DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8/14/2024. Claims 1-14 are pending and considered below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“acquisition processing unit” and “output processing unit” (claim 14) are control devices such as a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM in a mobile terminal such as a tablet terminal or a smartphone, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraphs [0059] and [0075-0076] (PGPub) and FIG. 1, operation terminal-20, operation control unit-21, acquisition processing unit-212, and output processing unit-213.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 1-12, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 1-12 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 1-12 are directed to a method.
Claims 1-12 are directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claims 1-12 are directed to a method for estimating the time required for a work vehicle to perform work in a plurality of work regions. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claims encompass a tractor driver estimating the time required to perform work based on the work needed and the size and condition of the fields and connecting roads. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Claim 12 includes the revised step 2A, prong two, additional element of “wherein travel of the work vehicle is controlled based on the progress status”. This additional element positively recites a vehicle control function and integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claim 12 is not rejected based on 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-11 include the revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements of acquiring work history information and movement history information, and outputting an estimated required time. Acquiring work history information and movement history information is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Outputting an estimated required time is insignificant post-solution activity. Claims 1-11 do not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1-11 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (work vehicles).
Claims 1-11 do not include any step 2B additional elements. Therefore, claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 13, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the work management program is software per se.
Further, claim 13 is directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claim 13 is directed to a program for estimating the time required for a work vehicle to perform work in a plurality of work regions. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a tractor driver estimating the time required to perform work based on the work needed and the size and condition of the fields and connecting roads. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 13 includes the revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements of acquiring work history information and movement history information, and outputting an estimated required time. Acquiring work history information and movement history information is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Outputting an estimated required time is insignificant post-solution activity. Claim 13 does not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 13 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (work vehicles).
Claim 13 includes the step 2B additional element of a work management program. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the work management program is anything other than a conventional computer program. Acquiring information and outputting a calculated result are well-understood, routine and conventional functions when claimed using a generic computer program. Computer programs are widely prevalent and in common use in work vehicles. A computer program is not significantly more than the judicial exception since it is a well-understood, routine and conventional feature previously known to the work vehicle industry. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claim 14, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The work management system comprises an acquisition processing unit and an output processing unit. The acquisition processing unit and output processing unit are control devices such as a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM in a mobile terminal such as a tablet terminal or a smartphone, as disclosed in applicant’s specification, paragraphs [0059] and [0075-0076]. Paragraph [0075] of applicant’s specification states that the RAM is a volatile or non-volatile storage unit that stores various types of information, and is used as a temporary storage memory for various types of processing performed by the CPU. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the work management system includes a signal per se.
Further, claim 14 is directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claim 14 is directed to a system for estimating the time required for a work vehicle to perform work in a plurality of work regions. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a tractor driver estimating the time required to perform work based on the work needed and the size and condition of the fields and connecting roads. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Claim 14 includes the revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements of acquiring work history information and movement history information, and outputting an estimated required time. Acquiring work history information and movement history information is data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Outputting an estimated required time is insignificant post-solution activity. Claim 14 does not recite revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 14 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (work vehicles).
Claim 14 includes the step 2B additional elements of an acquisition processing unit and an output processing unit. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the work management system is anything other than conventional control devices. Acquiring information and outputting a calculated result are well-understood, routine and conventional functions when claimed using generic control devices. Control devices are widely prevalent and in common use in work vehicles. Control devices are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the work vehicle industry. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
See, the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, which is available on the USPTO Website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (U.S. Patent Number 10,201,121, hereinafter Wilson) in view of Anderson (US-2014/0257911-A1, hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding claim 1, Wilson discloses:
acquiring work history information on work performed by a work vehicle in each of a plurality of work regions (col. 9, lines 45-55; col. 10, lines 42-67; and FIG. 10, field-170, right side of the display-171, large rectangular area-176, and terrace-178);
outputting, based on the work history information (col. 4, line 21 - col. 5, line 50; and FIG. 1, combine-12, monitor-14, mobile devices-15,28,34,38, tractor-24, grain wagon-26, grain auger-32, cloud server-42, and database-44); and
an estimated required time that is required for the work vehicle to perform work in the plurality of work regions (col. 2, lines 32-48).
Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson discloses a method for scheduling refueling of a work machine, including the following features:
movement history information on movement performed in the work by the work vehicle on one or more connecting roads that connect the plurality of work regions (paragraphs [0046], [0062], [0065] and [0067]; and FIG. 5, refueling planner-102, work machine-110, refueling machine-120, environment-500, work area-502, work path-504, access roads-506, highway-508, central data facility-510, and ridge-520); and
the movement history information (paragraphs [0026-0028]; and FIG. 2, refueling planner-102, user interface-214, and data storage device-216).
Anderson teaches that a refueling planner should project a time of arrival at a refueling location based on historical records, and field and road conditions (paragraphs [0046] and [0067-0069]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of obtaining an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Regarding claim 2, Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson further discloses:
wherein an estimated total work time that is required for the work vehicle to perform work in the plurality of work regions and an estimated total movement time that is required for the work vehicle to move on the one or more connecting roads are displayed as the estimated required time on an operation terminal (paragraphs [0026-0028]).
Anderson teaches that refueling times and locations should be displayed on a user interface of a refueling planner (paragraphs [0026-0028]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of displaying an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Regarding claim 3, Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson further discloses:
wherein an estimated work time for each of the plurality of work regions and an estimated movement time for each of the one or more connecting roads are displayed as the estimated required time on an operation terminal (paragraphs [0026-0028]).
Anderson teaches that refueling times and locations should be displayed on a user interface of a refueling planner (paragraphs [0026-0028]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of displaying an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Regarding claim 8, Wilson further discloses:
wherein when an operation of selecting the plurality of work regions is received from a user (col. 10, line 42 - col. 12, line 38).
Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson further discloses:
a work plan that includes the estimated work time for each of the plurality of work regions and the estimated movement time for each of the one or more connecting roads is created and displayed on the operation terminal (paragraphs [0026-0028]).
Anderson teaches that refueling times and locations should be displayed on a user interface of a refueling planner (paragraphs [0026-0028]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of displaying an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Regarding claim 13, Wilson further discloses:
A work management program for causing one or more processors (col. 4, lines 28-36; and col. 11, lines 1-19);
to acquire work history information on work performed by a work vehicle in each of a plurality of work regions (col. 9, lines 45-55; col. 10, lines 42-67; and FIG. 10, field-170, right side of the display-171, large rectangular area-176, and terrace-178);
to output, based on the work history information (col. 4, line 21 - col. 5, line 50; and FIG. 1, combine-12, monitor-14, mobile devices-15,28,34,38, tractor-24, grain wagon-26, grain auger-32, cloud server-42, and database-44); and
an estimated required time that is required for the work vehicle to perform work in the plurality of work regions (col. 2, lines 32-48).
Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson further discloses:
movement history information on movement performed by the work vehicle on one or more connecting roads that connect the plurality of work regions (paragraphs [0046], [0062], [0065] and [0067]; and FIG. 5, refueling planner-102, work machine-110, refueling machine-120, environment-500, work area-502, work path-504, access roads-506, highway-508, central data facility-510, and ridge-520); and
the movement history information (paragraphs [0026-0028]; and FIG. 2, refueling planner-102, user interface-214, and data storage device-216).
Anderson teaches that a refueling planner should project a time of arrival at a refueling location based on historical records, and field and road conditions (paragraphs [0046] and [0067-0069]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of obtaining an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Regarding claim 14, Wilson further discloses:
A work management system comprising: (col. 4, lines 28-36; and col. 11, lines 1-19);
an acquisition processing unit that acquires work history information on work performed by a work vehicle in each of a plurality of work regions (col. 9, lines 45-55; col. 10, lines 42-67; and FIG. 10, field-170, right side of the display-171, large rectangular area-176, and terrace-178);
an output processing unit that outputs, based on the work history information (col. 4, line 21 - col. 5, line 50; and FIG. 1, combine-12, monitor-14, mobile devices-15,28,34,38, tractor-24, grain wagon-26, grain auger-32, cloud server-42, and database-44); and
an estimated required time that is required for the work vehicle to perform work in the plurality of work regions (col. 2, lines 32-48).
