Claim Status
Claims 1-31 are cancelled.
Claims 34-52 are pending, renumbered as 32-50.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 9/22/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). Applicant did not consecutively number the new claims as shown below.
Misnumbered claims 34-52 have been renumbered as 32-50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kathpalia et al. (Journal of Advanced Pharmacy Education & Research Apr-Jun 2014 Vol 4 Issue 2:165-177; of record) and Zimmer (US 5310555; of record) and Xie et al. (WO2012097429) and Koenig et al. (US20140065210).
Applicant claims, for example:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). In the art of gastroenterology medicine, the artisan possesses knowledge in microbiology, the human microbiome, intestinal microbiota, gastroenterology and is knowledgeable of diseases and disorders of the gastrointestinal tract and methods of treatment. Such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from microbiology, formulations for treatment and delivery technology— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
With regard to claims 32-33, Kathpalia et al. reported on recent trends in hard gelatin capsule delivery systems (title) and that a commercially available capsule within a capsule design was known since 2013: “Micro-FloraGuard™ is presented in a unique DuoCap - capsule in a capsule providing plant oils in the outer capsule and probiotic bacteria with garlic in the inner capsule, ingredients which would not normally be able to be taken together. It helps to promote the health of the gastrointestinal system. The design enhances product stability by protecting the probiotic inner capsule in an HPMC capsule. This creates an effective barrier to moisture, which helps the probiotic remain inactive until it is consumed.” (page 170, upper left column). The probiotic bacteria are not disclosed as being coated or microencapsulated. Thus, Kathpalia et al. disclose a hard capsule-in-capsule dosage form with probiotic bacteria in the inner capsule and plant oils in the space between the inner capsule and the outer capsule with enhanced product stability was known in the art years before Applicant’s application.
With regard to instant claims 32-40, Zimmer teaches a double capsule with an outer capsule enclosing the inner capsule, where the inner capsule include a gelatin shell and at least 3 X 109 CFU/capsule-in-a-capsule of at least one live microorganisms such as Lactobacillus acidophilus and Streptococcus faecium (fecal microbiota), which are not coated and are not microencapsulated and are not more than 20 different species of microorganisms/bacteria, and an outer capsule including a gelatin shell and nutritional supplement such as the edible oils vitamin K or vitamin E, which includes alpha-, gamma-, and delta-tocopherol, and which is also an antioxidant (Claims 1-2 and 4). Zimmer teach that the bacteria can be employed in admixtures with conventional excipients and auxiliary agents such as non-hydroscopic whey, rice hulls, sucrose (cryoprotectant), dextrose (cryoprotectant) and amino acids, for example (column 5, lines 28-39), thus teaching and suggesting embodiments where the uncoated microorganisms in the inner capsule are mixed with excipients and auxiliary agents such as cryoprotectant sucrose or dextrose.
Further regarding claims 41-42, Zimmer teach adding antioxidants (column 5, lines 57-58).
Regarding instant claims 45-46, Zimmer discloses adding riboflavin and vitamin C (claim 1), which can serve as a cryoprotectants and vitamin C (ascorbic acid) renders obvious the equilibrium ascorbate anion to the ordinary artisan in this art.
With regard to instant claims 32-46, Xie et al. teach that high moisture content during the encapsulation process has a deleterious effect on the number of colony forming units of probiotic (Page 2). Therefore, Xie et al. teach a capsule comprising a filling with a probiotic and a heat-dried desiccant selected from chemically modified starches and native starches such as potato starch, corn starch, wheat starch, rice starch and tapioca starch (claims 1, 9 and 10). Any suitable desiccant can be used (Page 5, 3rd paragraph). Xie et al. teach that the probiotic is a mixture of Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium species (claims 1 and 7) but any suitable probiotic can be used (Page 4, last paragraph). Xie et al. teach that the filling also contains the cryoprotectant lecithin (claim 12) (as evidenced by Zhang et al.) as well as vitamins, minerals, plant extracts and combinations thereof (claim 15). Xie et al. teach that the filling preferred desiccant are starches (page 5, paragraphs 3-4). Xie et al. also teaches various edible oils in the filling such as sunflower oil, sesame oil, olive oil, fish oil, soybean oil, grape seed oil and rice oil (page 6 paragraphs 2-3; claim 17).
