DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 describes a limitation that is opposite to parent Claim 1, by reciting :
“ wherein the positioning SRS transmission is not performed in case that:
the wireless device camps on the cell based on stored information after reception of the RRC message for state transition”.
While parent Claim 1 recites :
“wherein a positioning SRS transmission based on the configuration information of SRS in RRC_INACTIVE is
performed in case that the wireless device camps on the cell based on stored information after reception of the RRC message for state transition”
The two above limitations in Claim 1 and in Claim 5 conflict with each other and the dependent claim do not further limit the independent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thomas (US 2023/0262648 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 10
Thomas discloses a method (See [Abstract]; The processor configures the UE for energy efficient positioning measurements) by a wireless device (Fig.1(105)),
the method comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device (Fig.1(105)) from a base station (Fig.5(NG-RAN)), a radio resource control (RRC) message for state transition (See [0104-0105]; the UE State Transition Notification Request message may contain a reporting type that either indicates subsequent state transitions shall be notified at every RRC state transition),
wherein the RRC message for state transition (See [0104-0105]; the UE State Transition Notification Request message may contain a reporting type that either indicates subsequent state transitions shall be notified at every RRC state transition) comprises a configuration information of SRS in RRC_INACTIVE (See [0049-0050]; [0104-0105];from the RRC_CONNECTED state to the RRC_INACTIVE state, or from the RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED state)); and
camping on a cell by the wireless device (See [0054-0055]; [0111-0112]; UE is camp on a gNB),
wherein a positioning SRS transmission based on the configuration information of SRS in RRC_INACTIVE (See [0116-0117]; the UE 205 receives one or more RRC-state-based measurement configurations. For the case that positioning during RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE positioning is supported) is:
performed in case that the wireless device camps on the cell (See [0116-0117];
LMF 305 can provision the best measurement and reporting configuration for a particular positioning technique based on the operational states of an identified UE/group of UEs) based on stored information (See [0050]; [0117]; [0138]; [0196]; UE can be configured in advanced or by base station to generate positioning in RRC-INACTIVE state) after reception of the RRC message for state transition (See [0104-0105]; the UE State Transition Notification Request message may contain a reporting type that either indicates subsequent state transitions shall be notified at every RRC state transition);
and
not performed in case that the wireless device camps on the cell (See [0116-0117]; [0195-0196]; UE may not performed positioning if it is not configured to position in RRC_Inactive state) based on received system information (See [0047]; [0050]; [0117]; [0138]; UE not configured to perform positioning in RRC_INACTIVE state cannot perform positioning in RRC_INACTIVE state)) after reception of the RRC message for state transition (See [0104-0105]; the UE State Transition Notification Request message may contain a reporting type that either indicates subsequent state transitions shall be notified at every RRC state transition).
Note:
Regarding Claim 10,
A wireless device comprising: a transceiver (Fig.16(1635)), a memory (Fig.16(1610)), and a controller (Fig.16(1605)) coupled to the transceiver and the memory (See [0234-0235]; processor, transceiver and memory are interconnected),
Regarding Claim 2,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Thomas further teaches
wherein the configuration information of SRS in RRC_INACTIVE (See [0104-0105]; [0111-0112]; from the RRC_CONNECTED state to the RRC_INACTIVE state, or from the RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED state)) comprises:
first parameters relating to frequency resource (See [0049]; [0051]; [0098]; PRACH channel related to beam frequency band);
second parameters relating to a periodicity and starting slot (See [0049]; [0119]; [0121]; [0135]; [0146]; [0287]; periodical monitoring);
third parameters relating to power offset (See [0085]; [0123]; [0136]; [0191]; [0194]; reduced power mode transmission); and
fourth parameters relating to spatial relation (See [0097]; [0233]; target transmission can indicate parameters for configuring a spatial setting between the target transmission and a reference RS using beamforming)).
