DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 15, second to last paragraph, “into a superimposed magnetic field by” should be changed to --into a superimposed magnetic field--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sauer et al. (DE 10 2015 111 315 A1) (hereinafter Sauer) (citations from attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, Sauer teaches a method for detecting slip between a first clutch element [16] and a second clutch element [20] of a clutch [39] (see Claims 3-4, Fig. 2), comprising:
Arranging a magnetic field source at one of the first clutch element and the second clutch element, wherein the magnetic field source generates an initial magnetic field [position sensors 31a, 31b can be Hall sensors which measure a magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a] (Pgs. 3-4, 10, see Fig. 2);
providing a first magnetic field influencing element [30b], which is connectable to the first clutch element or is designed integrally with the first clutch element [16] (see Figs. 2-3);
providing a second magnetic field influencing element [30], which is connectable to the second clutch element or is designed integrally with the second clutch element (see Figs. 2-3),
arranging the magnetic field source, the first magnetic field influencing element, and the second magnetic field influencing element relative to one another such that the initial magnetic field of the magnetic field source is converted into a superimposed magnetic field [magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a]; and
detecting a change in the superimposed magnetic field based on a parameter characterizing the superimposed magnetic field [position sensors 31a, 31b can be Hall sensors which measure a magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a] (Pgs. 3-4, 10, see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer in view of Zero-Max (EP 2 431 714 A1) (hereinafter Zero).
Regarding claim 1, Sauer teaches a sensor arrangement for detecting slip between a first clutch element [16] and a second clutch element [20] of a clutch [39] (see Claims 3-4, Fig. 2), comprising:
a magnetic field source that generates an initial magnetic field [position sensors 31a, 31b can be Hall sensors which measure a magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a] (Pgs. 3-4, 10, see Fig. 2);
a first magnetic field influencing element [30b], which is connectable to the first clutch element or is designed integrally with the first clutch element [16] (see Figs. 2-3);
a second magnetic field influencing element [30], which is connectable to the second clutch element or is designed integrally with the second clutch element (see Figs. 2-3), wherein the magnetic field source, the first magnetic field influencing element, and the second magnetic field influencing element are arranged relative to one another such that the initial magnetic field of the magnetic field source is converted into a superimposed magnetic field by the first magnetic field influencing element and by the second magnetic field influencing element [magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a];
a magnetic field sensor [31a, 31b] which is designed to detect a change in the superimposed magnetic field by means of a parameter characterizing the superimposed magnetic field [position sensors 31a, 31b can be Hall sensors which measure a magnetic field which is changed or generated by the rotating position sensor 30, 30a] (Pgs. 3-4, 10, see Fig. 2).
Sauer additionally teaches wherein the position sensors 30 can be positioned on each tooth of the radial flange, wherein the position sensors are configured to be connected to one of the first clutch element and the second clutch element, wherein the position sensor may be a metallic or ferromagnetic material that can be detected by the Hall sensor by inductive and/or capacitive interaction (Pg. 10, see Figs. 2-3). Sauer fails to explicitly teach wherein the magnetic field source is configured to be connected to one of the first clutch element and the second clutch element. Zero teaches a slip measurement assembly wherein a magnetic field source is connected to one of a first clutch element and a second clutch element (see Fig. 9b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Sauer with Zero such at least one of the position sensors configured to be connected to one of the first and second clutch elements is a magnetic field source, for the predictable result of sensing rotational characteristics of each clutch element with the Hall sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the magnetic field sensor is configured to measure the parameter characterizing the superimposed magnetic field at a measurement point [31a or 31b] (see Sauer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein an evaluation unit [34] is configured to determine the slip of the clutch from the parameter characterizing the superimposed magnetic field [slip angle] (Sauer Pg. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the evaluation unit is configured to generate a signal which characterizes a state of the clutch as a function of the slip determined [slip angle; communication with control room 12] (Sauer Pg. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the evaluation unit is connectable to an external control unit [control room 12] (Sauer Pg. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged at least temporary within the superimposed magnetic field (see Sauer Fig. 2)
Regarding claims 7-8, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein at least one of the first magnetic field influencing element and the second magnetic field influencing element is configured as a further magnetic field source, the further magnetic field source being a separate magnetic element, wherein at least one of the magnetic field source and the further magnetic field source is a permanent magnet or an electromagnet.
