DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 22, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on August 14, 2024 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the reference numbers in parenthesis should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1 is directed to “a system” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e. a machine or manufacture.
Claim 9 is directed to “a method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e. a process.
Claim 17 is directed to “a method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e. a process.
Each of Claims 1-19 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claims 1 and 9 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows: “ii. deriving one or more initial hemodynamic values from the hemodynamic waveform; iii. deriving, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, one or more raw hemodynamic values; iv. calculating a calibration factor based on the one or more raw hemodynamic values; v. calculating one or more estimated hemodynamic values based on the calibration factor, the one or more initial hemodynamic values, and the one or more raw hemodynamic values; vi. deriving an offset value based on a difference between the one or more estimated hemodynamic values and the one or more raw hemodynamic values; vii. adjusting the hemodynamic waveform based on the offset value to generate an adjusted hemodynamic waveform; and viii. outputting the adjusted hemodynamic waveform.”
Claim 17 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows: “b. deriving an initial systolic blood pressure (SBP) value and an initial waveform contractility value from the blood pressure waveform;
c. deriving, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, a diastolic transit time (DTT) value, a pulse pressure (PP) value, a raw diastolic blood pressure (DBP) value, an SBP value, and a waveform contractility value from the blood pressure waveform;
calculating, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, one or more estimated DBP values by a predefined formula which is:
e
D
B
P
(
t
)
=
S
B
P
0
-
m
0
*
D
T
T
(
t
)
*
(
C
(
t
)
C
0
)
-
1
wherein
e
D
B
P
(
t
)
=
S
B
P
0
-
m
0
*
D
T
T
(
t
)
*
(
C
(
t
)
C
0
)
-
1
,
t = time, SBP = systolic blood pressure, SBP0 = initial systolic blood pressure, DTT = diastolic transit time, C = waveform contractility, C0 = initial waveform contractility, PP = pulse pressure, PP0 = initial pulse pressure, and DBP = raw diastolic blood pressure; e. deriving an offset value based on a difference between the one or more estimated DBP values and the one or more raw DBP values; f. adjusting the blood pressure waveform based on the offset to generate an adjusted blood pressure waveform; and g. outputting the adjusted blood pressure waveform.”
In claims 1, 9 and 17, the above recited steps are mathematical concepts, which is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations. The Specification teaches that equations are used to calculate the DBP, DTT values, offset, calibration factors, see the equation in claim 17 and Spec. page 12. Which has been recognized as an abstract idea (i.e., a mathematical concept). Patent Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. In sum, we determine that Prong 1 recites a judicial exception, and proceed to Step 2A, Prong 2.
Therefore, each of the above steps are grouped as mathematical concepts, hence an abstract idea.
Prong Two: Claims 1, 9 and 17 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) “a sensor (100) coupled to the subject, wherein the sensor (100) is configured to measure a hemodynamic waveform comprising a plurality of heartbeats based on an unadjusted hemodynamic signal; and”
(2) “outputting the adjusted hemodynamic waveform.”.
(3) “a computing device (200) communicatively coupled to the sensor (100), comprising a processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for”.
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details).
The step in (2) represents merely notification outputting by a processor as a post-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality.
The steps in (3) merely recite generic computer components used to implement the abstract idea on, as tools.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated bio-information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1, 9 and 17 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of (1) “a sensor (100) coupled to the subject, wherein the sensor (100) is configured to measure a hemodynamic waveform comprising a plurality of heartbeats based on an unadjusted hemodynamic signal; and”
(2) “outputting the adjusted hemodynamic waveform.”.
(3) “a computing device (200) communicatively coupled to the sensor (100), comprising a processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions, and a memory component comprising computer-readable instructions for”.
These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality.
The sensors recited are so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(i).
Note that the pulse transit time (PTT) is known in the field of art as a mathematical variant of the pulse wave signal (or vibration waveforms), i.e., it can be derived from pulse wave signals via mathematical operations routinely practiced in the field of art. Accordingly, these additional steps and tools for measuring a pulse wave signal, and outputting a notification amount to no more than insignificant conventional extra-solution activity. Mere insignificant conventional extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept.
