DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1 (claims 1-11, figures 1, 2A, 3-15) in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator” in claim 1
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) “a control system for controlling at least the material modification beam source, the process beam scanning actuator, and the imaging beam scanning actuator” in claim 1;
(ii) “an auxiliary measurement system configured to measure process radiation” in claim 8
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(i) Para.[0045]-[0046] discloses “The control system 160 may also include data processing systems to correct ICI measurements. The control system 160 may further include a record generator for generating records of the ICI measurements and a quality judgment system for performing quality analysis of welded parts…The control system 160 may include, for example, hardware (e.g., a general-purpose computer or microcontroller) and software known for use in controlling fiber lasers and galvo mirrors. Existing galvo control software may be used, for example, and modified to allow the galvo mirrors to be controlled as described herein.”
(ii) Para.[0047] discloses “The laser welding system 100 may also include an auxiliary measurement system 170 including auxiliary sensors such as visible and/or IR-sensitive photodiodes, and/or cameras, some of which may be coupled to the welding head 110 by way of optical fibers. The auxiliary measurement system 170 may be configured to measure process radiation, for example, within a spectral band of 100 nm to 20 μm. The auxiliary measurement system 170 may include optical elements, such as apertures, lenses, scanning mirrors, optical fibers (some of which may be coupled to the process laser, or ICI system itself), to perform spatially localized measurements relative to the process beam and/or the measurement beam. Examples of auxiliary sensors are described in greater detail in U.S. Pat. No. 10,124,410, which is incorporated herein by reference.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator” is indefinite. Claim 1 recited “a processing head… including at least process beam scanning actuator”, which clearly states the process beam scanning actuator is a part of the processing head. Therefore it is unclear how the processing head downstream of the process beam canning actuator, and the limitation “the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator” contradicts to the limitation “a processing head… including at least process beam scanning actuator”.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator” is interpreted to the at least one process beam scanning actuator is in downstream portion of the processing head, based on the disclosure of the specification and figures.
Regarding claims 2-11, these claims are rejected due to their dependency on an indefinite claim as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lessmuller (DE102015015330A1) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Lessmuller teaches a laser material processing system comprising:
a material modification beam source (processing beam source; see pra.[0001]) for generating a process beam (processing beam 18);
a processing head (processing optics 13) coupled to the material modification beam source (processing beam source) and including at least one process beam scanning actuator (movable first deflection device 26), for directing and moving the process beam according to a wobble pattern in at least one axis on a processing site of a workpiece (see para.[0057]);
an inline coherent imaging (ICI) system (measuring device 14) optically coupled to the processing head (processing optics 13), the ICI system including at least one imaging beam scanning actuator (movable second deflection device 62) for positioning the imaging beam independently of the process beam (See para.[0062] “The movable second deflection device 62 of the embodiment shown in FIG. 1 can be displaced in the direction of the arrows 64, 66 in order to deflect the OCT measuring beam 46 in the desired manner.”); and
a control system (control; see para.[0081]) for controlling at least the material modification beam source, the process beam scanning actuator, and the imaging beam scanning actuator (see para.[0081] “In the described third functional principle of the present invention, a comparatively small amount of information is also necessary to control the second deflection device 62 so that it shifts the OCT measuring beam 46 in the manner described above. For this purpose, only the geometric processing figure 70 (here the sine curve with the frequency and amplitude shown), the processing direction BR and the trigger signals at the reversal points 72 of the oscillatory movement of the processing beam need to be transmitted to the second deflection device 62 or its control (not shown). Only the trigger signals mentioned are transmitted continuously during processing, while the geometric processing figure 70 is only transmitted once at the beginning or with every change in the wobbling movement, and the processing direction BR is also only transmitted once at the beginning and in the event of a change in direction.”), wherein the control system is programmed to cause the processing head to scan the process beam in the wobble pattern (see para.[0065] “The movable first deflection device 26 is set up to deflect the processing beam 18 and the coaxially superimposed OCT measuring beam 46 in an oscillating manner relative to the main processing path. The displacement of the beams is shown as an example in FIG. 1 by S, S' and S''. The oscillatory movement carried out in this way represents a sinusoidal machining figure 70 which runs along the main machining path, i.e. H. runs along the joining edge between the workpiece parts W', W''. More precisely, the processing beam 18 and the OCT measuring beam 46 are moved back and forth along the joining edge between the workpiece parts W', W" to be connected in the xy plane. The beams basically follow the processing direction BR, on which the oscillatory movement is superimposed. In the embodiment shown, the processing figure 70 is adjusted by the deflection movement by the first deflection device 26 in such a way that the joining edge does not represent an exact center line of the sinusoidal processing figure 70. Rather, the processing figure 70 in FIG. 1 is offset to the left in the direction of the upper workpiece part W', so that greater melting of the upper workpiece part W' takes place to form the weld seam”), and wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam to a plurality of measurement locations on the processing site in coordination with the wobble pattern (see paras.