Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al (US 20190038106 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Jang discloses a cleaning device (“robot cleaner”) comprising a robot cleaner and a docketing station (paragraph 0068: charging stand) to which the robot cleaner is connected, wherein the robot cleaner comprises:
a robot cleaner body; a pad support module (41a and/or 47) detachably connected to a lower surface of the robot cleaner body (figure 23) and having a bottom to which a pad 411 is attachable;
a driving motor 60 accommodated in the robot cleaner body;
a first drive shaft 65b disposed on the lower surface of the robot cleaner body and configured to rotate about a first direction by receiving power from the driving motor (paragraph 0125);
a first power transmission unit 65a extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and arranged to be fixed to one end of the first drive shaft 65b;
a second drive shaft 415 arranged to be fixed to an upper portion of the pad support module (paragraph 0190: fixed to top end of spin shaft 414) and configured to rotate about the first direction together with the pad support module by receiving power from the first power transmission unit (paragraph 0129);
an accommodating groove (groove extending across 415 from one portion 415h to an opposite portion 415h disposed in an upper portion of the second drive shaft and into which the first drive shaft and the first power transmission unit are inserted (figure 21);
a guide portion (415a including cylindrical bottom portion) disposed below the accommodating groove (partially below the groove) and configured to guide a rotation path so that the first power transmission unit rotates at a predetermined angle about the first drive shaft (holds axis of rotation to be coaxial with first drive shaft); and
a second power transmission unit (inner wall of one of 415h) disposed on one end of the guide portion and configured to receive power from the first power transmission unit by contacting the first power transmission unit, and rotates the second drive shaft (paragraph 0129).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the first drive shaft 65b includes a cylindrical rod extending along the first direction, and the first power transmission unit includes a locking bar 65a extending along the second direction.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the locking bar 65a is provided in plurality (figure 21), and includes a first locking bar and a second locking bar, and the first locking bar and the second locking bar are arranged to face each other with the first drive shaft 65b therebetween.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the second drive shaft 415 includes a cylindrical member (figure 21) extending along the first direction, and the second power transmission unit (inner wall of one of 415h) includes a barrier wall extending along the first direction.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the pad support module is provided in plurality, and includes a first pad support module (41a and/or 47) and a second pad support module (41b and/or 47), and the first pad support module and the second pad support module are arranged to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance on a lower surface of the robot cleaner body (figure 23).
Regarding claims 8 and 12, the robot cleaner is further comprising a controller configured to control the driving motor to operate, wherein the controller controls the driving motor so that the first drive shaft rotates clockwise or counterclockwise about the first direction (only one direction required due to “or” term; see claim 14).
Regarding claim 9. the controller controls the driving motor so that the first drive shaft rotates in one of a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction about the first direction, in a cleaning mode (claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malish et al (US 5645365 A1) and in view of Jang.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Malish discloses a cleaning device comprising a cleaner comprising:
a cleaner body 20; a pad support module 35 detachably connected to a lower surface of the robot cleaner body and having a bottom to which a pad 32 is attachable;
a driving motor (Col. 4, lines 30-35) accommodated in the robot cleaner body;
a first drive shaft 27 disposed on the lower surface of the robot cleaner body and configured to rotate about a first direction by receiving power from the driving motor (Col. 4, lines 30-35);
a first power transmission unit 26 extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and arranged to be fixed to one end of the first drive shaft (figure 1);
a second drive shaft 36 arranged to be fixed to an upper portion of the pad support module 35 and configured to rotate about the first direction together with the pad support module by receiving power from the first power transmission unit (col. 7, line 45-Col. 8, line 25);
an accommodating groove (figure 3: formed from 38 and 50) disposed in an upper portion of the second drive shaft and into which the first drive shaft and the first power transmission unit are inserted (col. 7, line 45-Col. 8, line 25);
a guide portion (figure 4: formed at least partially by 63 and 68) disposed below the accommodating groove and configured to guide a rotation path so that the first power transmission unit rotates at a predetermined angle about the first drive shaft (col. 7, line 45-Col. 8, line 25); and
a second power transmission unit 67/68/70 disposed on one end of the guide portion and configured to receive power from the first power transmission unit by contacting the first power transmission unit, and rotates the second drive shaft (Col. 8, lines 11-15).
Malish is silent regarding the cleaner being a robot cleaner with a docking station to which the robot cleaner is connected.
However, Jang teaches a cleaning device being a robot cleaning device (“robot cleaner”) comprising a robot cleaner and a docketing station (paragraph 0068: charging stand) to which the robot cleaner is connected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Malish by making the cleaner into a robot cleaner with a docking station to which the robot cleaner is connected, as taught by Jang, in order to allow a floor to be cleaned with less human input and work.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Malish further discloses wherein the first drive shaft 27 includes a cylindrical rod extending along the first direction, and the first power transmission unit includes a locking bar 28 extending along the second direction (figure 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Malish further discloses wherein the locking bar 28 is provided in plurality (figure 1), and includes a first locking bar and a second locking bar, and the first locking bar and the second locking bar are arranged to face each other with the first drive shaft 27 therebetween.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Malish further discloses wherein the second drive shaft 36 includes a cylindrical member (figure 1) extending along the first direction, and the second power transmission unit 67/68/70 includes a barrier wall 68 extending along the first direction.
