DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2: “in the one of” should be corrected to - -in one of- -;
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Regarding Figure 3(c) it appears reference numbers
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Subject matter of must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamai (US 2019/0267734).
Regarding claim 15: Tamai teaches an electrical connector assembly (Figs. 1-2), comprising: a pair of electrical connectors 1, 2 each including an insulated shell 70, the insulated shell has: a body portion (at 71; Fig. 3) extending in a length direction (Fig. 3) and having a first end and a second end opposite the first end in the length direction (see Fig. 3); a first guiding structure having a guiding slot 72B that is concave into the first end (see Fig. 3 and Para. 0062); and a second guiding structure having a guiding column 73C protruding at the second end (see Fig. 3), the guiding slot of one of the insulated shells fits with the guiding column of the other of the insulated shells and the electrical connectors fit and engage with each other (see Figs. 1-2).
Claims 15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0224053).
Regarding claim 15: Li teaches an electrical connector assembly (Fig. 17), comprising: a pair of electrical connectors 100, 100’ each including an insulated shell 1, the insulated shell has: a body portion (at 1; Fig. 7) extending in a length direction (Fig. 7) and having a first end and a second end opposite the first end in the length direction (see Fig. 7); a first guiding structure having a guiding slot 14 that is concave into the first end (see Figs. 1 and 7 and Para. 0047); and a second guiding structure having a guiding column 15 protruding at the second end (see Figs. 1 and 7), the guiding slot of one of the insulated shells fits with the guiding column of the other of the insulated shells and the electrical connectors fit and engage with each other (see Fig. 17 and Para, 0047).
Regarding claim 18: Li teaches all the limitations of claim 15 and Li further teaches wherein the guiding slot 14 is one of a pair of guiding slots (see Fig. 1) spaced apart from each other in a width direction of the body portion (Fig. 1) and the guiding column 15 is one of a pair of guiding columns spaced apart from each other in the width direction (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19: Li teaches all the limitations of claim 18 and Li further teaches wherein the guiding slots 14 are each formed in a U-shape (e.g. U-shape formed above 211 and in conjunction with slots 14; see Fig. 1) and open toward the second end (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20: Li teaches all the limitations of claim 19 and Li further teaches wherein a connection portion 121 is formed between each guiding column 15 and the body portion (see Fig. 7), the U-shape of each of the guiding slots accommodates one of the connection portions (see Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2022/0368086), in view of Fan (US 2006/0014422).
Regarding claim 1: Li teaches an electrical connector 1000, comprising: an insulated shell 100; a conductive assembly (Fig. 5) including: a conductive shell 300 assembled on the insulated shell 100 (see Figs. 1-3); a plurality of contact terminals L1,L2 each having a base and an electrical contact segment extending from the base (see Fig. 5); and a base plate 400 detachably connected to the insulated shell 100 (see Fig. 2), the base of each of the contact terminals is fixed to the base plate (see Fig. 1), the conductive shell 300 and the electrical contact segment of each of the contact terminals are held in electrical contact with each other by the base plate (see Para. 0030).
Li does not explicitly teach the insulated shell having a slot in a side wall extending longitudinally; and a support member embedded in the slot, a pair of free ends of the support member are fixed in the slot.
Fan teaches an insulated shell 21 having a slot (at 213; Fig. 2) in a side wall 213 extending longitudinally (see Fig. 2); and a support member 22 embedded in the slot (see Fig. 1), a pair of free ends (e.g. see left and right ends of support member 22; Fig. 2) of the support member are fixed in the slot (see Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the insulated shell having a slot in a side wall extending longitudinally; and a support member embedded in the slot, a pair of free ends of the support member are fixed in the slot as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Li in order to achieve the advantage of strengthening the sidewalls and providing shielding benefits.
Regarding claim 2: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Li further teaches wherein the contact terminals L1, L2 include a plurality of grounding terminals 221, 222 (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the slot is one of a pair of slots in a pair of side walls of the insulated shell, the support member is one of a pair of support members that are each embedded in one of the slots.
Fan teaches wherein the slot (at 213; Fig. 2) is one of a pair of slots in a pair of side walls of the insulated shell 21 (see Fig. 2), the support member 22 is one of a pair of support members that are each embedded in one of the slots (see Fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the slot is one of a pair of slots in a pair of side walls of the insulated shell, the support member is one of a pair of support members that are each embedded in one of the slots as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Li in order to achieve the advantage of further strengthening the sidewalls and providing shielding benefits.
Regarding claim 4: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 3 and Fan further teaches wherein each of the support members 22 has a pair of free ends (see Fig. 2 of Fan) fixed in one of the slots (see Fig. 1 of Fan).
Regarding claim 5: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Fan further teaches wherein the free ends of the support member are interference fit in the slot (see Fig. 1 of Fan).
Regarding claim 6: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the support member has a plurality of protruding structures spaced apart from one another and spaced apart from the free ends in an extension direction of the support member.
