DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 17, 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “exoskeleton comprising at least one bladder inflatable to provide structural support at least one of a limb and a joint of the body”, claim 1 should read “an exoskeleton comprising at least one bladder inflatable configured to provide structural support to at least one of a limb and a joint of the body” for clarity.
Claim 17 recites “said at least one bladder being pressurizable to provide structural support said at least one of the limb and the joint”, Claim 17 should read “said at least one bladder being pressurizable to provide structural support to said at least one of the limb and the joint” for clarity.
Claim 21 recites “said exoskeleton having a flexible state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a first pressure and is relatively flexible, and a rigid state in which said plurality of pressurizable bladders are pressurized to a second pressure greater than said first pressure”, Claim 21 should read “said exoskeleton having a flexible state in which said plurality of pressurizable bladders are pressurized to a first pressure and is relatively flexible, and a rigid state in which said plurality of pressurizable bladders are pressurized to a second pressure greater than said first pressure” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walsh et al. (US20200170873), hereafter Walsh.
Regarding Claim 1, Walsh discloses an adaptive stabilization system (Abstract) for supporting limbs and joints of a body (Abstract, “the textile actuator (a) displaces a body segment of the user and/or (b) supports and holds the body segment of the user in place”), the system comprising: an exoskeleton (Fig. 6, soft wearable robot 16, Fig. 7-12 shows various exoskeleton variations) comprising at least one bladder inflatable to provide structural support at least one of a limb and a joint of the body (Fig. 1-12, actuator 10/18/20, par. 0009), said exoskeleton having a flexible state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a first pressure and is relatively flexible (Fig. 16-29, uninflated state 32, par. 0102, “In the pre-inflated state 32, the actuator 10 may be gathered/wrinkled”; the bladder has a pre-inflated state and is flexible; par. 0099 discloses that the pre-inflated bladder can be deformed and therefore is flexible), and a rigid state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a second pressure greater than said first pressure and is relatively rigid (Fig. 16-29, inflated state 34, par. 0005, “The textile envelope has a pre-determined geometry and a non-linear equilibrium state at a displacement that provides a mechanical stop upon pressurization that prevents excessive displacement of the textile actuator”; the bladders have a pre-determined geometry, when fully inflated, the bladders resist deformation and provide support for the user); a pressurization system operable to selectively pressurize and depressurize said at least one bladder (Fig. 1-4, compressor 12, par. 0008, “a compressor 12 coupled with the actor 10 via a conduit 13 for fluid delivery”); and a control system (par. 0074, “…a controller (e.g., a computer in electronic communication with the sensors 22)”) comprising: at least one sensor operable to gather data to in relation to movement activity of a wearer of said exoskeleton (par. 0074-0075, “These sensors 22 can inform a controller… Such sensors 22 may measure joint angles, respiration, contact forces, and other physiological phenomena.”); and a control module (par. 0073, “As robotic devices, actuated soft wearables can utilize feedback in order to achieve control and to be as helpful as possible; this robotic feedback can be provided by sensors”; the prior art discloses a robotic feedback control module) operable to process data gathered from said at least one sensor and to provide a control signal (par. 0075, “These measures of physiological information may be used for activity tracking or control of wearable systems”) to said pressurization system to cause said pressurization system to selectively pressurize and depressurize said at least one bladder as a function of said data (par. 0076, “An example of… the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation. If pressure on the contact sensor 22 becomes too great during actuation, the controller can terminate inflation to prevent injury to the user 24 or the device.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said at least one bladder is supported on a substrate (Fig. 70-72, fabric 112) to fix said at least one bladder in a position for registration with said at least one of a limb and a joint of a human body to provide support when said exoskeleton is in the rigid state (See Fig. 70-72, the bladder is supported on a substrate 112, par. 0195, “supporting and holding the body segment of the user in place with the textile envelope in a fully pressurized, stiffened state.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said exoskeleton is integrated into a wearable article of clothing (Fig. 70-72, fabric 112; Fig. 73, garment 128).
Regarding Claim 5, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said pressurization system comprises at least one of a compressor and a pump operable to pressurize a fluid (par. 0008, “provided by a compressor 12 coupled with the actor 10 via a conduit 13 for fluid delivery”; par. 0077, “Inflation pressures (provided, e.g., via a pump or pressurized vessel in fluid communication with the chamber”).