[0084]-[0085] “The fourth functional principle according to the invention shown in FIG. 6 also provides that a deflection of the OCT measuring beam 46 by means of the second deflection device 62 completely subtractively superimposes the oscillating deflection by means of the first deflection device 26. In addition to this subtractive superimposition, the OCT measuring beam 46 is displaced according to the fourth functional principle by means of the second deflection device 62 to any desired measuring position on the workpiece W, for example to one of the measuring positions Pre, In and/or Post. The deflection by the second deflection device 62 is realized via an actual/target comparison of a current actual processing position and an intended target measuring position. From this actual/target comparison, the measuring device 14 or a control unit calculates a displacement vector V for displacing the OCT measuring beam 46. The current actual processing position is known from the position of the movable first deflection device 26. In this way, in the fourth functional principle of the invention, any displacement of the OCT measuring beam 46 and thus a flexible position measurement on the workpiece W can also be carried out using the wobbling movement of the processing beam 18.”),
wherein the ICI system (measuring device 14) is optically coupled to the processing head (processing optics 13) downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator (movable first deflection device 26).
Regarding claim 2, Lessmuller teaches the processing head (processing optics 13) is a welding head for directing and moving the process beam according to the wobble pattern on a weld site (see fig.1 and para.[0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Lessmuller teaches the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator (movable first deflection device 26 of Lessmuller) to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction opposite to movement of the process beam and with synchronization to the wobble pattern (see para.[0021] of Lessmuller “The oscillating relative movement in relation to the OCT measuring beam, as well as in relation to the processing beam, describes in particular an oscillation around the main processing path, with the main processing path defining a reference position of the oscillatory movement. The oscillation can take place in the form of an oscillating, sinusoidal, sawtooth-shaped, circular or helical or other oscillatory movement. In the overall view, this oscillatory movement essentially follows the described machining direction relative to the workpiece, whereby this machining direction specifies the basic overall direction of the machining and does not describe the changing directions on the oscillating curve.” And para.[0081] of Lessmuller “In the described third functional principle of the present invention, a comparatively small amount of information is also necessary to control the second deflection device 62 so that it shifts the OCT measuring beam 46 in the manner described above. For this purpose, only the geometric processing figure 70 (here the sine curve with the frequency and amplitude shown), the processing direction BR and the trigger signals at the reversal points 72 of the oscillatory movement of the processing beam need to be transmitted to the second deflection device 62 or its control (not shown). Only the trigger signals mentioned are transmitted continuously during processing, while the geometric processing figure 70 is only transmitted once at the beginning or with every change in the wobbling movement, and the processing direction BR is also only transmitted once at the beginning and in the event of a change in direction.”)
Regarding claim 4, Lessmuller teaches the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator (movable first deflection device 26 of Lessmuller) to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction of the process beam and with synchronization to a wobble pattern (see para.[0021] of Lessmuller “The oscillating relative movement in relation to the OCT measuring beam, as well as in relation to the processing beam, describes in particular an oscillation around the main processing path, with the main processing path defining a reference position of the oscillatory movement. The oscillation can take place in the form of an oscillating, sinusoidal, sawtooth-shaped, circular or helical or other oscillatory movement. In the overall view, this oscillatory movement essentially follows the described machining direction relative to the workpiece, whereby this machining direction specifies the basic overall direction of the machining and does not describe the changing directions on the oscillating curve.” And para.[0081] of Lessmuller “In the described third functional principle of the present invention, a comparatively small amount of information is also necessary to control the second deflection device 62 so that it shifts the OCT measuring beam 46 in the manner described above. For this purpose, only the geometric processing figure 70 (here the sine curve with the frequency and amplitude shown), the processing direction BR and the trigger signals at the reversal points 72 of the oscillatory movement of the processing beam need to be transmitted to the second deflection device 62 or its control (not shown). Only the trigger signals mentioned are transmitted continuously during processing, while the geometric processing figure 70 is only transmitted once at the beginning or with every change in the wobbling movement, and the processing direction BR is also only transmitted once at the beginning and in the event of a change in direction.”)
