DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on June 30, 2026.
Claims 1, 5-9 and 16 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 5-9 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 2-4, 10-15 and 17-20 have been cancelled.
All claims are under examination in this application.
Withdrawn Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection of claims 8-15 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific asserted utility or a well-established utility has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of claims 10-15 and 17-20, and the amendment to claims 8-9 to recite “the targeted carrier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 6-15 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because:
claim 6 recites the limitation "the drug carrier" in line 1 and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims to recite “the targeted carrier”;
claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name Temodal has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim to recite temozolamide;
claims 8-15 and 17-20, as noted above, are drawn “the use” of the composition of claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of the cancellation of claims 10-15 and 17-20, and the amendment to claims 8-9 to recite “the targeted carrier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-7 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being 102(a)(2) by Chen et al. (EP 4190349) has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 to recite a transmembrane protein CD 63 and a microRNA encapsulated within the extracellular vesicle, wherein the microRNA comprises miRNA-181.
Newly Applied Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Instant claim 8, depends from claim 1. The claims are drawn to a targeted carrier. Claim 8 does not further limit to the structural elements of claim 1 but rather recites functional properties which would necessarily be present in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (EP 4190349) in view of Zeng et al (Current Strategies for Exosome Cargo Loading and Targeting Delivery, Cells, 2023, 12, 1416, Published 17 May 2023).
Chen discloses exosomes having an anti-HLA-G protein specific for cancer, and the exosome is used as a delivery vehicle to deliver therapeutic agents for treating cancer (abstract).
Chen discloses a polynucleotide, which comprises a sequence encoding a fusion protein, wherein the fusion protein comprises a targeting protein and an exosomal transmembrane protein, and the targeting protein comprises an anti-human leukocyte antigen G (HLA-G) protein (paragraph 0024). The exosomal transmembrane protein comprises CD 63 (paragraph 0026), for example.
Figure 9 shows an amount of miRNA and doxorubicin co-loaded into exosomes.
Regarding claim 5, as noted above, the exosomal transmembrane protein comprises CD 63 (paragraph 0026), for example.
Regarding claim 6, the exosome comprises an anti-cancer drug used to target glioblastoma (claims 5, 7). The anti-cancer agent is a chemotherapy agent or a microRNA for treating cancer (claim 8).
Regarding claim 7, chemotherapy agents include temozolomide (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claims 8-9, the instant claims recite functional properties of the targeted carrier recited in instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the exosomes can be incorporated into a pharmaceutical composition to be administered for the treatment of cancer (paragraph 0050-0052).
Chen does not disclose the microRNA is miRNA-181.
Zeng discloses exosomes, due to their high biocompatibility, stability, and low immunogenicity, are favored as cargo carriers. They offer protection against cargo degradation (abstract).
Exosomes loaded with miRNA 181 and doxorubicin. Modifications, including the use of temozolamide into the exosomes is additionally disclosed (Advantages of Exosomes as Drug Carriers).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have used miRNA in the exosomes of Chen since Zeng discloses it is suitable for inclusion in exosomes and can be used in combination with exemplified doxorubicin and alternative temozolomide of Chen.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA S MERCIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615