Regarding Claim 6, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 5, wherein said pressurization system comprises a reservoir configured to store the fluid (Claim 25, “further comprising a fluid pump or reservoir of compressed fluid in fluid communication with the chamber and configured to supply fluid to the chamber.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said at least one sensor comprises at least one of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, and an altimeter (par. 0077, “Sensing in and of the actuators 18 and 20 is not limited strictly to soft sensors 22. A range of commonly used “hard” sensor types, such as inertial measurement units (IMU's), gyroscopes…”).
Regarding Claim 9, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said control system comprises a data processor configured to process data received from said at least one sensor. (par. 0076, “In this scenario, the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation.”; in the prior art example, the controller can be a computer that processes the reading from the sensor, therefore, an data processor inherently exists).
Regarding Claim 10, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said control system comprises a data processor configured to process data received from said at least one sensor to determine whether to selectively pressurize or depressurize said at least one bladder (par. 0076, “In this scenario, the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation.”; the processor processes the sensor data, then selects to stop the pressurization).
Regarding Claim 14, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said at least one bladder defines first and second pressurizable cuffs (Fig. 5 and 6, textile actuators 18 and 20) positionable to span the joint of the body (Fig. 5 and 6, par. 0009, cuffs 18 and 20 are positioned around the abduction and extension/flexion joint), and inflatable to secure the exoskeleton to the body (par. 0072, “These wearable robots are constructed from textiles that interface between the user 24 and the actuators 18 and 20…”; when inflated, the cuffs become stiff and secures the exoskeleton interface to the user).
Regarding Claim 15, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, wherein said exoskeleton comprises a plurality of discrete bladders that are not in fluid communication with each other (See Fig 48, bladders 18 and 20 are separate bladders; par. 0005, “a textile envelope that defines a chamber made fluid-impermeable by a fluid-impermeable bladder…”).
Regarding Claim 16, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 15, wherein said control system and said pressurization system are configured to permit selective pressurization of each of said plurality of discrete bladders individually (par. 0146, “The prototype described here comprises three individual actuators: one actuator 18 for abduction of the shoulder and two actuators 20 for bidirectional control of horizontal flexion and extension”; the bladders are individually pressurized for abduction, flexion, and extension).
Regarding Claim 17, Walsh discloses an adaptive stabilization system for supporting limbs and joints of a body (Abstract, “the textile actuator (a) displaces a body segment of the user and/or (b) supports and holds the body segment of the user in place”), the system comprising: a substrate configured to be worn on a portion of bodily anatomy (a substrate comprises of Fig. 47-48, vest 50, arm wrap 52, Fig. 70-72, fabric 112; par. 0172, “two stable harnesses (serving as a vest 50)… a harness formed of an inextensible woven fabric 112”) in registration with at least one of a limb and a joint of the body (Fig. 47, 48, 70-72, par. 0195, “supporting and holding the body segment of the user in place with the textile envelope in a fully pressurized, stiffened state.”); an exoskeleton supported on said substrate (Fig. 6, soft wearable robot 16; par. 0171, “These actuators apply forces to the arm, which must be reacted on the body, thereby requiring an anchoring system”), said exoskeleton comprising at least one bladder (actuator 10/18/20, par. 0009) fixed to said substrate in a position to span at least a portion of said at least one of the limb and the joint (Fig. 70-72; par. 0195-0196, the bladder is anchored to the body by the substrate), said at least one bladder being pressurizable to provide structural support said at least one of the limb and the joint (par. 0195, “at least one of (a) displacing a body segment of the user via the displacement of the textile actuator and (b) supporting and holding the body segment of the user in place with the textile envelope in a fully pressurized, stiffened state”), said exoskeleton having a flexible state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a first pressure and is relatively flexible (Fig. 16-29, uninflated state 32, par. 0102, “In the pre-inflated state 32, the actuator 10 may be gathered/wrinkled”; the bladder has a pre-inflated state and is flexible; par. 0099 discloses that the pre-inflated bladder can be deformed and therefore is flexible), and a rigid state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a second pressure greater than said first pressure and is relatively rigid (Fig. 16-29, inflated state 34, par. 0005, “The textile envelope has a pre-determined geometry and a non-linear equilibrium state at a displacement that provides a mechanical stop upon pressurization that prevents excessive displacement of the textile actuator”; the bladders have a pre-determined geometry, when fully inflated, the bladders resist deformation and provide support for the user); a pressurization system supported on said substrate and operable to selectively pressurize and depressurize said at least one bladder (Fig. 1-4, compressor 12, par. 0008, “a compressor 12 coupled with the actor 10 via a conduit 13 for fluid delivery”; par. 0149, “a portable system with integrated control and power electronics can provide a fully mobile solution”, a portable compressor can also be