The recited processors and computer-readable storage medium are generic computer elements (i.d. para. [0073 - 0077] describing generic computers).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1, 9 and 17 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1, 9 and 17 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons:
Claims 3-8, 12-16 and 19 recitations further limits the abstract idea above, multiple heartbeats, and defining the information merely further defines the mental process or mathematical equations discussed above.
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons:
Claims 2, 10 and 18 further define the sensors used for insignificant extra-solution activity (data collection).
Claims 11 recitations merely recite data transmission to the output device discussed above as extra-solution activity (data output).
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 2020/0221960 A1) (“Jang”).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 11, Jang discloses A system for continuous, non-invasive, beat-to-beat hemodynamic monitoring of a subject, the system comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a. a sensor (100) coupled to the subject, wherein the sensor (100) is configured to measure a hemodynamic waveform comprising a plurality of heartbeats based on an unadjusted hemodynamic signal ([0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”); and
b. a computing device (200) communicatively coupled to the sensor (100), comprising a processor (210) configured to execute computer-readable instructions, and a memory component (220) comprising computer-readable instructions for ([0035], “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an apparatus 100 for estimating blood pressure according to embodiments. The blood pressure estimating apparatus 100 may be embedded in a terminal, such as a smartphone, a tablet PC, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, and the like, or may be manufactured as an independent hardware device.” And “processor 120” and [0049], memory):
i. receiving the hemodynamic waveform from the sensor (100) ([0039], “The processor 120 may receive a pulse wave signal from the pulse wave sensor 110, and may estimate blood pressure based on the received pulse wave signal.”);
ii. deriving one or more initial hemodynamic values from the hemodynamic waveform ([0039], “The processor 120 may receive a pulse wave signal from the pulse wave sensor 110, and may estimate blood pressure based on the received pulse wave signal.”);
iii. deriving, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, one or more raw hemodynamic values ([0039], “The processor 120 may receive a pulse wave signal from the pulse wave sensor 110, and may estimate blood pressure based on the received pulse wave signal.”);
iv. calculating a calibration factor based on the one or more raw hemodynamic values ([0056], “Therefore, the pulse wave signal corrector 310 may generate a reference signal based on the first pulse wave signal; and upon generating the reference signal, the pulse wave signal corrector 310 may correct the first pulse wave signal by using the reference signal.” And [0070], “Herein, ΔSBP denotes a variation in systolic blood pressure compared to the calibration time; ΔDBP denotes a variation in diastolic blood pressure compared to the calibration time; SBP.sub.c, MAP.sub.c, DBP.sub.c denote systolic blood pressure, mean arterial pressure, and diastolic blood pressure at the calibration time respectively, and may be values measured by an external blood pressure measuring device such as a cuff pressure measuring device; and Δf.sub.SBP and Δf.sub.DBP may be the normalized feature for systolic blood pressure and the normalized feature for diastolic blood pressure, which are normalized using the above Equation 2.”);
v. calculating one or more estimated hemodynamic values based on the calibration factor, the one or more initial hemodynamic values, and the one or more raw hemodynamic values ([0071], “Further, upon estimating the blood pressure variation, the blood pressure estimator 330 may estimate blood pressure based on a reference blood pressure. In this case, the reference blood pressure may be mean arterial pressure measured by a blood pressure measuring device at the calibration time. The following Equation 4 may be an example of a blood pressure estimation model that defines a correlation between an estimated blood pressure value, a blood pressure variation, and a reference blood pressure, and is an example of a linear combination equation, but is not limited thereto.”);
vi. deriving an offset value based on a difference between the one or more estimated hemodynamic values and the one or more raw hemodynamic values ([0072], “Herein, SBP.sub.est and DBP.sub.est each denote an estimated systolic blood pressure value and an estimate diastolic blood pressure value to be obtained; ΔSBP and ΔDBP denote a variation in systolic blood pressure and a variation in diastolic blood pressure respectively; and MAP.sub.c and DBP.sub.c denote mean arterial pressure and diastolic blood pressure at the calibration time respectively, and may be values measured by an external blood pressure measuring device such as a cuff-type blood pressure measuring device.”);
