Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Claims 1-7, 14, and 17, as identified in the reply filed on 08/14/2024 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/14/2024 & 04/12/2025 appear to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) (1, 6, 14, 17) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SRINIVASAN (US 20180034786 A1), hereafter SRINIVASAN.
Regarding claim 1, SRINIVASAN teaches:
A data processing method(SRINIVASAN [0021] “FIG. 3 depicts a flow diagram of a method for providing a data package for sharing online media items with users via a satellite broadcast system, in accordance with one implementation of the present disclosure.”), comprising: in response to that a password acquisition request sent by a listening device is received, acquiring first key information and a random code from a broadcasting device() based on a first communication connection with the broadcasting device (SRINIVASAN [0011] “In one implementation, the apparatus includes means for selecting a media item to be provided for user consumption via a satellite broadcast system, means for transmitting the media item encrypted using an encryption key to the satellite broadcast system via a first communication protocol, means for receiving a request from a user device for authorization to decrypt the encrypted media item obtained by the user device via a direct connection with the satellite broadcast system.”, [0063] “The control access component 125 can receive the request 152 for authorization and perform an authorization check to determine whether the user device 140 is authorized to decrypt and view the media items 127… If the user device 140 is authorized, the control access component 125 can send a response 154, via the low-bandwidth communication connection, to the user device 140 with one or more decryption keys to enable the user device 140.” [0077] “The processing device can generate an encryption key for the media item. The encryption key can include a piece of information that determines the functional output of a cryptographic function and can be used to encrypt the media item. The processing device can generate the encryption key using a random number generator, a pseudorandom number generator, a key derivation function, other mechanism, or a combination thereof.”); obtaining a second check code based on the first key information and the random code(SRINIVASAN [0110] “Upon decrypting a media item, the processing device can perform a data integrity check of the decrypted media item prior to the decrypted media item being played. The processing device can perform a checksum function or a hash function (e.g., VIPER hash) using data of the frames of the decrypted media item as input to verify the data integrity of the decrypted media item.”); checking a first check code acquired from the broadcasting device and the second check code to obtain a check result(SRINIVASAN [0110] “In one implementation, the metadata of the media item include checksum results or hash results for the frames. The processing device can perform the checksum functions and/or hash functions and compare the result(s) to the checksum results and/or hash results in the metadata. In one implementation, the metadata does not include the checksum results and/or hash results for the frames and the processing device receives the checksum results and/or hash results for the frames in the response received at block 440.”), wherein the first check code is obtained by the broadcasting device based on the first key information and the random code (SRINIVASAN [0065] “In another example, the authorization component 147 can perform a hash function using data of the frames of a decrypted media item 127 as input. The hash can be, for example, a Verifying Integrity of PERipherals (VIPER) hash.”, [0080] “In one implementation, the processing device encrypts the metadata using the encryption key of the media item.” The first check code, or hash, is obtained from the broadcasting device based on the first key information and random code in that the key information and random code comprise a key used to encrypt and/or decrypt the metadata from which the hash is derived.); in response to that the check result indicates that check is passed, acquiring password information from the broadcasting device; and sending the password information to the listening device(SRINIVASAN [0009-0010] “The processing device of the user device receives, via the direct connection, the encrypted media items from the device of the satellite broadcast system, sends, via a low-bandwidth communication connection between the user device and the media server, a request to the media server for authorization to decrypt the encrypted media items. and receives, via the low-bandwidth communication connection, a response from the media server indicating whether the user device is authorized to decrypt the encrypted media items… In one implementation, the processing device of the user device extracts keys from the response, and decrypts the encrypted media items using the keys.”), wherein the password information is used for the listening device to decrypt broadcast audio received from the broadcasting device (SRINIVASAN [0011] “The apparatus includes means for determining whether the user device is authorized to decrypt the encrypted media item and means for transmitting a key for decrypting the encrypted media item in response to the user device being authorized to decrypt the encrypted media item.”).
