DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 September 2025 have been fully considered but the amendment required a new reference, as shown below.
Further, though not explicitly relied upon for the rejection below, it is pointed out that when the central support of Kim is replaced with a conical central support, the blades would inherently have the claimed length variation as the side wall of Kim would remain consistent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the blade shape of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2018/0141837), in view of Krebs et al. (“Krebs”; US 3,703,081).
Regarding claim 1: Kim discloses a fluid acceleration system (300, Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (310) defining an inlet, an outlet, and an interior chamber configured to receive a fluid (as fluid flows into and out of the housing chamber);
a rotational element (370, 360) disposed within the interior chamber, the rotational element including:
a central support (360) extending between an upper wall and a lower wall of the housing; and
a plurality of blades (370) coupled to the central support;
a conduit assembly (600) positioned external to the housing, the conduit assembly connecting the outlet to the inlet; and
a driver (320) positioned to drive the rotational element to accelerate the fluid within the interior chamber such that a portion of the fluid flows out of the outlet, through the conduit assembly, and back into the interior chamber through the inlet (paragraph 0052).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the central support has a conical shape and each blade having a respective length extending outward from the conical central support toward a sidewall of the housing, wherein the respective length varies based on a position of the respective blade along the conical central support.
However, Krebs discloses the central support (74, Fig. 3) has a conical shape (shown by 75),
each blade (76) having a respective length extending outward from the conical central support toward a sidewall of the housing (81), wherein the respective length varies based on a position of the respective blade along the conical central support (as the blade length gets smaller from left to right, shown in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the central support of Kim to be conical, and to have the blades vary in length, as disclosed by Krebs, in order to increase the pressure (column 4, lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 3: Kim modified by Krebs discloses the conical central support, Kim further discloses the conical central support aligns with the inlet and defines an internal support channel that receives the fluid from the conduit assembly (as shaft 360 aligns with the distal end of the inflow 200, shown in Fig. 1, paragraphs 0059-0060).
Regarding claim 15: Kim discloses a door (410) positioned to selectively close the outlet of the housing (Fig. 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Krebs, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Taniguchi (US 2004/0057332).
Regarding claim 2: Kim discloses a housing but does not explicitly disclose the housing defines a plurality of inlets connected to the conduit assembly.
However, Taniguchi discloses the housing (300) defines a plurality of inlets (71, 72, Fig. 9) connected to the conduit assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Kim to include the plurality of inlets, as disclosed by Taniguchi, in order to increase the flow into the housing.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Krebs, as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Bailey (US 4,344,479).
Regarding claim 4: Kim modified by Krebs discloses the conical central support, but does not explicitly disclose the conical central support defines a support aperture configured to release the fluid into the interior chamber.
However, Bailey discloses the central support defines a support aperture configured to release the fluid into the interior chamber (conical central support 10 includes shaft 27 that has a plurality of apertures 85, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Kim to include the apertures in the shaft, as disclosed by Bailey, in order to permit increased flow of the liquid.
Regarding claim 5: Kim modified by Bailey disclose support apertures, Bailey further discloses the conical central support defines a plurality of support apertures (85, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6: Kim modified by Bailey disclose support apertures, Bailey further discloses the plurality of apertures are positioned proximate one end of the conical central support (as 85 runs all the way to the bottom of the central support, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7: Kim modified by Bailey disclose support apertures, Bailey further discloses the plurality of apertures are spaced along at least a portion of a length of the conical central support (as shown in Fig. 2).
Claims 8-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Krebs, as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Cuello et al. (“Cuello”; US 2020/0318054).
Regarding claim 8: Kim discloses a plurality of blades but does not explicitly disclose at least one of the plurality of blades defines an internal blade channel that receives the fluid from the internal support channel of the conical central support, and wherein the at least one of the plurality of blades defines a blade aperture this is configured to release the fluid into the interior chamber.
However, Cuello discloses at least one of the plurality of blades defines an internal blade channel (130) that receives the fluid from the internal support channel of the central support (paragraph 0040), and wherein the at least one of the plurality of blades defines a blade aperture (125) this is configured to release the fluid into the interior chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the support and blades of Kim to include the channel and apertures of Cuello in order to better introduce fluid to increase flow.
Regarding claim 9: Kim modified by Cuello discloses blade apertures, Cuello further discloses the blade aperture is positioned proximate a free end of the at least one of the plurality of blades (as Cuello discloses apertures across the blades, Fig. 5A-D).
Regarding claim 10: Kim modified by Cuello discloses blade apertures, Cuello further discloses the blade aperture is positioned proximate a connection between the conical central support and the at least one of the plurality of blades (as Cuello discloses apertures across the blades, Fig. 5A-D).
Regarding claim 11: Kim modified by Cuello discloses blade apertures, Cuello further discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of blades defines a plurality of blade apertures (as Cuello discloses apertures across the blades, Fig. 5A-D).
Regarding claim 19: Kim discloses each blade, but does not explicitly disclose each blade extends outward along an axis, and wherein each blade has a respective width characterized by a respective leading edge and a respective trailing edge, wherein each respective leading edge is disposed lower than the axis and each respective trailing edge is disposed higher than the axis.
However, Cuello discloses each blade extends outward along an axis (outward), and wherein each blade has a respective width characterized by a respective leading edge and a respective trailing edge, wherein each respective leading edge is disposed lower than the axis and each respective trailing edge is disposed higher than the axis (such as the 45 degree blade in Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blades of Kim to have the angle of Cuello in order to effectively move the fluid in the desired direction.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Krebs, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Scalzi (US 2006/0108809).
Regarding claim 16: Kim discloses an outlet leading to a conduit assembly but does not explicitly disclose a fluid scoop coupled to the housing proximate the outlet, the fluid scoop positioned to direct the portion of the fluid from the interior chamber, through the outlet.
However, Scalzi discloses a fluid scoop (60) coupled to the housing proximate the outlet, the fluid scoop positioned to direct the portion of the fluid from the interior chamber, through the outlet (as shown by the arrows, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet of Kim to include the scoop of Scalzi in order to better direct the fluid flow.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Krebs as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wieland (US 2015/0001141).
Regarding claim 17: Kim discloses a conduit that receives a pressurized fluid, but does not explicitly disclose a generator positioned along the conduit assembly and that receives the portion of the fluid.
However, Wieland discloses a generator (130, within 106, Fig. 11) positioned along the conduit assembly and that receives the portion of the fluid (W, shown in Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conduit of Kim to include the generator of Wieland in order to generate electricity from the fluid flow.
Regarding claim 18: Kim modified by Wieland disclose a generator, Wieland further discloses a battery (123, Fig. 3) coupled to the generator (130, paragraph 0042).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834