address of the target application sever comprises: obtaining first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to the identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet;
Subramaniam does not teach send the address of the target application server to the first terminal, wherein the session management network element comprises at least one second processor configured to send the first information or the address of the local domain name system server to the application server discovery network element.
Lee teaches an application server discovery network element, comprising at least one first processor, configured to:
receiving an identifier of a target from a first terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304);
obtaining first information or an address of a local domain name system server from a session management network element corresponding to the identifier of the target from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subset (para. [0016] receiving EAS domain configuration information including an enhanced DNS client subnet ECS option from an edge application service domain repository (EDR). para. [0142] if the EAS domain configuration information for the FQDN included in the DNS query message… is not configured in the EASDF 304. EASDF 304 may send a request for EAS domain configuration information to the NEF (EDR). para. [0058] EDR 113 may coexist with other NFs, e.g., SMF. para. [0059] EASDF 112 receives EAS domain configuration information from the EDR 113. para. [0095]-[0097] EAS domain configuration information… may include… DNS server address, ECS option (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 7, 10, 12 of English translation));
sending, by an application server discovery network element, an address of a target application server to a first terminal (para. [0369] SMF 1103 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include the FQDN requested by the UE 1100 and the EAS IP address. para. [00373] EASDF 1104 transmits, to the UE 1100, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, see p. 31 of English translation)), wherein the session management network element comprises at least one second processor configured to send the first information or the address of the local domain name system server to the application server discovery network element (para. [0016] receiving EAS domain configuration information including an enhanced DNS client subnet ECS option from an edge application service domain repository (EDR). para. [0142] if the EAS domain configuration information for the FQDN included in the DNS query message… is not configured in the EASDF 304. EASDF 304 may send a request for EAS domain configuration information to the NEF (EDR). para. [0058] EDR 113 may coexist with other NFs, e.g., SMF).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 30, Subramaniam teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions (para. [0074] processor, memory), wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive an identifier of a target service from a first terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101. para. [0084] functionality of multiple devices may be performed by a single device);
obtain an address of a target application server that needs to be accessed by a plurality of terminals to access the target service, wherein the plurality of terminals comprise the first terminal (para. [0027] provide (at 214) a list of identified MECs 105 (e.g., MECs meeting the service requirements and location criteria) to Application Server 111. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. para. [0034] MEC Discovery/Orchestration System (“MDOS”) 301. para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate… an identification of one or more UEs 101 to which the service should be provided).
Subramaniam does not teach obtain first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to the identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet;
Subramaniam teaches obtaining an address of a target application server but not based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server.
Subramaniam does not teach sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the first terminal.
Lee teaches an apparatus configured to:
receive an identifier of a target from a first terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304);
obtain first information or an address of a local domain name system server from a session management network element corresponding to the identifier of the target from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subset (para. [0016] receiving EAS domain configuration information including an enhanced DNS client subnet ECS option from an edge application service domain repository (EDR). para. [0142] if the EAS domain configuration information for the FQDN included in the DNS query message… is not configured in the EASDF 304. EASDF 304 may send a request for EAS domain configuration information to the NEF (EDR). para. [0058] EDR 113 may coexist with other NFs, e.g., SMF. para. [0059] EASDF 112 receives EAS domain configuration information from the EDR 113. para. [0095]-[0097] EAS domain configuration information… may include… DNS server address, ECS option (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 7, 10, 12 of English translation));
obtain the address of the target application server based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server (para. [0144] a plurality of DNS servers may identify the ECS option transferred by the EASDF to identify the area that the UE is in and identifies an IP address of the EAS. para. [0369] DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include… the EAS IP address. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 31 of English translation);
send an address of a target application server to a first terminal (para. [0369] SMF 1103 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include the FQDN requested by the UE 1100 and the EAS IP address. para. [00373] EASDF 1104 transmits, to the UE 1100, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, see p. 31 of English translation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 39, Subramaniam teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, (para. [0078] executing software instructions stored in a computer-readable medium) cause an apparatus to:
receive an identifier of a target service from a first terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101. para. [0084] functionality of multiple devices may be performed by a single device);
obtain an address of a target application server that is required to be accessed by a plurality of terminals to access the target service, wherein the plurality of terminals comprise the first terminal (para. [0027] provide (at 214) a list of identified MECs 105 (e.g., MECs meeting the service requirements and location criteria) to Application Server 111. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. para. [0034] MEC Discovery/Orchestration System (“MDOS”) 301. para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate… an identification of one or more UEs 101 to which the service should be provided); and
Subramaniam does not teach obtain first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to the identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet;
Subramaniam teaches obtaining an address of a target application server but not based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server.
