DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8, 10 and 13-14 are rejected.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, as shown in Fig. 5 and Species a, as shown in Figs. 2A-2D, in the reply filed on September 14, 2026, is acknowledged.
Applicant indicated that claims 1-8, 10 and 12-14 are drawn to the elected species. Claim 12 is drawn to Species C, as shown in Fig. 6, and is therefore, withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 9 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration because they are drawn to non-elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guirguis (US 4,953,561).
With respect to claim 1, Guirguis discloses a testing device, as shown in Fig. 1, including the method steps of: urging a volume of the fluid from a sample container 11 (first reservoir) to a syringe 18 (second reservoir) through a port 38 (fluid channel), as shown in Figs. 1-2; passing the fluid and a volume of beads 50 (desiccant) between the first and second reservoirs 11, 18, until one or more components from the fluid are absorbed by the desiccant 50 (see col. 4, lines 47-65); and withdrawing the fluid through a port 36 (withdrawal channel) which is in fluid communication with the fluid channel 38 while preventing the desiccant 50 from passing into the withdrawal channel 36, as shown in Fig. 3.
With respect to claim 3, Guirguis discloses wherein urging the volume of the fluid comprises passing the volume from a first syringe 18 to a second syringe through the fluid channel defined through an end 14 (manifold) (see col. 5, lines 19-22).
With respect to claim 4, Guirguis discloses wherein passing the fluid and the volume of desiccant 50 comprises introducing desiccant beads 50, as shown in Figs. 1-2.
With respect to claim 6, Guirguis discloses wherein withdrawing the fluid comprises releasing a barrel 20 (valve) such that the withdrawal channel 36 comes into fluid communication with the fluid channel 38, as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 7, Guirguis discloses preventing the desiccant 50 from passing comprises passing the fluid through a filter or frit 12 such that the desiccant 50 is inhibited from entering into the withdrawal channel 36, as shown in Figs. 1-2.
With respect to claim 8, Guirguis discloses collecting the fluid from the withdrawal channel 36 via a collection syringe 18, as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 10, Guirguis discloses withdrawing the fluid comprises withdrawing from the withdrawal channel 36 by inducing a pressure into each of the first and second reservoirs 11, 18, as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 13, Guirguis discloses wherein urging the volume of fluid further comprises retaining the desiccant 50 within an end 14 (manifold) between the first reservoir 11 and the second reservoir 18 prior to passing the fluid and the volume of desiccant 50 between the first and second reservoirs 11, 18, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 14, Guirguis discloses wherein the volume of fluid further comprises retaining the desiccant 50 within the first or second reservoir 11, 18, prior to passing the fluid and the volume of desiccant 50 between the first and second reservoirs 11, 18, as shown in Figs. 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guirguis (US 4,953,561).
With respect to claim 2, Guirguis does not disclose wherein the volume of fluid comprises blood plasma or PRP. However, Guirguis discloses an apparatus for detecting the presence of specific antigens in biological fluids (see col. 1, lines 9-12 and col. 5, lines 38-39) and that it is generally necessary in diagnosing and testing for many diseases to collect biological fluids from a patient, such as blood, for analysis (see col., lines 35-38). Guirguis teaches that the invention can be used for any body fluid (see col. 3, lines 61-66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus disclosed by Guirguis to test blood plasma or PRP, as claimed by applicant, in order analyze for diagnosing and testing diseases (see col., lines 35-38) and since Guirguis already suggests that the apparatus can be used for testing any biological fluids (see col. 3, lines 61-66), and blood plasma or PRP are known biological fluids.
With respect to claim 5, Guirguis does not disclose wherein passing the fluid and the volume of desiccant comprises passing the fluid for a period of 30 sec. to 2 min. However, Guirguis teaches that beads 50 can capture the antigen present in 100 ml or even more of the sample, depending on the frequency of filling and emptying the syringe 18 and this will result in 500.times. fold increase in the amount of antigen being captured by the beads (see col. 4, lines 66-68 and col. 5, lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pass the fluid for a period of 30 sec. to 2 min, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to choose the amount of time to pass the fluid to the syringe according to a desired application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,605,498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,605,498 recites the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Leach et al. (US 2014/0071787) discloses a clotting serum preparation and isolation device having desiccating beads. Melsheimer et al. (US 2009/0247985) discloses a syringe device having multiple syringes.
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773