Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejection made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 14-21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 11582522, hereinafter Mahyar) in view of Chang et al. (US 20200296450, hereinafter Chang.)
Regarding claim 1, A method comprising: receiving a request for playback of primary content, wherein the request is associated with a distribution context in a plurality of distribution contexts” Mahyar teaches (2:19-22, 6:2-8, and 7:53-8:3) the consumer can request the entertainment content from a service platform and be provided the entertainment content for consumption (e.g., viewing, listening, watching, etc.); (Fig. 9 and 25:45-26:64) computer implementation; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) content has previews and end credits
As to “determining decorations for a set of insertion points in the primary content, wherein the decorations are associated with a set of types” Mahyar teaches (6:66-7:9) the individual portions of the incoming content 102 can be mapped to the identified content segments 112 and/or the identified content features 114 based on data associated with the incoming content 102 (e.g., chapter titles, formatting of the entertainment content, determination of the entertainment content type, analysis of the end credits, etc.) and/or data determined from the incoming content 102 (e.g., utilizing machine learning techniques to analyze the incoming content 102 and determine the identified content segments 112 and/or the identified content features 114 via a trained machine learning algorithm); (7:10-30) The associations between the content segment/the content feature and the one or more additional content segments/the one or more additional content features can be utilized to identify related entertainment content that is associated with the incoming content 102 analyzed by the video segmentation system 110; (8:4-50 ) enriched by embedding links, graphics, photographs, videos of interviews and commentary, music, interfaces that include information regarding other movies associated with the actor/actress, and other associated content 120 that has been identified for user requested content 104 and/or the incoming content 102
As to “selecting inclusion rules from a plurality of inclusion rules for the distribution context, wherein the inclusion rules include a template describing references for supplemental content or default supplemental content for types in the set of types, wherein different inclusion rules in the plurality of inclusion rules are associated with different distribution contexts” Mahyar teaches (9:1-12 and 16:5-63) the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120. For example, the content modification system 118 can include interface templates for presenting associated content 120 that is related to actors/actresses, directors, composers, content genres, content highlights, content reviews, and other types of associated content 120 that may be associated with the user requested content; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.)
As to “evaluating types for the set of insertion points with the template to determine an experience timeline in which insertion points are associated with references for supplemental content or default supplemental content for types in the set of types” Mahyar teaches (2:22-30 and 6:39-7:9) the systems and methods can analyze the entertainment content and identify segments of content that have been associated with supplemental content and information within a database in addition, the entertainment content can be analyzed to identify segments of content that can be compared with additional entertainment content within the database to determine the supplemental content for the enhanced end credits; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.)
As to “and determining playback materials for the set of insertion points in the primary content based on the references for supplemental content or default supplemental content for types in the set of types for the experience timeline, wherein a set of instances of supplemental content is inserted in the insertion points based on the types of supplemental content during playback of the primary content.” Mahyar teaches (17:19-17:39) the interface configuration system 310 can be configured to populate an interface template received from the interface template database 308 with content segments 212, content associations 306, and/or supplemental content. It should be noted that the content segments 212 can be inserted into the interface template to generate the user interface or can be analyzed to determine segment information that can be integrated into the user interface. For example, an end credit segment can include a non-interactive list of contributions to a film by a large number of individuals. Within the non-interactive list, the end credit segment can include one or more significant individuals associated with roles and contributions (e.g., leading actor, leading actress, supporting actor, director, writers, producers, composers, etc.). Accordingly, the user interface generated by the interface configuration system 310 may include the non-interactive list, but augment the non-interactive list with interactive elements that expand to reveal and highlight the roles and the contributions associated with the one or more significant individuals. Alternatively, the end credit segment can be replaced by an alternative user interface that includes the roles and the contributions of the one or more significant individuals without the non-interactive list.
Mahyar does not teach “wherein the distribution contexts are associated with different applications that are used to playback the primary content.” However, Chang teaches (¶0049) the device 100 selects a template used for recognizing content displayed on the device 100 when a type of the content service providing the content to the device 100 is determined; (¶0051) selecting the template corresponding to the determined type of content service. The device 100 may store a template corresponding to each of at least one content service. For example, the device 100 may store a template corresponding to a first content service provided through an A web application and a template corresponding to a second content service provided through a B set-top box. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120 as taught by Mahyar with the providing the service through different applications as taught by Chang for the benefit of reaching a wider audience and allowing viewers to select their preferred software platform for consuming the content.
Regarding claim 2, “The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the set of insertion points in the primary content, wherein the set of types is defined for the insertion points for a plurality of distribution contexts.” Mahyar teaches (9:1-12 and 16:5-63) the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120. For example, the content modification system 118 can include interface templates for presenting associated content 120 that is related to actors/actresses, directors, composers, content genres, content highlights, content reviews, and other types of associated content 120 that may be associated with the user requested content; (2:22-30 and 6:39-7:9) the systems and methods can analyze the entertainment content and identify segments of content that have been associated with supplemental content and information within a database in addition, the entertainment content can be analyzed to identify segments of content that can be compared with additional entertainment content within the database to determine the supplemental content for the enhanced end credits; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.)