Subramaniam does not teach sending the address of the target application server to the first terminal.
Lee teaches:
receiving an identifier of a target from a first terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304);
obtaining, first information or an address of a local domain name system server from a session management network element corresponding to the identifier of the target from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subset (para. [0016] receiving EAS domain configuration information including an enhanced DNS client subnet ECS option from an edge application service domain repository (EDR). para. [0142] if the EAS domain configuration information for the FQDN included in the DNS query message… is not configured in the EASDF 304. EASDF 304 may send a request for EAS domain configuration information to the NEF (EDR). para. [0058] EDR 113 may coexist with other NFs, e.g., SMF. para. [0059] EASDF 112 receives EAS domain configuration information from the EDR 113. para. [0095]-[0097] EAS domain configuration information… may include… DNS server address, ECS option (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 7, 10, 12 of English translation));
obtaining the address of the target application server based on the first information or the address of the local domain name system server (para. [0144] a plurality of DNS servers may identify the ECS option transferred by the EASDF to identify the area that the UE is in and identifies an IP address of the EAS. para. [0369] DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include… the EAS IP address. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, p. 31 of English translation);
sending an address of a target application server to a first terminal (para. [0369] SMF 1103 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF 1104. para. [0370] DNS response message received by the EASDF 1104 may include the FQDN requested by the UE 1100 and the EAS IP address. para. [00373] EASDF 1104 transmits, to the UE 1100, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A, see p. 31 of English translation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route of DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] the UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] Step 8-1, the EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 23, Subramaniam does not teach the method according to claim 21, wherein the first information is used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option.
Lee teaches first information used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option (para. [0059] EASDF 112 is an NF that may add an ECS option. para. [0101] EAS domain configuration information may include at least one of multiple DNS server addresses, multiple ECS options. para. [0158] EASDF determines whether to add an ECS option to the DNS query message complying with the FQDN contained in the EAS domain configuration. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure of the first information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to identify an EAS in the area of the UE (para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 24, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the method according to claim 21, further comprising: storing, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server that needs to be accessed by the plurality of terminals to access the target service (Subramaniam: para. [0025] MEC Discovery System 115 may identify (at 212) one or more MECs 105 meeting the service requirements and/or meeting location criteria associated with UE 101. para. [0026] MEC Discovery System 115 may further identify MECs 105 that have the requested services installed. para. [0027] list of identified MECs 105… to Application Server 111. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses).
Regarding claim 25, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the method according to claim 21, further comprises: receiving, by the application server discovery network element, the identifier of the target service from a second terminal; and obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server locally based on an identifier of the second terminal and the identifier of the target service (Subramaniam: para. [0013] communicate with UEs 101. para. [0025] MEC Discovery System 115 may identify (at 212) one or more MECs 105 meeting the service requirements and/or meeting location criteria associated with UE 101. para. [0026] MEC Discovery System 115 may further identify MECs 105 that have the requested services installed. para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service (e.g., a location at which demand has been identified), an identification of one or more UEs 101).
Regarding claim 27, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the method according to claim 21, wherein after obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server, the method further comprises: sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the session management network element (Subramaniam: para. [0027] MEC Discovery System 115 may indicate a single MEC 105… to Application Server 111. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. Lee: para. [0371] EASDF 1104 may generate a DNS report message and transfer the generated DNS report message to the SMF 1103. DNS report message may include at least one of the UE IP address, FQDN (requested by the UE 1100), or the EAS IP address).
Regarding claim 32, Subramaniam does not teach the apparatus according to claim 30, wherein the first information is used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option.
Lee teaches first information used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option (para. [0059] EASDF 112 is an NF that may add an ECS option. para. [0101] EAS domain configuration information may include at least one of multiple DNS server addresses, multiple ECS options. para. [0158] EASDF determines whether to add an ECS option to the DNS query message complying with the FQDN contained in the EAS domain configuration. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure of the first information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to identify an EAS in the area of the UE (para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 33, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the apparatus according to claim 30, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: store the address of the target application server that needs to be accessed by the plurality of terminals to access the target service (Subramaniam: para. [0025] MEC Discovery System 115 may identify (at 212) one or more MECs 105 meeting the service requirements and/or meeting location criteria associated with UE 101. para. [0026] MEC Discovery System 115 may further identify MECs 105 that have the requested services installed. para. [0027] list of identified MECs 105. may indicate a single MEC 105. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. para. [0034] MEC Discovery/Orchestration System (“MDOS”) 301).
