Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perry et al. (PG Pub. 2024/0117754).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Perry et al. teaches a polymer composite structure comprising a polymer matrix composite material including where the polymer matrix is polyimide material, polysiloxane material or silicone material [0024 and 0041], a thermal barrier layer coupled to the polymer matrix composite material [0020-0023] and configured to resist a transient temperature spike in the polymer matrix composite material [0020-0023 and 0031].
Regarding claim 2, the polymer matrix composite material (10 or 18) forms a first surface of the polymer composite structure; and the thermal barrier layer 12 forms a second surface of the polymer composite structure, opposite the first surface [Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 3, the polymer composite structure is an exhaust duct and the polymer matrix composite material forms an outer surface of the exhaust duct and and the thermal barrier layer forms an inner surface of the exhaust duct (“In a further non-limiting configuration, the surface defines at least a portion of a gas flow path of a gas turbine engine, and wherein the thermal barrier layer is positioned to be in contact with the hot gas flow path.” as stated in 0012) [0012 and claim 9].
Regarding claim 5, the thermal barrier layer is configured to reduce a maximum temperature received by the polymer matrix composite material through the thermal barrier layer [0020-0023 and 0031].
Regarding claim 6, the thermal barrier layer is configured to reduce a heat transfer rate to the polymer matrix composite material through the thermal barrier layer [0020-0023 and 0031].
Regarding claim 7, the thermal barrier layer is configured to distribute received heat in a direction at least approximately perpendicular to normal to the thermal barrier layer as this occurs by virtue of the arrangement of the layers, the same material used and the heat and the arrangement taught including exhaust duct would provide the thermal barrier layer is configured to distribute received heat in a direction at least approximately perpendicular to normal to the thermal barrier layer.
Regarding claim 8, Perry et al. are silent regarding the claimed thermal diffusivity. However, given Perry et al. teaches such a similar thermal barrier layer made of such similar material, the claimed thermal diffusivity is inherent to the thermal barrier layer of Perry et al.
Regarding claim 9, the thermal barrier layer comprises one of a film, a coating, and a sheet [0020 and 0023].
Regarding claim 10, the polymer matrix composite material and the thermal barrier layer are co-cured [0021 and 0041].
Regarding claim 11, the polymer matrix composite material and the thermal barrier layer are co-bonded [Fig. 4-6].
Regarding claim 12, the polymer matrix composite material and the thermal barrier layer are secondarily bonded [Fig. 4-6].
Regarding claim 13, Perry et al. teaches a method for thermally protecting a polymer composite structure, the method comprising providing a polymer matrix composite material (10 and/or 18) and a thermal barrier layer 12 on at least a portion of the polymer matrix composite material.
Regarding claim 14, Perry et al. teaches the method of resisting a transient temperature spike in the polymer matrix composite material using the thermal barrier layer, wherein forming the thermal barrier layer comprises coupling the thermal barrier layer to the polymer matrix composite material such that the polymer matrix composite material forms a first surface of the polymer composite structure and the thermal barrier layer forms a second surface of the polymer composite structure, opposite the first surface [Fig. 1 and Fig. 4-6].
Regarding claim 15, resisting the transient temperature spike comprises reducing a maximum temperature received by the polymer matrix composite material through the thermal barrier layer [0039].
Regarding claim 16, resisting the transient temperature spike comprises reducing a heat transfer rate to the polymer matrix composite material through the thermal barrier layer [0039].
Regarding claim 17, resisting the transient temperature spike comprises distributing received heat in a direction at least approximately perpendicular to normal to the thermal barrier layer ( the thermal barrier layer is configured to distribute received heat in a direction at least approximately perpendicular to normal to the thermal barrier layer as this occurs by virtue of the arrangement of the layers, the same material used and the heat and the arrangement taught including exhaust duct would provide the thermal barrier layer is configured to distribute received heat in a direction at least approximately perpendicular to normal to the thermal barrier layer).
Regarding claim 18, the thermal barrier layer comprises at least one of a polyimide material, a polyceramic material, a silicone material, a siloxane material, an aerogel material, a ceramic matrix composite material, and a ceramic material [0024 and 0041].
Regarding claim 19, Perry et al. teaches A method for manufacturing a polymer composite structure that is resistant to transient temperature spikes, the method comprising forming a polymer matrix composite material and forming a thermal barrier layer on at least a portion of the polymer matrix composite material [0020-0024, 0031 and 0041].
Regarding claim 20, Perry et al. teaches the method comprising providing resistance to a transient temperature spike in the polymer matrix composite material using the thermal barrier layer, wherein forming the thermal barrier layer comprises coupling the thermal barrier layer to
the polymer matrix composite material such that the polymer matrix composite material forms a
first surface of the polymer composite structure and the thermal barrier layer forms a second surface of the polymer composite structure, opposite the first surface [Fig. 1 and Fig. 4-6].
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2008/0063875 teaches composite with thermal barrier layer and polymer matrix.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789