Regarding claim 3, “The method of claim 1, wherein the distribution context is associated with an application that is used to playback the primary content.” Mahyar teaches (6:2-8) the user requested content 104 can be entertainment content that is associated with a user request transmitted from a user device 128 to the system 100, to an associated service platform configured to display entertainment content for the user via the user device 128, and/or to a third-party entertainment content source.
Regarding claim 4, “The method of claim 3, wherein different inclusion rules in the plurality of inclusion rules are associated with different distribution contexts.” Mahyar teaches (9:1-12 and 16:5-63) the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120. For example, the content modification system 118 can include interface templates for presenting associated content 120 that is related to actors/actresses, directors, composers, content genres, content highlights, content reviews, and other types of associated content 120 that may be associated with the user requested content; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.)
Regarding claim 5, “The method of claim 1, wherein selecting the inclusion rules comprises: determining attributes of a playback session in which the request is received, wherein the attributes include the distribution context; analyzing criteria for inclusion rules in the plurality of inclusion rules to determine a match of criteria to the attributes; and selecting the inclusion rules that are determined to match.” Mahyar teaches (12:54-13:18) in response to determining that the content segments 212 of the entertainment commentary at least partially match the related content segments associated with the extended version, the association database 220 can determine that the entertainment content 208 and the extended versions are two versions of the same entertainment content. Accordingly, the association database 220 can determine a content association 224 between the entertainment content 208 and the extended version of the entertainment content.
Regarding claim 7, “The method of claim 1, wherein determining the playback materials comprises: evaluating a type of supplemental content to a reference for the type of supplemental content.” Mahyar teaches (4:25-35) machine learning algorithms (or other AI techniques) can be utilized to analyze the entertainment content to identify content segments (e.g., portions of the entertainment content such as an introduction, a climax, an ending, end credits, director commentary, after credit scenes, etc.), content types (e.g., identifiable scenes and features of the entertainment content such as a fight scene, a romance scene, an action scene, etc.), and external associations for the entertainment content (e.g., information associated with a lead actor, other content made by a director, additional music produced by a composer, etc.); (2:22-30 and 6:39-7:52) the systems and methods can analyze the entertainment content and identify segments of content that have been associated with supplemental content and information within a database in addition, the entertainment content can be analyzed to identify segments of content that can be compared with additional entertainment content within the database to determine the supplemental content for the enhanced end credits
Regarding claim 8, “The method of claim 7, wherein the reference is further resolved to an instance of supplemental content in the set of instances of supplemental content by a client device playing the primary content.” Mahyar teaches (8:35-45) the content modification system 118 can be configured to enrich the end credits by augmenting the end credits and/or replacing the end credits with the associated content 120 based on the identified content features 114. For example, the end credits can be enriched by embedding links (i.e., resolved by client device when selected), graphics, photographs, videos of interviews and commentary, music, interfaces that include information regarding other movies associated with the actor/actress, and other associated content 120 that has been identified for user requested content 104 and/or the incoming content 102.
Regarding claim 10, “The method of claim 1, wherein determining the playback materials comprises: evaluating a type of supplemental content to a link for the type of supplemental content.” Mahyar teaches (8:35-45) the content modification system 118 can be configured to enrich the end credits by augmenting the end credits and/or replacing the end credits with the associated content 120 based on the identified content features 114. For example, the end credits can be enriched by embedding links, graphics, photographs, videos of interviews and commentary, music, interfaces that include information regarding other movies associated with the actor/actress, and other associated content 120 that has been identified for user requested content 104 and/or the incoming content 102.