vii. adjusting the hemodynamic waveform based on the offset value to generate an adjusted hemodynamic waveform; and viii. outputting the adjusted hemodynamic waveform ([0063 – 0065], “Once the pulse wave signal corrector 310 obtains the waveform 44b of the second pulse wave signal, the feature obtainer 320 may obtain a feature for estimating blood pressure based on the waveform 44b of the second pulse wave signal. Further, the feature obtainer 320 may normalize the feature, obtained for estimating blood pressure, based on a feature at a calibration time.”).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Jang discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the sensor (100) comprises a capacitive pressure sensor, a photoplethysmography sensor, speckleplethysmograph sensor, an optical sensor, a tonometry-based device, or a combination thereof ([0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Jang discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured for continuous, non-invasive, beat-to-beat hemodynamic monitoring of a subject through the use of only one sensor (100) ([0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Jang discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the unadjusted hemodynamic signal is representative of information on blood pressure, cardiac output, vascular elasticity, and autonomic function ([0039], “The processor 120 may receive a pulse wave signal from the pulse wave sensor 110, and may estimate blood pressure based on the received pulse wave signal.”).
Regarding claim 8 Jang discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the hemodynamic waveform comprises a photoplethysmograph (PPG) waveform, a speckleplethysmograph (SPG) waveform, a continuous arterial pressure (CAP) waveform, or a combination thereof ([0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2020/0221960 A1) (“Jang”).
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses A method for continuous, non-invasive, beat-to-beat blood pressure monitoring of a subject, the method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a. measuring a blood pressure waveform based on an unadjusted hemodynamic signal through use of a sensor (100) coupled to the subject, wherein the unadjusted hemodynamic signal comprises a plurality of heartbeats ([0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”);
b. deriving an initial systolic blood pressure (SBP) value and an initial waveform contractility value from the blood pressure waveform ([0039], “The processor 120 may receive a pulse wave signal from the pulse wave sensor 110, and may estimate blood pressure based on the received pulse wave signal.”);
c. deriving, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, a diastolic transit time (DTT) value, a pulse pressure (PP) value, a raw diastolic blood pressure (DBP) value, an SBP value, and a waveform contractility value from the blood pressure waveform ([0056], “Therefore, the pulse wave signal corrector 310 may generate a reference signal based on the first pulse wave signal; and upon generating the reference signal, the pulse wave signal corrector 310 may correct the first pulse wave signal by using the reference signal.” And [0070], “Herein, ΔSBP denotes a variation in systolic blood pressure compared to the calibration time; ΔDBP denotes a variation in diastolic blood pressure compared to the calibration time; SBP.sub.c, MAP.sub.c, DBP.sub.c denote systolic blood pressure, mean arterial pressure, and diastolic blood pressure at the calibration time respectively, and may be values measured by an external blood pressure measuring device such as a cuff pressure measuring device; and Δf.sub.SBP and Δf.sub.DBP may be the normalized feature for systolic blood pressure and the normalized feature for diastolic blood pressure, which are normalized using the above Equation 2.”);
e. deriving an offset value based on a difference between the one or more estimated DBP values and the one or more raw DBP values ([0072], “Herein, SBP.sub.est and DBP.sub.est each denote an estimated systolic blood pressure value and an estimate diastolic blood pressure value to be obtained; ΔSBP and ΔDBP denote a variation in systolic blood pressure and a variation in diastolic blood pressure respectively; and MAP.sub.c and DBP.sub.c denote mean arterial pressure and diastolic blood pressure at the calibration time respectively, and may be values measured by an external blood pressure measuring device such as a cuff-type blood pressure measuring device.”);
f. adjusting the blood pressure waveform based on the offset to generate an adjusted blood pressure waveform; and g. outputting the adjusted blood pressure waveform ([0063 – 0065], “Once the pulse wave signal corrector 310 obtains the waveform 44b of the second pulse wave signal, the feature obtainer 320 may obtain a feature for estimating blood pressure based on the waveform 44b of the second pulse wave signal. Further, the feature obtainer 320 may normalize the feature, obtained for estimating blood pressure, based on a feature at a calibration time.”).
