DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). However, the certified copy of Japan Application No. 2023-137875 has NOT been received as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 August 2024, 20 November 2024 and 23 January 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 14 August 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first member" in Line 3 and again in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner for purposes of examination interprets “the first member” as “the first cover” in accordance with the claims and specification.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first member" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner for purposes of examination interprets “the first member” as “the first cover” in accordance with the claims and specification.
Claims 9-17 are rejected because they inherit the deficiencies of Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 19-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukasawa (US PGPub 2020/0307287 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Fukasawa discloses a printing apparatus (Fig. 1; printer 11; ¶0015) comprising;
a print head (Abstract; ¶0015; head 13) configured to perform printing by ejecting ink on a print medium (Abstract);
a frame member configured to accommodate the print head (case 12; ¶0015; Fig. 1);
an opening/closing member (Fig. 1; rear cover 24; ¶0020) configured to pivotally move with respect to the frame member (¶0020-0022);
a first storing unit configured to store ink (ink storage unit 14; Fig. 1; ¶0019);
a first cover (printer cover 23) configured to cover the first storing unit and to be installed adjacent to side of the opening/closing member in a first direction (Fig. 1; ¶0020-0021; y-direction); and
a movable member (operation panel 25) configured to move with respect to the frame member (¶0023) and to be installed adjacent to the side of the opening/closing member in the first direction (Fig. 1; y-direction),
wherein a part of the movable member (Fig. 1; operation panel 25) and a part of the first cover (printer cover 23) form an upper surface of the printing apparatus together (Figs. 1, 4) with the opening/closing member (rear cover 24).
With regard to Claim 2, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the movable member (Fig. 1; operation panel 25) and the first cover (printer cover 23) have movable areas that do not overlap with one another in a second direction (Fig. 1; 2nd direction being z-direction for example), which intersects with the first direction (z-direction intersects y-direction), and a third direction (Fig. 1; movement of 23 and 25 does not overlap in the x-direction as shown), which intersects with the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 1; movement of 23 and 25 does not overlap in the x-direction as shown).
With regard to Claim 3, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the movable member (25) and the first cover (23) are placed side by side in a second direction (x-direction), which intersects with the first direction (y-direction; Fig. 1).
With regard to Claim 5, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first cover (printer cover 23) is pivotally moved with respect to the frame member (¶0020; Fig. 1) so as to be installed in an openable/closable manner with the center of its pivotal movement (Fig. 1; see center hinge) positioned in the vicinity of the openable/closable member in the first direction (Fig. 1; openable/closable member 24 in y-direction overlaps the pivot center as shown).
With regard to Claim 6, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the movable member (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023) is installed so as to be revolvable in the frame member by changing (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023), in a stepwise or continuous manner (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023), an inclination angle of a surface forming the upper surface to a surface in contact with ground in the printing apparatus (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023).
With regard to Claim 19, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the movable member is an operation unit configured to operate the printing apparatus (¶0020; Fig. 1; operation panel 25).
With regard to Claim 20, Fukasawa further discloses an aperture (Fig. 1; aperture 19) which is installed in a side surface of the frame member (Fig. 1) of the printing apparatus and through which the print medium after printing by the print head is discharged (medium 18), wherein the movable area of the movable member (Fig. 1; ¶0023) does not overlap with the aperture in a second direction (Fig. 1; operation panel 25 movable area does not overlap in the z-direction with the aperture 19 as shown), which intersects with the first direction (Fig. 1).
With regard to Claim 21, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first cover (23) is a cover that shields the first storing unit (ink storage unit 14) accommodated in the frame member in a case where the first cover is closed from an outside of the frame member (Fig. 1 as shown; ¶0020-0021), and that exposes the first storing unit to the outside of the frame member in a case where the first cover is open (Fig. 1 as shown; ¶0020-0021).
With regard to Claim 22, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first storing unit (14) stores ink to be supplied to the print head (¶0015).
With regard to Claim 25, Fukasawa discloses an aperture through which the print medium after printing by the print head is discharged from a first surface of the printing apparatus (Fig. 4; aperture 19), and a disposing unit (Fig. 4; roll R) configured so that the print medium to be fed to the print head can be disposed (¶0022), wherein the disposing unit is installed on at least one of the side where the first surface is located and the side where a second surface, which is opposite to the first surface, is located in the printing apparatus (disposed at the second surface opposite the surface of the aperture 19 as shown; Figs. 1, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa, in view of Fukuda (US PGPub 2022/0345577 A1).
With regard to Claim 4, Fukasawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cover is installed so as to be attachable to and detachable from the frame member.
The secondary reference of Fukuda discloses wherein the first cover is installed so as to be attachable to and detachable from the frame member (Figs. 2-7; cover 40 is removable from the frame; ¶0006-0008, 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover being attachable and detachable from the frame of Fukuda, with the first cover of Fukasawa, in order to more easily perform maintenance and to improve maintainability and user convenience of the cover, as taught by Fukuda (¶0003; 0047).
With regard to Claim 7, Fukasawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cover is configured to be capable of sliding in the first direction between a fixing position where the first member can be fixed to the frame member and a removal position where the first member can be removed from the frame member.
