DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiproot et al (US 9,310,002) in view of Bird et al (US 2013/0193685 A1)
As to claim 1, Chiproot et al discloses a gasket assembly comprising: a primary gasket (12) defining an outer sealing surface (top surface) and an inner sealing surface (with indigitations 30) opposite the outer sealing surface; and a secondary gasket (22) disposed radially inward of the primary gasket, the secondary gasket defining a secondary outer sealing surface (with interdigitations 30) and a secondary inner sealing surface (bottom surface), the secondary outer sealing surface engaging the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket; wherein: the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket defines a first axial length (Figs. 1 and 2); the secondary outer sealing surface of the secondary gasket defines a second axial length that is substantially the same as the first axial length of the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket (Figs. 1 and 2); one of the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket and the secondary outer sealing surface of the secondary gasket defines an engagement groove (of interdigitations); the other one of the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket and the secondary outer sealing surface of the secondary gasket defines an engagement flange (of interdigitations); and the engagement flange engages the engagement groove to prevent the secondary gasket from sliding axially relative to the primary gasket; and wherein the primary gasket defines a first axial end (left end) and a second axial end (right end) opposite the first axial end, and wherein a gasket groove (18) extends into the primary gasket at the first axial end; wherein the gasket groove is an annular gasket groove. Refer to Fig. 2.
Chiproot et al notes that his seal assembly (10) is useful in a clamp like that of U.S. 6,293,556, but not limited thereto (2: 21-23).
Chiproot et al fails to teach that the annular gasket groove extends into the primary gasket from an annular groove opening defined at the first axial end.
However, Bird et al teaches a similar gasket assembly (FIG. 7) for a similar pipe clamp assembly (FIG. 11). The gasket assembly includes a primary gasket atop a secondary gasket, also like that of Chiproot. The primary gasket includes a slot (108) that opens at one end of the gasket and extends towards an end wall at an opposing end of the gasket to form an annular groove between an upper portion of the gasket and a substantially concentric lower portion (FIG. 7). The slot (108) will receive pressurized fluid from the (joined) pipes which that presses outwardly on the gasket which further enhances the sealing connection between the clamp and the pipe (see [0050]). Chiproot et al uses apertures (20) in the side wall of the outer sealing ring (12) for this purpose (2: 25-55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chiproot et al such that the annular gasket groove extends into the primary gasket from an annular groove opening defined at the first axial end, in place of the sidewall apertures, as taught by Bird et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an alternative, more effective means by which to use the pressurized fluid to enhance the sealing connection between the clamp(s) and the pipe(s).
As to claim 2, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 1, wherein the engagement groove is an annular engagement groove, and wherein the engagement flange is an annular engagement flange (of 30, Chiproot et al).
As to claim 3, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 2, wherein the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket defines the annular engagement groove, and wherein the secondary outer sealing surface of the secondary gasket defines the annular engagement flange. Refer to Fig. 2, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 4, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 3, wherein: the annular engagement groove is one of a plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement grooves (of 30) defined by the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket; the annular engagement flange is one of a plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement flanges (of 30) defined by the secondary outer sealing surface of the secondary gasket; and each of the axially-spaced annular engagement flanges engages one of the axially-spaced annular engagement grooves. Refer to Fig. 2, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 5, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 4, wherein: the primary gasket defines a first axial end (left end in figures) and a second axial end (right end in figures) opposite the first axial end; a first one of the plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement grooves is arranged adjacent to the first axial end (Fig. 2); and a second one of the plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement grooves is arranged adjacent to the second axial end (Fig. 2, Chiproot et al).
As to claim 6, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 5, wherein a third one of the plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement grooves is arranged between the first one and the second one of the plurality of axially-spaced annular engagement grooves. Refer to Fig. 2, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 9, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 8, wherein the annular gasket groove is defined radially between the outer sealing surface of the primary gasket and the inner sealing surface of the primary gasket. Refer to Fig. 2, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 10, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 9, wherein the annular gasket groove extends into the first axial end in a substantially axial direction. Refer to Fig. 2, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 11, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 1, wherein the secondary inner sealing surface defines a void (inner annulus) configured to receive a pipe, and wherein the secondary inner sealing surface is configured to grip the pipe.
As to claim 12, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 11, wherein each of the primary gasket and the secondary gasket comprise a resilient material. Refer to col. 3, ll. 28-33, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 13, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 12, wherein the resilient material of the primary gasket is the same as the resilient material of the secondary gasket. Refer to cross-hatching in the figures, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 14, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 12, except that the resilient material of the primary gasket is different than the resilient material of the secondary gasket. Refer to col. 3, ll. 28-33, Chiproot et al.
As to claim 17, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 1, wherein the gasket groove is defined by an inner sidewall and an outer sidewall that extend from the groove opening to an end wall positioned opposite the groove opening. Refer to FIG. 7, Bird et al.
As to claim 18, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 17, wherein the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall of the gasket groove are substantially concentric. Refer to FIG. 7, Bird et al.
As to claim 19, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 17, wherein the outer sidewall and the inner sidewall define an annular void (108) therebetween. Refer to FIG. 7, Bird et al.
As to claim 20, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 19, wherein the annular void extends from the groove opening to the end wall. Refer to FIG. 7, Bird et al.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiproot et al (US 9,310,002) in view of Bird et al, and further in view of Krausz et al (US 7,654,486).
As to claim 15, Chiproot et al/Bird et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 12, except that the resilient material comprises a rubber material.
However, Krausz et al teaches a similar gasket assembly, wherein the resilient material comprises a rubber material. Refer to col. 3, l. 47.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chiproot et al/Bird et al such that the resilient material the resilient material comprises a rubber material, as taught by Krausz et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an alternative, yet viable configuration dependent upon the requirements of a particular design application.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiproot et al in view of Bird et al, further in view of Krausz et al, and still further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter “AAPA”).
As to claim 16, Chiproot et al/Bird et al/Krausz et al discloses the gasket assembly of claim 15, except that the rubber material is neoprene.
As the Official Notice of the use of neoprene as a rubber material was not challenged by Applicant, such it considered as AAPA.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chiproot et al/Bird et al/Krausz et al such that the rubber material of the gasket assembly is neoprene, as taught by AAPA, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an alternative, yet viable configuration dependent upon the requirements of a particular design application.
Examiner’s Note:
The italicized portions in the foregoing claims are functional recitations. These clauses, as well as other statements of intended use do not serve to patently distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference(s), as long as the structure of the cited reference(s) is capable of performing the intended use. See MPEP 2111-2115.
See also MPEP 2114, which states:
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647;
Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531; and
[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525,1528.
Any one of the systems in the cited reference(s) is capable of being used in the same manner and for the intended or desired use as the claimed invention. Note that it is sufficient to show that said capability exists, which is the case for the cited reference(s).
Conclusion
James M. Hewitt II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES M HEWITT II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679