Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,252. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
For claims 1, 8, and 14; Singh discloses: receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) device from a second UE device, a first control information indicating one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions (claim 1: receiving, at a first wireless communication device that is a node of a vehicle ad-hoc network (VANET) from a second wireless communication device that is another node of the VANET, a first reserved time-slot list that identifies one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions within the VANET); receiving, at the first UE device from a third UE device, a second control information indicating one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions (claim 1: receiving, at the first wireless communication device from a third wireless communication device that is another node of the VANET, a second reserved time-slot list that identifies one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions within the VANET); generating, by the first UE device, a third control information indicating the reserved time-slots that were indicated in the first control information and the second control information (claim 1: generating, by the first wireless communication device, a third reserved time-slot list that contains the reserved time-slots that were identified in the first reserved time-slot list and the second reserved time-slot list); and broadcasting, by the first UE device, the third control information (claim 1: broadcasting, by the first wireless communication device, the third reserved time-slot list).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh et al. (“Efficient Time Slot Allocation to Minimize Collision in TDMA Based VANETs”, Journal of Network Communications and Emerging Technologies (JNCET), Volume 7, Issue 12, December (2017)) (“Singh”).
For claims 1, 8, and 14; Singh discloses: receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) device from a second UE device, a first control information indicating one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions (Section 3: By exchanging the slot allocation information in beacons, nodes can learn the slot allocation within 2 hops…Each vehicle inserts its ID, speed, current time slot and neighborhood information into the beacon message, and broadcasts the beacon); receiving, at the first UE device from a third UE device, a second control information indicating one or more time-slots that have been reserved for data transmissions (Section 3: Each vehicle inserts its ID, speed, current time slot and neighborhood information into the beacon message, and broadcasts the beacon); generating, by the first UE device, a third control information indicating the reserved time-slots that were indicated in the first control information and the second control information; and broadcasting, by the first UE device, the third control information (Section 3: Each vehicle inserts its ID, speed, current time slot and neighborhood information into the beacon message, and broadcasts the beacon).
For claims 4, 10, and 16; Singh discloses: wherein the broadcasting comprises broadcasting the third control information in a periodic discovery channel message (Section 3: By exchanging the slot allocation information in beacons, nodes can learn the slot allocation within 2 hops).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Shako (US 2019/0007969).
For claims 2, 9, and 15; Singh discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Singh does not expressly disclose, but Shako from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the broadcast of the third control information includes information indicating a frame (paragraph 102-104: The beacon information contains a slot number, a frame number, and an in-slot delay period representing the delay in slot units). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Shako in the VANET network signaling as described by Singh. The motivation is to improve synchronizing beacons from different devices.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Shako as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 2020/0196279) (“Thomas”).
For claim 3; Singh discloses: sensing, by another UE device, unused time-slots; receiving at the another UE device, the third control information from the first UE device; and selecting, by the another UE device, time-slots used for future data transmission, based on results of the time-slots indicated in the third control information received from the first UE device (Section 3: For ensuring collision-free transmission of collision warning messages, we reserved time slot 0 (TS0) in the time frame only for the transmission of collision warning messages. When a vehicle detects a probable collision, it schedules the warning message to be transmitted at the first time slot of the next time frame. To avoid a probable collision, it is enough if one vehicle switches to a free time slot. Therefore, one of the two vehicles which might experience collision is selected as the node that has to acquire new free time-slot…Upon reception of a collision warning message from a PVi, each node checks the identity of the possible colliding node (the warned vehicle). The node with matching identity cancels its scheduled messages in its time slot. Then, it aims to find a time slot which is not used by the any other nodes within 2-hops. This information is available in the warning message. After changing its time slot, it schedules its messages and beacons to be transmitted in the new time slot.).
Singh does not expressly disclose, but Thomas from similar fields of endeavor teaches: based on a result of the sensing (paragraph 123-127: select its own resources for transmission based on sensing (ue-Selected, mode 4) …the ue-Selected case, the UE is provided with the V2X-CommTxPoolNormalDedicated IE, which then contains the set of a maximum of 8 transmit resource pool configurations, each of which are defined by the SL-CommResourcePoolV2X IE, as similarly described above. The UE also receives the zoneConfig IE which helps the UE in selecting the singular relevant transmission resource pool from the received set of pools). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the sensing of resource pool assignment as described by Thomas in the VANET network access as described by Singh. The motivation is to improve reliable channel access.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0345363) (“Zhang”).
For claims 5, 11, and 17; Singh discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Singh does not expressly disclose, but Zhang from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the broadcast of the third control information includes one or more of the following: a cell identifier, a priority of the data to be transmitted, and a Quality of Service (QOS) of the data to be transmitted (paragraph 111-112: UE2 transmits booking information 400 (e.g., SCI) which indicates an intention to transmit data and control information using a set of resources in the booked “Slot.” UE1 receives the booking information 400 (e.g., SCI) according to a defined sensing/monitoring procedure, and based on the priority indication therein (e.g., bearer level priority and packet level priority) UE1 determines using the priority based preemption operations described above that it will preempt UE2's booked transmission planned for “Slot”, so that UE1 can transmit data and control information during the booked “Slot.”). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Zhang in the VANET network signaling as described by Singh. The motivation is to improve preemption capability.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 12, 13, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of Belleschi et al. (US 2021/0337512) (“Belleschi”).
For claims 6, 12, and 18; Singh discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Singh does not expressly disclose, but Belleschi from similar fields of endeavor teaches: in response to the third control information containing a first time-slot being used by the first UE device for data transmissions, refraining, by the first UE device, from using the first time-slot for future data transmissions; and selecting, by the first UE device, an unused time-slot for future data transmissions (paragraph 145-153: Step 1: at time T1, the UE announces a first reservation of radio resources by transmitting a first control message. The reserved radio resources are for a transmission at time T3. This is shown in FIG. 6A. Step 2: at time T2, the UE sends a second reservation…The resources signaled in the second reservation are completely different than the resources signaled in the first reservation…Step 3: at time T3, the UE transmits a first data message using the radio resources signaled in the second reservation). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Belleschi in the VANET network signaling as described by Singh. The motivation is to improve dynamic rescheduling.
For claims 7, 13, and 19; Singh discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Singh does not expressly disclose, but Belleschi from similar fields of endeavor teaches: removing, by the first UE device, a first reserved time-slot from the third control information upon the occurrence of one or more of the following: the first reserved time-slot not being included on the first control information and the second control information, a determination that the first UE is no longer interested in transmitting data, and expiration of the first UE device's ownership of the first reserved time-slot (paragraph 145-153: Step 1: at time T1, the UE announces a first reservation of radio resources by transmitting a first control message. The reserved radio resources are for a transmission at time T3. This is shown in FIG. 6A. Step 2: at time T2, the UE sends a second reservation…Cancel. The second reservation is used to un-reserve the resources signaled in the first reservation without necessarily reserving any further resource, in which case the set of reserved time/frequency resources is empty…Step 3: at time T3, the UE transmits a first data message using the radio resources signaled in the second reservation). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Belleschi in the VANET network signaling as described by Singh. The motivation is to improve dynamic rescheduling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tavildar et al. (US 2013/0183906); Tavildar discloses the intended beacon transmission is cancelled for the current beacon slot in response to a received beacon signal meeting certain predetermined criteria.
/JOHN D BLANTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466