DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending in the present application. Claims 1, 9-15, 17, and 19-22 were amended in the response filed 28 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: pipelines, [see figure 3, figure 4, flow chart steps 434 and 440; also note paragraph 0056 one or more pipelines to use to process query, claim 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barker et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0125751 A1 in view of Sudarsan et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0011920 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Barker et al. teaches the following:
An automated system for responding to queries in which a response is influenced by weather, climate or environmental factors, [note: Abstract, “”Managing answers in a question-answering environment can include sorting, based on a set of answer categories for subject matter”; paragraph 0126, influence factors can be identified; paragraph 0131, “dry climates” (i.e. example of influence factor); Figure 1] the system comprising:
a memory [note: Figure 1, memory (208), (218), (228)];
at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory, [note: Figure 1, processor (206), (216), (226)] the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via an application server or a data server, a freetext query [note: paragraphs 0070-0074, QA system 312];
receive, via an application server or a data server, contextual data associated with the freetext query, the contextual data including at least one of weather, climate, and environment information;
pre-process, via a resource server, the freetext query and the contextual data to extract at least a data entity and use the data entity to generate an assembled query [note: paragraph 0073 predefined criteria];
generate, using a generator, of the resources server a pre-response based on the assembled query [note: paragraphs 0075-0077, various input methods; paragraph 0080 system generates results; paragraph 0087 not limited to natural language ]; and
transmit the pre-response to an output device via the application server [Figures 1, 3 and 7; paragraph 0088 visualization of results; paragraphs 0070-0073 computer system display].
Although Barker et al. teach the invention as cited they do not explicitly disclose or a data server, contextual data associated with weather, climate, and environmental information. However Sudarsan et al. teach this feature as follows [note: figure 1, query sources 112, weather data 130, data sources]. Sudarsan et al. allows for query building through automatic Model builder and NL processing [note: figure 1 ML builder 150 and NL processing 160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited references since they are both directed toward optimized searching. Sudarsan et al. further depicts the architecture of such systems.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to post-process the pre-response to generate a response [note: paragraph 0073, search may be implemented based on a predefined criteria].
The limitations of claims 21 and 22 parallel claim 1; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the current rejection.
ARGUMENT: Claims were rejected under 35 USC 112 first and second for written description, vagueness, and omitted structural relationship. The claims have been amended to overcome rejection.
RESPONSE: The amendment overcomes rejection cited for written description and vagueness; however with respect to the language of a pipeline, the rejection is respectfully maintained.
ARGUMENT: Claims 1, 2, 21, and 22 were rejected under 35 USC 102. The prior art does not teach the amended features.
RESPONSE: A new reference, Sudarsan et al., has been combined with Barker et al.
Sudarsan et al. teach a weather data component 103 as context data, various data sources in an NL processing system 160, see figure 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note attached form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRETA L ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163