DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 18, 20 are amended. Claims 1, 3-12, 14-15, 18-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,145,408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,062,439. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14, 18 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer (US 6,112,224), and further in view of Clark (WO 2008101114 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Peifer discloses a method for facilitating communication between first and second medical devices within a medical information network, the method comprising:
receiving a first input message from a first medical device (via message from a medical device to a central monitoring station via a patient monitoring station including control unit 11 with application software 26, Fig.1-2, col. 3, lines 34-50, col. 4, lines 1-33), the first medical device having generated said input message according to a first communication protocol (via communication protocol of medical device to be translated by software 26 in control unit 11, col. 6, lines 26-38, col. 4, lines 34-38, col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, line 18), said input message identifying a second medical device as an intended recipient of the input message (via network address of central monitoring station connected to network 52, col. 6, lines 26-38);
translating said input message into an output message by applying one or more translation rules, said second medical device being configured to receive and process said output message (col. 6, lines 26-38); and
providing said output message to the second medical device (via analysis at monitoring stations, col. 6, lines 26-38).
Peifer fails to disclose wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device.
Clark teaches a gateway to translate messages sent between parties, wherein the messages sent between parties include a first HL7 format and a second Hl7 format (HL7 version 3 and HL7 version 2, see Abstract, Para. 21 and 55).
From the teachings of Clark, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peifer to include wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device in order to facilitate communication between the medical devices on different versions of HL7 formats.
Regarding claim 3, Peifer discloses generating said translation rules based upon said input message (via application software 26 includes protocol conversion and data translation routines, col. 6, lines 31-38).
Regarding claim 4, Peifer discloses wherein said translating comprises rearranging at least a portion of the input message (via formatting information into a form suitable for transmission across network 52, col. 6, lines 26-38).
Regarding claim 5, Peifer discloses wherein said providing comprises providing said output message to the second medical device over a network (via network 52, col. 6, lines 26-38).
Regarding claim 7, Peifer discloses receiving a second input message from the second medical device, the second medical device having generated said second input message according to a second communication protocol; translating said second input message into a second output message by applying different translation rules, said first medical device being configured to receive and process said second output message; and providing said second output message to the first medical device (col. 6, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 8, Peifer discloses a medical device message translator configured to facilitate communication between first and second medical devices within a medical information network, the translator comprising:
a communication interface module configured to receive a first input message from a first medical device, the first medical device having generated said input message according to a first communication protocol, said input message identifying a second medical device as an intended recipient of the input message (via communication module of patient monitoring station 50 to communicate message from medical device to central monitoring station, Fig. 1-2; col. 3, line 34 to col. 4, line 38; col. 6, lines 26-38);
a rules module, configured to store one or more predetermined translation rules; and a translation module configured to translate said input message into an output message by applying one or more translation rules retrieved from said rules module, said second medical device being configured to receive and process said output message (via rules and translation module of patient monitoring station 50 to translate message from medical device based on rules in software 26 to be sent to monitoring station, col. 6, lines 26-38).
Peifer fails to disclose wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device.
Clark teaches a gateway to translate messages sent between parties, wherein the messages sent between parties include a first HL7 format and a second Hl7 format (HL7 version 3 and HL7 version 2, see Abstract, Para. 21 and 55).
From the teachings of Clark, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peifer to include wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device in order to facilitate communication between the medical devices on different versions of HL7 formats.
Regarding claims 9, 18, Peifer discloses a method for converting messages communicated between medical devices and a hospital or clinical information system, the method comprising: receiving an input message from a hospital information system that comprises electronic patient medical records, wherein a content of the input message being formatted according to a first set of formatting rules allowed under a medical electronic communication protocol; comparing the input message to a set of transformation rules; generating an output message, wherein a content of the output message being re-formatted according to a second set of formatting rules allowed under the medical electronic communication protocol; and outputting the output message to a medical device (via message from hospital 54 output to medical device, col. 3, line 34 to col. 4, line 38; col. 6, lines 13-25; Figs. 1-2).
Peifer fails to disclose wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device.
Clark teaches a gateway to translate messages sent between parties, wherein the messages sent between parties include a first HL7 format and a second Hl7 format (HL7 version 3 and HL7 version 2, see Abstract, Para. 21 and 55).
From the teachings of Clark, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peifer to include wherein the first communication protocol and a communication protocol supported by the second medical device each comprise HL7, and wherein translating comprises converting the first input message from a first HL7 formatting implementation to a second HL7 formatting implementation supported by the second medical device in order to facilitate communication between the medical devices on different versions of HL7 formats.
Regarding claim 11, Peifer discloses wherein the transformation rules are automatically generated (via software 26, col. 6, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 12, Peifer discloses requesting a message and automatically determining a type of formatting to be implemented based on said message (via software 26 to translate message requested from medical device, col. 6, lines 26-38).
Regarding claim 14, Peifer discloses the comparing includes parsing the input message (via software 26, col. 6, lines 13-25).
Claim 6 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer and Clark, and further in view of Novak (US 2004/0143677).
Regarding claim 6, Peifer discloses providing said output message to the second medical device over network, but fails to disclose the network is the Internet.
Novak teaches using the Internet to allow remote communications between devices (Para. 36 with emphasis on last sentence).
From the teachings of Novak, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peifer and Clark to include the network is the Internet in order to allow communication remotely anywhere where Internet connections are available.
Claim 10 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer and Clark, and further in view of Gessner (US 2005/0267655).
Regarding claim 10, Peifer and Clark fail to disclose the transformation rules are manually inputted.
Gessner teaches that a communication translator can be either automatic or manual to allow direct translation from a particular protocol, which makes processing of translations faster (Para. 39).
From the teachings of Gessner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peifer and Clark to include the transformation rules are manually inputted in order to make protocol conversion and/or translation faster.
Claim 15 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer and Clark, and further in view of Black (US 2006/0047682).
Regarding claim 15, Peifer and Clark fail to disclose the comparing includes separating formatting and content of input message.
Black teaches that data objects can be compared by parsing them and identifying differences in the content and formatting (Para. 38).
From the teachings of Black, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peifer and Clark to include the comparing includes separating formatting and content of input message in order to allow accurate identification of communication protocol of messages received.
Claim 19 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer, and further in view of Watts (US 6,836,890)
Regarding claim 19, Peifer and Clark fail to disclose said generating comprises substituting field delimiter characters.
Watts teaches a system and method to parse and translate messages, wherein translating includes substituting field delimiter characters to reduce the load on a processor performing the translations (see Abstract, col. 2, lines 1-21 and claims 1 and 2).
From the teachings of Watts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peifer and Clark to include said generating comprises substituting field delimiter characters in order to reduce the load on the translator, thereby improve speed of outputting messages.
Claim 20 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Peifer, and further in view of de la Huerga (US 5,903,889).
Regarding claim 20, Peifer and Clark fail to disclose the message comprises an admit discharge transfer (ADT) message.
Huerga teaches hospitals typically include ADT systems connected to the hospital computer network (col. 6, lines 24-34).
From the teachings of Huerga, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Peifer and Clark to include the message comprises an admit discharge transfer (ADT) message in order to allow communication with a medical device in an ADT system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new reference not presented before.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG HANG JIANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689