Regarding claim 6, SRINIVASAN teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the first key information and the random code from the broadcasting device based on the first communication connection comprises: sending a key acquisition request to the broadcasting device based on the first communication connection; and receiving the first key information and the random code sent by the broadcasting device(SRINIVASAN [0005] “a processing device of a media server selects a media item to be provided for user consumption via a satellite broadcast system, transmits the media item encrypted using an encryption key to the satellite broadcast system via a first communication protocol, receives a request from a user device for authorization to decrypt the encrypted media item obtained by the user device via a direct connection with the satellite broadcast system. The request is received by the media server via a second communication protocol that is different from the first communication protocol. The processing device determines whether the user device is authorized to decrypt the encrypted media item and transmits a key for decrypting the encrypted media item in response to the user device being authorized to decrypt the encrypted media item.”, [0077] “The processing device can generate the encryption key using a random number generator, a pseudorandom number generator, a key derivation function, other mechanism, or a combination thereof. The processing device can seed the key generation using information of the media server, such as a media server identifier, a time stamp, an IP address, a MAC address, other information, or a combination thereof.”), wherein the first key information comprises a public key of the broadcasting device(SRINIVASAN [0079] “In other implementation, the processing device also or alternatively encrypts the media item using an asymmetric cryptography or public-key cryptography system that uses a pair of keys (e.g., public key and a private key), such as, Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA).”), and the random code is generated by the broadcasting information based on the key acquisition request (SRINIVASAN [0030] “The user device can send a request to the media server for authorization to decrypt the encrypted media items…The media server can respond, via the low-bandwidth communication, to the user device with one or more keys to enable the user device to decrypt and play the one or more corresponding media items.”, [0077] “The processing device can generate the encryption key using a random number generator, a pseudorandom number generator, a key derivation function, other mechanism, or a combination thereof. The processing device can seed the key generation using information of the media server, such as a media server identifier, a time stamp, an IP address, a MAC address, other information, or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 14, SRINIVASAN teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: a processor(SRINIVASAN [0125] “Processing device 602 may be provided by one or more processors such as a general purpose processor”); a memory storing a computer program or instruction; wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program or instruction to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1(SRINIVASAN [0017] “In additional implementations, computing devices for performing the operations of the above described implementations are also implemented. Additionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a computer readable storage media may store instructions for performing the operations of the implementations described herein.”).
Regarding claim 17, SRINIVASAN teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program or instruction, wherein when the computer program or instruction in the storage medium is executed by a processor, the steps of the method according to claim 1 are implemented (SRINIVASAN [0017] “In additional implementations, computing devices for performing the operations of the above described implementations are also implemented. Additionally, in implementations of the disclosure, a computer readable storage media may store instructions for performing the operations of the implementations described herein.”, [0125] “Processing device 602 may be provided by one or more processors such as a general purpose processor…”, [0127] “Data storage device 618 may include a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium 624 on which may store instructions 626 encoding any one or more of the methods or functions described herein, including instructions encoding components of media server 120 of FIG. 1 for implementing methods 200, 300, and 500, and/or components of user device 140 of FIG. 1 for implementing method 400.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) (4, 5, 7) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SRINIVASAN in view of PENG (US 20220201113 A1), hereafter PENG.
Regarding claim 4, SRINIVASAN teaches the limitations previously demonstrated, however does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations demonstrated by PENG:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to that a communication connection request sent by the listening device is received, establishing a second communication connection with the listening device; receiving a device selection request sent by the listening device based on the second communication connection; and based on the device selection request, determining a broadcasting device selected by the listening device for listening(PENG [0020] “when the second electronic device has a second audio service, send connection request information to the Bluetooth headset if it is determined, based on the status information of the Bluetooth headset, that the Bluetooth headset is processing the first audio service, and if a priority of the second audio service is higher than a priority of the first audio service. The Bluetooth headset is further configured to: after receiving the connection request information sent by the second electronic device, establish a first connection to the second electronic device,”).
Since SRINIVASAN and PENG are from the same field of endeavor as both are directed to secure signal communication functions, which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the teachings of SRINIVASAN and PENG by incorporating the teachings of PENG into SRINIVASAN. The motivation to combine is to improve secure connection functions and verification thereof. (SRINIVASAN [AB]; PENG [AB]). This motivation is equally applicable for following rejections.