Sauer additionally teaches wherein the position sensors 30 can be positioned on each tooth of the radial flange as a separate element, wherein the position sensor may be a metallic or ferromagnetic material that can be detected by the Hall sensor by inductive and/or capacitive interaction (Pg. 10, see Figs. 2-3). Zero teaches a slip measurement assembly wherein a plurality of permanent magnets are connected to one of a first clutch element and a second clutch element (see Fig. 9b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Sauer with Zero such that at least one of the first magnetic field influencing element and the second magnetic influencing element is configured as a further magnetic field source, the further magnetic field source being a separate magnetic element, wherein at least one of the magnetic field source and the further magnetic field source is a permanent magnet, for the predictable result of sensing rotational characteristics of each clutch element with the Hall sensor.
Regarding claim 9, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 1 above teaches a clutch [39] comprising a first clutch element [16], a second clutch element [20] which can be coupled with the first clutch element, and a sensor arrangement according to claim 1 (see Rejection of Claim 1 above), wherein the first magnetic field influencing element [30b] is connected to the first clutch element or is integrally formed the first clutch element [16] (see Sauer Figs. 2-3), wherein the second magnetic field influencing element [30] is connected to the second clutch element or is integrally formed with the second clutch element (see Figs. 2-3).
Sauer additionally teaches wherein the position sensors 30 can be positioned on each tooth of the radial flange, wherein the position sensors are configured to be connected to one of the first clutch element and the second clutch element, wherein the position sensor may be a metallic or ferromagnetic material that can be detected by the Hall sensor by inductive and/or capacitive interaction (Pg. 10, see Figs. 2-3). Sauer fails to explicitly teach wherein the magnetic field source is configured to be connected to one of the first clutch element and the second clutch element. Zero teaches a slip measurement assembly wherein a magnetic field source is connected to one of a first clutch element and a second clutch element (see Fig. 9b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Sauer in view of Zero such that the magnetic field source is connected to or integral with one of the first and second clutch elements, for the predictable result of sensing rotational characteristics of each clutch element with the Hall sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 9 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the clutch is arranged rotatably around an axis of rotation (see Sauer Fig. 2), wherein the first clutch element and the second clutch element are arranged rotatably relative to the magnetic field sensor, and/or wherein the magnetic field sensor is fastened to a stationary element, in particular to an element which is stationary with respect to the axis of rotation [16 and 20 rotatably relative to 31a, 31b] (see Sauer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 10 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the magnetic field sensor has a greater distance from the axis of rotation than the first magnetic field influencing element and the second magnetic field influencing element (see Sauer Fig. 2), and/or wherein the magnetic field sensor is arranged outside a cylindrical envelope of the first clutch element and of the second clutch element which is coaxial with the axis of rotation (see Sauer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 9 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein at least one of the first magnetic field influencing element and the second magnetic field influencing element is configured as a further magnetic field source, the further magnetic field source being a separate magnetic element, which is connected or integrally designed with the other of the first clutch element and the second clutch element. Sauer additionally teaches wherein the position sensors 30 can be positioned on each tooth of the radial flange as a separate element, wherein the position sensor may be a metallic or ferromagnetic material that can be detected by the Hall sensor by inductive and/or capacitive interaction (Pg. 10, see Figs. 2-3). Zero teaches a slip measurement assembly wherein a plurality of permanent magnets are connected to one of a first clutch element and a second clutch element (see Fig. 9b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Sauer in view of Zero such that at least one of the first magnetic field influencing element and the second magnetic influencing element is configured as a further magnetic field source, which is connected to or integrally designed with the other of the first clutch element and the second clutch element, for the predictable result of sensing rotational characteristics of each clutch element with the Hall sensor.
Regarding claim 13, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 9 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the clutch comprises a guard element which is arranged at least partially around the first clutch element and the second clutch element, wherein the magnetic field sensor is attached to the guard element [33a, 33b] (see Sauer Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Sauer in view of Zero as applied to claim 9 above teaches a universal joint shaft assembly, comprising a rotatably arranged universal joint shaft element [shaft 18], and the clutch according to claim 9 (see Rejection of Claim 9 above), wherein the universal joint shaft element is connected to the first clutch element (see Sauer Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855