DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 31-34, 36-38, 40, and 154 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffett-Kennedy (US 12,244,974) in view of Dellock et al. (hereinafter “Dellock” US 2021 / 0229597) and further in view of Dagley et al. (hereinafter “Dagley” US 2020 / 0386568).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 along with Fig. 7) a method of controlling a megapixel projector (100; see Col. 1, Ln. 14-17; and Col. 4, Ln. 17-23) of a vehicle (200) including a sensor (300; see Col. 4, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-47; and Col. 7, Ln. 1-21), the method comprising:
causing to output an environmental scan (i.e., a sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle) of the vehicle (200) based at least in part on sensor data from the sensor (300) of the vehicle (200) for processing at a central server ((410, 430); again, see Col. 5, Ln. 10-25 and Ln. 41-47);
receiving from the central server (410, 430) an image data structure comprising image metadata (i.e., an image and/or image parameters) based at least in part on the environmental scan (i.e., the sensor scan);
receiving a megapixel projector control data structure comprising megapixel projection control instructions (i.e., image projection parameters), based at least in part on the environmental scan (i.e., the sensor scan; again, see Col. 4, Ln. 54-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-9; and Col. 6, Ln. 17-24);
causing image metadata (i.e., image data) based at least in part on the image data structure (i.e., the image and/or image parameters) to be sent to a megapixel projector controller (430);
causing megapixel projector control instructions (i.e., projection instructions), based at least in part on the megapixel projector control data structure (i.e., the image projection parameters), to be sent to the megapixel projector controller (430);
causing to generate an image by the megapixel projector (100; see Col. 7, Ln. 22-37 and Ln. 45-53; Col. 8, Ln. 7-27 and Ln. 44-48; Col. 9, Ln. 35-67; and Col. 10, Ln. 37-48) based at least in part on the image metadata (i.e., the image data) and the megapixel projector control instructions (i.e., the projection instructions; and see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20).
Buffett-Kennedy suggests that sensor data from the sensor (300) of the vehicle (200) is processed at a central server (see Col. 5, Ln. 41-47). Further, Buffett-Kennedy suggests that image data structures and control data structures can be received from remote databases via a web service (see Col. 9, Ln. 35-67). However, Buffett-Kennedy does not provide an example implementation in which the environmental scan is processed via a web service, and the image data structures and megapixel projector control data structures are received from that web service based on the environmental scan. Further, while Buffett-Kennedy discloses that the vehicle (200) is implemented in an autonomous vehicle application (see Col. 1, Ln. 34-41 and Col. 7, Ln. 40-42), Buffett-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose that the image metadata is for a validation image, wherein the validation image is unique to a ride of a ride service application, and the validation image is generated by the megapixel projector.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dellock discloses (see Fig. 1 and Page 1, Para. [0012]) a method of controlling a megapixel projector (148) of a vehicle (105) implemented in either of an autonomous vehicle application or a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]), wherein the vehicle (105) includes a sensor (193), wherein the method comprises outputting an environmental scan (i.e., a sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle) of the vehicle (105) based on sensor data from the sensor (193) for processing at a web service (125, 170), and subsequently receiving from that web service (125, 170) an image data structure (i.e., an image and/or image parameters) and a megapixel projector control data structure (i.e., image projection parameters) based at least in part on the environment scan (i.e., the sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle), and further utilizing a megapixel projector controller (145) to generate an image by the megapixel projector (148) based at least in part on image metadata (i.e., image data) and megapixel projector control instructions (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0018]; Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0041]; and Page 6, Para. [0045] and [0056]). It is a goal of Dellock to provide a means for dynamically programming and implementing a megapixel projector in a vehicle that allows for the display of information and/or images to users outside of the vehicle through third-party services and control, particularly in a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0003]). In this regard, Dellock suggests that such a means can be utilized particularly in autonomous vehicle and ride service applications, wherein the image metadata (i.e., image data) is for a validation image (i.e., an image specific to a user of the ride service), wherein the validation image (i.e., the image specific to the user of the ride service) is unique to a ride of a ride service, and the validation image (i.e., the image specific to the user of the ride service) is generated by the megapixel projector (see Page 3, Para. [0022]; Page 4, Para. [0037]; and Page 6, Para. [0051]), as ride service applications are becoming more common, and the advantages of utilizing the megapixel projector to provide validation images in the ride service application provides the benefits of easily and efficiently connecting a rider with a ride service vehicle (again, see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy with the teachings of Dellock, such that the environmental scan, as disclosed by Buffett-Kennedy, is processed via a web service, as suggested by Dellock, and the image data structures and megapixel projector control data structures are received from that web service based on the environmental scan, in order to allow for the display of information and/or images to users outside of the vehicle through third-party services and control in support of a number of applications. In this regard, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the combined teachings of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock, that the image metadata as disclosed by Buffett-Kennedy can be for a validation image, as suggested by Dellock, wherein the validation image is unique to a ride of a ride service application, and the validation image is generated by the megapixel projector, in order to support the dynamic programming of the megapixel projector to easily and efficiently connect a rider to a ride service vehicle in an application that is becoming more common.