The secondary reference of Fukuda discloses wherein the first cover is configured to be capable of sliding in the first direction between a fixing position where the first cover can be fixed to the frame member and a removal position where the first cover can be removed from the frame member (¶0034; Fig. 4, top plate cover 40 fixed onto frame via mounting screws 50 in moving direction MD front-to-back as shown and described).
With regard to Claim 8, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first cover has an area that overlaps with the opening/closing member in a closed position (see Fig. 1), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cover has an area that overlaps with the opening/closing member in a closed position while the first cover is in the fixing position.
The secondary reference of Fukuda discloses wherein the first cover (40) has an area that overlaps with the opening/closing member (image reading portion 80; Fig. 2) in a closed position while the first cover is in the fixing position (Fig. 2).
With regard to Claim 9, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first cover (23; Fig. 1) is a cover that shields the first storing unit (14) accommodated in the frame member (Fig. 1) in a case where the first cover is mounted on the frame member from an outside of the frame member (Fig. 1; mounted with hinges as shown), and that exposes the first storing unit to the outside of the frame member in a case where the first cover is removed from the frame member (exposes first storing unit 14 when open; Fig. 1).
Fukasawa discloses exposing the first storing unit to the outside of the frame member when opened, but does not explicitly disclose the first cover is removable from the frame member.
The secondary reference of Fukuda discloses the first cover is removable from the frame member for exposing the internals (Figs. 2-7; cover 40 is removable from the frame; ¶0006-0008, 0047).
With regard to Claim 10, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the first storing unit stores waste ink (¶0038; first storing unit can be the cartridges 14 or waste liquid tank 43 which is a tank that houses waste liquid and stored on the lower side of the ink supply position SP as shown in Fig. 2 and described in ¶0039).
With regard to Claim 11, Fukasawa further discloses a regulation unit configured to regulate the first cover in the fixing position from moving in the first direction relative to the frame member (hinges of first cover 23 act as regulating unit preventing cover from moving in y-direction; Fig. 1).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa, in view of Fukuda, and further in view of Matsumoto (US PGPub 2009/0297210 A1).
With regard to Claim 12, Fukasawa-Fukuda does not explicitly disclose wherein the regulation unit includes a lever that slides in a second direction, which intersects with the first direction, so as to regulate the movement of the first cover in the first direction relative to the frame member and to release the regulation of the movement.
The tertiary reference of Matsumoto discloses wherein the regulation unit includes a lever (Fig. 1; lever 6) that slides in a second direction (Fig. 1B, x direction), which intersects with the first direction, so as to regulate the movement of the first cover in the first direction relative to the frame member and to release the regulation of the movement (Figs. 1-4; ¶0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the lever of Matsumoto, with the combination of Fukasawa-Fukuda, in order to hold the cover in its opening state and prevent creep due to force of the cover and spring, as taught by Matsumoto (¶0006).
With regard to Claim 13, Matsumoto further discloses wherein the lever is installed in the area, is shielded from the outside of the printing apparatus in a case where the opening/closing member is in the closed position (Figs. 1-4), and is exposed to the outside of the printing apparatus in a case where the opening/closing member is in an open position (Figs. 1-4).
With regard to Claim 14, Matsumoto further discloses wherein the regulation unit includes a lock member capable of moving in the first cover in synchronization with the sliding of the lever (projecting portion 6b), and a retaining part capable of retaining the lock member in the frame member (¶0025-0027, Figs. 1-4; groove portion 8b retains projecting portion 6b for example).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasawa, in view of Otsuka et al. (US PGPub 2019/0308429 A1), hereinafter Otsuka.
With regard to Claim 18, Fukasawa further discloses wherein the movable member pivotally moves between a position in which the surface is parallel to the surface in contact with ground (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023; bottom surface of the printer in contact with ground) and a position in which the surface is approximately perpendicular to the surface in contact with ground (operation panel 25; Fig. 1; ¶0023; tilted upwards the operation panel is shown not quite fully perpendicular to the bottom of the printer contacting ground).
The secondary reference of Otsuka discloses wherein the movable member wherein the movable member pivotally moves between a position in which the surface is parallel to the surface in contact with ground and a position in which the surface is approximately perpendicular to the surface in contact with ground (Figs. 1-4; operation panel 27; ¶0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the full movement of the movable member of Otsuka, with the movable member and printing apparatus of Fukasawa, in order to better viewable by a serviceman in maintenance of the apparatus, as taught by Otsuka (¶0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 15 is that applicants claimed invention includes a printing apparatus a sensor configured to be capable of detecting an open/closed state of the opening/closing member; a pump configured to transfer waste ink to the first storing unit; and a control unit configured to control the driving of the pump, wherein, if the sensor detects that the opening/closing member is in the closed position, the control unit controls the pump to stop the transfer of the waste ink. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 16 is that applicants claimed invention includes a printing apparatus wherein the opening/closing member includes a regulation member, which is capable of regulating the sliding of the lever, in a portion that overlaps with the first cover in the closed position. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 17 is that applicants claimed invention includes a printing apparatus wherein, in the area, the first cover includes a rib extending in a second direction, which intersects with the first direction, and wherein the opening/closing member includes, in a portion that overlaps with the first cover in the closed position, a fitting part capable of fitting into the rib. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 23 is that applicants claimed invention includes a printing apparatus wherein the second cover forms the upper surface of the printing apparatus together with the opening/closing member and the first cover. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 24 is allowable because it depends from Claim 23.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853