DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 13-20 in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference character “230” in Fig. 2 and “455” in Fig. 4 are not mentioned in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “ones of the steel slag particles”. It is unclear what “ones” refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,091,605 (hereafter ‘605).
Regarding claims 13-16, ‘605 claims a plurality of steel slag particles wherein at least 90% of the steel slag particles have diameters of 1.25 mm or less and equal to or greater than 0.14 mm. (claim 1). ‘605 claims that the steel slag particles are electric arc furnace slag. (claim 1). ‘605 claims the content of iron-compound in the steels-slag particles is equal to or less than 5% by weight. (claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, ‘605 claims the steel slag particles having CaO, MgO, SiO2 and Al2O3. (claim 1).
Regarding claim 18-20, ‘605 claims the use of the steel slag particles in a blasting process under the same parameters as claimed that complies with SSPC-SP 10. (claims 15-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka et al. (EP 1 325 897) in view of Seo et al. (KR 20100117953).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 16-17, Morioka et al. teaches a cement composition containing Portland cement and a slowly cooled blast furnace slag powder. (Abstract and par. [0011]). The blast furnace slag contains SiO2, CaO¸ Al2O3, MgO, MnO and Fe2O3, wherein the content of Fe2O3 is less than 2%. (par. [0018]).
Morioka et al. does not teach the particle size of the slag within the range presently claimed.
Seo et al. teaches a concrete composition containing an aggregate mixture containing slag. (Abstract). Seo et al. teaches that the aggregate used in concrete compositions is advantageously used from the standpoint of reducing the cost of production. (see Advantageous-Effects) Seo et al. teaches that the slag should have a particle size of 0.08-5 mm from the standpoint of adjusting the ability of the slag to be effectively compounded into concrete and the ability thereof to be used into an aggregate. (Description of Embodiments, 7th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the particle diameter of the slag particles in Morioka et al. in view of the teachings of Seo et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the particle size distribution in view of the teachings in Seo et al. that the particle size is a result effective variable in affecting the ability for slag particles to be formed into suitable aggregates in concrete and their ability to be effectively compounded into concrete compositions. Where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 16, the slag particles disclosed in Morioka et al. are disclosed to be furnace slag. (par. [0017]). While Morioka et al. does teach that the slag comes from an electric arc furnace process, the method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claims 18-20, the slag particles disclosed by the combination of teachings of Morioka et al. and Seo et al. would meet the limitation of an “abrasive blast media” by virtue of their composition and particle size which overlaps with those presently claimed. With respect to the cleaning process presently claimed, Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is the examiner’s position that the slag particles disclosed in the prior art would be capable of being used under a cleaning process presently claimed using the pressure, blast nozzle positioning and cleaning rate as claimed in claims 18-20 such that the claimed process would yield a surface complying with SSPC-SP-10.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 07/21/2026