DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boger (US 20040099752 A1).
Claim 1, Boger discloses a supply assembly configured to supply a fluid material (10; [0015]; FIG 1);
a rate controlling assembly in fluid communication with the supply assembly, the rate controlling assembly configured to vary a first rate of a first portion of the fluid material supplied to a first applicator (22, 20, 14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]); and
a pressure controlling assembly in fluid communication with the supply assembly, the pressure controlling assembly configured to vary a first pressure of a second portion of the fluid material supplied to a second applicator ([0021]).
Claim 2, Boger discloses wherein the rate controlling assembly includes a gear pump ([0016]).
Claim 4, Boger discloses a metering device configured to receive the second portion of the fluid material from the pressure controlling assembly, the metering device configured to vary a second rate of the second portion of the fluid material before the second portion of the fluid material is supplied to the second applicator ([0021]).
Claim 7, Boger discloses wherein the fluid material is a thermoplastic adhesive ([0003]).
Claim 8, Boger discloses a controller configured to control the first rate of the first portion of the fluid material using the rate controlling assembly and control the first pressure of the second portion of the fluid material using the pressure controlling assembly ([0021]).
Claim 9, Boger discloses supplying a fluid material from a supply assembly (10; [0015]; FIG 1); varying a first rate of a first portion of the fluid material supplied to a first applicator (22, 20,14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]); varying a first pressure of a second portion of the fluid material supplied to a second applicator ([0021]); distributing the first portion of the fluid material via the first applicator; and distributing the second portion of the fluid material via the second applicator ([0021]).
Claim 10, Boger discloses varying a second pressure of the first portion of the fluid material after varying the first rate of the first portion of the fluid material (22, 20,14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]).
Claim 11, Boger discloses a second rate of the second portion of the fluid material after varying the first pressure of the second portion of the fluid material (22, 20,14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boger, as applied to claims 1, in further view of Popp et al (US 5683752 A).
Claim 3, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on a pressure relief device configured to receive the first portion of the fluid material from the rate controlling assembly, the pressure relief device configured to reduce a second pressure of the first portion of the fluid material before the first portion of the fluid material is supplied to the first applicator.
Popp teaches a pressure relief device (Col 6, lines 14-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with pressure relief device as taught by Popp in order to provide pressure relief of high pressure.
Claim(s) 14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boger in view of Popp et al.
Claim 14, Boger discloses a supply assembly configured to supply a fluid adhesive ([0003]);
a rate controlling assembly in fluid communication with the supply assembly, the rate controlling assembly configured to receive a first portion of the fluid adhesive and vary a first rate of a first portion of the fluid adhesive ([0021]);
a pressure controlling assembly in fluid communication with the supply assembly, the pressure controlling assembly configured to receive a second portion of the fluid adhesive from the supply assembly and vary a second pressure of the second portion of the fluid adhesive ([0021]); and
a metering assembly positioned to receive the second portion of the fluid adhesive and vary a second rate of the second portion of the fluid adhesive ([0021]).
But is silent on a pressure relief device positioned to receive the first portion of the fluid adhesive from the rate controlling assembly, the pressure relief device configured to vary a first pressure of the first portion of the fluid adhesive.
Popp teaches a pressure relief device (Col 6, lines 14-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with pressure relief device as taught by Popp in order to provide pressure relief of high pressure.
Claim 15, Boger discloses wherein the pressure controlling assembly is configured to be removed and replaced with the metering assembly, and the metering assembly is configured to be removed and replaced with the pressure controlling assembly ([0016]; all segments are couplable together).
Claim 16, Boger discloses wherein the supply assembly includes a heating assembly configured to heat pellets of adhesive into the fluid adhesive (34, 36; [0017]).
Claim 19, Boger discloses a controller configured to one or more of control the first rate of the first portion of the fluid adhesive or control the first pressure of the second portion of the fluid adhesive ([0021]).
Claim 20, Boger discloses wherein the fluid adhesive is thermoplastic ([0003]).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boger as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, in further view of Riney et al. (US 6089413 A).
Claim 5, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the rate controlling assembly and the first applicator for the first portion of the fluid material to pass through from the rate controlling assembly to the first applicator.
Riney teaches one or more filters positioned between the rate controlling assembly and the first applicator for the first portion of the fluid material to pass through from the rate controlling assembly to the first applicator (Col 4, lines 17-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by Riney in order to provide a filter for filtering liquid.
Claim 17, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the rate controlling assembly and a first applicator that applies the fluid adhesive to a product surface.
Riney teaches one or more filters positioned between the rate controlling assembly and a first applicator that applies the fluid adhesive to a product surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by Riney in order to provide a filter for filtering liquid.
Claim(s) 6, 12-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boger, as applied to claim 1, 9 and 14 above, in further view of McGuffey et al (US 7770760 B2).
Claim 6, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and the second applicator for the second portion of the fluid material to pass through from the pressure controlling assembly to the second applicator.
McGuffey teaches one or more filters (272; FIG 5) positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and the second applicator for the second portion of the fluid material to pass through from the pressure controlling assembly to the second applicator.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 12, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on filtering the first portion of the fluid material before the first portion of the fluid material is supplied to the first applicator.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 13, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on filtering the second portion of the fluid material before the second portion of the fluid material is supplied to the second applicator.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 18, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and a second applicator that applies the fluid adhesive to a product surface.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754