Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “instance clusters,” “a cloud management platform node,” and “a steering node” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the cloud computing system comprises “instance clusters,” “a cloud management platform node,” and “a steering node.” Each of these are recited in terms of a means (“instance clusters,” “a cloud management platform node,” and “a steering node”) and functions (“configured to…”) without sufficient structure recited to perform the functions. In reviewing the instant specification, these terms do not appear to recite the corresponding structure for each of these means.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0168929 (Wadekar) in view of US 2015/0222640 (Kumar).
With regard to claim 1, Wadekar discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a cloud management platform node, available informations of resource pools associated with a target service of a target tenant, wherein the available resource informations indicate first quantities of instances that are of instance clusters and that can be provided for the target service from the resource pools in a time period (Wadekar: Abstract and Paragraphs [0064]-[0065]. In the multi-tenant system, resource pools are provided for servicing reservation requests for use by a tenant. The resources are provided in clusters that have specific amounts of available resources (e.g. 10 available CPU cores). The resource allocations are checked periodically (in a time period), and may be adjusted as needed.).
Wadekar fails to disclose, but Kumar teaches:
generating, by the cloud management platform node based on the available resource informations, a steering plan of the target service in the time period; and allocating, by a steering node based on the steering plan, service traffic of the target service in the time period to the resource pools (Kumar: Paragraph [0031] and Wadekar: Paragraph [0002]. Wadekar briefly introduces the concept of utilizing load balancers to balance the workload, where Kumar teaches the use of different types of load balancers, including those that obtain data/metrics to select the service to send traffic to. The use of metrics to determine how to load balance traffic would constitute a “steering plan,” as this would serve to determine how traffic is steered traffic to the appropriate service.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate and utilize a steering plan based on available resource informations (active load balancing) to allow for the utilization of multiple services in Wadekar with an optimal allocation of traffic to the services based on the amount of traffic that each service would be able to process.
With regard to claim 2, Wadekar in view of Kumar teaches wherein the available informations further indicate second quantities of idle instances in the resource pools in the time period, and wherein the idle instances are not occupied by another tenant in the resource pools in the time period (Wadekar: Paragraphs [0064] to [0065]. The available resources would be resources that are not allocated to a tenant and are idle. The terms “first” and “second” do not provide any requirement that such are distinct, where the instant claim does not appear to provide any explicit or implicit difference between the quantities. However, even if the first quantity were better defined to be allocated to the target tenant (“available” would cover allocated and unallocated), the first quantities could be addressed as being taught by the metrics of Kumar used for load balancing (Kumar: Paragraph [0031]).
With regard to claim 3, Wadekar in view of Kumar teaches wherein the steering plan indicates a maximum value of the service traffic that is of the target service and that can be carried in each of the resource pools in the time period or indicates a ratio of the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to all the resource pools in the time period (Kumar: Paragraph [0031]. When performing active load balancing, ratios of service traffic allocated to each destination would at least be indicated, where the use of the term “indicates” does not require explicit specification of the information. Further, the use of the term “or” would only require two of the options to be indicated, where the use of active load balancing would at least indicate the ratio.).
With regard to claim 4, Wadekar fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the steering plan further indicates priority information of the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to all the resource pools in the time period (More specifically, Official Notice is taken load balancing schemes that also factor in priority information for the traffic were well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize some priority information with the load balancing scheme to allow more control over how the traffic is allocated, such as by allocating more urgent or higher paying traffic to faster or less burdened destinations, thus ensuring that such traffic is handled faster than lower priority traffic in different circumstances, such as during high demand time periods.
With regard to claim 5, Wadekar in view of Kumar teaches: obtaining, by the cloud management platform node, resource requirement information of the target service and indicating a predicted service traffic value of the target service in the time period; and further generating, by the cloud management platform node based on the resource requirement information, the steering plan (Kumar: Paragraph [0031]. The active metric collection is performed to for predictors, which would predict traffic and allocate traffic based on such predictions.).