Still, while Dellock suggests a function for autonomous control of the locking and/or unlocking of the vehicle based on validation of a rider utilizing the ride service (see Para. [0033]-[0034]), neither Buffett-Kennedy nor Dellock explicitly discloses a process for receiving a signal from a mobile communication device associated with a rider utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device, of the validation image; and causing to unlock the vehicle based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device has scanned the validation image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dagley discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) a method for autonomously connecting a rider (222) with a vehicle (208) using a user’s mobile communication device (224; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0032]), wherein the method comprises validating (i.e., authenticating) a particular user (222) in association with a particular vehicle (208) by displaying a validation image (i.e., a physical marker (342)) with the vehicle (208) and subsequently receiving a signal from a mobile communication device (224) associated with a rider (222) utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device (224), of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)); and causing to unlock the vehicle (208) based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device (224) has scanned the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342); see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041]). It is a goal of Dagley to provide a method for simply and effectively locating and accessing a vehicle autonomously in a manner that is directly applicable to a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock with the teachings of Dagley, such that the method of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock, further comprises a process for receiving a signal from a mobile communication device associated with a rider utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device, of the validation image; and causing to unlock the vehicle based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device has scanned the validation image, as suggested by Dagley, in order to provide a simple and effective means for locating and accessing a vehicle in the ride service application autonomously using a method that was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) sending and receiving information to and from an application accessed via the mobile communication device (i.e., a smart phone, tablet, or handheld device); and
causing to generate for display, at the mobile communication device (i.e., the smart phone, tablet, or handheld device), a user-selectable option (i.e., a graphical user interface (GUI)) for controlling the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector (see Col. 5, Ln. 63-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-9).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the causing to generate for display, at the mobile communication device (i.e., the smart phone, tablet, or handheld device), the user-selectable option (i.e., a graphical user interface (GUI)) for controlling the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector (100) includes at least one of an option for associating the validation image with a location of the vehicle (200), an option to display the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector (100), or an option to display the image to be generated by the megapixel projector in an environment where the validation image is to be displayed (see Col. 5, Ln. 63-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-24; also again, see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041] of Dagley).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) determining a local condition (i.e., a position, luminance/light, surface condition, heat, humidity, motion, object location, etc.) at or near the vehicle (200) based at least in part on the environmental scan (see at least Col. 8, Ln. 28-48; Col. 9, Ln. 2-15 and Ln. 35-49; and Col. 12, Ln. 51-63); and
adjusting the validation image based at least in part on the local condition (see Col. 4, Ln. 37-43 and Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-25).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 along with Fig. 7) monitoring a condition of a driver in the vehicle, wherein the condition (i.e., the emergency condition) comprises at least one of fatigue, distraction, an irregular driving pattern (i.e., as corresponding to the vehicle (200) being in an accident), frequent lane changes, excessive speed, or following too closely another vehicle (again, see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the environmental scan includes an illumination condition (i.e., a luminance or lighting condition) around the vehicle (200), the method comprising:
determining an optimal location for projection of the validation image based at least in part on the illumination condition (i.e., the luminance or lighting condition) around the vehicle (200), wherein the megapixel projection control instructions include information corresponding to the optimal location for projection of the validation image (see at least Col. 4, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-9; Col. 8, Ln. 28-48; Col. 9, Ln. 2-15 and Ln. 35-49; and Col. 12, Ln. 51-63).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Dellock discloses (see Fig. 1) determining a location (i.e., a geographic location) of the vehicle (105)
sending the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105) to the web service (170); and
receiving, from the web service (170), an environmental condition associated with the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105), wherein the validation image is generated based at least in part on the environmental condition associated with the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0017] and [0019]; and see Page 4, Para. [0037]; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these teachings of Dellock with the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy in order to support the dynamic programming of the megapixel projector to easily and efficiently connect a rider to a ride service vehicle in an application that is becoming more common).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Dellock discloses (see Fig. 1) that the environmental condition includes a weather condition (see Page 2, Para. [0019]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, again Dagley discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) is an image for verifying the ride service, the method comprising:
receiving a signal from the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222) utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222), of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) for verifying the ride service; and
based at least in part on receiving the signal from the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222) verifying capture of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) for verifying the ride service, causing the vehicle to perform an action (i.e., a door unlocking action; again, see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041]).