anchored); and a control system supported on said substrate (par. 0074, “a controller (e.g., a computer in electronic communication with the sensors 22)”; par. 0149, “a portable system with integrated control and power electronics can provide a fully mobile solution”, the control can be integrated with the substrate) and comprising: at least one sensor operable to gather data to in relation to movement activity of a wearer of said bladder (par. 0074-0075, “These sensors 22 can inform a controller… Such sensors 22 may measure joint angles, respiration, contact forces, and other physiological phenomena.”); and a control module (par. 0073, “As robotic devices, actuated soft wearables can utilize feedback in order to achieve control and to be as helpful as possible; this robotic feedback can be provided by sensors”; the prior art discloses a robotic feedback control module) operable to process data gathered from said at least one sensor (; par. 0075, “These measures of physiological information may be used for activity tracking or control of wearable systems”) and to provide a control signal to said pressurization system to cause said pressurization system to selectively pressurize and depressurize said at least one bladder as a function of said data (par. 0076, “An example of… the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation. If pressure on the contact sensor 22 becomes too great during actuation, the controller can terminate inflation to prevent injury to the user 24 or the device.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 17, wherein said exoskeleton comprises a plurality of discrete bladders that are not in fluid communication with each other (See Fig 48, bladders 18 and 20 are separate bladders; par. 0005, “a textile envelope that defines a chamber made fluid-impermeable by a fluid-impermeable bladder…”), and said control system and said pressurization system are configured to permit selective pressurization of each of said plurality of discrete bladders individually (par. 0146, “The prototype described here comprises three individual actuators: one actuator 18 for abduction of the shoulder and two actuators 20 for bidirectional control of horizontal flexion and extension”; the bladders are individually pressurized for abduction, flexion, and extension).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh, in view of Devanaboyina (US10265237), hereafter Devana.
Regarding Claim 4, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said at least one bladder is provided supported on an internal portion of a wearable article of clothing.
However, Devana teaches an adaptive stabilizing system (Abstract, “Systems and methods for exerting forces on a body, including a support structure defining a space and a plurality of surface contacting units that are configured to exert force upon the body…”), comprising of an exoskeleton (device shown in Fig. 1A-B) comprising at least one bladder (Fig. 1A-B, inflatable bladder141) inflatable to provide structural support to at least one of a limb and a joint (col. 14 line 57-60, “The apparatus may be used to support a whole body and/or body regions or appendages, including the neck, head, leg, arm, trunk, torso, chest, abdomen, hip, hand, foot, finger, shoulder, elbow, wrist, joint, limb, head, or a combination thereof.”), wherein said at least one bladder is provided supported on an internal portion of a wearable article of clothing (Fig. 1B, the bladder is disposed on an internal portion of frame 140, col. 14 line 65-67, “The frame without limitation may be shaped in the form of a body cast, shirt, pant, or a suite, or a jacket, an inner or outer garment”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known system of Walsh, with the system of Devana, and provide the bladder on an internal portion of a wearable article of clothing for supporting the bladders and securing the system to the user as taught by Devana (Devana, col. 58 line 40-49).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh, in view of Herr et al. (US10561563), hereafter Herr.
Regarding Claim 7, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said pressurization system comprises an actuator operable to selective open and close a valve in fluid communication with said at least one bladder in response to a control signal received from said control module.
However, Herr teaches an exoskeleton system (Abstract), comprising of an exoskeleton (Fig. 26A) comprising at least one inflatable bladder (Fig. 26A, inflatable bladder actuator 2605), and a pressurization system to selectively pressurize and depressurize the bladder (col. 12 line 28-30, “A pneumatic actuator, for example, could be powered passively, with a tank of compressed air or an onboard compressor”; col. 23 line 8-17, “…An energy source to drive bladder actuator 2605 can be directly attached to proximal member 2604”). Herr further teaches wherein said pressurization system comprises an actuator operable to selective open and close a valve in fluid communication with said at least one bladder (col. 12 line 25-27, “A pneumatic actuator, for example, could be powered passively, with a tank of compressed air or an onboard compressor”) in response to a control signal received from said control module (col. 12 line 46-47, “Onboard microcontroller 107 can use various sensors to autonomously control the exoskeleton”; col. 23 line 12-15, “Valves (not shown) can be employed to effect inflation and deflation of bladder actuator 2605. The valves can be actuated by a controller, such as controller 107 described with respect to FIG. 1.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known system of Walsh, with the actuator valve of Herr, to control the fluid flow of the bladder as taught by Herr (Herr, col. 12 line 21-32).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh
Regarding Claim 11, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that a wearer is one of standing and walking, and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not one of standing and walking.
However, Walsh discloses wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicate that a wearer is raising an arm and needs support (par. 0187, “When the control system detects a sensor signal from any number of sensor that indicates that the user's arm or arms have been raised, the system may react automatically to inflate the actuators and support the overhead work”), and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not raising an arm (par. 0187, “The system may also detect any sensor signals that the user wants to lower their arm or arms and deflate sufficiently quickly such that the users natural motion is minimally impeded”). Walsh further teaches that the system can be applied for gait assistance (par. 0085, Fig. 11, 12), including pressurizing the bladder when the wearer is one of standing and walking (Fig. 11, 12, par. 0085, “A similar robot for osteoarthritis (OA) patients can be placed on the knee to stabilize it during the gait cycle (see FIG. 12)”; the bladder is pressurized to support the user during the gait cycle), and that the sensor can track joint/limb of the user (par. 0076-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to apply the sensor-based bladder pressure control for the arm (par. 0187), to the gait assistance bladder (Fig. 11, 12), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 12, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when an external sensor separate from said exoskeleton indicates that a wearer is one of standing and walking, and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said external sensor indicates that the wearer is not one of standing and walking.
However, Walsh discloses wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when an external sensor separate from said exoskeleton (par. 0077, “External methods, such as visual tracking by a computer or electromagnetic tracking, may also be used to control devices.”) indicate that a wearer is raising an arm and needs support (par. 0187, “When the control system detects a sensor signal from any number of sensor that indicates that the user's arm or arms have been raised, the system may react automatically to inflate the actuators and support the overhead work”), and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said external sensor indicates that the wearer is not raising an arm (par. 0187, “The system may also detect any sensor signals that the user wants to lower their arm or arms and deflate sufficiently quickly such that the users natural motion is minimally impeded”). Walsh further teaches that the system can be applied for gait assistance (par. 0085, Fig. 11, 12), including pressurizing the bladder when the wearer is one of standing and walking (Fig. 11, 12, par. 0085, “A similar robot for osteoarthritis (OA) patients can be placed on the knee to stabilize it during the gait cycle (see FIG. 12)”; the bladder is pressurized to support the user during the gait cycle), and that the sensor can track joint/limb of the user (par. 0076-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to apply the sensor-based bladder pressure control for the arm (par. 0187), to the gait assistance bladder (Fig. 11, 12), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 19, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 17, but is silent on wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that a wearer is one of standing and walking, and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not one of standing and walking.
However, Walsh discloses wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicate that a wearer is raising an arm and needs support (par. 0187, “When the control system detects a sensor signal from any number of sensor that indicates that the user's arm or arms have been raised, the system may react automatically to inflate the actuators and support the overhead work”), and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not raising an arm (par. 0187, “The system may also detect any sensor signals that the user wants to lower their arm or arms and deflate sufficiently quickly such that the users natural motion is minimally impeded”). Walsh further teaches that the system can be applied for gait assistance (par. 0085, Fig. 11, 12), including pressurizing the bladder when the wearer is one of standing and walking (Fig. 11, 12, par. 0085, “A similar robot for osteoarthritis (OA) patients can be placed on the knee to stabilize it during the gait cycle (see FIG. 12)”; the bladder is pressurized to support the user during the gait cycle), and that the sensor can track joint/limb of the user (par. 0076-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to apply the sensor-based bladder pressure control for the arm (par. 0187), to the gait assistance bladder (Fig. 11, 12), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 21, Walsh discloses an adaptive stabilization system for supporting limbs and joints of a body (Abstract, “the textile actuator (a) displaces a body segment of the user and/or (b) supports and holds the body segment of the user in place”), the system comprising: a substrate configured to be worn on a portion of bodily anatomy (a substrate comprises of Fig. 47-48, vest 50, arm wrap 52, Fig. 70-72, fabric 112; par. 0172, “two stable harnesses (serving as a vest 50)… a harness formed of an inextensible woven fabric 112”) in registration with at least one of a limb and a joint of the body (Fig. 47, 48, 70-72, par. 0195, “supporting and holding the body segment of the user in place with the textile envelope in a fully pressurized, stiffened state.”); an exoskeleton supported on said substrate (Fig. 6, soft wearable robot 16; par. 0171, “These actuators apply forces to the arm, which must be reacted on the body, thereby requiring an anchoring system”), said exoskeleton comprising a plurality of pressurizable bladders (actuator 10/18/20, par. 0009) that are fixed to said substrate in a position to span at least a portion of said at least one of the limb and the joint (Fig. 70-72; par. 0195-0196, the bladder is anchored to the body by the substrate), and that are not in fluid communication with each other (See Fig 48, bladders 18 and 20 are separate bladders; par. 0005, “a textile envelope that defines a chamber made fluid-impermeable by a fluid-impermeable bladder…”) said plurality of pressurizable bladders being pressurizable to provide structural support said at least one of the limb and the joint (par. 0195, “at least one of (a) displacing a body segment of the user via the displacement of the textile actuator and (b) supporting and holding the body segment of the user in place with the textile envelope in a fully pressurized, stiffened state”), said exoskeleton having a flexible state in which said at least one bladder is pressurized to a first pressure and is relatively flexible (Fig. 16-29, uninflated state 32, par. 0102, “In the pre-inflated state 32, the actuator 10 may be gathered/wrinkled”; the bladder has a pre-inflated state and is flexible; par. 0099 discloses that the pre-inflated bladder can be deformed and therefore is flexible), and a rigid state in which said plurality of pressurizable bladders are pressurized to a second pressure greater than said first pressure and is relatively rigid (Fig. 16-29, inflated state 34, par. 0005, “The textile envelope has a pre-determined geometry and a non-linear equilibrium state at a displacement that provides a mechanical stop upon pressurization that prevents excessive displacement of the textile actuator”; the bladders have a pre-determined geometry, when fully inflated, the bladders resist deformation and provide support for the user); a pressurization system supported on said substrate and operable to selectively pressurize and depressurize each of said plurality of pressurizable bladders (Fig. 1-4, compressor 12, par. 0008, “a compressor 12 coupled with the actor 10 via a conduit 13 for fluid delivery”; par. 0149, “a portable system with integrated control and power electronics can provide a fully mobile solution”, a portable compressor can also be anchored) separate from others of said plurality of pressurizable bladders (Fig. 47, each bladder is independently connected to the pressurization system); and a control system supported on said substrate (par. 0074, “a controller (e.g., a computer in electronic communication with the sensors 22)”; par. 0149, “a portable system with integrated control and power electronics can provide a fully mobile solution”, the control can be integrated with the substrate) and comprising: at least one sensor operable to gather data to in relation to movement activity of a wearer of said bladder (par. 0074-0075, “These sensors 22 can inform a controller… Such sensors 22 may measure joint angles, respiration, contact forces, and other physiological phenomena.”); and a control module (par. 0073, “As robotic devices, actuated soft wearables can utilize feedback in order to achieve control and to be as helpful as possible; this robotic feedback can be provided by sensors”; the prior art discloses a robotic feedback control module) comprising a data processor operable to process data gathered from said at least one sensor. (par. 0076, “In this scenario, the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation.”; in the prior art example, the controller can be a computer that processes the reading from the sensor, therefore, an data processor inherently exists; par. 0075, “These measures of physiological information may be used for activity tracking or control of wearable systems”) and to provide a control signal to said pressurization system to cause said pressurization system to selectively pressurize and depressurize said at least one bladder as a function of said data (par. 0076, “An example of… the controller engages the HEFA 20 until the stretch sensor 22 indicates that the arm is at 90 degrees, wherein that reading is processed to generate a communication that is then sent to the actuator 20 to terminate further inflation. If pressure on the contact sensor 22 becomes too great during actuation, the controller can terminate inflation to prevent injury to the user 24 or the device.”).
Walsh does not specifically disclose wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said plurality of pressurizable bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that a wearer is one of standing and walking, and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize at least one of said plurality of pressurizable bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not one of standing and walking.
However, Walsh discloses wherein said control module is configured to send a control signal to pressurize said plurality of pressurizable bladder when said at least one sensor indicate that a wearer is raising an arm and needs support (par. 0187, “When the control system detects a sensor signal from any number of sensor that indicates that the user's arm or arms have been raised, the system may react automatically to inflate the actuators and support the overhead work”), and wherein said control module is further configured to send a control signal to depressurize said at least one of said plurality of pressurizable bladder when said at least one sensor indicates that the wearer is not raising an arm (par. 0187, “The system may also detect any sensor signals that the user wants to lower their arm or arms and deflate sufficiently quickly such that the users natural motion is minimally impeded”). Walsh further teaches that the system can be applied for gait assistance (par. 0085, Fig. 11, 12), including pressurizing the bladder when the wearer is one of standing and walking (Fig. 11, 12, par. 0085, “A similar robot for osteoarthritis (OA) patients can be placed on the knee to stabilize it during the gait cycle (see FIG. 12)”; the bladder is pressurized to support the user during the gait cycle), and that the sensor can track joint/limb of the user (par. 0076-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to apply the sensor-based bladder pressure control for the arm (par. 0187), to the gait assistance bladder (Fig. 11, 12), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh, in view of Kaveny et al. (US20230058389), hereafter Kaveny.
Regarding Claim 13, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 1, but is silent on wherein said control module is configured to process data gathered from the user during walking to determine whether the wearer is in a heightened fall risk state, and to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said data indicates that a wearer is in the heightened fall risk state.
However, Kaveny teaches an exoskeleton system (Abstract), comprising of an exoskeleton (Fig. 1, leg actuator unit 110) comprising at least one inflatable bladder (Fig. 1, bellow actuator 130, par. 0228, “the bellows actuator 130 can comprise a substantially inextensible textile envelope that defines a chamber that is made fluid-impermeable by a fluid-impermeable bladder”), a pressurization system (Fig. 5, pneumatic system 520), and a control module (Fig. 5, processor 511) comprising sensor s(Fig. 5, sensors 513). Kaveny further teaches wherein said control module is configured to process data gathered from the user during walking to determine whether the wearer is in a heightened fall risk state (par. 0141, “Data from sensors and other relevant data can be used by the exoskeleton system 100 in various examples… data from sensors of the exoskeleton system 100 (e.g., sensors 513 of the exoskeleton device 510 or sensors disposed on the actuator unit(s) 110 or the like) can be used to detect when a user has fallen… infer the probability of a future fall event given the current sensor data. In another embodiment, it can be inferred from immediate sensor data that a user 101 is in a state of physical fatigue, such as from a diminished knee angle velocity, altered gait, or reduced muscle activity recorded by EMG, which could then also provide inference of the increased probability of a future fall event.”), and to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said data indicates that a wearer is in the heightened fall risk state (par. 0143-145, “For example, such a response can include changing a configuration of the exoskeleton system 100, actuating the exoskeleton system 100…”; par. 0215-0216, actuating the exoskeleton requires pressurize the bladder). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known system of Walsh, with the system of Kaveny, to detect fall event and prevent injury of the user from falling as taught by Kaveny (Kaveny, par. 0141).
Regarding Claim 20, Walsh discloses the adaptive stabilization system of claim 17, but is silent on wherein said control module is configured to process data gathered from the wearer during walking to determine whether the wearer is in a heightened fall risk state, and to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said data indicates that the wearer is in the heightened fall risk state.
However, Kaveny teaches an exoskeleton system (Abstract), comprising of an exoskeleton (Fig. 1, leg actuator unit 110) comprising at least one inflatable bladder (Fig. 1, bellow actuator 130, par. 0228, “the bellows actuator 130 can comprise a substantially inextensible textile envelope that defines a chamber that is made fluid-impermeable by a fluid-impermeable bladder”), a pressurization system (Fig. 5, pneumatic system 520), and a control module (Fig. 5, processor 511) comprising sensor s(Fig. 5, sensors 513). Kaveny further teaches wherein said control module is configured to process data gathered from the user during walking to determine whether the wearer is in a heightened fall risk state (par. 0141, “Data from sensors and other relevant data can be used by the exoskeleton system 100 in various examples… data from sensors of the exoskeleton system 100 (e.g., sensors 513 of the exoskeleton device 510 or sensors disposed on the actuator unit(s) 110 or the like) can be used to detect when a user has fallen… infer the probability of a future fall event given the current sensor data. In another embodiment, it can be inferred from immediate sensor data that a user 101 is in a state of physical fatigue, such as from a diminished knee angle velocity, altered gait, or reduced muscle activity recorded by EMG, which could then also provide inference of the increased probability of a future fall event.”), and to send a control signal to pressurize said at least one bladder when said data indicates that a wearer is in the heightened fall risk state (par. 0143-145, “For example, such a response can include changing a configuration of the exoskeleton system 100, actuating the exoskeleton system 100…”; par. 0215-0216, actuating the exoskeleton requires pressurize the bladder). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the known system of Walsh, with the system of Kaveny, to detect fall event and prevent injury of the user from falling as taught by Kaveny (Kaveny, par. 0141).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US3823712 discloses a wearable support device comprises inflatable bladders
/KRIS HANYU GONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785