Wilson does not disclose displaying movement history based on work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields. However, Anderson further discloses:
movement history information on movement performed by the work vehicle on one or more connecting roads that connect the plurality of work regions (paragraphs [0046], [0062], [0065] and [0067]; and FIG. 5, refueling planner-102, work machine-110, refueling machine-120, environment-500, work area-502, work path-504, access roads-506, highway-508, central data facility-510, and ridge-520); and
the movement history information (paragraphs [0026-0028]; and FIG. 2, refueling planner-102, user interface-214, and data storage device-216).
Anderson teaches that a refueling planner should project a time of arrival at a refueling location based on historical records, and field and road conditions (paragraphs [0046] and [0067-0069]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the estimated required time for work vehicle movement along roads connecting fields of Anderson into the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of obtaining an estimation of the time required to perform an agricultural operation which considers both time in the fields and time on the roads.
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Anderson, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kreider et al. (US-2020/0084955-A1, hereinafter Kreider).
Regarding claim 9, Wilson in view of Anderson does not disclose displaying progress status of a work plan. However, Kreider discloses a system in which tractor progress and status are displayed on a smart device, including the following features:
wherein when work is performed according to the work plan by the work vehicle, progress information that indicates a progress status with respect to the estimated required time is output (paragraphs [0007] and [0021]; and FIG. 1, tractor-101, smart device-106, operator-109, and display and input device-112).
Kreider teaches that a tractor operator should use a smart device to plan a route for a tractor through a field (paragraph [0017]). Kreider further teaches that the progress and status of the tractor should be displayed on the smart device (paragraph [0007]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tractor progress display of Kreider into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson in view of Anderson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of updating an operator on the progress of an agricultural operation.
Regarding claim 10, Wilson further discloses:
wherein when an operation of setting a desired required time for the work plan is received from a user (col. 2, lines 32-48; and col. 10, line 42 - col. 12, line 38).
Wilson in view of Anderson does not disclose displaying progress status of a work plan. However, Kreider further discloses:
work is performed according to the work plan by the work vehicle, progress information that indicates a progress status with respect to the desired required time is output (paragraphs [0007] and [0021]; and FIG. 1, tractor-101, smart device-106, operator-109, and display and input device-112).
Kreider teaches that a tractor operator should use a smart device to plan a route for a tractor through a field (paragraph [0017]). Kreider further teaches that the progress and status of the tractor should be displayed on the smart device (paragraph [0007]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tractor progress display of Kreider into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson in view of Anderson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of updating an operator on the progress of an agricultural operation.
Regarding claim 12, Wilson in view of Anderson does not disclose displaying progress status of a work plan. However, Kreider further discloses:
wherein travel of the work vehicle is controlled based on the progress status (paragraphs [0016] and [0023-0026]; FIG. 1, tractor-101, steering actuator-102, steering computer-103, and steering controller-104; and FIG. 2, Waypoint queue empty? - 204, Steering computer ready for next batch? - 205, Next waypoints assembled into batch-206, Batch transmitted to steering computer-207, Last waypoint reached? - 208, and Done-209).
Kreider teaches that a steering controller controls a tractor based on progress in reaching waypoints (paragraphs [0023-0026]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the tractor progress display of Kreider into the display based on the estimated required time for work vehicle completion of agricultural operations in fields of Wilson in view of Anderson. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of updating an operator on the progress of an agricultural operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kubota et al. (US-2024/0172577-A1) discloses a control system for a self-driving work vehicle (Abstract). FIG. 14 shows the work vehicle moving to a preparation site. FIG. 15 shows the work vehicle moving to a field after the preparation work is completed. FIG. 16 shows the work vehicle performing agricultural work in fields.
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667