Claim Interpretations
The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. Use of the word “means” (or “step for”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebutted when the function is recited with sufficient structure, material, or acts within the claim itself to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step for”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is not invoked is rebutted when the claim element recites function but fails to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts to perform that function. Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim limitation, In the claims 20 cited “ means for initiating a transmission session based at least in part on a size of an uplink payload being less than a threshold size and based at least in part on an initial channel quality associated with a communication link between the UE and a network entity satisfying a threshold channel quality; means for transmitting, during the transmission session while in the inactive mode, an uplink message indicative of current channel information associated with the UE; and means for receiving a control message indicative of one or more communication parameters associated with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE” , have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “ unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
However, Examiner could determine the structure of the component that perform the limitation of the claim 20, if there are hardware, software. Therefore, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action. If applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
4. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 20 states limitation “means for initiating a transmission session based at least in part on a size of an uplink payload being less than a threshold size and based at least in part on an initial channel quality associated with a communication link between the UE and a network entity satisfying a threshold channel quality; means for transmitting, during the transmission session while in the inactive mode, an uplink message indicative of current channel information associated with the UE; and means for receiving a control message indicative of one or more communication parameters associated with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE”, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the calculation and allocation of the resource block. The use of the term “mean” is not adequate structure for means for initiating a transmission session based at least in part on a size of an uplink payload being less than a threshold size and based at least in part on an initial channel quality associated with a communication link between the UE and a network entity satisfying a threshold channel quality; means for transmitting, during the transmission session while in the inactive mode, an uplink message indicative of current channel information associated with the UE; and means for receiving a control message indicative of one or more communication parameters associated with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE, because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which component structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
6. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of performing “means for initiating a transmission session based at least in part on a size of an uplink payload being less than a threshold size and based at least in part on an initial channel quality associated with a communication link between the UE and a network entity satisfying a threshold channel quality; means for transmitting, during the transmission session while in the inactive mode, an uplink message indicative of current channel information associated with the UE; and means for receiving a control message indicative of one or more communication parameters associated with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al US20220240193A1
23017464A1
Regarding claims 1 ,19 and 20, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses
-1. A user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ( FIG. 11 and [0146]-[0148] discloses the user equipment apparatus 1100 may include a processor 1105, a memory 1110, an input device 1115, an output device 1120, and a transceiver 1125. the processor 1105 executes instructions stored in the memory 1110 to perform the method, he processor 1105 is communicatively coupled to the memory 1110),to cause the UE to:
-19. A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode, comprising:
-20. An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode, comprising:
initiate a transmission session based at least in part on a size of an uplink payload being less than a threshold size and based at least in part on an initial channel quality associated with a communication link between the UE and a network entity satisfying a threshold channel quality; [0112] a network entity such as e.g., a gNB triggers an SDT procedure to transmit downlink data to a UE in RRC_INACTIVE) and [0113] the NW 603 sends a paging message (see messaging 602) to indicate to the UE 601 to trigger/start the SDT procedure for the purpose of DL (MT) data, e.g. DCI format 1_0 with P-RNTI and corresponding PDSCH, In one example the paging message (e.g., PDSCH), e.g., paging record, includes some information that instructs the UE 601 to start the (UL) SDT procedure to receive some DL (MT) data in RRC_INACTIVE, where [0116] Upon reception of the SDT ordering/triggering indication, e.g., received within the paging message, the UE 601 shall initiate the (UL) SDT procedure, he UE 601 may determine, based on a data volume threshold and some RSRP thresholds, to select the CG-SDT procedure , wherein [0108]-[010]the UE can use configured grant based small data transfer if at least the user data is smaller than the data volume threshold, where UE selects one of the SSB with SS-RSRP above the threshold and selects the associated CG resource for UL data transmission), during the transmission session while in the inactive mode, an uplink message indicative of current channel information associated with the UE; and receive a control message indicative of one or more communication parameters associated with the UE based at least in part on transmitting the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE [0134]the UE 801 transmits (see messaging 812) on the selected CG resources, e.g., the UE 801 determined (see block 806) to perform CG-SDT procedure based on the SDT resource selection procedure (see block 808) as described above, some uplink message which acknowledges the reception of the SDT trigger message, e.g., paging message. In one example, the UE 801 transmits (see messaging 812) some CSI and/or RSRP information, e.g., RSRP of pathloss reference, and/or beam related information on the selected CG resources to acknowledge the reception of the SDT trigger message as well as to provide some DL related control information which are used by the NW for link adaptation and DL scheduling. In one example the CSI information and/or RSRP info and/or beam information is transmitted within a MAC CE.
