DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant's election of claims 12-18, without traverse, in the reply filed on May 27, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
3. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 17, the phrase, “plurality of substantially optical microstructures forming a diffraction grating” is indefinite. It is unclear if optical microstructures are identical or not.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biteau et al. (WO 2021/209527).
Biteau discloses an optical structure (10) comprising at least one optical microstructure (30), in particular a microlens, wherein a base structure (12) is provided, , at least one template structure (11) is printed on ( paragraph 0143) the base structure (12), wherein the template structure (11) is built up from at least one droplet of printing ink, in particular from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0143, inkjet), wherein in a smoothing layer (20) is printed (paragraph 0140) at least on top of the template structure (11), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is built up from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0140, inkjet), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is cured (paragraph 0140), as shown in Figures 2a and 2b:
. Although Biteau does not explicitly disclose the height of the microstructure and template structure,
height modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04, as in claim 12.
Concerning claim 13, Biteau discloses an optical structure (10) comprising at least one optical microstructure (30), in particular a microlens, wherein a base structure (12) is provided, , at least one template structure (11) is printed on ( paragraph 0143) the base structure (12), wherein the template structure (11) is built up from at least one droplet of printing ink, in particular from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0143, inkjet), wherein in a smoothing layer (20) is printed (paragraph 0140) at least on top of the template structure (11), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is built up from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0140, inkjet), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is cured (paragraph 0140).
Although Biteau does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the base structure or height of the template structure, thickness and height modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claims 14-15, Although Biteau does not explicitly disclose the height of the microstructure and template structure, height modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 16, Although Biteau does not explicitly disclose the lateral width of the microstructure and template structure, lateral width modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 18, Biteau discloses an optical structure (10) comprising at least one optical microstructure (30), in particular a microlens, wherein a base structure (12) is provided, , at least one template structure (11) is printed on ( paragraph 0143) the base structure (12), wherein the template structure (11) is built up from at least one droplet of printing ink, in particular from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0143, inkjet), wherein in a smoothing layer (20) is printed (paragraph 0140) at least on top of the template structure (11), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is built up from at least one layer of printing ink deposited through targeted placement of droplets of printing ink at least partially side by side (paragraph 0140, inkjet), wherein the smoothing layer (20) is cured (paragraph 0140), as shown in Figures 2a and 2b:
.
Although Biteau does not disclose a coating layer on top of the smoothing layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the smoothing layer of Biteau to function as a coating layer, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781