Fan teaches the support member 22 has a plurality of protruding structures 222 spaced apart from one another (see Fig. 2) and spaced apart from the free ends in an extension direction of the support member (see Fig. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the support member having a plurality of protruding structures spaced apart from one another and spaced apart from the free ends in an extension direction of the support member as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Li in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and positioning the support members in their intended position.
Regarding claim 7: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 6.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding structures are fitted to a plurality of holes in the base plate.
Fan teaches wherein the protruding structures 222 are fitted to a plurality of holes in a base plate 25 (see Para. 0023).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the protruding structures fitted to a plurality of holes in the base plate as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Li in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and positioning the support members in their intended position.
Regarding claim 8: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 6.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding structures are fixed and permanently mounting in a positive fit to the base plate.
Fan teaches wherein the protruding structures 222 are fixed and permanently mounting in a positive fit to the base plate (see Figs. 1-2 and Para. 0023).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the protruding structures fixed and permanently mounting in a positive fit to the base plate as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Li in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and positioning the support members in their intended position.
Regarding claim 13: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Fan further teaches wherein the support member 22 is non-removably fixed at both free ends in the slot (see Fig. 1 of Fan).
Regarding claim 14: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Fan further teaches wherein the support member 22 is a metal sheet or a metal strip (see Para. 0023 of Fan).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2022/0368086), in view of Fan (US 2006/0014422), further in view of Yamaguchi (US 6,793,541).
Regarding claim 9: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 7.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding structures are a plurality of barbed protrusions fixed and permanently installed in the holes of the base plate.
Yamaguchi teaches protruding structures 34 are a plurality of barbed protrusions (see Fig. 1) fixed and permanently installed in holes of a base plate (see Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the protruding structures being a plurality of barbed protrusions fixed and permanently installed in the holes of the base plate as taught by Yamaguchi into the electrical connector of Li, in view of Fan, in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and positioning the support members in their intended position.
Regarding claim 10: Li, in view of Fan, further in view of Yamaguchi, teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and Yamaguchi further teaches wherein the barbed protrusions are interference fit with a plurality of hole walls of the holes of the base plate (see Figs. 6-7).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2022/0368086), in view of Fan (US 2006/0014422), further in view of Sugimoto (US 4,129,351).
Regarding claim 11: Li, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 7.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding structures are detachably fixed to the base plate and locked to the base plate in a snap fit.
Sugimoto teaches protruding structures are detachably fixed to a base plate and locked to the base plate in a snap fit (see Figs. 10-11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the protruding structures detachably fixed to the base plate and locked to the base plate in a snap fit as taught by Sugimoto into the electrical connector of Li, in view of Fan, in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and having an audible indication positioning the support members in their intended position.
Regarding claim 12: Li, in view of Fan, further in view of Sugimoto, teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
Li, in view of Fan, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the protruding structures is a hook-shaped structure and snap fits into one of a plurality of bayonets on the base plate.
Sugimoto teaches wherein each of the protruding structures is a hook-shaped structure 100 and snap fits into one of a plurality of bayonets 68a on the base plate (see Fig. 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with each of the protruding structures is a hook-shaped structure and snap fits into one of a plurality of bayonets on the base plate as taught by Sugimoto into the electrical connector of Li, in view of Fan, in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically fastening and having an audible indication positioning the support members in their intended position while also having the ability to be removable.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamai (US 2019/0267734), in view of Fan (US 2006/0014422).
Regarding claim 16: Tamai teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Tamai does not explicitly teach wherein the insulated shell of each of the electrical connectors has a slot in a side wall extending longitudinally and each of the electrical connectors has a support member embedded in the slot.
Fan teaches an insulated shell 21 of an electrical connector (see Figs. 1-2) has a slot (at 213; Fig. 2) in a side wall 213 extending longitudinally (see Fig. 2) and has a support member 22 embedded in the slot (see Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the insulated shell of each of the electrical connectors has a slot in a side wall extending longitudinally and each of the electrical connectors has a support member embedded in the slot as taught by Fan into the electrical connector of Tamai in order to achieve the advantage of strengthening the sidewalls and providing shielding benefits.
Regarding claim 17: Tamai, in view of Fan, teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and Tamai further teaches wherein each of the electrical connectors has a conductive assembly 10 including: a conductive shell 50 assembled on the insulated shell 70 (see Figs. 1-2); a plurality of contact terminals 20 each having a base and an electrical contact segment extending from the base (see Fig. 5); and a base plate 60 detachably connected to the insulated shell 70 (see Figs. 1-4), the base of each of the contact terminals is fixed to the base plate (see Figs. 1-3), the conductive shell 50 and the electrical contact segment of each of the contact terminals are held in electrical contact with each other by the base plate (see Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for pertinent prior art, the following references being of closest relevance:
Stokoe (US 11,444,398) teaches an electrical terminal comprising an insulated shell, a conductive assembly, contact terminals electrically and mechanically connected to a base plate;
Wei (US 11,901,657) teaches an insulated shell with a terminal within and a pair of slots for positioning a member with projections within said slot;
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831