Regarding claim 5, SRINIVASAN-PENG teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending a temporary communication connection request to the broadcasting device; receiving a temporary connection confirmation message which is sent by the broadcasting device after receiving the temporary communication connection request, and establishing the first communication connection with the broadcasting device; and in response to that the password information is successfully obtained, disconnecting the first communication connection(PENG [0024] “In another possible design, the Bluetooth headset is further configured to: send connection request information to the first electronic device after completing processing of the second audio service; establish a first connection to the first electronic device; continue to process the first audio service based on the first connection between the Bluetooth headset and the first electronic device; release the first connection between the Bluetooth headset and the second electronic device;”).
Regarding claim 7, SRINIVASAN-PENG teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprises: in response to that the check result is obtained, outputting prompt information corresponding to the check result through a display interface; in response to that a confirmation operation acting on the prompt information is detected, determining that the check is passed(PENG [0280] “In some other embodiments, when the Bluetooth headset processes an audio service, if the Bluetooth headset switches to processing another audio service, the Bluetooth headset or the electronic device may prompt the user in a manner such as making a sound, displaying prompt information on the electronic device,”, [0235] “If the mobile phone 2 has enabled a Bluetooth function and is within a Bluetooth communication distance range, the mobile phone 2 may receive the connection request information, and may send connection response information (for example, a page response Page response message specified in the Bluetooth protocol) to the Bluetooth headset automatically or after detecting an operation of indicating a connection by the user.”); and in response to that a rejection operation acting on the prompt information is detected, determining that the check fails(PENG [0113] “if the Bluetooth headset has established a physical connection to an electronic device 1, when an electronic device 2 has an audio service, the user may first manually release the physical connection between the Bluetooth headset and the electronic device 1,”).
Claims 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SRINIVASAN in view of LI (US 20170064554 A1), hereafter LI.
Regarding claim 2, SRINIVASAN teaches the limitations previously demonstrated, however does not appear to explicitly teach the following limitations demonstrated by LI:
The method according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the password information from the broadcasting device in response to that the check result indicates that check is passed comprises: in the case where the check result indicates that the check is passed, generating a temporary key; encrypting the temporary key based on the first key information to obtain second key information; sending the second key information to the broadcasting device(LI [0136] “Specifically, after verification of the intelligent cipher token certificate and verification of a signature of the intelligent cipher token pass, the terminal generates a generation factor (i.e. the first session key generation factor, which is configured to generate the second session key for data interaction between the terminal and the intelligent cipher token) of the second session key for data interaction between the terminal and the intelligent cipher token, and meanwhile encrypts the first session key generation factor by using the public key in the intelligent cipher token certificate to guarantee security of transmission of the first session key generation factor.”); receiving encrypted information obtained by the broadcasting device based on the first key information and the second key information(LI [0109] “In the other embodiment, after the first session key is generated by one of the terminal and the background system server, the first session key may be encrypted by a public key of the other thereof and sent to the other thereof, to reduce computational complexity.”); and decrypting the encrypted information to obtain the password information (LI [0189] “The background system server may further conduct the encryption calculation and/or check calculation on the user authorization request information via the first session key after signing it by using the private key of the background system server; the terminal conducts decryption calculation and/or check verification calculation on the received information via the first session key. The terminal conducts the encryption calculation and/or check calculation, via the second session key, on the information signed by the background system server, and then sends the information to the intelligent cipher token; the intelligent cipher token conducts the decryption calculation and/or check verification calculation on the received information via the second session key, and verifies the signature”).
Since SRINIVASAN and LI are from the same field of endeavor as both are directed to secure signal communication functions, which is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine the teachings of SRINIVASAN and LI by incorporating the teachings of LI into SRINIVASAN. The motivation to combine is to improve secure connection functions and verification thereof. (SRINIVASAN [AB]; LI [AB]). This motivation is equally applicable for following rejections.