Jang fails to explicitly disclose d. calculating, for one or more heartbeats of the plurality of heartbeats, one or more estimated DBP values by a predefined formula which is:
e
D
B
P
(
t
)
=
S
B
P
0
-
m
0
*
D
T
T
(
t
)
*
(
C
(
t
)
C
0
)
-
1
wherein
e
D
B
P
(
t
)
=
S
B
P
0
-
m
0
*
D
T
T
(
t
)
*
(
C
(
t
)
C
0
)
-
1
,
t = time, SBP = systolic blood pressure, SBP0 = initial systolic blood pressure, DTT = diastolic transit time, C = waveform contractility, C0 = initial waveform contractility, PP = pulse pressure, PP0 = initial pulse pressure, and DBP = raw diastolic blood pressure;
However, Jang teaches the use of other formulas/equations as described in [0054], “However, Equation 1 is an example, such that the correction is not limited thereto.”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system/method as taught by Jang to include the specific equations as taught by Jang to measure accurately ([0054 – 0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Jang as modified discloses The method of claim 17, Jang as modified further discloses wherein the blood pressure waveform comprises a photoplethysmograph (PPG) waveform, a speckleplethysmograph (SPG) waveform, a continuous arterial pressure (CAP) waveform, or a combination thereof (Jang [0037], “The pulse wave sensor 110 may include a sensor that may obtain volume waves such as photoplethysmogram (PPG),”).
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Loh (US 2023/0293026 A1) (“Loh”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Jang discloses The system of claim 4, wherein the memory component (220) further comprises a machine learning model configured to estimate cardiac output, wherein the machine learning model is configured to accept the hemodynamic waveform as input and generate one or more estimated cardiac output values as output ([0087], “For example, the blood pressure estimator 530 may estimate blood pressure using Equation 7 that defines a relationship between MAP, PP, DBP, and SBP. However, the equation is not limited thereto, and blood pressure may also be estimated using various blood pressure estimation models predefined by various methods such as linear/nonlinear regression analysis, neural network, deep learning, and the like.”).
Jang fails to disclose generate one or more estimated cardiac output values as output.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Loh teaches generate one or more estimated cardiac output values as output ([0094] – [0111] discussing the machine learning model and input as waveform and output as CO and SV and HR, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Jang to include generate one or more estimated cardiac output values as output as taught by Jang to increase accuracy ([0031]).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Jang as modified discloses The system of claim 5, Jang as modified further discloses wherein the computer-readable instructions further comprise: a. inputting the hemodynamic waveform into the machine learning model; and b. generating, by the machine learning model, the one or more estimated cardiac output values (Loh [0094] – [0111] discussing the machine learning model and input as waveform and output as CO and SV and HR, etc.).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Jang as modified discloses The system of claim 6, Jang as modified further discloses wherein the computer-readable instructions further comprise: a. measuring one or more heart rate values from the hemodynamic waveform; and b. dividing the one or more estimated cardiac output values by the one or more heart rate values, resulting in one or more estimated stroke volume values (Loh [0094] – [0111] discussing the machine learning model and input as waveform and output as CO and SV and HR, etc.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Chegani et al. (US 2021/0353164 A1) (“Chegani”).
Regarding claim 18, Jang as modified discloses The method of claim 17, Jang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor (100) comprises a capacitive pressure sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chegani teaches wherein the sensor (100) comprises a capacitive pressure sensor ([0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Jang to include wherein the sensor (100) comprises a capacitive pressure sensor as taught by Chegani to increase comfort and reliability across different users ([0034]).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791