DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on July 2nd, 2026, amended claim 6 is entered. Claims 1-11 are currently under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 2nd, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on July 2nd, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not established a serious search or examination burden because the alleged inventions here share sufficient common structure and function to warrant examination together. This is not found persuasive because Inventions I and II are directed to related inventions. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed are mutually exclusive in that Invention I is not directed to circuitry configured to operatively couple a plurality of outputs of the plurality of amplifiers and a buffered output of at least one reference electrode to generate a common mode reference signal, wherein the common mode reference signal is provided to the inverting input of each amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers, and Invention Il is not directed to one or more buffers configured to tap a voltage at the inverting input of a respective amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers; and circuitry configured to operatively couple a plurality of outputs of the plurality of amplifiers to generate a common mode reference signal, wherein the common mode reference signal is provided to the inverting input of one or more amplifiers of the plurality of amplifiers. Furthermore, there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(A) Separate classification thereof: This shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search. Patents need not be cited to show separate classification.
(B) A separate status in the art when they are classifiable together: Even though they are classified together, each invention can be shown to have formed a separate subject for inventive effort when the examiner can show a recognition of separate inventive effort by inventors. Separate status in the art may be shown by citing patents which are evidence of such separate status, and also of a separate field of search.
(C) A different field of search: Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries, a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together. The indicated different field of search must in fact be pertinent to the type of subject matter covered by the claims. Patents need not be cited to show different fields of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1 recites “signals electrodes” in line 9, but should read “signal electrodes”.
Claims 12-20 are objected to because they have incorrect status identifiers. Currently, they are identified as “(Original)”. However, Claims 12-20 should be indicated as “(Withdrawn)”. The withdrawn claims may later have further identifiers to indicate that they have been amended, but the “(Withdrawn)” status identifier must be present.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“wearable structure” in Claims 1 and 9-10: [0036] of the Applicant’s Specification recites wherein the wearable device may be “a wrist-worn device (e.g., a smart watch, a fitness tracker, etc.)”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a switch” in line 1. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a switch” from line 1 of Claim 2, or a separate element.
Claim 3 recites “switches” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “a switch” from line 1 of Claim 2, or a separate element.
Claim 4 recites “coupled to output of the one or more buffers” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether this “output” is referring to the previously introduced “output” from line 9 of Claim 1, or if the term “output” was meant to be used as a verb instead of a noun. Clarification is requested.
Claim 7 recites “the inverting input” in line 2. It is unclear as to which “inverting input” this limitation is referring to, as each of the amplifiers includes its own inverting input.
Claim 8 recites “switches” in line 1 then later recites “a given switch” in line 2. It is unclear as to whether the limitation “given switch” is referring to one specific switch from the “switches” previously recited in line 1 of Claim 8, or a separate element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements et al (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0138313; cited by Applicant) in view of Do Valle et al (U.S. Publication No. 2021/259638; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Clements discloses a device for sensing neuromuscular signals (electrode-based systems and devices for interfacing with biological tissue and related methods; Abstract), the device comprising:
a wearable structure configured to be worn by a user (The compression pad 114 can be configured to wrap around a portion of the patient's anatomy; [0063]; Figure 6);
a plurality of signal electrodes (The electrode array 104 includes a plurality of electrodes 106; [0055]) aligned along an interior portion of the wearable structure configured to be proximate to a skin surface of the user when the device is donned by the user (A wrap or band can be provided to apply this pressure. The wrap or band may include the compression pad of FIGS. 8 and 9A. In some cases the wrap or band can incorporate a rigid member (e.g. flat, curved, or otherwise shaped to fit the underlying anatomy) overlying the electrode array designed to selectively apply pressure on the electrode array pushing it into the skin; [0113]), each signal electrode of the plurality of signal electrodes being configured to detect neuromuscular signals of the user (the systems and methods described herein can be used for fine assessment of the degree of neuromuscular function, e.g. as a measure of reinnervation be regenerating axons. Signals from nerve, muscles, and reflex pathways can all be used for these assessments, which can also inform the progression of a disease or other pathology or amelioration via treatment, therapy, or natural healing. Enhanced characterization of neuromuscular function in this way can provide more sensitive and discriminating quantitative measures to better inform intervention; [0204]);
