Double Patenting
Claims 21-25, 28-32, and 34-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,645,992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims encompass the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,645,992.
Claim 21-23 and 27-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 15/829,230 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are encompassed by the claims of copending Application No. 15/829,230 (reference application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24, 27, 28, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by COLES et al. (2014/0243442).
Regarding claims 21, 24, and 34, COLES et al. discloses a method for the manufacture of a plastic component, the method comprising:
a) loading a mold (30) [0180] with a material which comprises particles of an expanded material (34) [0183]; and
b) fusing the surfaces of the particles by supplying energy [0183],
c) wherein the energy is supplied in the form of at least one electromagnetic field such as microwave [0183] wherein
d) the particles further comprise an energy absorbing material (liquid heat transfer agent such as water) which absorbs the energy supplied by the at least one electromagnetic field [0182]; the energy absorbing material or heat transfer fluid is either placed into the mold at the same time as the particles; and or pre-mixed with the particles before being placed in or injected into the mold [0041].
COLES et al. discloses the quantity of water (the energy absorbing material) used in molding was varied from a minimum of about 12 mL to a maximum of 30 mL- which for 52 g of beads in a 1.5 litre mold cavity equates to about 8 ml to 20 ml of water per unit volume of tool cavity [0416]. Therefore, the average amount of energy absorbing material per particle varies within the mold as claimed.
Regarding claim 27, COLES et al. discloses 300 MHz (claim 3).
Regarding claim 28, COLES et al. discloses said energy absorbing material is electrically conductive [0039]-[0040].
Claim(s) 21 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZIEGLER et al. (WO 2001064414-machine translation).
Regarding claim 21, ZIEGLER et al. discloses a method for the manufacture of a plastic component, the method comprising:
a) loading a mold with a material which comprises particles of an expanded material (claims 5-6); and
b) fusing the surfaces of the particles by supplying energy (claim 22),
c) wherein the energy is supplied in the form of at least one electromagnetic field such as microwave (claim 1) wherein
d) the particles further comprise an energy absorbing material (liquid medium) which absorbs the energy supplied by the at least one electromagnetic field (claim 1);
ZIEGLER et al. discloses in order to achieve complete filling of the cavity volume of the bulk of the polymer particles with the radiation-absorbing medium, one embodiment of the method provides that the particles are fed into the molding space and the liquid medium is fed into the molding space while displacing the air in the bulk of the particles becomes. The liquid medium is preferably fed into the molding space which receives the particles in an increasing manner in order to ensure perfect ventilation of the molding space and thus for a complete filling of the cavity volume of the particle bed with the liquid medium. In this case, the particle bed can be mechanically compressed in the molding space and the liquid medium can then be fed in. Of course, the particles can also be compressed by pressurizing the mold space with the liquid medium. If expandable polymer particles such as EPE, EPP, EPS, EPET or the like are used, which expand during the thermal bonding by means of high-frequency electromagnetic radiation, so that the void volume of the particle bed is reduced during the irradiation, the void volume can initially only partially filled with the radiation absorbing medium, whereby it must be ensured that the medium fills up the void volume of the bed essentially completely after expanding the polymer particles and displacing the residual air in order to ensure a perfect fusion of the particles. Therefore, the average amount of energy absorbing material per particle varies within the mold as claimed.
Regarding claim 26, ZIEGLER et al. discloses radiation-absorbing medium such as metal powder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues prio art references do not disclose “wherein
the average amount of energy absorbing material per particle varies within the mold”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned above, COLE discloses the energy absorbing material or heat transfer fluid is either placed into the mold at the same time as the particles; and or pre-mixed with the particles before being placed in or injected into the mold [0041].
COLES et al. discloses the quantity of water (the energy absorbing material) used in molding was varied from a minimum of about 12 mL to a maximum of 30 mL- which for 52 g of beads in a 1.5 litre mold cavity equates to about 8 ml to 20 ml of water per unit volume of tool cavity [0416]. Therefore, the average amount of energy absorbing material per particle varies within the mold as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742