Regarding claim 3, SRINIVASAN-LI teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to that the check result indicates that the check fails, sending a connection rejection message to the broadcasting device; receiving a disconnection message which is sent by the broadcasting device based on the first communication connection; and based on the disconnection message, disconnecting the first communication connection (LI [0121-0122] “The background system server sends “the background system server authentication completion message” to the terminal…The terminal verifies “the background system server authentication completion message” from the background system server; if the verification fails, the process is ended; [0160] “The terminal generates an authentication completion message… obtains “terminal authentication completion message” F01, and sends F01 to the intelligent cipher token. “, [0161] “The intelligent cipher token receives and verifies F01; if verification of F01 fails, an error message is returned and the connection is ended;”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Wong; Kai Leong US 20240373231 A1 METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR IN-PAIRING DEVICE INTERACTIVE GUIDED GESTURE BLUETOOTH ® PAIRING AUTHORIZATION AND PASSCODE ENTRY CAPTURING ([AB] “An information handling system includes a hardware processor and a memory device to execute code instructions of a guided gesture authorization security exchange system to communicate via a wireless interface adapter with a wireless peripheral device to initiate a preliminary secure exchange communication for a pairing process. The hardware processor also executes computer readable program code of a user interaction guided gesture instruction system to generate an interactive graphical user interface at a display device to present to a user guided gesture instructions for the user to provide, at the wireless peripheral device, a guided gesture on the wireless peripheral device used as the pairing authorization passcode entry information that indicates the pairing process is accepted by the user if a match is determined. The wireless interface adapter pairs and operably couples with the wireless peripheral device upon receipt of the pairing authorization passcode entry information that matches.”)
SHEAR; Victor Henry US 20230376581 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR A CONNECTED COMPUTING RESOURCE AND EVENT/ACTIVITY IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION INFRASTRUCTURE USING NEAR EXISTENTIAL OR EXISTENTIAL BIOMETRIC IDENTIFICATION OF HUMANS ([AB] “Connected computing enables the use of highly diverse environments that support operating frameworks for contemporary civilization. But computing productivity and trustworthiness are undermined by such environments' largely inchoate organization. These environments and their identity infrastructures are fragmented, and unnecessarily unreliable, insecure, and insufficiently informative due to current computing entity (e.g., resource) identification infrastructure design, which lacks root identification reliability. Such reliability is enabled herein by a fundamentally accurate and authenticity ensuring, near-existential or existential quality, biometrically and liveness based, portable identification and provenance infrastructure. Such an infrastructure provides ubiquitously available identification information that can be used universally for identification processes. Such biometrically and liveness-based identification information can be contemporaneously acquired and securely fused with or otherwise bound to associated entity identification information sets. Such sets are used to identify and assess entity suitability and/or authenticity, and/or establish user identity (specific human entity) for personal, societal, and organizational activities.”)
Holkal; Jayasimha Narasimha Murthy US 20230300614 A1 SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR SECURE CONNECTION OF HEADLESS BLUETOOTH DEVICE ([AB] “A system for enabling a headless Bluetooth device to establish a secure connection with a peer device is disclosed. The system includes the Bluetooth device configured for sending encrypted predefined first data to the peer device. The peer device is configured for receiving the data and sending it along with a predefined second data to a server, which comprises a second user confirm value. The server configured for receiving the data from the peer device and processing it for authenticating the received data and, on successful authentication, sending it to the peer device. The peer device is configured for receiving the data and sending it to the Bluetooth device and the Bluetooth device is configured processing it for authenticating the received data and, on successful authentication, bonding and communicating securely with the peer device.”)
Hua; Xuandong US 20220070666 A1 SECURED COMMUNICATIONS IN MEDICAL MONITORING SYSTEMS ([AB] “In one embodiment, a method for secured communication between a medical sensor and a computing device includes receiving, by the medical sensor, an authentication request from the computing device. The method includes generating, based on values provided in the authentication request, a challenge-response message for the computing device. The method includes receiving, from the computing device, a responsive challenge-response message. The method includes verifying that the responsive challenge-response message includes an expected value and corresponds to an expected format. The method includes, in response to verifying the responsive challenge-response message, sending a sensor secret value to the computing device.”)
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Linglan Edwards can be reached on (571) 270-5440. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/K.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408