As pertaining to Claim 31, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 along with Fig. 7) a system for controlling a megapixel projector (100; see Col. 1, Ln. 14-17; and Col. 4, Ln. 17-23) of a vehicle (200), the system comprising:
a sensor (300) configured to output an environmental scan (i.e., a sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle) of the vehicle (200; see Col. 4, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-47; and Col. 7, Ln. 1-21);
a central server (410, 430) configured to receive the environmental scan (i.e., the sensor scan) and generate an image data structure comprising image metadata (i.e., an image and/or image parameters), and a megapixel projector control data structure comprising megapixel projection control instructions (i.e., image projection parameters) based at least in part on the environmental scan (i.e., the sensor scan; again, see Col. 4, Ln. 54-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-25 and Ln. 41-47; and Col. 6, Ln. 17-24);
a megapixel projector controller (430) configured to receive image metadata (i.e., image data) based on the image data structure (i.e., the image and/or image parameters) and megapixel projector control instructions (i.e., projection instructions) based on the megapixel projector control data structure (i.e., the image projection parameters);
the megapixel projector (100) configured to generate the image (see Col. 7, Ln. 22-37 and Ln. 45-53; Col. 8, Ln. 7-27 and Ln. 44-48; Col. 9, Ln. 35-67; and Col. 10, Ln. 37-48) based at least in part on the image metadata (i.e., the image data) and the megapixel projector control instructions (i.e., the projection instructions; see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20).
Buffett-Kennedy suggests that sensor data from the sensor (300) of the vehicle (200) is processed at a central server (see Col. 5, Ln. 41-47). Further, Buffett-Kennedy suggests that image data structures and control data structures can be received from remote databases via a web service (see Col. 9, Ln. 35-67). However, Buffett-Kennedy does not provide an example implementation in which the environmental scan is processed via a web service, and the image data structures and megapixel projector control data structures are received from that web service based on the environmental scan. Further, while Buffett-Kennedy discloses that the vehicle (200) is implemented in an autonomous vehicle application (see Col. 1, Ln. 34-41 and Col. 7, Ln. 40-42), Buffett-Kennedy does not explicitly disclose that the image metadata is for a validation image, wherein the validation image is unique to a ride of a ride service application, and the validation image is generated by the megapixel projector.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dellock discloses (see Fig. 1 and Page 1, Para. [0012]) a method of controlling a megapixel projector (148) of a vehicle (105) implemented in either of an autonomous vehicle application or a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]), wherein the vehicle (105) includes a sensor (193), wherein the method comprises outputting an environmental scan (i.e., a sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle) of the vehicle (105) based on sensor data from the sensor (193) for processing at a web service (125, 170), and subsequently receiving from that web service (125, 170) an image data structure (i.e., an image and/or image parameters) and a megapixel projector control data structure (i.e., image projection parameters) based at least in part on the environment scan (i.e., the sensor scan of the region proximate to the vehicle), and further utilizing a megapixel projector controller (145) to generate an image by the megapixel projector (148) based at least in part on image metadata (i.e., image data) and megapixel projector control instructions (see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0016]-[0018]; Page 5, Para. [0039]-[0041]; and Page 6, Para. [0045] and [0056]). It is a goal of Dellock to provide a means for dynamically programming and implementing a megapixel projector in a vehicle that allows for the display of information and/or images to users outside of the vehicle through third-party services and control, particularly in a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0003]). In this regard, Dellock suggests that such a means can be utilized particularly in autonomous vehicle and ride service applications, wherein the image metadata (i.e., image data) is for a validation image (i.e., an image specific to a user of the ride service), wherein the validation image (i.e., the image specific to the user of the ride service) is unique to a ride of a ride service, and the validation image (i.e., the image specific to the user of the ride service) is generated by the megapixel projector (see Page 3, Para. [0022]; Page 4, Para. [0037]; and Page 6, Para. [0051]), as ride service applications are becoming more common, and the advantages of utilizing the megapixel projector to provide validation images in the ride service application provides the benefits of easily and efficiently connecting a rider with a ride service vehicle (again, see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy with the teachings of Dellock, such that the environmental scan, as disclosed by Buffett-Kennedy, is processed via a web service, as suggested by Dellock, and the image data structures and megapixel projector control data structures are received from that web service based on the environmental scan, in order to allow for the display of information and/or images to users outside of the vehicle through third-party services and control in support of a number of applications. In this regard, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the combined teachings of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock, that the image metadata as disclosed by Buffett-Kennedy can be for a validation image, as suggested by Dellock, wherein the validation image is unique to a ride of a ride service application, and the validation image is generated by the megapixel projector, in order to support the dynamic programming of the megapixel projector to easily and efficiently connect a rider to a ride service vehicle in an application that is becoming more common.