a plurality of amplifiers (“DA1”, “DA2”…“DAn” in Figure 10A) corresponding to the plurality of signal electrodes (The electronics module 150 can include stimulating electronics for stimulating nerves and/or recording electronics such as filters, amplifiers, and/or analog-to-digital converters; [0066-0070]; Figure 10A shows n number of signal electrodes, each of which is connected to an amplifier: “DA1”, “DA2”…“DAn”), wherein each amplifier includes (i) a first input operatively coupled to a corresponding signal electrode of the plurality of signals electrodes (Examiner’s Note: Figure 10A shows that each of the signal electrodes are operatively coupled to each of the amplifiers: “DA1”, “DA2”…“DAn”), (ii) a second input (Examiner’s Note: Figure 10A shows that each amplifier (“DA1”, “DA2”…“DAn”) comprises two inputs), and (iii) an output corresponding to a neuromuscular signal (In some implementations, the electronics module 150 is further configured for functional nerve imaging. FIG. 16A. illustrates spatial activity mapping. For example, the electronics unit 150 is configured to automatically manipulate and monitor nerves, and the electronics unit 150 can be configured to identify the electrodes in the electrode array that acquire signals with the highest amplitudes. The results can be displayed as a heat map. In some implementations, the electronics module 150 is further configured for a nerve conduction study. FIG. 16B is a still frame of signal propagation through the patient's median nerve, displayed as an animation or video. Different electrodes in the electrode array acquire the signal as it propagates along the nerve; [0071-0072]; The sensitivity, robust nature of an array-based system, and capabilities for automation or feedback to the operator allows clinicians or other health care providers with less specialized training or experience to administer screenings, diagnostics or therapies. For example, various types of stimulation or operant conditioning protocols can help patients overcome effects after neuromuscular injuries or disease; [0199]; the systems and methods described herein can be used for fine assessment of the degree of neuromuscular function, e.g. as a measure of reinnervation be regenerating axons. Signals from nerve, muscles, and reflex pathways can all be used for these assessments, which can also inform the progression of a disease or other pathology or amelioration via treatment, therapy, or natural healing. Enhanced characterization of neuromuscular function in this way can provide more sensitive and discriminating quantitative measures to better inform intervention; [0204]);
circuitry configured to operatively generate a common mode reference signal (as shown in FIG. 10A, the electronics module 150 includes a driven right leg circuit 155. The driven right leg circuit 155 is configured to measure the subject's common-mode, and force a ground of the electronics module 150 to the subject's common-mode. FIG. 10B illustrates the significant reduction in observed stimulation artifact achieved using the driven right leg circuit 155; [0070]).
Clements fails to specifically teach an inverting input; one or more buffers configured to tap a voltage at the inverting input of a respective amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers; and circuitry configured to operatively couple a plurality of outputs of the plurality of amplifiers to generate a common mode reference signal, wherein the common mode reference signal is provided to the inverting input of one or more amplifiers of the plurality of amplifiers.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), comprising an inverting input ([0115]); one or more buffers configured to tap a voltage at the inverting input of a respective amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers (an amplifier may be placed on top of the electrode to serve as a buffer. The buffer drives the long cable. Since the buffer has a low output impedance, the amount of noise picked up from the long cable is reduced; [0100]); and circuitry configured to operatively couple a plurality of outputs of the plurality of amplifiers to generate a common mode reference signal, wherein the common mode reference signal is provided to the inverting input of one or more amplifiers of the plurality of amplifiers (FIG. 14 shows an exemplary configuration 1400 in which a common-mode feedback circuit 1402 is used to reduce the impact of common-mode noise on biopotential recordings made by electrodes 1202. As shown, the signals output by amplifiers 1204-1 and 1204-2 are labeled Vn1 and Vn2, respectively. These signals are provided as inputs to common-mode feedback circuit 1402. Signals Vn1 and Vn2 are summed (e.g., combined) by virtue of resistors R5 and R6 being in parallel. The summed signal is provided as an input to the inverting input of an operational amplifier 1404, which has a non-inverting input connected to circuit ground. A resistor-capacitor network (R7 and C1) is configured to invert the summed signal such that the output of amplifier 1404 is an inverse signal of the summed signal; [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the amplifier output teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements as the output is representative of the biopotential measurement signals (Do Valle [0107]).
