This office action is in response to amendment filed 01/28/2026 in which the claims 1-2, 4-6 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-16, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims have been fully considered and amended claims are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection made in view of Jeong et al. (US 2018/0176596 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Amendment claims 1-2, 4-6 have deleted the subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Hence claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for claims 1-7 are now cancelled.
Claim 6 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 now amended overcomes the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is now cancelled, hence claim 7 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1) is now withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,556,825 B2 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other, and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream.” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 506, 969 B2 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Li discloses and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 506, 969 B2 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Li discloses wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
11. Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,687 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division; wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Li discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (fig. 8, para[0270] teaches when one CU is split into two PUs in the vertical direction and Horizontal direction); wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
12. Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,389123 B2 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
13. Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,769 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
14. Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,715 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Li discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Fig. 8, para[0270] teaches when one CU is split into two PUs in the vertical direction and Horizontal direction), and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
15. Claims 1, 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,661 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream.” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Fig. 8, para[0270] teaches when one CU is split into two PUs in the vertical direction), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
16. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,753 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream.” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Fig. 8, para[0270] teaches when one CU is split into two PUs in the vertical direction, Figs. 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
17. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/756,928 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Fig. 8, para[0270] teaches when one CU is split into two PUs in the vertical direction& Figs 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
18. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/803,094 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream.” in the instant claim. However Li discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, (Fig. 5A, 5B , Fig. 6B. 6C), and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
19. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/803,002 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Li discloses and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
20. Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7 of co-pending application 18/802,973 in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream.” in the instant claim. However Li discloses and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since performing partitioning of video blocks for more efficient coding by partitioning better captures objects in video data that are in the center of blocks. The method enables partitioning video data flexibly by using multi-type-tree partitioning, thus allowing for greater coding efficiency, as taught by Li (Para[0006]).
21. Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6 of co-pending application 18/810,411 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Figs. 8, 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
22. Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6of co-pending application 18/810,353 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Figs. 8, 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
23. Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6 of co-pending application 18/810,348 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; a and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Figs. 8, 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); a and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
24. Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6 of co-pending application 18/810,340 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Figs. 8, 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
25. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6 of co-pending application 18/810,280 in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim
The difference between the instant and co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “ wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division, wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream” in the instant claim. However Zhang discloses wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Figs. 8, 17-18), four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0353] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance, as taught by Zhang (Para[0073]).
26. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6 of co-pending application 18/803,046. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
28. Claims 1-2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2017/0208336 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0150186 A1) and Jeong et al. (US 2018/0176596 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding (Para[0008] teaches the method of decoding) apparatus, comprising: receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded (Para[0008] teaches an encoded image is received); obtaining, from the bitstream, at least one among a single index for specifying a block division type of a current block in the image (Para[0152] teaches, syntax indicating how a block is split, para[0169] teaches an index of a splitting pattern according to which a video block corresponding to a non-leaf node of the tree structure is split into video blocks corresponding to child nodes of the non-leaf node), a first flag specifying whether to perform horizontal binary-division and a second flag specifying whether to perform vertical binary-division (Para[0073] teaches a syntax element (e.g., a flag) is signaled to indicate the type of splitting performed (e.g., horizontal or vertical), where 0 indicates horizontal splitting and 1 indicates vertical splitting); determining, based on at least one among the single index, the first flag and the second flag, the block division type of the current block from a candidate group pre-defined in the decoding apparatus, wherein the single index is used to select one candidate division types among a plurality of candidate division types included in the candidate group (Para[0105] teaches an index is used to signal a split type), wherein, when a size of the current block is within a predetermined range (Para[0049], a block must be equal to or greater thana minimum size for processing, the processing including block division; Para[0172], a block must be equal to or greater than a minimum size for quad division), the plurality of candidate division types includes a first quad-division (Part N x N), and a binary-division (Part 2N x N), wherein, when the size of the current block is out of the predetermined range, the plurality of candidate division types does not include the second quad-division (para[0172], quad division is only applied for block sizes between 16x16 and 128x128), wherein the first quad-division is representative of dividing, based on one horizontal line and one vertical line, one coding block into four coding blocks (FIG. 6a), and the binary-division is representative of dividing one coding block into two coding blocks (Figs. 6b and 6c), and wherein the binary-division includes the horizontal binary-division and the vertical binary-division (Para[0112]-[0113] teaches horizontal binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure), vertical binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure)), dividing, based on the determined block division type, the current block into a plurality of sub-blocks (Figs. 6a - 6e); and decoding each of the sub-blocks with reference to syntax information obtained from the bitstream (Para[0007], syntax elements are used for decoding), and wherein the decoding each of the sub-blocks comprises generating a residual block by decoding information obtained from the bitstream. (Para[0153] teaches video decoder 30 may reconstruct residual blocks of the CU).