Still, while Dellock suggests a function for autonomous control of the locking and/or unlocking of the vehicle based on validation of a rider utilizing the ride service (see Para. [0033]-[0034]), neither Buffett-Kennedy nor Dellock explicitly discloses control circuitry configured to receive a signal from a mobile communication device associated with a rider utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device, of the validation image; and cause to unlock the vehicle based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device has scanned the validation image.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dagley discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) control circuitry configured to implement a method for autonomously connecting a rider (222) with a vehicle (208) using a user’s mobile communication device (224; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0032]), wherein the method comprises validating (i.e., authenticating) a particular user (222) in association with a particular vehicle (208) by displaying a validation image (i.e., a physical marker (342)) with the vehicle (208) and subsequently receiving a signal from a mobile communication device (224) associated with a rider (222) utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device (224), of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)); and causing to unlock the vehicle (208) based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device (224) has scanned the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342); see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041]). It is a goal of Dagley to provide a method for simply and effectively locating and accessing a vehicle autonomously in a manner that is directly applicable to a ride service application (see Page 1, Para. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock with the teachings of Dagley, such that the system of Buffett-Kennedy and Dellock, further comprises control circuitry configured to perform a process for receiving a signal from a mobile communication device associated with a rider utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device, of the validation image; and causing to unlock the vehicle based at least in part on receiving the signal indicating that the mobile communication device has scanned the validation image, as suggested by Dagley, in order to provide a simple and effective means for locating and accessing a vehicle in the ride service application autonomously using a method that was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As pertaining to Claim 32, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) the mobile communication device (i.e., a smart phone, tablet, or handheld device) configured to send and receive information to and from an application; and
a display (i.e., associated with the smart phone, tablet, or handheld device) configured to present a user-selectable option (i.e., a graphical user interface (GUI)) for controlling the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector (see Col. 5, Ln. 63-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-9).
As pertaining to Claim 33, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the display is configured to present at least one of an option (i.e., a graphical user interface (GUI)) for associating the validation image with a location of the vehicle (200), an option (i.e., the graphical user interface (GUI)) to display the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector (100), or an option to display the validation image to be generated by the megapixel projector in an environment where the validation image is to be displayed (see Col. 5, Ln. 63-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-24; also again, see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041] of Dagley).
As pertaining to Claim 34, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) a local condition detector (i.e., again, see (300)) configured to determine a local condition (i.e., a position, luminance/light, surface condition, heat, humidity, motion, object location, etc.) at or near the vehicle (200) based on the environmental scan (see at least Col. 8, Ln. 28-48; Col. 9, Ln. 2-15 and Ln. 35-49; and Col. 12, Ln. 51-63); and
an image adjuster (410 430) configured to adjust the validation image based at least in part on the local condition (see Col. 4, Ln. 37-43 and Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-25).
As pertaining to Claim 36, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 along with Fig. 7) that the control circuitry is further configured to monitor a condition of a driver of the vehicle (i.e., an emergency condition), wherein the monitored condition comprises at least one of fatigue, distraction, an irregular driving pattern (i.e., as corresponding to the vehicle (200) being in an accident), frequent lane changes, excessive speed, or following too closely another vehicle (again, see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20).
As pertaining to Claim 37, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the environmental scan includes an illumination condition (i.e., a luminance or lighting condition) around the vehicle (200), the system further comprising:
an optimal location determiner (410, 430) configured to determine an optimal location for projection of the validation image based on the illumination condition (i.e., the luminance or lighting condition) around the vehicle (200), wherein the megapixel projection control instructions include information corresponding to the optimal location for projection of the validation image (see at least Col. 4, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 5, Ln. 1-9; Col. 8, Ln. 28-48; Col. 9, Ln. 2-15 and Ln. 35-49; and Col. 12, Ln. 51-63).
As pertaining to Claim 38, Dellock discloses (see Fig. 1) a location determiner (i.e., GPS) configured to determine a location (i.e., a geographic location) of the vehicle (105); and
wherein the web service (170) is further configured to receive the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105) and provide an environmental condition associated with the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105), wherein the validation image is generated based on the environmental condition associated with the location (i.e., the geographic location) of the vehicle (105; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0017] and [0019]; and see Page 4, Para. [0037]; again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these teachings of Dellock with the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy in order to support the dynamic programming of the megapixel projector to easily and efficiently connect a rider to a ride service vehicle in an application that is becoming more common).
