DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In regard to method claims below the combination of Boger and McGuffey does not explicitly disclose the method. However, the combination does teach or disclose all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention and is therefore capable of inherently performing the method set forth in these claims. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. See MPEP § 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boger (US 20040099752 A1).
Claim 9, Boger discloses supplying a fluid material from a supply assembly (10; [0015]; FIG 1); varying a first rate of a first portion of the fluid material supplied to a first applicator (22, 20,14, 56; FIG 2; [0016], [0021; 22 can be a gear pump to vary flow rate]); varying a first pressure of a second portion of the fluid material supplied to a second applicator ([0019], [0021]; 22 can be a pressure source which would inherently vary pressure to control flow); distributing the first portion of the fluid material via the first applicator (FIG 3-4); and distributing the second portion of the fluid material via the second applicator (FIG 3-4; [0019] - [0021]).
Claim 10, Boger discloses varying a second pressure of the first portion of the fluid material after varying the first rate of the first portion of the fluid material (22, 20,14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]).
Claim 11, Boger discloses a second rate of the second portion of the fluid material after varying the first pressure of the second portion of the fluid material (22, 20,14; FIG 2; [0016], [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boger, as applied to claim 9, and in further view of McGuffey et al (US 7770760 B2).
Claim 6, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and the second applicator for the second portion of the fluid material to pass through from the pressure controlling assembly to the second applicator.
McGuffey teaches one or more filters (272; FIG 5) positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and the second applicator for the second portion of the fluid material to pass through from the pressure controlling assembly to the second applicator.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 12, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on filtering the first portion of the fluid material before the first portion of the fluid material is supplied to the first applicator.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 13, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on filtering the second portion of the fluid material before the second portion of the fluid material is supplied to the second applicator.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Claim 18, Boger substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on one or more filters positioned between the pressure controlling assembly and a second applicator that applies the fluid adhesive to a product surface.
McGuffey teaches a filter (272; FIG 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Boger with filter as taught by McGuffey in order to provide a filter for filtering.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 14-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 5/18/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-8, 14-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026, regarding claim 9, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 9, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., amended features of claims 1 and 14) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754