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Malish further discloses wherein the guide portion (figure 4: formed at least partially by 63 and 68) includes an inclined portion 62 (figure 4) whose height changes according to a rotation path of the first power transmission unit (figure 4; Col 7, line 65 – Col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Malish further discloses an inclined groove (formed by inclined surface 50) disposed between an upper surface 40 (figure 3) of the second drive shaft and the accommodating groove (formed by 46 and 48).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Malish is further silent regarding the pad support module is provided in plurality, and includes a first pad support module and a second pad support module, and the first pad support module and the second pad support module are arranged to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance on a lower surface of the robot cleaner body.
However, Jang further teaches the pad support module is provided in plurality, and includes a first pad support module (41a and/or 47) and a second pad support module (41b and/or 47), and the first pad support module and the second pad support module are arranged to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance on a lower surface of the robot cleaner body (figure 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish by having the pad support module is provided in plurality, and includes a first pad support module and a second pad support module, and the first pad support module and the second pad support module are arranged to be spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance on a lower surface of the robot cleaner body, as taught by Jang, for the purpose of increasing the surface area being cleaned at once.
Regarding claim 8, Malish discloses the driving motor is operated so that the first drive shaft rotates counterclockwise about the first direction (Col, 7, line 45-Col. 8, line 25).
Regarding claim 9, Malish discloses the driving motor rotates the first drive shaft in a counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a cleaning mode (Col, 7, line 45-Col. 8, line 25).
Regarding claims 8-9, Malish is silent regarding a controller controlling the driving motor to operate in the above manners. However, Jang teaches a controller controlling the driving motor (claim 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish by including a controller to control the driving motor to operate in the above manners, as taught by Jang, for the purpose of allowing for programed control of the device.
Regarding claim 12, Malish discloses the first drive shaft rotates clockwise or counterclockwise about the first direction but is silent regarding a controller configured to control the driving motor to operate.
However, Jang teaches a controller controlling the driving motor (claim 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish to include a controller to control the driving motor to operate in the above manners, as taught by Jang, for the purpose of allowing for programed control of the device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malish et al (US 5645365 A1), in view of Jang and further in view of Liu et al (US 20260114695 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Malish discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Malish discloses that reverse torque is applied to cleaning module to in a pad replacement mode (Col. 8, lines 26-50). This is disclosed as a clockwise direction about the first direction (Col. 8, lines 26-50).
Malish is silent regarding the drive motor rotating the first drive shaft in a remaining one of the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a pad replacement mode.
However, Liu teaches a drive motor rotating a first drive shaft in a remaining one of the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a pad replacement mode (paragraph 0055; when brush disc needs to be dismounted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Malish by having the drive motor rotating the first drive shaft in a remaining one of the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a pad replacement mode, as taught by Liu for the purpose of using an alternative method of applying forces needed to remove the pad.
Malish is silent regarding a controller controlling the driving motor to operate in the above manners.
However, Jang teaches a controller controlling the driving motor (claim 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish to include a controller to control the driving motor to operate in the above manners, as taught by Jang, for the purpose of allowing for programed control of the device.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malish et al (US 5645365 A1) and in view of Jang and further in view of VanTongeren et al (US 20230190062).
Regarding claim 13, Malish discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 12. Malish discloses cleaning by rotating the first drive shaft in one of a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction about the first direction, but is silent regarding this being done as the robot cleaner is separated from a docking station. However, VanTongeren teaches a cleaning operation being conducted as the robot is separated from a docking station (step 228 and 222 in figure 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish by having the cleaning operation (and such clockwise or counterclockwise rotation of the first drive shaft) occur as the robot is separated from the docking station, as taught by VanTongeren, for the purpose of cleaning as close to dock as possible.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malish et al (US 5645365 A1), in view of Jang, further in view of VanTongeren et al (US 20230190062) and further in view of Liu et al (US 20260114695 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Malish/Jang/VanTongeren discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3. Malish discloses removing the mopping module through activation of the driving motor.
However, Malish is silent regarding the claimed manner of removing the mopping module, that being “activating the driving motor so that the first drive shaft rotates in a remaining one of the clockwise direction or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction”, the time of removing the mopping module, that being “as the robot is coupled to the docking station”, and the manner of activation of the driving motor, that being control by a controller.
However, However, Liu teaches a drive motor rotating a first drive shaft in a remaining one of the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a pad replacement mode (paragraph 0055; when brush disc needs to be dismounted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing to modify Malish by having the drive motor rotating the first drive shaft in a remaining one of the clockwise or the counterclockwise direction about the first direction in a pad replacement mode, as taught by Liu for the purpose of using an alternative method of applying forces needed to remove the pad.
Furthermore, VanTongeren teaches a robot cleaner with a controller wherein, as the robot cleaner is coupled to the docking station, the controller controls the device to activate removal of the mop (paragraph 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Malish to have a controller, wherein as the robot cleaner is coupled to the docking station, the controller controls the device to activate removal of the mop, as taught by VanTongeren, to allow for cleaning of the mopping module or switching to a different mode of cleaning.
Conclusion
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772