Li does not explicitly disclose the first flag being different from the second flag; second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding blocks; wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other. However Zhang discloses second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding block (Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other(Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned of Li with the method of quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Zhang in order to provide a system having the flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance.
Li in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first flag being different from the second flag. However Jeong discloses the first flag being different from the second flag (para[0157] –[0163] teaches respective flags (div_h_flag and div_h_flag) may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag. Whether to perform horizontal or vertical division for each block may be represented by a horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or a vertical division flag (div_v_flag), when the horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or the vertical division flag (div_v_flag) is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed, otherwise, horizontal or vertical division is not performed. When each flag is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed and additional horizontal or vertical division is available, and when each flag is 0, horizontal or vertical division is not performed, and no more additional horizontal or vertical division is available. A block may be divided in a form of M×N, M/2×N, and M×N/2. Herein, the above flag may be encoded in an order of horizontal or vertical division flag as 00, 01, and 10. Alternatively, the above flag may be encoded in an order of the division flag (div_flag) and the horizontal-vertical flag (h_v_flag) (flag representing whether division is in a horizontal direction or a vertical direction) as 00, 10, and 11. Herein, the flag being overlapped may mean that horizontal division and vertical division are performed at the same time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned and quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Li in view of Zhang with method in which the respective flags may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag of Jeong in order to provide a system in which division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on a division depth order (from dep0 to dep_k), or the division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on whether or not to perform division.
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current block is set equal to a largest coding block or is set a block resulting from dividing the largest coding block, wherein a size of the largest coding block is variably determined based on information on the largest coding block, wherein the information on the largest coding block is signaled from the bitstream ( Para[0072] teaches QTBT partitioning structure, the CTU size is set as 128×128 (e.g., a 128×128 luma block and two corresponding 64×64 chroma blocks), Para[0049] teaches Syntax data associated with a coded bitstream may define a maximum number of times a tree block may be split, referred to as a maximum CU depth, and may also define a minimum size of the coding nodes).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a number of the candidate division types available for the current block is different dependent on at least one of a size of the current block or a shape of the current block (Para[0071] teaches CTB is first partitioned using quad-tree portioning techniques, where the quad-tree splitting of one node can be iterated until the node reaches the minimum allowed quad-tree leaf node size. The minimum allowed quad-tree leaf node size may be indicated to video decoder by the value of the syntax element MinQTSize. If the quad-tree leaf node size is not larger than the maximum allowed binary-tree root node size (e.g., as denoted by a syntax element MaxBTSize), the quad-tree leaf node can be further partitioned using binary-tree partitioning. The binary-tree partitioning of one node can be iterated until the node reaches the minimum allowed binary-tree leaf node size. Para[0113] –[0118] teaches Quad-tree partitioning: a block is further split into four same-size rectangular blocks. FIG. 6A shows an example of quad-tree partitioning. Vertical binary-tree partitioning: a block is vertically split into two same-size rectangular blocks. FIG. 6B is an example of vertical binary-tree partitioning. Horizontal binary-tree partitioning: a block is horizontally split into two same-size rectangular blocks. FIG. 6C is an example of horizontal binary-tree partitioning).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising: determining a block division type of a current block in the image from a candidate group pre-defined in the encoding apparatus (Para[0098] teaches video encoder 22 may be configured to select from among all the of the aforementioned partition types for each of the QT, BT, and TT partition structures. In other examples, video encoder 22 may be configured to only determine a partition type from among a subset of the aforementioned partition types. For example, a subset of the above-discussed partition types (or other partition types) may be used for certain block sizes or for certain depths of a quadtree structure); and encoding each of sub-blocks resulting from dividing the current block based on the determined block division type (para[0055], [0056], the partitioned block is encoded), wherein a single index is used to select one candidate division types among a plurality of candidate division types included in the candidate group (Para[0152] teaches, syntax indicating how a block is split, para[0169] teaches