DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Independent claim 12 and by dependency claims 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement due to the phrase “a brew time of at least 30 seconds”. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Though the specification teaches at par. 0052 brew time which are encompassed, including an upper limit of 720 seconds the specification, by the claimed “at least”. The specification and drawing are silent to the claimed unbounded range of “at least 30 seconds” and more specifically brew time exceeding 720 seconds.
Independent claim 12 and by dependency claims 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is rejected due to the phrase “a brew time of at least 30 seconds” since the phrase encompasses an unbounded range with an unbounded upper limit, for example a time of greater than 10000000 seconds and larger. As such the phrase is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention due to the unbounded upper limit of the phrase “a brew time of at least 30 seconds”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (20130287908; ids 10/28/24).
Wen teaches with respect to Independent claim 1, a PEF brewing system comprising:
a chamber (par. 0034 fig. 1 ref. 7) for receiving a mixture of a liquid and a substance for extraction of flavor therefrom (par. 0050)
a liquid source (par. 0031 ref. 4; par. 0039 ref. 5) fluidly connected to the chamber to provide the liquid to the chamber (par. 0039);
a pulse source (par. 0050 ref. 8) comprising at least two electrodes (par. 0054 ref. 10), the pulse source in fluid and electrical contact with the mixture in the chamber (par. 0054 last 3 lines) to provide a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm)
a liquid pump fluidly connected to the chamber (par. 0040 ref. 6) and
a container (par. 0041 first container; alternatively par. 0058 glass) fluidly connected to the chamber to receive the liquid from the chamber (par. 0041; par. 0058).
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Thus in a first instant with respect to a singular pulse of the same field strength and with respect to the overlapping range including the upper limit 5KV/cm, though silent to the energy of a same field strength, since the claimed and prior art field strength responsible for the amount of energy applied, are identical or substantially identical in structure and since the amount of energy is produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
A same field strength and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical field strength encompassed range, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present, i.e. an amount of energy. If there is any difference between the energy applied to the mixture dependent on the field strength and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Where applicant claims a same field strength in terms of a function, property or characteristic, i.e. energy applied due to and the field strength of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function, i.e. amount of energy is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102.” See MPEP 2112(111) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. Minus any clear and convincing evidence the same field strength would not provide a same claimed amount of energy of 5-50J/ml to the mixture.
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Though silent the energy applied, the energy applied is dependent on the field strength and pulse duration which the claims are silent to, the number of pulses and treatment time which the claims are silent to and the substance which the claims are further not limited by.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applicant is using known components to obtain expected results. There is nothing patentable unless the applicant, by a proper showing, further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship, which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In the absence of unexpected results, it is not seen how the claimed invention differs from the teachings of the prior art. Applicant's claims are drawn to a combination of known components which produces expected results, i.e. application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) for the art recognized purpose of creating pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Though silent to the energy provided to the mixture. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applying an amount of energy, which is dependent on a same field strength, yields predictable results and thus would have been “Obvious to try”, i.e. choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, due to the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). In addition to being known to work in one field of endeavor which may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on product type, time, pulse duration, number of pulses, the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
With respect to Independent claim 12, a method of cold brewing a beverage, the method comprising:
providing a chamber retaining a substance for extraction of flavor therefrom (par. 0034 ref. 7)
adding a liquid to the substance in the chamber to form a mixture (par. 0039)
exposing the mixture in the chamber to a pulsed electric field at a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm)
filtering the exposed mixture to extract brewed liquid (par. 0057) and collecting the brewed liquid in a container (par. 0041 first container; alternatively par. 0058 glass).
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Though silent the energy applied, the energy applied is dependent on the field strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applicant is using known components to obtain expected results. There is nothing patentable unless the applicant, by a proper showing, further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship, which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In the absence of unexpected results, it is not seen how the claimed invention differs from the teachings of the prior art. Applicant's claims are drawn to a combination of known components which produces expected results, i.e. application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) for the art recognized purpose of creating pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Though silent to the energy provided to the mixture. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applying an amount of energy, which is dependent on a same field strength, yields predictable results and thus would have been “Obvious to try”, i.e. choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, due to the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). In addition to being known to work in one field of endeavor which may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on product type, the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Wen teaches time duration of application may be different depending on the type of product where the time duration is for a time which achieves moist compounds having been extracted from the ingredients (par. 0051). Thus since time is a variable which is dependent type of product is further dependent on a desired degree of extraction and amount of mixture being exposed which the claims are silent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach a brew time of at least 30 seconds thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
With respect to Independent claim 19, a PEF brewing system comprising:
a chamber (par. 0034 fig. 1 ref. 7) for receiving a mixture of a liquid and a substance for extraction of flavor therefrom (par. 0050)
a pulse source (par. 0050 ref. 8) comprising at least two electrodes (par. 0054 ref. 10), the pulse source configured to provide a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm)
a liquid source (par. 0031 ref. 4; par. 0039 ref. 5) fluidly connected to the chamber to provide the liquid to the chamber (par. 0039)
a liquid pump fluidly connected to the chamber to circulate the mixture in the chamber (par. 0040 ref. 6) and
a container (par. 0041 first container; alternatively par. 0058 glass) fluidly connected to the chamber to receive the liquid from the chamber (par. 0041; par. 0058).
