DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,650 in view of Yang et al. [Yang hereinafter, US 2013/0043115]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include the claimed subject matter of the present claims, except for the limitations below.
Regarding claims 1-3 of the instant application, claim 1 of ‘650 discloses the claimed invention except for a decorative sheet provided across the manipulation surface and the surface of the panel, wherein the decorative sheet has a predetermined elasticity with which the vibration is absorbed, and wherein the decorative sheet is attached to the manipulation surface and to the surface of the panel with an adhesive. Yang teaches [in Figs. 2-3B and par. 0022] a decorative sheet [14] provided across the manipulation surface [of 1211] and the surface of the panel [13], wherein the decorative sheet [14] has a predetermined elasticity with which the vibration is absorbed, and wherein the decorative sheet [14] is attached to the manipulation surface and to the surface of the panel with an adhesive [par. 0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the decorative sheet of Yang with the switch module of ‘605 in order to protect the parts of the switch module.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,650 in view of Brown et al. [Brown hereinafter, US 2020/0117274] in view of Yang et al. [Yang hereinafter, US 2013/0043115]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include the claimed subject matter of the present claims, except for the limitations below.
Regarding claim 8 of the instant application, claim 2 of ‘650 discloses claimed invention except for the manipulation member, the base portion, the vibration element, and the stationary member are placed in a direction from the surface of the panel toward a rear surface side opposite to the surface of the panel, starting from the manipulation member, followed by the base portion, followed by the vibration element, followed by the stationary member. Brown teaches [in Figs. 8-11] the manipulation member [52], the base portion [51], the vibration element [60], and the stationary member [55] are placed in a direction from the surface of the panel [54] toward a rear surface side opposite to the surface of the panel [54], starting from the manipulation member [52], followed by the base portion [51], followed by the vibration element [60], followed by the stationary member [55]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange manipulation member, base portion, vibration element and stationary member as taught by Brown in order to actuate the switch and achieve the tactile feedback as desired. Brown and ‘650 also do not disclose a decorative sheet provided across the manipulation surface of the manipulation member and the surface of the panel. Yang teaches [in Figs. 2-3B] a decorative sheet [14] provided over the switch module and across the manipulation surface of the manipulation member [1211] and the surface of the panel [13]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the decorative sheet of Yang with the switch module of ‘625, as modified by Brown, in order to protect the parts of the switch module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. [Brown hereinafter, US 2020/0117274] in view of Yang et al. [Yang hereinafter, US 2013/0043115].
In regard to claims 1-3, Brown discloses [in Figs. 8-11] a switch module comprising: a panel [54] having an opening [56] in a surface; a switch to be attached to the panel, the switch comprising: a stationary member [55] to be attached to the panel [54]; a movable member [52] to be placed at a distance from the panel [54], the movable member having a manipulation surface separated from the panel in the opening [56] with a gap intervening between the manipulation surface and the panel [54], the manipulation surface being exposed from the opening [56]; and a vibration element [60] disposed between the stationary member [55] and the movable member [52], the vibration element [60] being configured to vibrate the movable member [52]. Brown does not disclose a decorative sheet provided across the manipulation surface and the surface of the panel, wherein the decorative sheet has a predetermined elasticity with which the vibration is absorbed, and wherein the decorative sheet is attached to the manipulation surface and to the surface of the panel with an adhesive. Yang teaches [in Figs. 2-3B] a disclose a decorative sheet [14] provided across the manipulation surface [of 1211] and the surface of the panel [13], wherein the decorative sheet [14] has a predetermined elasticity with which the vibration is absorbed, and wherein the decorative sheet [14] is attached to the manipulation surface and to the surface of the panel [13] with an adhesive [par. 0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the decorative sheet of Yang with the switch module of Brown in order to protect the parts of the switch module.
In regard to claim 8, Brown discloses [in Figs. 8-11] switch module comprising: a panel [54] having an opening [56] in a surface; and a switch to be attached to the panel having an opening in a surface, the switch comprising: a stationary member [55] to be attached to the panel [54]; a manipulation member [52] to be placed at a distance from the panel [54], the manipulation member [52] having a manipulation surface separated from the panel [54] in the opening [56] with a gap intervening between the manipulation surface and the panel [54], the manipulation surface being exposed from the opening [56]; a base portion [51] disposed between the manipulation member [52] and the stationary member [55], the base portion [51] being fixed together with the manipulation member [52], the base portion [51] being configured to be movable together with the manipulation member [52], relative to the stationary member [55]; and a vibration element [60] configured to vibrate the manipulation member [52]; wherein the manipulation member [52], the base portion [51], the vibration element [60], and the stationary member [55] are placed in a direction from the surface of the panel [54] toward a rear surface side opposite to the surface of the panel [54], starting from the manipulation member [52], followed by the base portion [51], followed by the vibration element [60], followed by the stationary member [55]. Brown does not disclose a decorative sheet provided across the manipulation surface of the manipulation member and the surface of the panel. Yang teaches [in Figs. 2-3B] a decorative sheet [14] provided over the switch module and across the manipulation surface of the manipulation member [1211] and the surface of the panel [13]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the decorative sheet of Yang with the switch module of Brown in order to protect the parts of the switch module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 4, in combination with other limitations, a non-existence area on which the adhesive is not present, the non-existence area being provided across: the gap; a first portion on a first area adjacent to the gap, the first area being on the manipulation surface; and a second portion on a second area adjacent to the gap, the second area being on the surface of the panel is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
In regard to claim 9, in combination with other limitations, a case member fixed together with the base portion, wherein the decorative sheet, the manipulation member, the base portion, the vibration element, the stationary member, and the case member are placed in a direction from the surface of the panel toward a rear surface side opposite to the surface of the panel, starting from the decorative sheet, followed by the manipulation member, followed by the base portion, followed by the vibration element, followed by the stationary member, followed by the case member is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831