DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,142. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,142. Claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,142.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryan (2011/0170463).
Regarding claim 1, Aryan discloses a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: (See Aryan para. 33; base stations; fig. 1, 4)
transmitting a first round-trip time measurement signal having a first transmit group delay; (See Aryan fig. 5; Node B transmits a beacon (e.g. round trip time measurement signal) and measures its own TX and Rx chain delays (e.g. group delay); para. 8; round trip delay; see also para. 54-59)
sending, to a receiving entity, information indicating the first transmit group delay (See Aryan fig. 5, para. 48-49; Node B transmits to Node A a beacon with embedded TX and RX chain delay)
Aryan also discloses that receive chain and transmit chain delay may vary based upon current operating conditions, such as temperature, speed, frequency, packet size, SNR, etc. (See Aryan para. 29) Aryan does not explicitly disclose that the process may be performed multiple times (e.g. a second round trip time measurement signal and a second group delay). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Aryan to include the teaching of that the process may be performed multiple times (e.g. a second round trip time measurement signal and a second group delay) with the motivation being it is common sense (Aryan already discloses that the delay may be affected by many factors so it may need to be tested multiple times across different times and frequencies) and further to ensure accurate positioning (which may assist in coordination of resources) and further for accurate navigation of mobile devices and further it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (performing Aryan’s known delay-measurement and reporting process a second time would predictably provide the receiving entity with delay information for a second RTT measurement signal. There is no new or unexpected results from performing a known process again)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
R1-2006972 discloses on page 47, sending group delay to UE.
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461