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Thus in a first instant with respect to a singular pulse of the same field strength and with respect to the overlapping range including the upper limit 5KV/cm, though silent to the energy of a same field strength, since the claimed and prior art field strength responsible for the amount of energy applied, are identical or substantially identical in structure and since the amount of energy is produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
A same field strength and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical field strength encompassed range, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present, i.e. an amount of energy. If there is any difference between the energy applied to the mixture dependent on the field strength and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Where applicant claims a same field strength in terms of a function, property or characteristic, i.e. energy applied due to and the field strength of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function, i.e. amount of energy is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102.” See MPEP 2112(111) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. Minus any clear and convincing evidence the same field strength would not provide a same claimed amount of energy of 5-50J/ml to the mixture.
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Though silent the energy applied, the energy applied is dependent on the field strength and pulse duration which the claims are silent to, the number of pulses and treatment time which the claims are silent to and the substance which the claims are further not limited by.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applicant is using known components to obtain expected results. There is nothing patentable unless the applicant, by a proper showing, further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship, which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In the absence of unexpected results, it is not seen how the claimed invention differs from the teachings of the prior art. Applicant's claims are drawn to a combination of known components which produces expected results, i.e. application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) for the art recognized purpose of creating pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Though silent to the energy provided to the mixture. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applying an amount of energy, which is dependent on a same field strength, yields predictable results and thus would have been “Obvious to try”, i.e. choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, due to the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). In addition to being known to work in one field of endeavor which may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on product type, time, pulse duration, number of pulses, the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Claim 2, wherein the liquid source is a liquid reservoir (par. 0039 ref. 5).
Claim 3, wherein the liquid source is a piped (par. 0039), on-demand liquid source (par. 0051 given time).
Claim 4, the pulse source is within the chamber (par. 0054 last 3 lines).
Claim 7, further comprising a filter fluidly connected to the chamber to receive and filter the liquid from the pulse source (par. 0057).
Claim 8, wherein the chamber, the liquid source, the pulse source, the liquid pump and the container are a single unit (par. 0049 closed circulation; fig. 1 container with respect to ref. 4).
With respect to claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a base having the liquid source therein thus providing a support structure for the device of Wen and achieving a same chamber and the pulse source as a single unit as further taught by Wen (par. 0048).
With respect to claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a base having the liquid source, the chamber and the pulse source therein thus providing a support structure for the device of Wen and providing a housing for the combination of elements.
With respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to teach the pulse source comprises a third electrode relative an undefined treatment chamber shape, size and volume with respect to the teaching of electrodes as taught (par. 0054) and the second electrode and a third electrode have a second polarity opposite the polarity of the first electrode thus providing application of the electric fields in different directions toward the ingredients so as to maximize the creation of pores in the membrane of the ingredients, and/or opening/enlarging the membrane pores of the ingredients (par. 0055) for a same purpose of extraction of compounds from ingredients (par. 0058).
Claim 13, wherein adding a liquid to the substance in the chamber comprises providing the liquid from a reservoir (par. 0039).
Claim 14, wherein the beverage is one of coffee, tea, espresso, and infused water (par. 0036).
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one substance type such as coffee grounds with respect to the coffee as taught by Wen (par. 0036) thus achieving a same extraction for producing a same coffee drink and/or since the coffee grounds would increase the surface area exposed thus further enhancing and reducing the time required for the desired extraction level (par. 0050).
Claim 18, Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Though silent the energy applied, the energy applied is dependent on the field strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 10-24 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applicant is using known components to obtain expected results. There is nothing patentable unless the applicant, by a proper showing, further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship, which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In the absence of unexpected results, it is not seen how the claimed invention differs from the teachings of the prior art. Applicant's claims are drawn to a combination of known components which produces expected results, i.e. application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) for the art recognized purpose of creating pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Though silent to the energy provided to the mixture. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applying an amount of energy, which is dependent on a same field strength, yields predictable results and thus would have been “Obvious to try”, i.e. choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, due to the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). In addition to being known to work in one field of endeavor which may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on product type, the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the range of 10-24 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicants urging directed to the amount of energy applied to the mixture, it is initially noted the amount of energy applied to the mixture is dependent on the applied field strength. The claims are silent to the amount of energy being cumulative, with respect to a single pulse, and/or with respect a cumulative amount of applied pulse.
With respect to applicants urging Wen provides no guidance on the energy level of the pulsed electrical waves, nor on the power or current needed to form the pulsed electrical waves at Applicants' recited energy level. Importantly Wen teaches the same claimed field strength, i.e. guidance on the energy level of the pulsed electrical waves, and/or on the power or current needed to form the pulsed electrical waves. Alternatively, Wen provides motivation to an amount of energy applied for a same purpose, namely the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
With respect to applicants urging directed to electric field strength alone does not determine the total energy delivered to the coffee grounds. Energy is a function of multiple independent parameters - field strength, but also e.g., pulse width, pulse frequency, treatment time, power, voltage, current, particle shape and particle orientation and positioning within the electric field. Importantly applicants claims are silent to the urged defining parameters.
Though urged Wen is silent to the applied energy, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Applicant has described the product with parameters which cannot be measured by the office for prior art comparison, because the office is not equipped to manufacture prior art products and compare them for patentability purposes. As the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Burden shift to applicant to provide evidence the same field strength by a same pulse source does not encompass applicants broadly claimed amount of energy applied.
With respect to applicants urging Wen does not teach, disclose or suggest qualitative values for these parameters nor suggests optimizing or even adjusting these parameters to obtain Applicants' claimed delivered energy. Wen teaches the same claimed field strength., Wen provides motivation to an amount of energy applied for a same purpose, namely the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
With respect to applicants urging Wen also provides no guidance as to current and/or power, which affect the energy level, Importantly Wen teaches the same claimed field strength range.
With respect to Energy level can be estimated from the current and power, using I=V/R and P=V²/R, where R can be estimated from R=(1/o)* (1/A), which uses properties of the brew cell (1/A) and the brewed liquid's conductivity (σ). Wen teaches the same claimed properties of the brew cell and the same claimed brewed liquid's conductivity (σ), i.e. “a liquid”.
With respect to applicants urging Wen provides no recognition that energy input is variable for flavor extraction from a substance. Importantly Wen specifically teaches the field strength is variable, i.e. a range of 1-100 kV/cm, in addition to teaching time is variable depending on different products (par. 0051), the claims are open to a substance. Wen teaches an amount of energy applied for a same purpose, namely the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Thus in a first instant with respect to a singular pulse of the same field strength and with respect to the overlapping range including the upper limit 5KV/cm, though silent to the energy of a same field strength, since the claimed and prior art field strength responsible for the amount of energy applied, are identical or substantially identical in structure and since the amount of energy is produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
A same field strength and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical field strength encompassed range, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present, i.e. an amount of energy. If there is any difference between the energy applied to the mixture dependent on the field strength and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious. Where applicant claims a same field strength in terms of a function, property or characteristic, i.e. energy applied due to and the field strength of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function, i.e. amount of energy is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102.” See MPEP 2112(111) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. Minus any clear and convincing evidence the same field strength would not provide a same claimed amount of energy of 5-50J/ml to the mixture.
Wen teaches the constant, i.e. application of an electric field for extraction of compounds of beverage products, Wen teaches a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). Though silent the energy applied, the energy applied is dependent on the field strength and pulse duration which the claims are silent to, the number of pulses and treatment time which the claims are silent to and the substance which the claims are further not limited by.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applicant is using known components to obtain expected results. There is nothing patentable unless the applicant, by a proper showing, further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship, which produces a new, unexpected, and useful function. In the absence of unexpected results, it is not seen how the claimed invention differs from the teachings of the prior art. Applicant's claims are drawn to a combination of known components which produces expected results, i.e. application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) for the art recognized purpose of creating pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Though silent to the energy provided to the mixture. "The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of... the explicit content of issued patents." KSR Int'l. Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398, 419. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR, 550 U.S. at 416., The question to be asked is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
In addition, a conclusion of obviousness can be made from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. See In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390 (CCPA 1969). Such as in the instant case, application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Applying an amount of energy, which is dependent on a same field strength, yields predictable results and thus would have been “Obvious to try”, i.e. choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, due to the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm). In addition to being known to work in one field of endeavor which may prompt variations of it for use in the same field based on product type, time, pulse duration, number of pulses, the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach an amount of energy, which encompasses the broad range of 5-50 J/ml as a result of the same application of a field strength of 0.2 KV/cm to 5KV/cm to the mixture (par. 0054 1-10kv/cm) thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
With respect to claimed duration of at least 30 seconds. Wen teaches time duration of application may be different depending on the type of product where the time duration is for a time which achieves moist compounds having been extracted from the ingredients (par. 0051). Thus since time is a variable which is dependent type of product is further dependent on a desired degree of extraction and amount of mixture being exposed which the claims are silent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to teach a brew time of at least 30 seconds thus achieving the art recognized purpose of an amount of energy which creates pores in the membrane of the cells and/or disrupt the wall of the cells and the art recognized advantage of facilitating extraction of compounds as taught by Wen (par. 0050).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20160374504, 5899137 directed to brewing methods
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN N LEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792