As pertaining to Claim 40, again Dagley discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) is an image for verifying the ride service, the system further comprising:
a signal receiver configured to receive a signal from the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222) utilizing the ride service, wherein the signal includes information verifying capture, by the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222), of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) for verifying the ride service; and
a vehicle action controller configured to cause the vehicle to perform an action (i.e., a door unlocking action) based on receiving the signal from the mobile communication device (224) associated with the rider (222) verifying capture of the validation image (i.e., the physical marker (342)) for verifying the ride service, causing the vehicle to perform an action (i.e., a door unlocking action; again, see Page 4, Para. [0033] and [0035]; and Page 5, Para. [0041]).
As pertaining to Claim 154, Buffett-Kennedy discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the megapixel projector (100) is a digital light processing (DLP) projector (see Col. 4, Ln. 7-23).
Claims 151 and 153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buffett-Kennedy in view of Dellock in view of Dagley and further in view of Liu (US 2024 / 0343254).
As pertaining to Claim 151, Buffett-Kennedy discloses monitoring a condition of a driver in the vehicle (again, see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20). However, none of Buffett-Kennedy, Dellock, and Dagley explicitly discloses that the monitoring of the condition of the driver of the vehicle comprises using facial expression recognition to detect signs of drowsiness, fatigue, or distraction of the driver.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a means for generating an image (see (400)) based at least in part on a monitored condition of a driver of a vehicle, wherein monitoring the condition of the driver of the vehicle comprises using facial expression recognition (see (200)) to detect signs of drowsiness, fatigue, or distraction of the driver (again, see Page 1, Para. [0007]; Page 5, Para. [0075]-[0077], [0083], and [0088]; and see Page 7, Para. [0104]-[0105], and [0110]; and Page 13, Para. [0182]), in order to effectively improve driving safety by actively intervening in potential accident risks caused by abnormal emotions or fatigue of a driver via an early warning system (see Page 1, Para. [0009]-[0010] and Page 4, Para. [0071]-[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy, Dellock, and Dagley with the teachings of Liu, such that the monitoring of the condition of the driver of the vehicle comprises using facial expression recognition to detect signs of drowsiness, fatigue, or distraction of the driver, as suggested by Liu, in order to effectively improve driving safety by actively intervening in potential accident risks caused by abnormal emotions or fatigue of a driver via an early warning system.
As pertaining to Claim 153, Buffett-Kennedy discloses monitoring a condition (i.e., an emergency condition) of a driver in the vehicle, and
causing to generate an alert image (i.e., an emergency image) by the megapixel projector (100) based at least in part on the monitored condition (i.e., the emergency condition) of the driver of the vehicle (again, see Col. 13, Ln. 58-67 through Col. 14, Ln. 1-20).
However, none of Buffett-Kennedy, Dellock, and Dagley explicitly discloses that the monitored condition comprises drowsiness.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a means for generating an image (see (400)) based at least in part on a monitored condition of a driver of a vehicle, wherein the monitored condition comprises drowsiness (see (200); and see Page 1, Para. [0007]; Page 5, Para. [0075]-[0077], [0083], and [0088]; and see Page 7, Para. [0104]-[0105], and [0110]; and Page 13, Para. [0182]), in order to effectively improve driving safety by actively intervening in potential accident risks caused by abnormal emotions or fatigue of a driver via an early warning system (see Page 1, Para. [0009]-[0010] and Page 4, Para. [0071]-[0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Buffett-Kennedy, Dellock, and Dagley with the teachings of Liu, such that the monitored condition comprises drowsiness, as suggested by Liu, in order to effectively improve driving safety by actively intervening in potential accident risks caused by abnormal emotions or fatigue of a driver via an early warning system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-4, 6-10, 31-34, 36-38, 40, 151, and 153-154 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Buffett-Kennedy, Liu, Dellock, and Campbell, teach or fairly suggest “receiving from the web service an image data structure comprising metadata for a validation image, wherein the validation image is unique to a ride of a ride service” and “receiving a signal from a mobile communication device… wherein the signal includes information verifying capture… of the validation image; and causing to unlock the vehicle based… on receiving the signal…” (see Remarks at Pages 8 and 9). Respectfully, the applicant’s argument is moot in view of the combined teachings of Buffett-Kennedy, Dellock, and Dagley, as newly relied upon in the above rejections.
For at least the reasons provided above, the rejection of Claims 1-4, 6-10, 31-34, 36-38, 40, 151, and 153-154 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schreiber et al. (US 9,992,465) discloses a vehicle projection system for providing images to viewers outside of the vehicle.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623