Regarding Claim 3,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 and Thomas further teaches
transmission power of the positioning SRS determined based on the third parameters (See [0085]; [0135-0136]; [0194]; the UE may provide an indication to the LMF of its intention to transition to a reduced power RRC_CONNECTED state); and
resource determined based on the first parameters (See [0098]; the PRS can be transmitted by different base stations (serving and neighboring) using narrow beams over Frequency Range #1 Between ("FRI", i.e., frequencies from 410 MHz to 7125 MHz) and Frequency Range #2 ("FR2")) and the second parameters (See [0049]; [0119]; [0121]; [0135]; [0146]; periodical monitoring).
Regarding Claim 4,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 and Thomas further teaches
wherein the positioning SRS transmission is performed (See [0098-0099]; SRS positioning is transmitted in beam) further based on a spatial domain transmission filter determined based on the fourth parameters (See Fig.3; [0098-0099]; Beam Management Configuration spatially separated).
(Even though claim 5 is rejected as per 112th(d), the claim will be analyzed as per examiner own interpretation)
Regarding Claim 5,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Thomas further teaches
wherein the positioning SRS transmission is not performed (See [0116-0117]; UE may not performed positioning if it is not configured to position in RRC_Inactive state) in case that:
the wireless device camps on the cell based on stored information (See [0054-0055]; [0195-0196]; positioning Is not performed in case UE changed cells) after reception of the RRC message for state transition (See [0116-0117]; state transition is not applicable in case system information dependent on RAT is different during mobility); and
the cell is different from a Primary Cell at the time when the RRC message for state transition is received (See [0116-0117]; state transition is not applicable in case system information dependent on RAT is different during mobility).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 2023/0262648 A1) and further in View Of Examiner Official Notice.
“Examiner Official Notice”
Regarding Claim 6,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 1
But Thomas fails to explicitly recite
wherein the RRC message for state transition further comprises
a full Inactive-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) and a short I-RNTI.
But in our art,
Full I-RNTI identifies a specific UE in RRC-Inactive State when UE is camp on different or distant gNB than the last one and short I-RNTI is used for UE in RRC Inactive state using the same gNB..
Thomas described requesting UE position in RRC-INACTIVE mode from a location server (See [0116-0117]). Therefore it will have been obvious that the term full or short I-RNTI would have been used to describe the corresponding UE in inactive mode.
Regarding Claim 7,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 and Thomas further teaches
wherein, in case that a specific paging message is received (See [0049]; UE can receive paging from network), the wireless device:
performs RRC connection resumption procedure (See Fig.7(710); [0112]; the UE 205 sends an RRCResumeRequest message to the NG-RAN 405) ; and
stops the positioning SRS transmission (See [0115-0116]; [0190-0191]; UE may stop performing position measurement in order to save energy).
Regarding Claim 8,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 7 and Thomas further teaches
wherein the specific paging message is a paging message (See [0049]; [0196]; paging message toward UE) that comprises the full I-RNTI (See [0049]; [0196]; as described above, UE can be described I-Full RNTI for in RRC inactive state for different and an distant gNB) .
Regarding Claim 9,
Thomas teaches all the features with respect to claim 7 and Thomas further teaches
wherein the wireless device performs RRC connection resumption procedure (See Fig.7(710); [0112]; the UE 205 sends an RRCResumeRequest message to the NG-RAN 405) based on the short I-RNTI (See [0049]; [0196]; as described above, UE can be described I-short RNTI for in RRC inactive state for local and same gNB serving UE)
Note:
Huang (US 2021/0377904 A1) is a reference that could have been considered to be used as prior art but not used.
Huang teaches about a location management device configuring a SRS resource for the terminal device by using the LTE Positioning Protocol/NR Positioning Protocol (LPP/NPP). The Location management device configures the SRS resource for the terminal device, even if the terminal device enters the RRC_IDLE state or the RRC_INACTIVE state, the SRS resource configured for the terminal device is not released. Application performed similar function but with more details specifications.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646