Regarding claim 5, Lessmuller teaches the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam scans the processing site in a scan pattern at least partially encompassing a wobble pattern (See para.[0063] “The processing optics 13 of the processing device 12 and the measuring optics 54 of the measuring device 14 are coupled to one another in such a way that they have a common interface 68. After being deflected by the second deflection device 62, the OCT measuring beam 46 is coupled into the processing device 12 via this common interface 68. More specifically, the OCT measurement beam 46 impinges on the semi-transparent mirror 24 and passes through it, whereby the OCT measurement beam 46 is substantially coaxially superimposed on the processing beam 18. Thus, the OCT measuring beam 46 also hits the movable first deflection device 26 and then passes through the focus lens 32 after being deflected by the movable first deflection device 26.” Hence, the measuring beam 46 is capable to scan the processing site in a scan pattern at least partially encompassing a wobble pattern.)
Regarding claim 6, Lessmuller teaches the control system is configured to control the process beam scanning actuator to adjust at least one of wobble geometry, wobble period, wobble speed, and wobble amplitude in response to measurements from the ICI system (See para.[0020] “the deflection movement of the OCT measuring beam, or of the OCT measuring beam and the processing beam, is used by one and the same first deflection device in order to carry out the position measurements. This link and the proposed solution can reduce the amount of information required to monitor and regulate the machining process. In addition, a device is provided with which three-dimensionally monitored processing of fillet welds is possible.” Hence, the control system controls the beam scanning actuator to adjust the wobble geometry.)
Regarding claim 7, Lessmuller teaches the control system is configured to control power of the process beam in response to measurements from the ICI system (see para.[0011] “ carrying out position measurements in the sense of the invention can also be used to regulate the machining process by adjusting process parameters in accordance with the recorded measurement information during machining.” Hence, the processing parameters.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lessmuller in view of Lee (US 2010/0288739) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Lessmuller teaches does not explicitly teach an auxiliary measurement system configured to measure process radiation.
However, Lee teaches in the same field of endeavor of a laser processing device (laser processing device 1000) comprising an auxiliary measurement system (objective lens 110 and beam receiver 400 including photodiode 420) configured to measure process radiation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to add the laser material processing system of Lessmuller with a photodiode for measuring process radiation as taught by Lee, in order to provide a conventional device to measure desired parameters, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Lessmuller and Lee the auxiliary measurement system (beam receiver 400 of Lee) includes optical elements (beam splitter 410 of Lee) to perform a spatially localized measurement relative to the imaging beam (beam splitter 410 is capable to perform a spatially localized measurement relative to the process beam.).
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Lessmuller and Lee the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam actuator (movable second deflection device 62 of Lessmuller) to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam is dynamically offset from the process beam based on at least one output of the auxiliary measurement system [Examiner’s note: As discussed in claim 1, the movable second deflection device 62 is configured to move the imaging beam, and the movable first deflection device 26 is configured to move processing beam. Therefore, the movable second deflection device 62 is capable to move the imaging beam to offset from the process beam.].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Lessmuller and Lee in view of Kamada (US 2014/0063454).
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Lessmuller and Lee does not explicitly teach the auxiliary measurement system measures process radiation within a spectral band of 100 nm to 1 mm.
However, Kamada teaches a photodiode measures process radiation within a spectral band of 100nm to 1mm (see para.[0063] “photodiode 60 has a spectral sensitivity characteristic of 420 to 640 nm”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to replace the photodiode of Lessmuller and Lee with a photodiode measures process radiation within a spectral band of 100nm to 1mm as taught by Kamada, in order to provide a conventional device to measure desired parameters, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable result (MPEP 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US12097572B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the
claimed subject matter of the present application and the subject matter of the U.S. Patent No. US12097572B2 are substantially the same.
Present Application 18/803,336
U.S. Patent No. US12097572B2
1. A laser material processing system comprising:
a material modification beam source for generating a process beam;
a processing head coupled to the material modification beam source and including at least one process beam scanning actuator, for directing and moving the process beam according to a wobble pattern in at least one axis on a processing site of a workpiece;
an inline coherent imaging (ICI) system optically coupled to the processing head, the ICI system including at least one imaging beam scanning actuator for positioning the imaging beam independently of the process beam; and
a control system for controlling at least the material modification beam source, the process beam scanning actuator, and the imaging beam scanning actuator, wherein the control system is programmed to cause the processing head to scan the process beam in the wobble pattern, and wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam to a plurality of measurement locations on the processing site in coordination with the wobble pattern.
wherein the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator.
2. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the processing head is a welding head for directing and moving the process beam according to the wobble pattern on a weld site.
3. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction opposite to movement of the process beam and with synchronization to the wobble pattern.
4. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction of the process beam and with synchronization to a wobble pattern.
5. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam scans the processing site in a scan pattern at least partially encompassing a wobble pattern.
6. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to control the process beam scanning actuator to adjust at least one of wobble geometry, wobble period, wobble speed, and wobble amplitude in response to measurements from the ICI system.
7. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to control power of the process beam in response to measurements from the ICI system.
8. The laser material processing system of claim 1 further comprising an auxiliary measurement system configured to measure process radiation.
9. The laser material processing system of claim 8 wherein the auxiliary measurement system measures process radiation within a spectral band of 100 nm to 1 mm.
10. The laser material processing system of claim 8 wherein the auxiliary measurement system includes optical elements to perform a spatially localized measurement relative to the process beam or the imaging beam.
11. The laser material processing system of claim 8 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam actuator to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam is dynamically offset from the process beam based on at least one output of the auxiliary measurement system.
1. A laser material processing system comprising:
a material modification beam source for generating a process beam;
a processing head coupled to the material modification beam source and including at least one process beam scanning actuator, for directing and moving the process beam according to a wobble pattern in at least one axis on a processing site of a workpiece;
an inline coherent imaging (ICI) system optically coupled to the processing head, the ICI system including at least one imaging beam scanning actuator for positioning the imaging beam independently of the process beam; and
a control system for controlling at least the material modification beam source, the process beam scanning actuator, and the imaging beam scanning actuator, wherein the control system is programmed to cause the processing head to scan the process beam in the wobble pattern, and wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam to a plurality of measurement locations on the processing site independently of the process beam and in coordination with the wobble pattern such that the imaging beam is
dynamically offset from the process beam at the workpiece surface at least in part according to a position of the process beam within the wobble pattern, or
moved relative to the process beam to correct alignment of the imaging beam relative to the process beam based at least in part on a position of the beams on the wobble pattern.
2. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the processing head is a welding head for directing and moving the process beam according to the wobble pattern on a weld site.
3. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the material modification beam source is a fiber laser.
4. The laser material processing system of claim 1 further comprising at least one motion stage for translating at least one of the processing head and the workpiece relative to each other while the processing beam is moved in the wobble pattern on the workpiece.
5. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the ICI system is optically coupled to the processing head downstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator.
6. The laser material processing system of claim 5 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction opposite to movement of the process beam and with synchronization to the wobble pattern.
7. The laser material processing system of claim 5 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam along the wobble pattern in a direction of the process beam and with synchronization to a wobble pattern.
8. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the ICI system is optically coupled to the welding head upstream of the at least one process beam scanning actuator.
9. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam scanning actuator to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam scans the processing site in a scan pattern at least partially encompassing a wobble pattern.
10. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to control the process beam scanning actuator to adjust at least one of wobble geometry, wobble period, wobble speed, and wobble amplitude in response to measurements from the ICI system.
11. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to control power of the process beam in response to measurements from the ICI system.
12. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the process beam scanning actuator is configured to move the process beam with a maximum beam displacement at the workpiece of ±30 mm.
13. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the process beam scanning actuator is configured to move the process beam by a maximum beam angle displacement of ±5° to provide a wobble amplitude.
14. The laser material processing system of claim 1 wherein the at least one process beam scanning actuator and the at least one imaging beam scanning actuator are selected from the group consisting of galvanometer scanning mirrors, polygon scanning mirrors, MEMs-based scanning mirrors, piezoelectric scanning mirrors, and diffraction-based beam scanners.
15. The laser material processing system of claim 1 further comprising an auxiliary measurement system configured to measure process radiation.
16. The laser material processing system of claim 15 wherein the auxiliary measurement system measures process radiation within a spectral band of 100 nm to 1 mm.
17. The laser material processing system of claim 15 wherein the auxiliary measurement system includes optical elements to perform a spatially localized measurement relative to the process beam.
18. The laser material processing system of claim 17 wherein the auxiliary measurement system is configured to perform the spatially localized measurement at a measurement location dynamically offset from the process beam based on at least one output from the ICI system.
19. The laser material processing system of claim 15 wherein the auxiliary measurement system includes optical elements to perform a spatially localized measurement relative to the imaging beam.
20. The laser material processing system of claim 15 wherein the control system is programmed to cause the imaging beam actuator to move the imaging beam such that the imaging beam is dynamically offset from the process beam based on at least one output of the auxiliary measurement system.
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761