Regarding claim 2, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Löhr further discloses wherein the one or more communication parameters are based at least in part on the current channel information associated with the UE [0116] Upon reception of the SDT ordering/triggering indication, e.g., received within the paging message, the UE 601 shall initiate the (UL) SDT procedure, he UE 601 may determine, based on a data volume threshold and some RSRP thresholds, to select the CG-SDT procedure , wherein [0108]-[010]the UE can use configured grant based small data transfer if at least the user data is smaller than the data volume threshold, where UE selects one of the SSB with SS-RSRP above the threshold and selects the associated CG resource for UL data transmission),wherein [0134]the UE 801 transmits (see messaging 812) on the selected CG resources, e.g., the UE 801 determined (see block 806) to perform CG-SDT procedure based on the SDT resource selection procedure (see block 808) as described above, some uplink message which acknowledges the reception of the SDT trigger message, e.g., paging message. In one example, the UE 801 transmits (see messaging 812) some CSI and/or RSRP information, e.g., RSRP of pathloss reference, and/or beam related information on the selected CG resources to acknowledge the reception of the SDT trigger message as well as to provide some DL related control information which are used by the NW for link adaptation and DL scheduling. In one example the CSI information and/or RSRP info and/or beam information is transmitted within a MAC CE.
Regarding claim 3, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Löhr further discloses wherein, to transmit the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, during an establishment portion of the transmission session, an indication of the initial channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity, wherein the current channel information comprises the initial channel quality. [0128]As shown in the FIG. 7 , and according to one implementation of the embodiment, the UE 701 transmits (see messaging 712) in the RACH Msg3 (4-step RACH) or MsgA (2-step RACH), e.g., the UE 701 determined to perform RACH-SDT procedure (see block 706) based on the SDT resource selection procedure (see block 708) as described above, the RRCResume Request message (CCCH). In one example, the UE 701 transmits in addition to the RRCResume Request message some CSI and/or RSRP information, e.g., RSRP of pathloss reference, and/or beam related information on the selected CG resources.
Regarding claim 5, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 3.
Löhr further discloses wherein the uplink message is a third uplink message of a four step random access procedure, and wherein the establishment portion of the transmission session comprises the four step random access procedure[0128]As shown in the FIG. 7 , and according to one implementation of the embodiment, the UE 701 transmits (see messaging 712) in the RACH Msg3 (4-step RACH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 4-18are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Löhr et al US20240349244A1 in view of Yi et al US20230189286A1
Regarding claim4, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, to transmit the indication of the initial channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a differential value with respect to the threshold channel quality to indicate the initial channel quality
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein, to transmit the indication of the initial channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a differential value with respect to the threshold channel quality to indicate the initial channel quality( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein, to transmit the indication of the initial channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a differential value with respect to the threshold channel quality to indicate the initial channel quality, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 6, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, to transmit the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, during an establishment portion of the transmission session, the uplink message comprising an indication of whether the initial channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity is within a threshold deviation of a previous channel quality associated with a previous transmission session or reported during a connected mode, wherein the current channel information comprises the indication.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein, to transmit the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, during an establishment portion of the transmission session, the uplink message comprising an indication of whether the initial channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity is within a threshold deviation of a previous channel quality associated with a previous transmission session or reported during a connected mode, wherein the current channel information comprises the indication. ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein, to transmit the uplink message indicative of the current channel information associated with the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, during an establishment portion of the transmission session, the uplink message comprising an indication of whether the initial channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity is within a threshold deviation of a previous channel quality associated with a previous transmission session or reported during a connected mode, wherein the current channel information comprises the indication., as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 6.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality being within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality being within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality being within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
8. The UE of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of the threshold deviation
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 7.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of the threshold deviation.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of the threshold deviation( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of the threshold deviation, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 6.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality being associated with a same modulation and coding scheme value.