Regarding claim 34, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the apparatus according to claim 30, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: receive the identifier of the target service from a second terminal; and obtain the address of the target application server locally based on an identifier of the second terminal and the identifier of the target service (Subramaniam: para. [0013] communicate with UEs 101. para. [0025] MEC Discovery System 115 may identify (at 212) one or more MECs 105 meeting the service requirements and/or meeting location criteria associated with UE 101. para. [0026] MEC Discovery System 115 may further identify MECs 105 that have the requested services installed. para. [0042] service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service (e.g., a location at which demand has been identified), an identification of one or more UEs 101).
Regarding claim 36, Subramaniam in view of Lee and Mas Rosique teach the apparatus according to claim 30, further comprising: after obtaining the address of the target application server, sending the address of the target application server to the session management network element (Subramaniam: para. [0027] MEC Discovery System 115 may indicate a single MEC 105… to Application Server 111. para. [0028] include one or more identifiers of such MECs 105, such as IP addresses. Lee: para. [0371] EASDF 1104 may generate a DNS report message and transfer the generated DNS report message to the SMF 1103. DNS report message may include at least one of the UE IP address, FQDN (requested by the UE 1100), or the EAS IP address. See prior rationale).
Regarding claim 41, Subramaniam does not teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 39, wherein the first information is used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option.
Lee teaches first information used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option (para. [0059] EASDF 112 is an NF that may add an ECS option. para. [0101] EAS domain configuration information may include at least one of multiple DNS server addresses, multiple ECS options. para. [0158] EASDF determines whether to add an ECS option to the DNS query message complying with the FQDN contained in the EAS domain configuration. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure of the first information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to identify an EAS in the area of the UE (para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 42, Subramaniam teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 39, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: receive the identifier of the target service from a second terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101). Subramaniam does not teach after obtaining the address of the target application server, send the address of the target application server to the session management network element; obtain the address of the target application server from the session management network element, based on the identifier of the target service; and send the address of the target application server to the second terminal.
Lee teaches: after obtaining the address of the target application server, send the address of the target application server to the session management network element (para. [0371] EASDF 1104 may generate a DNS report message and transfer the generated DNS report message to the SMF 1103. DNS report message may include at least one of the UE IP address, FQDN (requested by the UE 1100), or the EAS IP address); receive the identifier of the target from a second terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304): obtain the address of the target application server from the session management network element, based on the identifier of the target (para. [0144] DNS server 309 performs DNS resolution on the FQDN included in the DNS query message. para. [0149] DNS response message transmitted from the DNS server is transferred to the SMF 303. SMF 303 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF); and send the address of the target application server to the second terminal (para. [0153] EASDF 304 transmits, to the UE 300, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address for the FQDN requested). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server for additional UEs (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 43, Subramaniam does not teach the system according to claim 29, wherein the first information is used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option.
Lee teaches first information used to determine an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option, or the first information is an extension mechanism for a domain name system client subnet option (para. [0059] EASDF 112 is an NF that may add an ECS option. para. [0101] EAS domain configuration information may include at least one of multiple DNS server addresses, multiple ECS options. para. [0158] EASDF determines whether to add an ECS option to the DNS query message complying with the FQDN contained in the EAS domain configuration. (Supported by foreign priority document 10-2021-0059456, KR20220118273A) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure of the first information. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to identify an EAS in the area of the UE (para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 44, Subramaniam teaches the system according to claim 29, wherein the at least one first processor comprised in the application server discovery network element is further configured to: receive the identifier of the target service from a second terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101). Subramaniam does not teach: send the address of the target application server to the session management network element: obtain the address of the target application server from the session management network element based on the identifier of the target service; and send the address of the target application server to the second terminal; and wherein the at least one second processor comprised in the session management network element is further configured to: receive the address of the target application server; and send the address of the target application server corresponding to the identifier of the target service received from the second terminal to the application server discovery network element.