Regarding claims 41-42, Koenig et al. teach that antioxidants may protect the probiotic by preventing oxidation of the probiotics [0033]. Suitable antioxidants include sodium ascorbate, tocopherols, thiols, ascorbic acid and propyl-gallate [0033].
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Kathpalia et al. is that Kathpalia et al. do not expressly teach wherein the dosage form contains a load of microorganisms of at least 30% weight/volume, based on the volume of the outer hard capsule or adding one or more Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium with no more than 20 different types of bacteria and adding the antioxidants, desiccants and cryoprotectants claimed. This deficiency in Kathpalia et al. is cured by the teachings of Zimmer et al., Xie et al. and Koenig et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made make the dual capsule dosage form of Kathpalia et al. wherein the dosage form contains a load of microorganisms of at least 30% weight/volume, based on the volume of the outer hard capsule and with one or more Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium with no more than 20 different types of bacteria and adding the antioxidants, desiccants and cryoprotectants, as suggested by Zimmer et al., Xie et al. and Koenig et al., and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because the dual capsule dosage form of Kathpalia et al. is open to any probiotic formulation in any amount that is only limited by the size of the inner and outer capsule and Zimmer et al. and Xie et al. teach and suggest the claimed probiotic microorganisms including fecal bacteria from the genus of Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium. The ordinary artisan would then add the suggested probiotics to the dual capsule dosage form of Kathpalia et al. with a load of microorganisms of at least 30% weight/volume based on the volume of the outer hard capsule with a reasonable expectation of success. The load of microorganisms is a result-effective variable and result-effective variables are subject to routine optimization. Pharmaceutical dose has been recognized as a result-effective parameter susceptible to routine optimization. See, e.g., Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Accordingly, the limitation of at least 30% weight/volume based on the volume of the outer hard capsule is obvious absent any criticality. This difference is one of degree only and does not constitute a patentable distinction over the combined references and general knowledge in the art.
Regarding the desiccant, Xie et al. teach that probiotics can be very sensitive to moisture content (page 1, Background last paragraph) and relatively high moisture content can have a deleterious effect on the number of colony forming units of probiotic remaining after processing (page 2, middle). Thus, the ordinary artisan is motivated to add desiccants to the formulation to control the moisture content and would have a reasonable expectation of success in adding any of the suggested starches taught by Xie et al. to the inner hard capsule containing a load of probiotics of Kathpalia et al. to avoid any deleterious moisture effects on the microorganisms. Similarly, the ordinary artisan is motivated to add any of the claimed antioxidants to prevent oxidation of the probiotics as taught by Koenig et al. The addition of cryoprotectant materials as conventional excipients/auxiliary materials is obvious over the teachings of Zimmer et al. Consequently, it is desirable to add desiccants, antioxidants and cryoprotectants, such as those claimed, to the formulation to avoid any deleterious effects upon the microorganisms in the formulation during processing or storage.
The difference between the instant application and Kathpalia et al. is that Kathpalia et al do not expressly teach adding the edible oils claimed. This deficiency in Kathpalia et al. is cured by the teachings of Xie et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made make the dual capsule dosage form of Kathpalia et al. with edible oils, as suggested by Xie et al., and produce the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Kathpalia et al. guide the artisan to plant oils that will enhance the product stability and Xie et al. teach and suggest a wide variety of plant and functionally equivalent non-plant oils that can be used in such formulations. It is then merely substitution of known edible plant oils and those taught by Xie et al., for use in the capsule within a capsule dosage form of Kathpalia et al. with a reasonable expectation of success.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 32 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kathpalia et al. (Journal of Advanced Pharmacy Education & Research Apr-Jun 2014 Vol 4 Issue 2:165-177; of record) and Kabadi et al. (US 20160022592; of record) and Pamer (Science 2016;352(6285):535-538; of record) and Dave et al. (Translational Research 2012;160(4):246-257).