Regarding claim 11, “The method of claim 1, wherein: different inclusion rules are selected for different distribution contexts, the different inclusion rules include different templates to determine the experience timeline, and the different template result in different instances of types of supplemental content being inserted into the insertion point.” Mahyar teaches (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface); (9:1-12) the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120
Regarding claim 14, “The method of claim 1, wherein: a type in the set of types results in different instances of supplemental content being inserted into an insertion point based on different distribution contexts.” Mahyar teaches (7:10-30) The associations between the content segment/the content feature and the one or more additional content segments/the one or more additional content features can be utilized to identify related entertainment content that is associated with the incoming content 102 analyzed by the video segmentation system 110; (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.) The content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120
Regarding claim 15, its rejection is similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, its rejection is similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, its rejection is similar to claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, its rejection is similar to claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, its rejection is similar to claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, its rejection is similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, “The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein: the different inclusion rules include different templates to determine the experience timeline, and the different templates result in different instances of types of supplemental content being inserted into the insertion point.” Mahyar teaches (16:64-17:18 and 8:51-9:13) the one or more interface templates can be configured to generate user interfaces for presentation in combination with one or more content segments 212 (e.g., a first user interface template for a preview user interface can be configured differently from a second user interface template for an end credit user interface.); (10:30-34) wherein the content segments 212 can include an introduction, a logo, a primary content (e.g., the segment of the film that displays the story and character actions), end credits, commentary, and other segments determined for the entertainment content; (17:19-41) the interface configuration system 310 can be configured to populate an interface template received from the interface template database 308 with content segments 212, content associations 306, and/or supplemental content. It should be noted that the content segments 212 can be inserted into the interface template to generate the user interface or can be analyzed to determine segment information that can be integrated into the user interface. For example, an end credit segment can include a non-interactive list of contributions to a film by a large number of individuals. Within the non-interactive list, the end credit segment can include one or more significant individuals associated with roles and contributions (e.g., leading actor, leading actress, supporting actor, director, writers, producers, composers, etc.). Accordingly, the user interface generated by the interface configuration system 310 may include the non-interactive list, but augment the non-interactive list with interactive elements that expand to reveal and highlight the roles and the contributions associated with the one or more significant individuals. Alternatively, the end credit segment can be replaced by an alternative user interface that includes the roles and the contributions of the one or more significant individuals without the non-interactive list.
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahyar and Chang in view of Robert Jose et al. (US 20230110586, hereinafter Robert Jose.)
Regarding claim 6, “The method of claim 1, wherein evaluating the set of types to determine instances of types of supplemental content comprises: determining whether a type in the set of types matches a type in the template” Mahyar teaches (12:54-13:18) in response to determining that the content segments 212 of the entertainment commentary at least partially match the related content segments associated with the extended version, the association database 220 can determine that the entertainment content 208 and the extended versions are two versions of the same entertainment content. Accordingly, the association database 220 can determine a content association 224 between the entertainment content 208 and the extended version of the entertainment content; (9:1-12 and 16:5-63) the content interface 124 can be configured based on pre-existing interface templates that are associated with presentation of different types of associated content 120. For example, the content modification system 118 can include interface templates for presenting associated content 120 that is related to actors/actresses, directors, composers, content genres, content highlights, content reviews, and other types of associated content 120 that may be associated (i.e., matched) with the user requested content.
Mahyar and Chang do not teach “and when a type does not match a type in the template, removing the type and not including any references for supplemental content or default supplemental content for the type.” However, Robert Jose teaches (¶0006) if it is determined that the user likely intends to skip the supplemental content, another supplemental content item may instead be selected; (¶0010, ¶0026, and ¶0054) User profile information may be any information that may indicate skip likelihood, such as the frequency users have skipped advertisements or other supplemental content in the past, types of supplemental content skipped and not skipped, metadata of previously viewed supplemental content that may indicate attributes such as product types whose ads were skipped. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Mahyar and Chang with selecting another content based on supplemental content type as taught by Robert Jose for the benefit of providing users with supplemental content that better suits their preferences.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahyar and Chang in view of Matthews et al. (US 20180220198, hereinafter Matthews.)
Regarding claim 9, Mahyar and Chang do not teach “The method of claim 1, wherein determining the playback materials comprises: evaluating a type of supplemental content to default supplemental content for the type of supplemental content.” However, Matthews teaches (¶0081, ¶0085) preferences for a certain type of content; (¶0165) determines there is no candidate segment included in the list of potential candidate segments, process 800 continues to 822. At 822, control circuitry 404 selects a default secondary content related to the media asset as the secondary content related to the media asset. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Mahyar and Chang with default secondary content as taught by Matthews for the benefit of providing user’s with something when no matches are found.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahyar and Chang in view of Malamal Vadakital et al. (US 20190052937, hereinafter Malamal.)
Regarding claim 12, Mahyar and Chang do not teach “The method of claim 1, wherein: the playback materials include fully resolved links for the set of instances of supplemental content.” However, Malamal teaches (¶0131) a prefetch link type specifies that the target resource should be preemptively cached. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Mahyar and Chang with the pre-fetch link type as taught by Malamal for the benefit of consumers not having to wait for network fetch/replacement mid-stream, smoother playback, and stability.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahyar and Chang in view of Cava (US 20210274245.)
Regarding claim 13, Mahyar and Chang do not teach “The method of claim 1, wherein: the playback materials include a reference that is resolved by a client device during playback of the primary content before the insertion point is reached.” However, Cava teaches (¶0022) Dynamic content replacement may be the process of resolving opportunities that are included at a point in the stream. The resolution happens while watching the stream, but before the point of an opportunity to insert supplemental content is reached for playout at the client. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Mahyar and Chang do with the dynamic content replacement that happens while watching the stream as taught by Cava for the benefit of allowing to client to resolve the opportunities when needed/get the latest version of the alternative content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Frank Johnson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425