DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “at least two adjacent series terminals” in claim 13, lines 1-2 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 3, “a support rail” should be --the support rail--;
Claim 3, line 2, “its” should be --a--;
Claim 4, line 2, “socle” should be deleted;
Claim 10, line 1, “an an” should be --an--;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baillet et al. (4,776,815).
Regarding claim 1, Baillet et al. disclose an electrical connection system for mounting a series terminal (23, Fig. 1) on a support rail (13, Fig. 8B), comprising:
a housing having a closed base (28, Fig. 2) facing the support rail and two spaced, parallel side walls (43, Fig. 1) extending from said base;
a latching member (29, Fig. 2) on an exterior of said base and configured for latching to the support rail (Fig. 8B); and
a mounting member (22, Fig. 2) on an interior of said base and configured to retain the series terminal (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1 shows a space between said side walls corresponds at least to a size of the series terminal.
Regarding claim 3, said housing is open about a circumference with the exception of said base (Fig. 1).
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata (2013/0260605).
Regarding claim 1, Kawabata discloses an electrical connection system for mounting a series terminal (S1, Fig. 2) on a support rail (R, Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing having a closed base (s1, Fig. 2) facing the support rail and two spaced, parallel side walls (s2 and s3) extending from said base;
a latching member (s5c, Fig. 2) on an exterior of said base and configured for latching to the support rail (Fig. 1); and
a mounting member (s1b, Fig. 2) on an interior of said base and configured to retain the series terminal (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 2 shows said housing, said latching member and said mounting member are configured in one piece.
Regarding claim 5, said housing is formed of an insulating plastic material.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain (7,933,126).
Regarding claim 1, Jain discloses an electrical connection system for mounting a series terminal (10, Fig. 3) on a support rail (not shown), comprising:
a housing having a closed base (26, Fig. 3) facing the support rail and two spaced, parallel side walls (50) extending from said base (Fig. 2);
a latching member (62, Fig. 3) on an exterior of said base and configured for latching to the support rail; and
a mounting member (not shown) on an interior of said base and configured to retain the series terminal (by 66).
Regarding claim 6, an inner contour (FIGURE A below) of said latching member corresponds with an inner contour of a foot portion (FIGURE A below) of the series terminal which is retained on said mounting member in a form-fitting manner.
Regarding claim 7, an inner contour (FIGURE A above) of said latching member corresponds with a contour of the support rail (not shown).
Regarding claim 9, a predetermined breaking point (FIGURE A above or shown in Fig. 1) extending parallel to said base is defined on side wall surface facing away from said latching member.
Regarding claim 12, said housing and the series terminal are assembled into a structural unit at the place of manufacture.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diekmann et al. (7,658,653).
Regarding claim 1, Diekmann et al., Fig. 9 shows an electrical connection system for mounting a series terminal (10a’) on a support rail (4), comprising:
a housing having a closed base (a surface above 4) facing the support rail and two spaced, parallel side walls (walls of a slot (9)) extending from said base;
a latching member (not labeled) on an exterior of said base and configured for latching to the support rail; and
a mounting member (not shown) on an interior of said base and configured to retain the series terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 9 shows a surface of said side walls is larger than a side surface the series terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata.
Regarding claim 10, Kawabata discloses the claimed invention as described above except for an air gap and isolation of connection contacts between said base and an upper edge of side walls and transverse thereto is greater than 50 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Kawabata to have an air gap and isolation of connection contacts between said base and an upper edge of side walls and transverse thereto is greater than 50 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better engaging.
Regarding claim 11, Kawabata discloses the claimed invention as described above except for an air gap and isolation between connection contacts of the series terminal and the support rail is greater than 25 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Kawabata to have an air gap and isolation between connection contacts of the series terminal and the support rail is greater than 25 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better engaging.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baillet et al. (4,776,815).
Regarding claim 13, Baillet et al. disclose an electrical connection system for mounting at least two adjacent series terminals (23, Fig. 1) on a support rail (13, Fig. 8B), comprising
a housing having a closed base (28, Fig. 2) facing the support rail and two spaced, parallel side walls (43, Fig. 1) extending from said base;
a latching member (29, Fig. 2) on an exterior of said base and configured for latching to the support rail (Fig. 8B); and
a mounting member (22, Fig. 2) on an interior of said base and configured to retain the series terminals.
Baillet et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for an air gap and isolation between connection contacts of the adjacent series terminals is greater than 25 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Baillet et al. to have an air gap and isolation between connection contacts of the adjacent series terminals is greater than 25 mm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) for better engaging.
Conclusion
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 09/28/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov