DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-15 are pending and presented for the examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 and 05/12/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 20210009473 A1) in view of Saito (US 4753903 A) and Tsuchiya (WO 2021153685 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada et al teaches a SiC-Si composite member having a metal Si content of 29.1-33.8 wt% and a porosity of 0.2-0.8% that is produced by a 3D printing method comprising the forming of a first molded body by using a mixture of α-SiC powder and a curing agent as a starting material and forming a powder layer; thereafter immersing and impregnating the first molded body with carbon particles to obtain a second molded body; and then impregnating the second molded body with metal Si. The material thus formed is a SiSiC component and the range of Si content in the material is greater than 10 vol% when converted.
Claim 1 differs from Yamada et al in that the Yamada et al SiSiC component does not comprise a hole having a diameter of 2 mm or less and a length of 100 mm or longer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada et al in view of Saito in order to produce the Yamada et al component in a form having a long hole therein, and in view of Tsuchiya in order to form a hole having the dimensions taught therein via the inventive electric discharge machining method. Saito teaches a silicon carbide sintered body suitable for electrical discharge machining and method of manufacturing the same, and teaches that such electrical discharge machining can be used to form precision parts, such as injection nozzles in which fine holes must be formed, that are difficult to manufacture by other methods (see column 2, lines 5-10). This Saito teaching would motivate a skilled artisan to use the inventive machining technique to form parts from the Yamada et al SiSiC material because it shows that this would allow for the formation of useful articles injection nozzles. One would have seen this added ability to form useful articles as advantageous, and one further would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the modification because both Yamada et al and Saito are drawn to shaped SiC-based articles.
Claim 1 further differs from Yamada et al because a hole having the diameter and length of the claim is not specified. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada et al in further view of Tsuchiya in order to use the electric discharge machining method taught by Saito in order to form a hole having the size parameters taught by Tsuchiya. Tsuchiya teaches a narrow-hole electric discharge machining and method for using the same to machine parts, and provides teaching as to the capabilities of dimensional formation therewith. Tsuchiya teaches that holes formed using the machine and method can have diameters of less than 2 mm and lengths of greater than 100 mm (see Fig. 2). One of ordinary skill would have had motivation to use the Tsuchiya electric discharge machine to perform the processes taught by Saito in machining SiC-based parts because Tsuchiya teaches a method and machine for forming the narrow holes discussed in Saito, and thus this teaching would have more specifically enabled one to form such features.
As such, the teachings of Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya would lead to a SiSiC part having the structural feature of a dimensionally-defined hole that meets each limitation of the instant claim 1, and the claim is therefore obvious and not patentably distinct over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada et al does not specify the Young’s modulus of the inventive material. However, because, as discussed above, Yamada et al teaches a Si-SiC composite that is compositionally equivalent to that of the instant claims, and that is also prepared equivalently in terms of the base material and is therefore structurally equivalent, the Yamada et al material would necessarily also be equivalent in terms of strength properties. The Young’s modulus of this material would thus necessarily be 230 GPa or greater. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada et al does not specify the electrical resistivity of the inventive material. However, because, as discussed above, Yamada et al teaches a Si-SiC composite that is compositionally equivalent to that of the instant claims, and that is also prepared equivalently in terms of the base material and is therefore structurally equivalent, the Yamada et al material would necessarily also be equivalent in terms of electrical properties. The electrical resistivity of this material would thus necessarily be within the substantially broad range of 0.0001-100 Ω·cm.
Regarding claim 6, the sintered body suitable for electrical discharge machining of Saito is taught to comprise a long hole in the inventive article, as discussed above. No axial deviation of this hole shape is a part of the Saito teaching, and as such there would be no reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to take from the Saito teaching that such deviation would have a value of greater than 0.80 mm. The further limitation of instant claim 6 is therefore necessarily met by the teachings applied above.
Regarding claim 7, Tsuchiya teaches a cylindrical body that represents the hole shape, and thus a circular hole.
Regarding claims 9-10, Yamada et al teaches that the inventive material is produced by preparing a SiC body through a 3D printing method and thereafter infiltrating Si into the SiC body. As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada in view of Saito and Tsuchiya in order to form a hole in the component through electrical discharge machining. Each limitation of the instant claims is thus met by the teachings of the applied prior art.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 20210009473 A1) in view of Saito (US 4753903 A) and Tsuchiya (WO 2021153685 A) and in further view of Hirotsuru et al (JP 2009018319 A).
