DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant's amendment filed on September 2, 2026. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 10 are amended. Claims 2 and 4 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3, and 5-11 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2014/0248842 A1) in view of Wahaj Arshad et al. (US 2022/0104055 A1).
4. Regarding claims 1 and 3, Yi teaches a mobile wireless communication device and method (Fig. 4) comprising:
a memory;
a receiver configured to receive a Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) configuration;
a controller configured to perform an MDT in accordance with the MDT
configuration and log results of the MDT in the memory as an MDT log (Fig. 4 Paragraph [0050] store measurement configuration in memory); and
a transmitter configured to transmit, to a base station, a log availability indicator
indicating the availability of the MDT log and comprising a type of data indicator,
wherein the type of data indicator is indicative of MDT data corresponding to at least
one of a mobile device orientation, a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) Index of a
best beam, a received signal quality of the best beam, an out-of-coverage condition
indicator indicative of whether an out-of-coverage condition occurred during the MDT, or
a cell identifier identifying at least one cell included in the MDT log (Paragraph [0050] include region identifier).
Yi does not explicitly disclose the receiver configured to receive, from the base station and after transmission of the log availability indicator, a log retrieval request, the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the base station and in response to the log retrieval request, an MDT log report at least partially based on the MDT log.
Wahaj Arshad teaches the receiver configured to receive, from the base station and after transmission of the log availability indicator, a log retrieval request, the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the base station and in response to the log retrieval request, an MDT log report at least partially based on the MDT log (Paragraph [0005] UE indicates availability of MDT reporting; network node instructs UE to report the logged measurements and report it to the Trace Entity).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the receiver configured to receive, from the base station and after transmission of the log availability indicator, a log retrieval request, the transmitter further configured to transmit, to the base station and in response to the log retrieval request, an MDT log report at least partially based on the MDT log as taught by Wahaj Arshad in the system of Yi for RAN initiated data collection see abstract of Wahaj Arshad.
5. Regarding claims 5 and 10, Yi teaches communication system infrastructure and method comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a mobile device, a log availability indicator
indicating the availability of a Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) log (Fig. 4 Paragraph [0050] store measurement configuration in memory) and comprising an
MDT data type indicator, wherein the MDT data type indicator is indicative of MDT data
corresponding to at least one of a mobile device orientation, a Synchronization Signal
Block (SSB) Index of a best beam, a received signal quality of the best beam, an out-of-
coverage condition indicator indicative of whether an out-of-coverage condition occurred
during the MDT, or a cell identifier identifying at least one cell included in the MDT log (Paragraph [0050] include region identifier); a controller configured to determine, based at least partially on the MDT datatype indicator, whether to retrieve the MDT log from the mobile device (Paragraph [0050] include region identifier).
Yi does not explicitly disclose prior to a Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) log report indicative of an MDT log, a log availability indicator and a transmitter configured to transmit a log retrieval request to the mobile device in response to a determination to retrieve the MDT log.
Wahaj Arshad teaches prior to a Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) log report indicative of an MDT log, a log availability indicator and a transmitter configured to transmit a log retrieval request to the mobile device in response to a determination to retrieve the MDT log (Paragraph [0005] UE indicates availability of MDT reporting; network node instructs UE to report the logged measurements and report it to the Trace Entity).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide prior to a Minimization of Drive Test (MDT) log report indicative of an MDT log, a log availability indicator and a transmitter configured to transmit a log retrieval request to the mobile device in response to a determination to retrieve the MDT log as taught by Wahaj Arshad in the system of Yi for RAN initiated data collection see abstract of Wahaj Arshad.
6. Regarding claims 6 and 11, Yi in view of Wahaj Arshad teaches wherein
the controller is further configured to determine whether to retrieve the MDT log
based at least partially on the MDT data type indicator (Yi, Paragraph [0050] include region identifier).
7. Regarding claim 7, Yi in view of Wahaj Arshad teaches, wherein the transmitter and receiver are part of a base station (Wahaj Arshad, Paragraph [0005] UE indicates availability of MDT reporting; network node instructs UE to report the logged measurements and report it to the Trace Entity).
8. Regarding claim 8, Yi in view of Wahaj Arshad teaches, wherein the controller is part of a base station (Wahaj Arshad, Paragraph [0005] UE indicates availability of MDT reporting; network node instructs UE to report the logged measurements and report it to the Trace Entity).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2014/0248842 A1) in view of Wahaj Arshad et al. (US 2022/0104055 A1) in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #105, “MDT Overview,” Ericsson R2-1900652, hereby referred to as R2-1900652.
9. Regarding claim 9, Yi in view of Wahaj Arshad does not explicitly disclose, wherein the controller is part of a Trace Entity (TCE) in a core network connected to the base station.
R2-1900652 teaches wherein the controller is part of a Trace Entity (TCE) in a core network connected to the base station (section 3.5 user consent is required for MDT; TCE).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the controller is part of a Trace Entity (TCE) in a core network connected to the base station as taught by R2-1900652 in the system of Yi in view of Wahaj Arshad to specify MDT for NT see section 1 of R2-1900652.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466