DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed June 9, 2026.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims in the filed amendment. Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/9/26, have been fully considered.
The previous claim objections and 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Applicants arguments regarding the Double Patenting is not persuasive. Therefore the Double Patenting rejection remains and is incorporated herein by reference.
Applicants arguments regarding the previous 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. However a new grounds of rejection is made under 103 based on Kamimura in view of Multani, as presented below.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of the Office Action dated 3/9/25 is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-9,11,13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura et al (US Publication 20120284244) in view of Multani et al (US Patent 10025943).
In reference to claim 1, Kamimura a method of setting service configuration information in a computing environment (see ¶s 2,4,25, where Kamimura teaches configurations in a relational database environment), comprising:
receiving, at a host, a request for service configuration information for a target service of a plurality of services; (see at least ¶s 26,30,43, where Kamimura teaches receiving transaction information for a target application service)
retrieving a current revision identifier of a current revision of service configuration information for the target service from a revision index key in a local replica of a configuration store, (see at least ¶s 41,44,47, where Kamimura teaches acquiring version information for log information related to a local application service)
the revision index key storing one or more key-value pairs, a specific key-value pair of the one or more key-value pairs having a key that identifies the target service and a value that stores the current revision identifier; (see at least ¶s 39,40,46, where Kamimura teaches the log information storing key-value pairs identifying information related to the application service)
assigning, to a new revision of the service configuration information for the target service, a new revision identifier based on the current revision identifier; writing the new service configuration information into the new revision in the local replica of the configuration store; (see at least ¶s 41,49,50, where Kamimura teaches assigning a new version based on incrementing the current version, and writing the update to the log information related to the application)
updating the value of the specific key-value pair of the revision index key in an atomic compare-and-swap operation, the atomic compare-and-swap operation comprising: (see at least ¶ 50,55,56, where Kamimura teaches committing the update by utilizing a CAS (compare and swap) command)
a compare that verifies that the current revision identifier stored in the value of the specific key-value pair of the revision index key has remained the same since the retrieving; (see at least ¶s 51,52,61-63, where Kamimura teaches comparing to verify that the version value has remained the same) and
a swap that, conditioned on success of the compare, updates the value of the specific key- value pair to store the new revision identifier, wherein the method is performed using one or more processors. (see at least ¶s 53,54,64-66, where Kamimura teaches swapping to commit the key-value pair update)
Kamimura fails to explicitly teach a method of setting service configuration information in a distribute computing environment, and receiving, at a host, a request to set new service configuration information for a target service of a plurality of services available in a distributed computing environment; and writing the new service configuration information into a new revision, including writing one or more keys that each include the new revision identifier as part of the key. However, Multani teaches configuration management in a distributed environment (see Multani, at least Background, Fig 5 & column 6 lines 58-67). And discloses receiving a request to set new configuration and writing the new configuration into a new version (see Multani, see at least column 3 lines 27-33 and column 7 lines 24-50), and discloses writing the keys in an extended manner so as to include the version identifier with the key (see Multani, at least column 5 line 57 – column 6 line 10 and column 7 lines 1-23). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kamimura based on the teachings of Multani for the purpose of improving data management and quality control over data storage and data sharing.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 25,40-43, which teaches the logs comprise character strings for the application service and the configuration information comprising key value pairs.
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶ 42, which teaches new WAL identifier values which are smaller than the current values.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 40,41, which teaches key value pairs as identifiers.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 49-52, which teaches verifying the writing is successful before updating the values.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 51,52, which teaches verifying the key version has stayed the same.
In reference to claim 8, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 42,48,52, which teaches subsequent configurations, and indicating a failure when a failure occurs.
In reference to claim 9, this is taught by Kamimura, see at least ¶s 59-65, which teaches subsequent configurations, subsequent compare and swap operation, and indicating a failure when a failure occurs.
Claims 11,13,19 are slight variations of the rejected claims 1,3-9 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims 3,10,12,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura et al (US Publication 20120284244) in view of Multani et al (US Patent 10025943) in further view of Abdelaziz et al (US Publication 20040044727).
In reference to claim 3, Kamimura fails to explicitly teach a request received via a localhost network interface of the host. However, Abdelaziz teaches sharing resource configuration indexes between hosts, and receiving a request via localhost of the host interface (see Abdelaziz, at least Abstract & ¶s 11,128,653,663). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kamimura based on the teachings of Abdelaziz for the purpose of enabling resource configuration sharing across in a diverse computing environment.
In reference to claim 10, this is taught by Abdelaziz, see at least ¶s 21,675,676, which teaches advertisement between other hosts which notify resource configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Kamimura based on the teachings of Abdelaziz in accordance to the rationale as given for claim 3.
Claim 12,20 is a slight variation of the rejected claims 3,10 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
August 18, 2026