DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 and 06/03/2025 have been fully considered by examiner and made of record.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a statutory double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18,741,977 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,758,041. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,203. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 18 recite the limitation "the content provider identifier" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner believes this limitations should read “the client identifier.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 and 14 recite the limitation " wherein one of a plurality of enhanced call content profiles comprises a plurality of calling device numbers which are not assigned to a calling device and one other enhanced call content profiles comprises a calling device number, and wherein the calling device number is one of the plurality of calling device numbers assigned to the selected default enhanced call content profile. " There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the “one other” enhanced call content profile is part of the plurality of profiles or separate from them; it is unclear whether the enhanced call content profile of claim 1 is part of the plurality of profiles or separate from them. For these reasons, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balan et al (US 2013/0331073).
Regarding Claim 1, Balan teaches a method ([0035], Fig. 2) comprising: forwarding enhanced call content ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4))
associated with a selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], such caller-specific information may be stored in association with information for a subscriber account. The subscriber account may be associated with the particular originating device 210 and may be identified within the mobile communications network according to the MDN assigned to originating device 210),
based on a call identifier associated with a call, to a call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240),
wherein the enhanced call content comprises one or more images ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4). In addition to the image data, SCP 240 may be configured to retrieve additional caller-specific information, for example, from a database (e.g., database 155 of FIG. 1) of image server system 250 or other backend systems or devices of the mobile communication network. Examples of additional caller-specific information that may be retrieved include, but are not limited to, the caller's name and location (e.g., city and state)) associated with a primary service entity or one or more images associated with a shared service entity ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 2, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining the call identifier comprises a calling device number and a call recipient device number assigned to the call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240); and selecting, based on the calling device number and the call recipient device number, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to the call identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 3, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining the call identifier comprises a content provider identifier; and selecting, based on the content provider identifier, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to a content provider as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 4, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining the call identifier comprises a client identifier; and selecting, based on a content provider identifier, a default profile assigned to the client identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 5, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call).
Regarding Claim 6, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, comprising determining default enhanced call content stored in the selected default enhanced call content profile has changed since a last call was made to the call recipient device; and forwarding the default enhanced call content to the call recipient device ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call).
Regarding Claim 7, Balan teaches the method of claim 1, comprising one of a plurality of enhanced call content profiles comprises a plurality of calling device numbers which are not assigned to a calling device and one other enhanced call content profiles comprises a calling device number, and wherein the calling device number is one of the plurality of calling device numbers assigned to the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0013], the subscriber account for a caller may correspond to an individual user having one or more mobile devices or a business enterprise having numerous mobile devices, e.g., issued to different enterprise personnel. A benefit, particularly for enterprise subscribers, of the subject technology described herein is providing such an enterprise mobile subscriber with an option to send selected image content for display in real-time with incoming call notifications at recipient mobile devices (e.g., of actual or prospective enterprise customers). Further, the present techniques enable the enterprise to send enterprise-specific image content that is consistent for calls originating from any of the mobile devices associated with the enterprise subscriber account. Such enterprise-specific image content may include, for example and without limitation, a company logo, trademark or service mark of the enterprise organization. Additionally, such image content may include advertising information related to products or services provided by the enterprise. In an example, enterprise-wide notifications including a slogan or tagline for a product or service offered by the enterprise may be provided in real-time with an incoming call at a recipient's mobile device. In a further example, specialized content related enterprise personnel including, for example, an official title associated with an employee, may be provided with the incoming call).
Regarding Claim 8, Balan teaches an apparatus comprising a processor ([0017, 0055, 0035], Fig. 2) configured to forward enhanced call content ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4))
associated with a selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], such caller-specific information may be stored in association with information for a subscriber account. The subscriber account may be associated with the particular originating device 210 and may be identified within the mobile communications network according to the MDN assigned to originating device 210),
based on a call identifier associated with a call, to a call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240),
wherein the enhanced call content comprises one or more images ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4). In addition to the image data, SCP 240 may be configured to retrieve additional caller-specific information, for example, from a database (e.g., database 155 of FIG. 1) of image server system 250 or other backend systems or devices of the mobile communication network. Examples of additional caller-specific information that may be retrieved include, but are not limited to, the caller's name and location (e.g., city and state)) associated with a primary service entity or one or more images associated with a shared service entity ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 9, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the call identifier comprises a calling device number and a call recipient device number assigned to the call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240); and select, based on the calling device number and the call recipient device number, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to the call identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 10, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the call identifier comprises a content provider identifier; and select, based on the content provider identifier, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to a content provider as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 11, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the call identifier comprises a client identifier; and select, based on a content provider identifier, a default profile assigned to the client identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 12, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call)..