an index of a splitting pattern according to which a video block corresponding to a non-leaf node of the tree structure is split into video blocks corresponding to child nodes of the non-leaf node, Figs. 6A-E Para[0105] teaches an index is used to signal a split type), wherein, when a size of the current block is within a predetermined range (para[0049] teaches a block must be equal to or greater than a minimum size for processing, the processing including block division; [0172], a block must be equal to or greater than a minimum size for quad division), the plurality of candidate division types includes a first quad-division (Part N x N), and a binary-division (Part 2N x N), wherein, when the size of the current block is out of the predetermined range, the plurality of candidate division types does not include the second quad-division (para[0172], quad division is only applied for block sizes between 16x16 and 128x128), wherein the first quad-division is representative of dividing, based on one horizontal line and one vertical line, one coding block into four coding blocks (FIG. 6a), and the binary-division is representative of dividing one coding block into two coding blocks (Figs. 6b and 6c), wherein the binary-division includes a horizontal binary-division and a vertical binary-division (Para[0112]-[0113] teaches horizontal binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure), vertical binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure)), and wherein the encoding each of the sub-blocks comprises encoding a residual block into the bitstream, (Para[0145] teaches video encoder 22 may reconstruct the coding blocks of the CU, residual block), encoding at least one among the single index for specifying the determined block division type of the current block, a first flag specifying whether to perform the horizontal binary-division and a second flag specifying whether to perform the vertical binary-division (para[0105], an index is used to signal a split type, Para[0073] teaches a syntax element (e.g., a flag) is signaled to indicate the type of splitting performed (e.g., horizontal or vertical), where 0 indicates horizontal splitting and 1 indicates vertical splitting)).
Li does not explicitly disclose second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding blocks; wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other; the first flag being different from the second flag. However Zhang discloses second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding blocks (Figs. 9 and 18,Para [0125] teaches a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other(Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned of Li with the method of quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Zhang in order to provide a system having the flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance.
Li in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first flag being different from the second flag. However Jeong discloses the first flag being different from the second flag (para[0157] – [0163] teaches respective flags (div_h_flag and div_h_flag) may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag. Whether to perform horizontal or vertical division for each block may be represented by a horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or a vertical division flag (div_v_flag), when the horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or the vertical division flag (div_v_flag) is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed, otherwise, horizontal or vertical division is not performed. When each flag is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed and additional horizontal or vertical division is available, and when each flag is 0, horizontal or vertical division is not performed, and no more additional horizontal or vertical division is available. A block may be divided in a form of M×N, M/2×N, and M×N/2. Herein, the above flag may be encoded in an order of horizontal or vertical division flag as 00, 01, and 10. Alternatively, the above flag may be encoded in an order of the division flag (div_flag) and the horizontal-vertical flag (h_v_flag) (flag representing whether division is in a horizontal direction or a vertical direction) as 00, 10, and 11. Herein, the flag being overlapped may mean that horizontal division and vertical division are performed at the same time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned and quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Li in view of Zhang with method in which the respective flags may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag of Jeong in order to provide a system in which division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on a division depth order (from dep0 to dep_k), or the division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on whether or not to perform division.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream (Para[0035], the bitstream is transmitted), comprising: determining a block division type of a current block in the image from a candidate group pre-defined in the encoding apparatus (Para[0098] teaches video encoder 22 may be configured to select from among all the of the aforementioned partition types for each of the QT, BT, and TT partition structures. In other examples, video encoder 22 may be configured to only determine a partition type from among a subset of the aforementioned partition types. For example, a subset of the above-discussed partition types (or other partition types) may be used for certain block sizes or for certain depths of a quadtree structure); encoding each of sub-blocks resulting from dividing the current block based on the determined block division type to generate the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein a single index is used to select one candidate division