DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to communication: response to amendments/arguments filed on 02/04/2026
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this application.
No new IDS has been filed for this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See amended rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al. JP2003330565 (Nakajima), in view of Goldfarb et al. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0346830 (Goldfarb), and further in view of Smith II et al. US Patent Application Publication 2017/0195457 (Smith)
As per claim 1, Nakajima teaches a web application server comprising: a communication circuit; and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to assign, in response to a request from a client, authentication information to a web application program (paragraph 8 with mobile terminal registering in advance with server; see also paragraph 28-29, with registration includes username and password); control the communication circuit to transmit the web application program to which the authentication information is assigned to the client, and control the communication circuit to receive a verification request of the authentication information from the client in accordance with a request from the web application program at a time of activating the web application program, and returns a result of the verification of the authentication information to the client (see paragraph 30-33 with server sending program to user; see paragraph 34 when at a time of using/activating the program, the user sends authentication request to server; see paragraph 35 with server performing; result is sent from server to user).
Although Nakajima teaches authentication information, Nakajima does not explicitly teach that the authentication information is described in a low-level language. However, utilizing low level language is well known in the art. For example, see Goldfarb (see paragraph 39 with utilizing webassembly to manage cookies in web-based applications; see also paragraph 80).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nakajima with Goldfarb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide more security and credential management (paragraph 2 of Goldfarb).
Although the Nakajima combination teaches wherein authentication information may expire (see Goldfarb paragraph 77 wherein authentication information includes a value when they expire), the combination does not explicitly teach that the time is limited toward an application activation. However, utilizing authentication information wherein the information comprises a predetermined time up to which a resource is permitted to activate would have been obvious. For example, see Smith (abstract, paragraph 48, and throughout wherein activation of client resources are granted if the activation token is not expired)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Smith with the Nakajima combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to find an easier way to control the authorization of client resources to use online services (paragraph 2 of Smith).
As per claim 2, it would have been obvious over the Nakajima combination wherein the proessor invalidates the authentication information after a lapse of a predetermined time from generation of the authentication information (Goldfarb paragraph 100 with authentication token may expire after a predetermined time).
As per claim 3, it would have been obvious over the Nakajima combination wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the authentication information every time there is a request from the client (see Smith paragraph 26 with generating activation code; code is stored in database; see paragraph 19 wherein after activation, the authentication code is no longer valid; see also paragraph 40, generating activation code with a process intiated by client; see also paragraph 45)
As per claim 4, the Nakajima combination teaches wherein the low-level language includes an assembly language (Goldfarb paragraphs 39 and 107 with webassembly).
As per claim 5, the Nakajima combination teaches wherein the assembly language includes an assembly language of WebAssembly (Goldfarb paragraphs 39 and 107).
As per claim 6, Nakajim teaches a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a web application program for causing a computer or a client to execute the steps of: transmitting, to a server, a verification request for validity of authentication information described in a program code (paragraphs 34-35 with user and application requesting access with authentication information); and continuing a process described in the program code in a case where the authentication information is valid as a result of a verification from the server, and stopping an execution of the process of the program code in a case where the authentication information is not valid (paragraphs 34-36 with the program allowed to continue when authentication information is valid and program cannot continue when it is not valid).
Although Nakajima teaches authentication information, Nakajima does not explicitly teach that the authentication information is described in a low-level language. However, utilizing low level language is well known in the art. For example, see Goldfarb (see paragraph 39 with utilizing webassembly to manage cookies in web-based applications; see also paragraph 80).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nakajima with Goldfarb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide more security and credential management (paragraph 2 of Goldfarb).
Claim 8 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495