Applicant claims:
The reference of Kathpalia et al. is discussed above and incorporated by reference.
Regarding instant claims 32 and 49-50, Kabadi et al. teach methods of treating
the onset of a gastrointestinal disorder by administering to a subject in need of such treatment in a pharmaceutically effective amount of an oral formulation comprising:
a first capsule containing desirable probiotics having beneficial effects on a gastrointestinal disorder, a second capsule being of a size that can include within its
dimensions the coated first capsule wherein the gastrointestinal disorder is a Clostridium difficile disorder (claim 29) and wherein the Clostridium
difficile disorder is associated with one or more of a Clostridium difficile infection, an
imbalance of Clostridium difficile in the ileum or colon of said subject, diarrhea,
inflammation, colitis fever or dysbiosis (claim 32). Kabadi et al. teach: “The definition
of microorganism used herein includes Bacteria, Archaea, single-celled Eukaryotes (protozoa, fungi, and ciliates), and viral agents.” [0090]. Kabadi et al. teach adding bacteria, archaea, virus particles and fungus to the inner capsule (Table 1, page 39).
Regarding instant claims 49-50, Pamer teaches that: “The intestinal microbiota, which is composed of diverse populations of commensal bacterial species, provides resistance against colonization and invasion by pathogens. Antibiotic treatment can damage the intestinal microbiota and, paradoxically, increase susceptibility to infections. Reestablishing microbiota-mediated colonization resistance after antibiotic treatment could markedly reduce infections, particularly those caused by antibiotic-resistant bacteria.” (Abstract, page 1). Pamer teaches that: “Extended-spectrum β-lactamase (ESBL)–producing Enterobacteriaceae, carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE), vancomycin-resistant enterococci (VRE), and Clostridium difficile are listed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as urgent and serious threats” (page 2, Microbiota destruction and antibiotic-resistant infections). Pamer also teaches antibiotic resistant Klebsiella (page 3, first paragraph). Pamer also teaches that: “a subset of commensal bacteria can provide colonization resistance against many of the most threatening antibiotic-resistant pathogens causing disease in patients is exciting” (conclusion page 7).
Regarding claims 49-50, Dave et al. establish that the artisan knows: “The intestinal tract of humans harbors a complex microbial community estimated to contain approximately 100 trillion cells, exceeding the number of human cells by a factor of 10. This complex community of microbes in the alimentary tract (bacteria, archaea, eukarya, and viruses) is also known as the ‘‘gastrointestinal (GI) microbiota.’’ Akin to the human genome, which is the sum of all human genes, the term ‘‘microbiome’’ refers to all of the microbiota in a defined microbial community” (Page 247, left column 1st paragraph).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the claimed invention was made to use the probiotic capsule within a capsule of Kathpalia et al., in methods of treating an infection or a disease, disorder, or condition associated with a dysbiosis or an infection by one or more of C. difficile, Salmonella spp., E.coli, Klebsiella, Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE), extended spectrum beta-lactam resistant Enterococci (ESBL ), and vancomycin-resistant Enterococci (VRE) to a subject in need thereof with one or more bacterium, archaea, fungus and virus, as suggested by Kabadi et al., Pamer and Dave et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Kathpalia et al. teach that Micro-FloraGuard™ promotes the health of the GI system and Pamer teaches and suggests that the way to treat antibiotic resistant bacterial infections is to reestablish the intestinal microbiota. Through the teachings of Dave et al., the artisan is aware that the intestinal microbiota is a complex community of microbes and as taught by Kabadi et al., the inner capsule can contain bacteria, archaea, fungus and virus (Table 1), which would replenish the intestinal microbiota. As taught by Pamer, antibiotic damage can damage the intestinal microbiota, hence resulting in drug-induced disorder, and therefore the microbiota needs to be reestablished, which can reduce infections particularly those caused by antibiotic resistant bacteria such as ESBL, CRE, VRE and Clostridium difficile as discussed above. Kabadi et al. teach that the capsule-in-capsule delivery system comprising Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium can repair intestinal dysbiosis as well as Clostridium difficile associated diarrhea (claims 1, 12, 29, 30 and 32). In view of those combined references, it is then obvious to administer the probiotic capsule within a capsule of Kathpalia et al., with one or more bacteria, archaea, fungus and/or virus to treat an infection, disease, disorder or condition associated with a dysbiosis in a subject and/or infections caused by antibiotic resistant bacteria such as ESBL, CRE, VRE, Klebsiella, Salmonella spp, E.coli, and Clostridium difficile in need thereof with a reasonable expectation of success of repopulating the microbiota of the subject in need thereof thereby treating the infection, disease, disorder or condition.