With regard to claim 6, Wadekar fails to teach, but Kumar teaches wherein a sum of the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to all the resource pools in the time period is equal to the predicted service traffic value, and wherein the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to each of the resource pools in the time period does not exceed a maximum value of the service traffic that is of the target service and that can be carried in the resource pools (Kumar: Paragraph [0031]. Kumar provides a predictor that would predict traffic for allocation to the different destinations. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that the goal of such a prediction would be to have the total traffic predicted equaling the traffic that is received and to have the allocation not exceed the maximum. As a note, the instant claim fails to provide any actual functionality that is performed, but instead recites properties of the traffic. If Applicant intends for specific functions to be performed, the instant claim should be amended to clearly reflect what steps are performed to realize such functions.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the traffic equal the predicted traffic and to not have the traffic exceed the maximum traffic that can be carried in the resource pool as these would represent the goal of predictors implemented for a load balancer (where the equal values would indicate an accurate prediction) and having the traffic being less than the traffic that can be carried in the resource pool would mean that the pool is not overloaded, thus providing that the allocation of resources in Wadekar was performed correctly.
With regard to claim 7, Wadekar fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the steering plan meets a cost policy that a fee generated by the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to each of the resource pools in the time period is a lowest fee (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the charging of fees for tiers fo traffic, and the allocation of traffic based on such fees was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, where in a case that the target is associated with the lowest tier, this would be the lowest fee. As a note, the entity performing the method does not need to be aware of the fees. Rather, merely providing a priority level to the traffic would enable the load balancing function to be performed, where such priorities would be allocated outside of the scope of the method. If Applicant intends for functions to be directly based on the fees, the instant claim should be amended to clearly reflect this, such as by ensuring that the cloud management platform node receives the fee information and then generates the steering plan based on the fees. Note that priority information could be considered to “indicate” the fee, and thus having information that indicates the fee would not overcome the interpretation provided here.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to charge fees based on different tiers of service, then load balance based on the different tiers (priority traffic) with the target being associated with the lowest tier to allow the network provider to monetize the system in such a way that users can pay for different tiers of service, thus increasing the customer base with lower tiers and lower fees while allowing some customers to pay more for higher service levels, as would be performed as a standard business practice.
With regard to claim 8, Wadekar fails to teach, but knowledge possessed by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing teaches wherein the lowest fee comprises an instance fee and a communication fee, wherein the instance fee indicates a rental fee of an instance required by the service traffic that is of the target service and that is allocated to each of the resource pools in the time period, and wherein the communication fee is required for transmitting the service traffic between the steering node and each of the resource pools (More specifically, Official Notice is taken that the inclusion of different costs of doing business into the total fee, such as the cost of communicating the traffic (e.g. routing) and the cost of processing the traffic, was well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. As with claim 7, above, there is no actual requirement that the cloud management platform node actually has any awareness of any fees, where the fees would all be performed as business transactions outside of the method. Further, as with claim 7, providing that the cloud management platform node actually directly possesses the instance fee and communication fee information and generates the plan based on these fees would overcome this rationale.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have all the fees (whether the lowest fee or otherwise) include an instance fee (cost of implementing the instance to process the traffic) and a communication fee (cost of communicating the traffic) to ensure that the entity who owns the equipment can monetize the providing of the services, and ensures that all the costs are maintained. Further, separate fees would also allow for multiple entities owning different portions, such that each entity would charge their own fee that would be added to the total cost.
With regard to claim 9, Wadekar in view of Kumar teaches wherein the maximum value is based on the first quantities and resource conversion information of the target service, and wherein the resource conversion information indicates a second quantity of the instances required for processing a single service request of the target service (Kumar: Paragraph [0031]. The instant claim depends from claim 3, where claim 3 provided two options, with the option of indicating a ratio was relied upon. The instant claim fails to provide any requirement that the teering plan indicates a maximum value, meaning that the instant limitations are not required to teach the invention in as much detail as required by the instant claim (which depends from claims 3 and 1), as a whole, in embodiments that rely on the indication of the ratio and not the maximum value. For clarity, it is recommended that the instant claim be amended to depend from claim 1 and to have “the steering plan indicate a maximum value of the service traffic that is of the target service and that can be carried in each of the resource pools” to ensure that the proper embodiment is required.).
With regard to claims 10-17, the instant claims are similar to claims 1-2 and 4-9, respectively, and are rejected for similar reasons.
With regard to claims 18-20, the instant claims are similar to claims 1-3, respectively, and are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
SCOTT B. CHRISTENSEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444