Regarding Claim 2, Clements fails to disclose a switch disposed across each buffer of the one or more buffers.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), further comprising a switch disposed across each buffer of the one or more buffers (Each switch 1802 is in series between a different one of resistors R1 through RN and is operable to exclude a select one or more of signals Vn1 through VnN from being included in the measurement (e.g., generation) of Vcm. For example, switch 1802-1 may be in a first state (e.g., closed) to allow Vn1 to be included in the measurement of Vcm. Alternatively, switch 1802-1 may be in a second state (e.g., open) to exclude Vn1 from being included in the measurement of Vcm; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the switch teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to enable the inclusion and exclusion of a select signal for the measurement (Do Valle [0125]).
Regarding Claim 3, Clements fails to disclose wherein a switch associated with a first buffer of the one or more buffers causes the first buffer to be enabled, and wherein switches associated with the remaining buffers of the one or more buffers cause the remaining buffers to be disabled.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), wherein a switch associated with a first buffer of the one or more buffers causes the first buffer to be enabled, and wherein switches associated with the remaining buffers of the one or more buffers cause the remaining buffers to be disabled (Each switch 1802 is in series between a different one of resistors R1 through RN and is operable to exclude a select one or more of signals Vn1 through VnN from being included in the measurement (e.g., generation) of Vcm. For example, switch 1802-1 may be in a first state (e.g., closed) to allow Vn1 to be included in the measurement of Vcm. Alternatively, switch 1802-1 may be in a second state (e.g., open) to exclude Vn1 from being included in the measurement of Vcm; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the switch teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to enable the inclusion and exclusion of a select signal for the measurement (Do Valle [0125]).
Regarding Claim 4, Clements fails to disclose wherein the circuitry comprises a set of resistors operatively coupled to output of the one or more buffers configured to generate an average of the outputs of the one or more buffers.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), wherein the circuitry comprises a set of resistors (resistors R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6) operatively coupled to output of the one or more buffers configured to generate an average of the outputs of the one or more buffers (To illustrate, as shown, common-mode feedback circuit 1502 is configured to receive signals Vn1 and Vn2 as inputs. Signals Vn1 and Vn2 are summed (e.g., combined) by virtue of resistors R5 and R6 being in parallel. The summed signal is provided as an input to the non-inverting input of amplifier 1504 (as opposed to the inverting input as described in connection with common-mode feedback circuit 1402 shown in FIG. 14). In configuration 1500, each resistor branch includes a capacitor (e.g., capacitors C1 and C2) connected to circuit ground and to a second node of each resistor. These capacitors are configured to set the loop bandwidth of common-mode feedback circuit 1502 and may be of any suitable value; [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the resistor teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to provide a voltage-divided feedback signal to the inverting input of amplifier. Likewise, resistor network is configured to provide a voltage-divided feedback signal to the inverting input of amplifier (Do Valle [0111]).
Regarding Claim 5, Clements fails to disclose a switch disposed across each resistor of the set of resistors.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), further comprising a switch disposed across each resistor of the set of resistors (Each switch 1802 is in series between a different one of resistors R1 through RN and is operable to exclude a select one or more of signals Vn1 through VnN from being included in the measurement (e.g., generation) of Vcm. For example, switch 1802-1 may be in a first state (e.g., closed) to allow Vn1 to be included in the measurement of Vcm. Alternatively, switch 1802-1 may be in a second state (e.g., open) to exclude Vn1 from being included in the measurement of Vcm; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the switch teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to enable the inclusion and exclusion of a select signal for the measurement (Do Valle [0125]).
Regarding Claim 6, Clements fails to disclose wherein the switch is utilized to short each resistor of the set of resistors.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), wherein the switch is utilized to short each resistor of the set of resistors (Each switch 1802 is in series between a different one of resistors R1 through RN and is operable to exclude a select one or more of signals Vn1 through VnN from being included in the measurement (e.g., generation) of Vcm. For example, switch 1802-1 may be in a first state (e.g., closed) to allow Vn1 to be included in the measurement of Vcm. Alternatively, switch 1802-1 may be in a second state (e.g., open) to exclude Vn1 from being included in the measurement of Vcm; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the switch teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to enable the inclusion and exclusion of a select signal for the measurement (Do Valle [0125]).