Regarding claim 4, the claim differs from Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya as applied above because the applied prior art does not teach that the hole formed is a non-through hole. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada et al in further view of Hirotsuru et al in order to form a non-through hole shape in the Yamada et al material. Hirotsuru et al teaches a silicon carbide composite body and article formed therefrom by electric discharge machining, and teaches that holes formed by machining can be 10 mm through holes and 10 mm depth tapped holes. This teaching would indicate to one of ordinary skill that silicon carbide composites of the type taught by Yamada et al can be machined to have either through holes or non-through holes, and as such the formation of non-through holes would have been arrived at through routine optimization and experimentation with different shapes according to the needs of the articles composed of the composite. The further limitations of claim 4 are therefore met by the teachings of the prior art of record.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 20210009473 A1) in view of Saito (US 4753903 A) and Tsuchiya (WO 2021153685 A) and in further view of Nikolaevich et al (RU 2747841 C1).
Regarding claim 5, the claim differs from Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya as applied above because the applied prior art does not teach the surface roughness of an inner wall of the hole portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada et al in further view of Nikolaevich et al in order to form a hole having the surface roughness value taught therein. Nikolaevich et al teaches a method of electrical discharge machining of small diameter holes, and specifies that surface roughness values of 3.2 µm can be produced using such methods. This teaching would motivate one of ordinary skill to use such a surface roughness because the lack of specific teaching as to this feature in Yamada, Saito, and Tsuchiya would lead one to consult similar teachings on electrical discharge machining for a proper surface roughness. The further limitation of claim 5 is therefore met by the teachings of the prior art of record.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 20210009473 A1) in view of Saito (US 4753903 A) and Tsuchiya (WO 2021153685 A) and in further view of Horiuchi et al (US 6699401 B1).
Regarding claim 11, the claim differs from Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya as applied above because the applied prior art does not teach that an occurrence of a burr on a surface of the Si-SiC component is suppressed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yamada et al in further view of Horiuchi et al in order to remove (suppress occurrence of) any burrs or surface deposits to reduce surface roughness. Horiuchi et al teaches a method for producing a Si-SiC member (see claim 1), and teaches that machining should be carried out in order to reduce surface roughness to a value of 0.2 µm or less (see claim 2 and column 4, lines 6-8). As this degree of surface roughness would necessitate an absence of burrs on the component surface, performing the machining step would comprise removal of any burrs present. This step further constitutes suppression of occurrence of burrs. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to remove surface irregularities and burrs from the component taught by Yamada in view of Saito and Tsuchiya using the method of Horiuchi et al because doing so would allow for a smoother and more easily handled component, and the Horiuchi et al teachings would allow a skilled artisan to suppress any burr occurrence. The further limitations of claim 11 are therefore met by the teachings of the prior art of record, and the claim is obvious and not patentably distinct.
Regarding claim 12, similarly to above, the teachings of Horiuchi et al would motivate a skilled artisan to remove any surface irregularities from the component taught by Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya. This would include a deposit on the surface, and such removal would constitute suppression of occurrence, as the deposit would cease to occur after removal.
Regarding claim 13, similarly to above, the teachings of Horiuchi et al would motivate a skilled artisan to remove any surface irregularities from the component taught by Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya. This would include a deposit on the surface, and such removal would constitute suppression of occurrence, as the deposit would cease to occur after removal.
Regarding claim 14, any eluted silicon deposits would be removed by the method, discussed above, taught by Yamada et al in further view of Horiuchi et al. The further limitation of claim 14 is thus met by the teachings of the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 15, any burrs occurring on the surface of the component taught by Yamada et al in view of Saito and Tsuchiya would be removed by the method, discussed above, taught by Yamada et al in further view of Horiuchi et al. The further limitation of claim 15 is thus met by the teachings of the prior art of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest a component meeting each limitation of instant claim 1, and wherein the O content of an inner wall of the hole is at least 1 at%.
Conclusion
13. Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected. Claim 8 is objected to.
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NOAH S WIESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
NSW15 October 2026