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ arguments filed 09/22/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts: “The specification expressly identifies the high load as a major advantage over the prior art, contrasting it with WO 2016/065279, which contemplated a maximum of about 20% weight/volume of live bacteria. The ability to achieve ≥30% (and up to approximately 80%) without coating or microencapsulation is possible only because the claimed architecture (oil between hard capsules+ desiccant in the inner fill) prevents the moisture-driven degradation that would otherwise force lower loadings or protective coatings.” The Examiner has two comments. First, regarding WO 2016/065279 contemplating a maximum of about 20% weight/volume of live bacteria, the use of the term "about" shows that the inventors did not intend to limit the claimed range to their exact end-points. See Jeneric/Pentron, Inc. v. Dillon Co. 205 F.3d 1377, 1381 (Fed.Cir.2000). Secondly, the claimed architecture (oil between hard capsules+ desiccant in the inner fill) prevents the moisture-driven degradation that would otherwise force lower loadings or protective coatings, is known in the art and as well as adding a desiccant for the benefits of a desiccant. The claimed amount of a load of microorganisms of at least 30% weight/volume, based on the volume of the outer hard capsule is merely an exercise of selecting the appropriate inner and outer capsules and filling the inner capsule with the probiotics. The art of record provides the general conditions for the capsule in a capsule architecture. It is then obvious to fill the inner capsule with any amount of probiotics in the absence of evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A): “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)…see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."). Applicant argues: “Where the prior art itself identifies a practical upper limit (here, the 20% ceiling of WO2016/065279) and the claimed invention demonstrably exceeds that limit while solving an additional, unrecognized stability problem, the load is critical, not routine.” First of all, WO2016065279 is not applied and second of all WO2016065279 is not limited to a 20% ceiling. “A capsule may have about 5% to about 20% weight /volume of live bacteria.” [0111]. The permissive term “may” and the term “about” allow for adjustment of the values. All Applicant has done is merely a continuation of a trend previously described in the prior art. Simply modifying a known composition by shifting a numerical range or ratio of ingredients does not constitute a patentable invention unless the applicant can prove that the specific range is critical. (See MPEP 2144.05 In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924, 20 USPQ 53, 57 (CCPA 1933)). Applicant has not done so. Therefore, the difference is one of degree and not patentable.
Applicant asserts unexpected results and synergy as shown with the following data:
Respectfully, the Examiner does not find the data unexpected or synergistic or even related to Applicant’s assertion: “…specification expressly identifies the high load as a major advantage over the prior art”. The data has nothing to do with a high load. There is absolutely no data showing any criticality of the at least 30% weight/volume limitation and the art provides an expectation of enhanced product stability by protecting the probiotic inner capsule. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant asserts hindsight by the Examiner. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). No hindsight was used by the Examiner.
Applicant contends: “Combining general knowledge that microbiota restoration can treat certain infections with an entirely different dosage form does not render the specific claimed methods obvious.” Respectfully, the Examiner does not agree because it is well known in the prior art of record that microbiota restoration can treat certain infections. As stated above, Kabadi et al. teach that the capsule-in-capsule delivery system comprising Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium can repair intestinal dysbiosis as well as Clostridium difficile associated diarrhea. This is a well-known concept. Applicant has provided no data to any enhanced or superior treatment outcomes for the conditions claimed. Consequently, the claimed method is obvious over the combined references. None of Applicant’s arguments are persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613