Lee teaches: send the address of the target application server to the session management network element (para. [0371] EASDF 1104 may generate a DNS report message and transfer the generated DNS report message to the SMF 1103. DNS report message may include at least one of the UE IP address, FQDN (requested by the UE 1100), or the EAS IP address): receive the identifier of the target from a second terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304): obtain the address of the target application server from the session management network element, based on the identifier of the target (para. [0144] DNS server 309 performs DNS resolution on the FQDN included in the DNS query message. para. [0149] DNS response message transmitted from the DNS server is transferred to the SMF 303. SMF 303 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF); and wherein the at least one second processor comprised in the session management network element is further configured to: receive the address of the target application; and send the address of the target application corresponding to the identifier of the target received from the second terminal to the application server discovery network element (para. [0144] DNS server 309 performs DNS resolution on the FQDN included in the DNS query message. para. [0149] DNS response message transmitted from the DNS server is transferred to the SMF 303. SMF 303 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server for additional UEs (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Regarding claim 45, Subramaniam teaches the method according to claim 27, wherein after sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the session management network element, the method further comprises: receiving, by the application server discovery network element, the identifier of the target service from a second terminal (para. [0038] scheduled event may correspond to a request for service (e.g., received from UE 101). para. [0042] output service request 409 to Orchestration Platform 113, MEC Discovery System. service request 409 may indicate a particular geographical location associated with the service…, an identification of one or more UEs 101). Subramaniam does not teach: obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server from the session management network element, based on the identifier of the target service; and sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the second terminal.
Lee teaches: receiving, by the application server discovery network element, the identifier of the target from a second terminal (para. [0141] transmits a DNS query message including FQDN for discovering EAS to the EASDF 304): obtaining, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server from the session management network element, based on the identifier of the target (para. [0144] DNS server 309 performs DNS resolution on the FQDN included in the DNS query message. para. [0149] DNS response message transmitted from the DNS server is transferred to the SMF 303. SMF 303 forwards the DNS response message to the EASDF); and sending, by the application server discovery network element, the address of the target application server to the second terminal (para. [0153] EASDF 304 transmits, to the UE 300, the DNS response message containing the EAS IP address for the FQDN requested). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Lee’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for a benefit of providing session management including configuration of the server discovery network element and providing the capability to route DNS queries to a DNS server to determine the target application server for additional UEs (para. [0049],[0146]).
While Lee discloses that FQDN is related to the EAS and is for discovering the EAS, Lee does not expressly teach that the FQDN is an identifier of the target service. Mas Rosique discloses receiving an identifier, i.e., FQDN, of a target service (para. [0030] receiving a trigger for a service, which may be a DNS request or an application data/request) related to an application in a User Equipment (UE). para. [0083] UE DNS query requesting FQDN resolution for an EC application. para. [0102] EC service is identified by a FQDN (the AS-FQDN). application in the UE transmits a DNS discovery request to discover the Edge Application Server (EAS). para. [0124] EC service is identified by an FQDN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam and Lee with Mas Rosique’s disclosure of receiving an identifier of a target service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided a capability to request a particular service/application and identify an EAS providing the service.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramaniam in view of Lee, Mas Rosique, and Velev et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0189187 (“Velev”).
Regarding claim 38, Subramaniam does not teach the apparatus according to claim 30, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to further cause the apparatus to: receive identifiers of the plurality of terminals and the identifier of the target service from an application function network element.
Velev teaches causing an apparatus to: receive identifiers of a plurality of terminals and an identifier of the target service from an application function network element (para. [0143] following information can be sent from the AF/E-PS 225 to the network: 1) service identifier (e.g., service ID #x, this is used in order to identify the service between the service provider (AF/E-PS 225) and the network operator); 2) a list of one or more external IDs of the UEs (e.g., associated with the specific service), or an external group ID). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Subramaniam with Velev’s disclosure of causing an apparatus to: receive identifiers of a plurality of terminals and an identifier of the target service from an application function network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do in order to have similarly provided information to register the UEs and configure the network to provide the specific service.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Tang US Patent Publication No. 2024/0187374, priority to PCT/CN2021/086325, discloses obtaining first information or an address of a local domain name system server corresponding to an identifier of the target service from a session management network element based on the identifier of the target service, wherein the first information corresponds to a domain name system client subnet (para. [0113] SMF can also send both the DNS server information and the ECS option(s) to the EASDF. para. [0122] EASDF adds the ECS option into the DNS query message as specified in RFC 7871[6] and sends the DNS query message to C-DNS server. para. [0127] EAS IP address or the FQDN in the DNS response. EASDF sends the DNS response message to the UE).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445