Regarding Claim 13, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine default enhanced call content stored in the selected default enhanced call content profile has changed since a last call was made to the call recipient device; and forward the default enhanced call content to the call recipient device wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call)..
Regarding Claim 14, Balan teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein one of a plurality of enhanced call content profiles comprises a plurality of calling device numbers which are not assigned to a calling device and one other enhanced call content profiles comprises a calling device number, and wherein the calling device number is one of the plurality of calling device numbers assigned to the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0013], the subscriber account for a caller may correspond to an individual user having one or more mobile devices or a business enterprise having numerous mobile devices, e.g., issued to different enterprise personnel. A benefit, particularly for enterprise subscribers, of the subject technology described herein is providing such an enterprise mobile subscriber with an option to send selected image content for display in real-time with incoming call notifications at recipient mobile devices (e.g., of actual or prospective enterprise customers). Further, the present techniques enable the enterprise to send enterprise-specific image content that is consistent for calls originating from any of the mobile devices associated with the enterprise subscriber account. Such enterprise-specific image content may include, for example and without limitation, a company logo, trademark or service mark of the enterprise organization. Additionally, such image content may include advertising information related to products or services provided by the enterprise. In an example, enterprise-wide notifications including a slogan or tagline for a product or service offered by the enterprise may be provided in real-time with an incoming call at a recipient's mobile device. In a further example, specialized content related enterprise personnel including, for example, an official title associated with an employee, may be provided with the incoming call).
Regarding Claim 15, Balan teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor ([0017, 0055, 0035], Fig. 2) to perform: forwarding enhanced call content ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4))
associated with a selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], such caller-specific information may be stored in association with information for a subscriber account. The subscriber account may be associated with the particular originating device 210 and may be identified within the mobile communications network according to the MDN assigned to originating device 210),
based on a call identifier associated with a call, to a call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240),
wherein the enhanced call content comprises one or more images ([0036], caller-specific information including image data associated with the subscriber at originating device 210 is acquired from image server system 250 (S3 and S4). In addition to the image data, SCP 240 may be configured to retrieve additional caller-specific information, for example, from a database (e.g., database 155 of FIG. 1) of image server system 250 or other backend systems or devices of the mobile communication network. Examples of additional caller-specific information that may be retrieved include, but are not limited to, the caller's name and location (e.g., city and state)) associated with a primary service entity or one or more images associated with a shared service entity ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 16, Balan teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform determining the call identifier comprises a calling device number and a call recipient device number assigned to the call recipient device ([0035], FIG. 2, the call setup (S1) from originating device 210 includes the mobile device number (MDN) corresponding to the recipient device 260, as entered or dialed by the caller at device 210. The call setup may also include information identifying the originating device 210 within the mobile communication network. Such information may include, for example, the MDN or other unique device identifier associated with device 210. The originating switch 220 routes the relevant call setup information to SCP 240, for example, by including this information within a call origination request (S2) sent to SCP 240); and selecting, based on the calling device number and the call recipient device number, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to the call identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 17, Balan teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform determining the call identifier comprises a content provider identifier; and selecting, based on the content provider identifier, a default enhanced call content profile assigned to a content provider as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0036], additional information that may be retrieved for the incoming call notification may also include a Friends and Family ("FnF") indicator displayed, for example, when the MDN of the recipient mobile device 260 (as dialed by the caller at originating device 210) is determined to be included within a Friends and Family list associated with the caller, as will be described below with respect FIG. 3. Also, as described further below, the incoming call notification may include a Mobile to Mobile ("M2M") indicator displayed, for example, when it is determined that the MDN of the originating device 210 and the MDN of the recipient device 260 are associated with the same wireless carrier or mobile communication service provider).
