DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on June 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Two pages of drawings were received on June 10, 2026. The drawings are NOT acceptable because the newly submitted drawings are exactly the same as the original drawings. The Applicant is advised to supply both “Clean” and “Marked-up” versions of the drawings for clarity of the prosecution record. The Applicant claims that a certified copy of the priority document via Federal Express is being sent to the USPTO Customer Service Window. However, as of June 27, 2026, no such documents are in file.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 8/14/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2308701 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the first strength and the second strength as recited in claim 6; and
the air supply skirt is screwed onto the main body as recited in claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“hooking device” and “clamping mechanism” in claim 6 where “device” and “mechanism” are the placeholder and “hooking” and “clamping” are functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perinet et al (US 20210394206. Perinet hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Perinet discloses a rotary atomizer (2. Figs. 1-7) for coating products, the rotary atomizer comprising:
a main body (8) that comprises a rotor (42) having a rotation axis (X8);
an air supply skirt (sleeve with 82 and ring with 67) directly mounted on the main body; and
a bowl (6) mounted on (over) the air supply skirt, wherein the bowl is rotated by the rotor about the rotation axis;
wherein: the bowl comprises a first magnetic element (67) and the air supply skirt comprises a second magnetic element (47), and the first and second magnetic elements are apt to (capable of) exert an at least partially axial force with respect to the rotation axis, the force inducing a coupling in rotation of the bowl with the rotor ([0050]); and
the air supply skirt directs jets of air toward a cloud of coating product leaving an edge of the bowl to shape and/or direct the cloud of coating product toward an object to be coated ([0045] and [0051]. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 2, Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1, wherein the second magnetic element is mounted on, or formed by, an internal collar flange of the air supply skirt, bearing on a front (right) face of the main body (Fig. 1. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 3, Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic element is a ferromagnetic part of the bowl and the second magnetic element is at least one permanent magnet ([0050]).
With respect to claim 9, Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1, wherein the air supply skirt is clamped to the main body by a magnetic force exerted between a part of the main body and a part of the air supply skirt (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 10, Perinet discloses a method of assembling and/or disassembling the atomizer of claim 1 (2. Figs. 1-7), wherein, when assembling the atomizer:
in a first assembly step, the air supply skirt and the bowl are assembled and held together by a magnetic force between the first and second magnetic elements ([0050]); and
in a second assembly step, a subassembly formed by the air supply skirt and the bowl is directly mounted in one operation onto the main body; and wherein, when disassembling the atomizer:
in a first disassembly step, the subassembly formed by the air supply skirt and the bowl is separated from the main body in one operation; and
in a second disassembly step, the air supply skirt and the bowl are separated from each other, against the magnetic force between the first and second magnetic elements (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perinet.
Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1, wherein the first magnetic element is a ferromagnetic part of the bowl and the second magnetic element is at least one permanent magnet ([0050]). Perinet fails to disclose wherein the first magnetic element is at least one permanent magnet and the second magnetic element is a ferromagnetic part of the air supply skirt.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the first magnetic element is at least one permanent magnet and the second magnetic element is a ferromagnetic part of the air supply skirt. It has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
With respect to claim 8, Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1 except for wherein the air supply skirt is screwed onto the main body.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the air supply skirt and the main body with screw because these types of connections are well known in the art. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the screw connection because the selection of a known device based on its suitability for its intended purpose is sufficient since only the expected results would be attained. Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the screw connection because such a change is a mere alternative and functionally equivalent connection method from making a part into two connected parts.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perinet in view of Thome et al (US7452421. Thome hereinafter).
With respect to claim 5, Perinet discloses the atomizer according to claim 1, however, Perinet fails to disclose the atomizer further comprising a magnetic-pneumatic or magneto-hydraulic system which includes: a magnetic device for hooking the air supply skirt onto the main body; and a pneumatic or hydraulic mechanism for locking and clamping the air supply skirt on the main body.
However, Thome teaches a rotary atomizer (Figs. 1-6) for coating products comprising: a main body (15); and a bowl (3) which is rotated by a rotating member (11) about a rotation (longitudinal) axis defined by the main body, the bowl being equipped with a first means of magnetic coupling (4) apt to (capable of) cooperate with a second matching means of magnetic coupling (52-54) fastened to a non-rotating part (5, 15) of the rotary atomizer of coating products, the first and second means of magnetic coupling being apt to (capable of) exert an at least partially axial force with respect to the axis of rotation of the bowl, the force inducing the coupling in rotation of the bowl with the rotating member, wherein the second means of magnetic coupling are supported by an (inner) air supply skirt (38a and right surface of 5 in Fig. 2 that defined air gap e) directly mounted on the main body. Thome further teaches wherein the atomizer comprises a magnetic-pneumatic (air and/or magnetic bearing turbine. Col. 1, lines 25-26) or magneto-hydraulic system which includes: a magnetic device (4, 5 and 52) for (capable of) hooking (connecting) the air supply skirt onto the main body; and a pneumatic or hydraulic mechanism (volumes filled with air. Col. 5, lines 34-38) for (capable of) locking and clamping the air supply skirt on the main body (via the magnetic connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the magnetic device and hydraulic mechanism, as taught by Thome, to Perinet’s atomizer, in order to lock and clamp the air supply skirt on the main body (Fig. 1 and Col. 5, lines 34-38).
With respect to claim 6, Perinet’s atomizer modified by Thome’s magnetic device and hydraulic mechanism, Thome further teaches the atomizer according to claim 5, wherein: the magnetic hooking device is configured to (capable of) exert, between the air supply skirt and the main body, an axial magnetic force, parallel to a longitudinal axis of the atomizer, with a first strength (Fig. 2. Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); and the pneumatic or hydraulic clamping mechanism is configured to (capable of) exert between the air supply skirt and the main body an axial mechanical force, parallel to the longitudinal axis of the atomizer, with a second strength (Same configuration as the Applicant’s invention); and the second strength is strictly greater than the first strength (Second strength is power by adjustable pneumatic air system, therefore, it can be increase to overcome the fixed magnetic force).
Alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second strength strictly greater than the first strength, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 7, Perinet’s atomizer modified by Thome’s magnetic device and hydraulic mechanism, Thome further teaches the atomizer according to claim 6, further comprising seals (glue or rings 53 and 54 or volumes filled with air. Col. 5, lines 34-38) arranged between the air supply skirt and the main body, wherein the seals are compressed by the mechanical force exerted by the pneumatic or hydraulic clamping mechanism and isolate conduits (air passages of Thome) for the circulation of shaping air, provided in the main body and in a body (of 5 and 15) of the air supply skirt, from the outside of the atomizer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 27, 2026