Regarding Claim 7, Clements fails to disclose wherein a given output of a given amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers is operatively coupled to the inverting input via one or more resistors.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), wherein a given output of a given amplifier of the plurality of amplifiers is operatively coupled to the inverting input via one or more resistors (Signals Vn1 and Vn2 are summed (e.g., combined) by virtue of resistors R5 and R6 being in parallel. The summed signal is provided as an input to the inverting input of an operational amplifier 1404, which has a non-inverting input connected to circuit ground. A resistor-capacitor network (R7 and C1) is configured to invert the summed signal such that the output of amplifier 1404 is an inverse signal of the summed signal; [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the configuration teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to provide a voltage-divided feedback signal to the inverting input of amplifier. Likewise, resistor network is configured to provide a voltage-divided feedback signal to the inverting input of amplifier (Do Valle [0111]).
Regarding Claim 8, Clements fails to disclose switches disposed across at least one of the one or more resistors, wherein a given switch is configured to cause the at least one of the one or more resistors to be shorted.
In a similar technical field, Do Valle teaches a biopotential measurement system including a plurality of electrodes each configured to record a different signal included in a plurality of signals representative of electrical activity of a target within a user (Abstract), further comprising switches disposed across at least one of the one or more resistors, wherein a given switch is configured to cause the at least one of the one or more resistors to be shorted (Each switch 1802 is in series between a different one of resistors R1 through RN and is operable to exclude a select one or more of signals Vn1 through VnN from being included in the measurement (e.g., generation) of Vcm. For example, switch 1802-1 may be in a first state (e.g., closed) to allow Vn1 to be included in the measurement of Vcm. Alternatively, switch 1802-1 may be in a second state (e.g., open) to exclude Vn1 from being included in the measurement of Vcm; [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the switch teachings of Do Valle into the invention of Clements in order to enable the inclusion and exclusion of a select one or more of signals for the measurement (Do Valle [0125]).
Regarding Claim 9, Clements discloses wherein the wearable structure comprises a wrist-worn structure (FIG. 6 illustrates an electrode patch applied to a patient's lower arm according to implementations described herein; [0042]; A wrap or band can be provided to apply this pressure. The wrap or band may include the compression pad of FIGS. 8 and 9A. In some cases the wrap or band can incorporate a rigid member (e.g. flat, curved, or otherwise shaped to fit the underlying anatomy) overlying the electrode array designed to selectively apply pressure on the electrode array pushing it into the skin; [0113]; Figures 6 and 9A-9B).
Regarding Claim 10, Clements discloses wherein the plurality of signal electrodes are disposed circumferentially around the interior portion of the wearable structure (A wrap or band can be provided to apply this pressure. The wrap or band may include the compression pad of FIGS. 8 and 9A. In some cases the wrap or band can incorporate a rigid member (e.g. flat, curved, or otherwise shaped to fit the underlying anatomy) overlying the electrode array designed to selectively apply pressure on the electrode array pushing it into the skin; [0113]; Figures 6 and 9A-9B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clements and Do Valle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Strohmeier et al (WO 2019/043147 A1; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 11, although Clements discloses wherein the same muscle group comprises wrist muscles (a short region of conduction velocity slowing (e.g., the median nerve at the wrist, as in carpal tunnel syndrome) can be clearly seen when the stimulus and recording electrodes lie directly on either side of that region; [0088]; [0113]; Figures 6 and 9A-9B), Clements and Do Valle fail to specifically teach wherein the neuromuscular signals are associated with wrist extensor muscles and/or wrist flexor muscles.
In a similar technical field, Strohmeier teaches a garment fabric for reading and writing muscle activity (Abstract), comprising electrodes for collecting EMG data of a user (array of 60 skin electrodes are sewn into the inner surface of sleeve…around the forearm of a user; Page 10 Lines 11-19; Figures 1-3) wherein the neuromuscular signals are associated with wrist extensor muscles and/or wrist flexor muscles (The target gestures were grouped into pairs based on shared muscle compartments: wrist-up and wrist-down, hand-left and hand-right, squeeze-fingers and index-point. For example, the extensor carpi ulnaris (on the top of the forearm), among other muscles, contracts to extend the wrist. In this case, it is an agonist muscle. The antagonist muscles, such as the flexor carpi ulnaris (on the bottom of the forearm), relax to enable wrist extension. When flexing the wrist, however, the role of these muscles is reversed. When holding a pose, co-activation of both agonist and antagonist muscles can occur, producing discernible signals for our EMG devices; Page 30 Lines 5-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the wrist extensor and/or flexor muscles teachings of Strohmeier into those of Clements and Do Valle in order to measure activity from muscles that actively work together (Strohmeier Page 30 Lines 5-13).
Conclusion
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791