DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on 7/1/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It is noted that non-elected claims were cancelled in the amendment of 7/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “top 10” in claim 25 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “top 10” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of this action, the term is interpreted to mean that the items in the top 10 are determined by a popularity contest or vote.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 21-24, and 27-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0087369 to McIntyre et al. (hereinafter McIntyre).
Regarding claims 1, 27, and 34, McIntyre teaches a system and device, along with a method therefor, comprising:
a processor circuit (e.g., a processor in ¶ 5); and
a memory coupled to the processor circuit (e.g., a memory storing instructions in ¶ 5), the memory comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit, cause the processor circuit to:
provide a content creator interface to receive creative content inputs from a content creator to use in an electronic gaming machine (EGM) (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ 29 showing an interface to customize a gaming machine using uploaded content);
generate creative gaming content for use in the EGM and based on the creative content inputs (e.g., a portable electronic device 150 may be used to create digital media, wherein any created or downloaded media may be uploaded to a gaming machine in ¶¶ 25-26); and
provide a creator output that comprises the creative gaming content and that is delivered to a player via the EGM (e.g., the player can upload various media to gaming machine 102 or game server 160 for customizing the gaming experience on gaming machine 102 in ¶ 26).
Further regarding claim 27, as well as claims 3 and 35, McIntyre teaches wherein the creative content inputs comprise a plurality of thematically related elements (e.g., from the user’s personal device) comprising a first content element type and a second content element type that is different from the first content element type (e.g., an audio and a video being different element types).
Further regarding claim 34, as well as claims 4 and 28, McIntyre teaches wherein the creative content inputs comprise a plurality of content elements that are automatically changeable from a first control element to a second content element based on events that are external to the content creator interface (e.g., if the player selects a random file for the jackpot, as shown in FIG. 3, the first time a jackpot is won, a first random file will be played, the second time a jackpot is won, a second random file will be played, and so on in ¶ 31).
Regarding claims 2, 29, and 36, McIntyre teaches wherein the creative content inputs comprise a plurality of content elements and a plurality of content element types (see at least Fig. 3), and wherein the plurality of content element types comprises an audio element type and a video element type (e.g., portable electronic device 150 is shown as including a camera application for capturing digital pictures and videos through a camera of portable electronic device 150 and an audio recorder application for recording audio clips in ¶ 25).
Regarding claims 21 and 30, McIntyre teaches wherein the audio element type comprises a theme track (e.g., the background music may include a first playlist in ¶ 30).
Regarding claims 22 and 31, McIntyre teaches wherein the audio element type comprises a trigger sound (e.g., the system may monitor received alerts, which may trigger an alert output on the gaming machine in ¶¶ 54-55).
Regarding claims 23 and 32, McIntyre teaches wherein the audio element type comprises a win celebration (e.g., a jackpot sound shown in Fig. 3 at element 304).
Regarding claims 24 and 33, McIntyre teaches wherein the video element type comprises a movement of objects (e.g., by using media content that includes animation files and/or video files in ¶ 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntyre.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, McIntyre teaches the invention substantially as described above but lacks in explicitly teaching that the content element is a top 10 content element or that it is voted upon by users. Regardless, McIntyre expressly teaches that the user may choose any media, either created by the user or downloaded from the internet (e.g., ¶ 25). Moreover, McIntyre teaches that musical selections may come from radio stations or internet radio stations such as Pandora, Slacker, or Radio.com (¶ 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to modify the system of McIntyre to include content elements, such as artwork, music or movies, that are popular among users and/or make up the 10 most popular items, in order to provide multimedia which reflects popular cultural trends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited. For instance, US 2015/0087424 to Irby, II et al. teaches a user interface module which may be one that has been customized based on requests of the game site operator to provide particular placement of user interface elements and to provide video, graphical, or audio elements that are specific to the game site operator. Furthermore, US 2014/0213340 to Michels teaches a gaming system that may cause one or more gaming apparatuses to display text corresponding to the associated language and/or play audio corresponding to the selected language, as well as customizing other audio features, such as sound effects. Additionally, US 2007/0218974 to Patel et al. teaches a method for configuring celebration activity such as by customizing different audio files and movie files.
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715