types among a plurality of candidate division types included in the candidate group (Para[0152] teaches, syntax indicating how a block is split, para[0169] teaches an index of a splitting pattern according to which a video block corresponding to a non-leaf node of the tree structure is split into video blocks corresponding to child nodes of the non-leaf node, Figs. 6A-E Para[0105] teaches an index is used to signal a split type), wherein, when a size of the current block is within a predetermined range (para[0049] teaches a block must be equal to or greater than a minimum size for processing, the processing including block division; [0172], a block must be equal to or greater than a minimum size for quad division), the plurality of candidate division types includes a first quad-division (Part N x N), and a binary-division (Part 2N x N), wherein, when the size of the current block is out of the predetermined range, the plurality of candidate division types does not include the second quad-division (para[0172], quad division is only applied for block sizes between 16x16 and 128x128), wherein the first quad-division is representative of dividing, based one horizontal line and one vertical line, one coding block into four coding blocks (FIG. 6a), the binary-division is representative of dividing one coding block into two coding blocks (Figs. 6b and 6c), , wherein the binary-division includes a horizontal binary-division and a vertical binary-division (Para[0112]-[0113] teaches horizontal binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure), vertical binary-tree partitioning (BT partition structure)), and wherein the encoding each of the sub-blocks comprises encoding a residual block into the bitstream, encoding at least one among the single index for specifying the determined block division type of the current block (Para[0145] teaches video encoder 22 may reconstruct the coding blocks of the CU , residual block), a first flag specifying whether to perform the horizontal binary-division and a second flag specifying whether to perform the vertical binary-division para[0105], an index is used to signal a split type, Para[0073] teaches a syntax element (e.g., a flag) is signaled to indicate the type of splitting performed (e.g., horizontal or vertical), where 0 indicates horizontal splitting and 1 indicates vertical splitting)).
Li does not explicitly disclose a second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding blocks; wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other, the first flag being different from the second flag. However Zhang discloses second quad-division; the second quad-division is representative of dividing, based on three horizontal lines or three vertical lines, one coding block into four coding blocks (Figs 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2); wherein the four coding blocks obtained by the second quad-division have the same size each other(Figs. 9 and 18, [0125], a CU that is smaller than 64x64 can be split into four vertical or horizontal rectangular PUs with sizes N/2x2N or 2NxN/2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned of Li with the method of quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Zhang in order to provide a system having the flexibility of a node to have child nodes may increase video coding compression performance.
Li in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first flag being different from the second flag. However Jeong discloses the first flag being different from the second flag (para[0157] – [0163] teaches respective flags (div_h_flag and div_h_flag) may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag. Whether to perform horizontal or vertical division for each block may be represented by a horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or a vertical division flag (div_v_flag), when the horizontal division flag (div_h_flag) or the vertical division flag (div_v_flag) is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed, otherwise, horizontal or vertical division is not performed. When each flag is 1, horizontal or vertical division is performed and additional horizontal or vertical division is available, and when each flag is 0, horizontal or vertical division is not performed, and no more additional horizontal or vertical division is available. A block may be divided in a form of M×N, M/2×N, and M×N/2. Herein, the above flag may be encoded in an order of horizontal or vertical division flag as 00, 01, and 10. Alternatively, the above flag may be encoded in an order of the division flag (div_flag) and the horizontal-vertical flag (h_v_flag) (flag representing whether division is in a horizontal direction or a vertical direction) as 00, 10, and 11. Herein, the flag being overlapped may mean that horizontal division and vertical division are performed at the same time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of partitioning the coded picture of the video data into the plurality of blocks using the three or more different partition structures, wherein at least three of the three or more different partition structures may be used at each depth of a tree structure that represents how a particular block of the coded picture of the video data is partitioned and quad-tree splitting pattern may result in sub-optimal video data compression performance of Li in view of Zhang with method in which the respective flags may be supported for horizontal division and vertical division. Binary division may be supported according to the above flag of Jeong in order to provide a system in which division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on a division depth order (from dep0 to dep_k), or the division flags may be configured in a bitstream based on whether or not to perform division.
Conclusion
32. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425