Regarding Claim 18, Balan teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform determining the call identifier comprises a client identifier; and selecting, based on a content provider identifier, a default profile assigned to the client identifier as the selected default enhanced call content profile ([0043], various lists of friends or family members may be associated with a public profile of a subscriber within a third-party social networking site. In an example, the mobile communication network may include a service capable of retrieving information associated with the subscriber's public profile from the social networking site. The information may be used, for example, to populate the caller's picture on the incoming call display screen 300, as described above. As this may or may not be picture the caller wishes to share for calls made to business clients, for example, the service may further allow the caller/subscriber to upload different image content as to display a custom image based on the recipient of each call. For example, the image content may include a graphical icon or logo (e.g., a Company logo) to be displayed for calls made to clients or customers of the caller. In some implementations, a subscriber may assign a priority or further specify which of a plurality of images should be selected and delivered for a voice call to the recipient mobile device. For example, an enterprise subscriber may assign a default priority to an enterprise logo or specify the logo is always provided for each voice call, but the personal image of the particular caller (e.g., employee associated with the particular mobile device associated with the enterprise account) may be provided only if available before the call to the recipient mobile device is allowed to complete (e.g., within a predetermined time period, as described above).
Regarding Claim 19, Balan teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call)..
Regarding Claim 20, Balan teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform determining default enhanced call content stored in the selected default enhanced call content profile has changed since a last call was made to the call recipient device; and forwarding the default enhanced call content to the call recipient device wherein the selected default enhanced call content profile is selected based on newly updated enhanced call content identified in the selected default enhanced call content profile since a previous enhanced call content forwarding event ([0041], When the serving switch 230 completes the call with recipient device 260, the recipient device 260 receives a call page or notification for the incoming phone call from originating device 210. In response to the incoming call page including the caller-specific image and other data, recipient device 260 displays an incoming call screen including the caller-specific data for the user at device 260. In some implementations, an application client installed and executable at recipient device 260, as described above, is invoked with the caller data in response to the incoming call notification or page so as to present the incoming call display screen to the user. The image data and other caller information may be retrieved by SCP 240 and cached for subsequent calls from the same caller or originating device 210 to the same recipient device 260, unless it was updated by the caller prior to the call. In an example, this data may be cached for an indefinite period of time, unless or until SCP 240 receives an indication (e.g., from image server system 250) that the information has been updated by the caller at some point prior to a subsequent voice call).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kats et al (US 2021/0344792) teaches Automated dialing of an entity from a curated list of entities responsive to user selections of dial pad entries, the curated list of entities formed from phrases formed from the dial pad entries. The curated list of entities is based on at least one of user call activity, search engine activity responsive to the phrases, a set of Sender Controlled Media participants, a set of categories of contacts, and entity offerings. (Abstract);
Sankaranarayanan et al (US 2014/0273962) teaches If the user is successfully authenticated in block 406 (or if no authentication is used), the method 400 advances to block 408 in which the communal mobile communication device 102 determines whether a personal profile identification for the selected user is available in the personal profile database 122. That is, the communal mobile communication device 102 determines whether the user has previously set-up or registered a personal profile identification. If so, the communal mobile communication device 102 retrieves the personal profile identification associated with the selected call identity (i.e., associated with the user) in block 410. However, if no personal profile identification is available, the communal mobile communication device 102 assigns a default personal profile identification in block 412. The default personal profile identification may be embodied as any type of identification and may, in some embodiments, identity only that the call is originating from the communal mobile communication device 102. Alternatively, in some embodiments, the default personal profile identification may be embodied as a null set (i.e., no personal profile identification is assigned). In some embodiments, the user of the communal mobile communication device 102 may enter a personal profile identification at the time of the call if, for example, the personal profile identification is not stored on the communal mobile communication device 102. ([0036]);
Wu et al (US 7,023,979) teaches A communications management system comprising an input for receiving a communications classification; a database of skill weights with respect to the communications classification; a database of agent skill scores; and a processor, for computing, with respect to the received communication classification, an optimum agent selection, the processor directly controlling a routing of the information representing the received call. (Abstract)
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641