Yi et al US20230189286A1discloswherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality being associated with a same modulation and coding scheme value wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of the threshold deviation( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein, to transmit the uplink message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink message comprising the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality based at least in part on the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality being associated with a same modulation and coding scheme value, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 9.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 9.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the UE is preconfigured with a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, and wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein the UE is preconfigured with a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, and wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the UE is preconfigured with a plurality of mappings between a plurality of modulation and coding scheme values and a plurality of channel qualities, and wherein the UE determines the initial channel quality and the previous channel quality are associated with the same modulation and coding scheme value based at least in part on the plurality of mappings, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 6.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, to transmit the indication of whether the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via one or more first fields, the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality; or transmit, via one or more second fields different than the one or more first fields, the indication that the initial channel quality is outside of the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein, to transmit the indication of whether the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via one or more first fields, the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality; ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid) or
transmit, via one or more second fields different than the one or more first fields, the indication that the initial channel quality is outside of the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein, to transmit the indication of whether the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, via one or more first fields, the indication that the initial channel quality is within the threshold deviation of the previous channel quality, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 6.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein, wherein the uplink message is a first uplink message or a third uplink message of a four step random access procedure, and wherein the establishment portion of the transmission session comprises the four step random access procedure[0128]As shown in the FIG. 7 , and according to one implementation of the embodiment, the UE 701 transmits (see messaging 712) in the RACH Msg3 (4-step RACH).
Regarding claim 14, Löhr et al US20240349244A1 discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the current channel information associated with the UE comprises an indication of a change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclose wherein the current channel information associated with the UE comprises an indication of a change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity. ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the current channel information associated with the UE comprises an indication of a change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 14.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the indication of the change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity comprises one or more channel quality metrics supported by the UE in the inactive mode, and wherein the one or more channel quality metrics are a subset of a plurality of channel quality metrics supported by the UE in a connected mode.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein the indication of the change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity comprises one or more channel quality metrics supported by the UE in the inactive mode, and wherein the one or more channel quality metrics are a subset of a plurality of channel quality metrics supported by the UE in a connected mode ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the indication of the change in channel quality associated with the communication link between the UE and the network entity comprises one or more channel quality metrics supported by the UE in the inactive mode, and wherein the one or more channel quality metrics are a subset of a plurality of channel quality metrics supported by the UE in a connected mode, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 14.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a periodicity, a format, or both, associated with the uplink message.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a periodicity, a format, or both, associated with the uplink message.
( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second control message indicative of a periodicity, a format, or both, associated with the uplink message. , as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 14.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein one or more communications parameters supported by the UE in the inactive mode are a subset of a plurality of communication parameters supported by the UE in a connected mode..
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein one or more communications parameters supported by the UE in the inactive mode are a subset of a plurality of communication parameters supported by the UE in a connected mode. ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein one or more communications parameters supported by the UE in the inactive mode are a subset of a plurality of communication parameters supported by the UE in a connected mode, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Löhr and Yi discloses all features with respect to claim 14.
Löhr et al US20240349244A1 does not disclose wherein the uplink message comprises a scheduling request or a buffer status report, and wherein the uplink message is multiplexed with an uplink control message or an uplink data message.
Yi et al US20230189286A1disclos wherein the uplink message comprises a scheduling request or a buffer status report, and wherein the uplink message is multiplexed with an uplink control message or an uplink data message ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258] the UE may receive SDT configuration. Especially, the SDT configuration may include information about RSRP threshold value (RSRP_TH), the UE may compare a difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 with the RSRP_TH at S2005.When the difference value between RSRP 1 and RSRP 2 is less than or equal to the RSRP_TH, the CG-SDT procedure is triggered at S2006. Then, the UE may transmit the SDT data using the CG-SDT procedure at S2007When a SDT data is generated, the UE measures the RSRP at the time of initiating SDT procedure and compares it with the last measured RSRP before initiating SDT procedure. If the difference between two RSRPs is less than a threshold, the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is valid, and otherwise the UE considers that the CG-SDT resource is not valid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Löhr by including wherein the uplink message comprises a scheduling request or a buffer status report, and wherein the uplink message is multiplexed with an uplink control message or an uplink data message, as taught by Yi, in order to determine valid CG-SDT resource (see Yi ( fig. 13 and [0251]-[0258]).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478