DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Applicants’ responses in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1, 28-30, 48, 55-56, 64, 66-67, 84-118 are pending. Claims 1, 28-30, 48, 55-56, and 84-104 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 64, 66-67, and 105-118 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Claims 2-27, 31-47, 49-54, 57-63, 65, and 68-83 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 22 November 2024, 02 March 2026, and 26 May 2026 are noted and the submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the references. Signed copies are attached herein.
Priority
. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe (EP 23201068.6) on 09/29/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP 23201068.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 28-30, 48, 55-56, and 84-104) drawn to a tablet in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 is acknowledged. Additionally, Applicant’s election with traverse of bictegravir sodium and lenacapavir sodium as the types of actives and monolayer tablet as the form of the tablet in the reply filed on 26 May 2026 is also acknowledged. Th traversal is on the grounds that search of bictegravir and lenacapavir will naturally reveal all species of the same and will naturally reveal any compositions and dosage forms relating to the same and therefore, there would not be an undue burden on the examiner on both species.
The above assertions regarding the species election requirements are not found persuasive because a prior art disclosing a specific species of bictegravir and lenacapavir does not necessarily disclose or naturally reveal all the different structural free base or salt possibilities. Similarly, prior art disclosing a specific dosage form comprising the recited actives would not necessarily disclose or naturally reveal all the different dosage form possibilities. The species differ with respect to structure, properties, function, design, and/or mechanism of actions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Note: The claims are examined with respect to the elected species wherein dexamethasone as the crystalline drug type and polylactic acid as the shell material.
Claims 1, 28-30, 48, 55-56, and 84-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BEKERMAN et al. (US2021/0188815, IDS reference, 05/26/2026).
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a recites “A tablet comprising bictegravir sodium (elected) and lenacapavir sodium (elected), wherein the tablet is a monolayer tablet (elected), the amount of bictegravir sodium corresponds to 75 mg bictegravir free acid, and the amount of lenacapavir sodium corresponds to 50 mg lenacapavir free acid.” Claim 28 recites “The tablet according to claim 1, wherein the tablet further comprises copovidone, poloxamer, mannitol, microcrystalline cellulose, croscarmellose sodium and magnesium stearate.” Claim 29 recites “The tablet according to claim 2, wherein the tablet comprises about-5-30 mg copovidone, about 0.5-10 mg poloxamer, about 50-200 mg mannitol, about 50-250 mg microcrystalline cellulose, about 25-50 mg croscarmellose sodium and about 1- 10 mg magnesium stearate.” Dependent claims thereof recite other features.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
BEKERMAN et al. teach methods of preventing HIV in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of compounds of Formula (la) or (lb) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, optionally in combination with one or more additional therapeutic agents. Methods of reducing the risk of acquiring HIV (e.g, HIV-1 and/or HIV-2) are also provided (see abstract). A method of preventing an HIV infection in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib):
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 1). In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 200 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 300 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 400 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 500 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 800 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 1000 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 100 mg, about 125 mg, about 150 mg, about 175 mg, about 200 mg, about 225 mg, about 250 mg, about 275 mg, about 300 mg, about 325 mg, about 350 mg, about 375 mg, about 400 mg, about 425 mg, about 450 mg, about 475 mg, about 500 mg, about 525 mg, about 550 mg, about 575 mg, about 600 mg, about 625 mg, about 650 mg, about 675 mg, about 700 mg, about 725 mg, about 750 mg, about 775 mg, about 800 mg, about 825 mg, about 850 mg, about 875 mg, about 900 mg, about 925 mg, about 950 mg, about 975 mg, about 1000 mg, about 1025 mg, about 1050 mg, about 1075 mg, about 1100 mg, about 1125 mg, about 1150 mg, about 1175 mg, about 1200 mg, about 1250 mg, about 1300 mg, about 1350 mg, about 1400 mg, about 1450 mg, about 1500 mg, about 1550 mg, about 1600 mg, about 1650 mg, about 1700 mg, about 1750 mg, about 1800 mg, about 1850 mg, about 1900 mg, about 1950 mg, about 2000 mg, about 2050 mg, about 2100 mg, about 2150 mg, about 2200 mg, about 2250 mg, about 2300 mg, about 2350 mg, about 2400 mg, about 2450 mg, about 2500 mg, about 2550 mg, about 2600 mg, about 2650 mg, about 2700 mg, about 2750 mg, about 2800 mg, about 2850 mg, about 2900 mg, about 2950 mg, or about 3000 mg (see paragraph 0154). In some embodiments, the composition comprises the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a salt thereof, and one or more additional compounds (e.g., one or more additional therapeutic compounds), or salts thereof. In some embodiments, the composition comprises the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a salt thereof; bictegravir, or a salt thereof; and one or more additional compounds (e.g., one or more additional therapeutic compounds such as tenofovir alafenamide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof), or salts thereof (paragraph 0159). In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in combination with an additional therapeutic agent which is bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (paragraph 0371). In some embodiments, the additional therapeutic agent is bictegravir sodium (i.e., a bictegravir sodium salt). In some embodiments, the bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 1 mg to about 2000 mg, for example, about 1 mg, about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 25 mg, about 50 mg, about 75 mg, about 100 mg, about 125 mg, about 150 mg, about 175 mg, about 200 mg, about 225 mg, about 250 mg, about 275 mg, about 300 mg, about 325 mg, about 350 mg, about 375 mg, about 400 mg, about 425 mg, about 450 mg, about 475 mg, about 500 mg, about 525 mg, about 550 mg, about 575 mg, about 600 mg, about 625 mg, about 650 mg, about 675 mg, about 700 mg, about 725 mg, about 750 mg, about 775 mg, about 800 mg, about 825 mg, about 850 mg, about 875 mg, about 900 mg, about 925 mg, about 950 mg, about 975 mg, about 1000 mg, about 1025 mg, about 1050 mg, about 1075 mg, about 1100 mg, about 1125 mg, about 1150 mg, about 1175 mg, about 1200 mg, about 1225 mg, about 1250 mg, about 1275 mg, about 1300 mg, about 1325 mg, about 1350 mg, about 1375 mg, about 1400 mg, about 1425 mg, about 1450 mg. about 1475 mg. about 1500 mg, about 1525 mg, about 1550 mg, about 1575 mg, about 1600 mg, about 1625 mg, about 1650 mg, about 1675 mg, about 1700 mg, about 1725 mg, about 1750 mg, about 1775 mg, about 1800 mg, about 1825 mg, about 1850 mg, about 1900 mg, about 1925 mg, about 1950 mg, about 1975 mg, or about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 200 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 200 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 1000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 600 mg (e.g., at a dosage of about about 50 mg, about 100 mg, about 150 mg, about 200 mg, about 250 mg, about 300 mg, about 350 mg, about 400 mg, about 400 mg, about 450 mg, about 500 mg, about 550 mg, or about 600 mg). In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 150 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 75 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 45 mg to about 55 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 50 mg. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of bictegravir. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is bictegravir sodium salt. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered as the sodium salt in a dosage of about 52 mg (e.g., 52.5 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered as the sodium salt in a dosage of about 104 mg (e.g., 105 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered subcutaneously (e.g., in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 2000 mg; a dosage of from about 100 mg to about 600 mg; a dosage of from about 100 mg to about 500 mg; a dosage of about 400 mg; a dosage of about 500 mg; or a dosage of about 600 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered orally (e.g., in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 200 mg; a dosage of about 50 mg; or a dosage of about 100 mg). In some embodiments, the bicetgravir is administered in a long-acting (or sustained release) dosage form (paragraph 0372). The method of claim 1, wherein the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is formulated as a tablet (see claim 11). The method of claim 11, wherein the tablet comprises from about 5 mg to about 500 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 12). The method of claim 11, wherein the tablet comprises about 50 mg or about 300 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 13). n some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is formulated as a tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises from about 5 mg to about 500 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 50 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 300 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (paragraph 0167). In some embodiments, the tablet disclosed herein comprises a compound of Formula (Ia) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ib), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate (paragraph 0312). In some embodiments, the tablet disclosed herein comprises a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 5 mg to about 500 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 500 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 400 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 50 mg to about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 5 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 10 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 20 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 30 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 40 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 50 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 75 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 100 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 125 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 150 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 175 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 200 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 225 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 250 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 275 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 325 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 350 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 375 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 400 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 425 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 450 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 475 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 500 mg (paragraph 0313). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 3% weight gain from Opadry® II White 85F18422, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 3.0% weight gain from Opadry® II White 85F18422, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0324). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110187, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4.0% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110187, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0325). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110186, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4.0% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110186, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0326). In certain embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is combined with one or more additional therapeutic agents in a unitary dosage form for simultaneous administration to a subject, for example, as a solid dosage form for oral administration (e.g., a fixed dose combination tablet) (which the examiner interprets as a monolayer tablet)(paragraph 0383). Co-administration of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, with one or more additional therapeutic agents generally refers to simultaneous or sequential administration of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more additional therapeutic agents, such that therapeutically effective amounts of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more additional therapeutic agents are both present in the body of the subject (paragraph 0384). BERKMAN et al. clearly teach for a 25 mg or 50 mg lenacapavir sodium tablet: e.g., 20.46 % LEN sodium, 4.88 % copovidone, 1.33 % poloxamer 407, 21.28 % microcrystalline cellulose 42.55 % mannitol, 8.00 % croscarmellose sodium, and 1.50 % magnesium stearate.). Scaling that 50 mg lenacapavir sodium core (≈ 125–250 mg total core weight depending on drug load) and adding a 75 mg bictegravir sodium portion (typical bictegravir tablet core 200-350 mg) produces a combined monolayer core whose individual excipient masses fall squarely inside the claimed ranges:
Excipient
Claimed Range
Result of routine scale up
Poloxamer
0.5-10 mg
approximately 1.5-4 mg
Mannitol
50-200 mg
approximately 50-110 mg
Magnesium stearate
1-10 mg
approximately 2-6 mg
Microcrystalline cellulose
50-250 mg
approximately 80-180 mg
Copovidone
5-30 mg
approximately 6-15 mg
Croscarmellose Sodium
25-50 mg
approximately 20-40 mg
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
BEKERMAN et al. teach the claimed invention in obvious manner teaching the amounts of the ingredients and actives in overlapping manner. This is addressed in the prima facie argument set forth below.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to produce the instant invention by following the teachings of BEKERMAN et al. because BEKERMAN et al. teach all of the elements claimed in the instant invention in obvious manner. BEKERMAN et al. teach methods of preventing HIV in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of compounds of Formula (la) or (lb) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, optionally in combination with one or more additional therapeutic agents. Methods of reducing the risk of acquiring HIV (e.g, HIV-1 and/or HIV-2) are also provided (see abstract). A method of preventing an HIV infection in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib):
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 1). In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 200 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 300 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 400 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 500 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 800 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 1000 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered monthly at a dose of about 100 mg, about 125 mg, about 150 mg, about 175 mg, about 200 mg, about 225 mg, about 250 mg, about 275 mg, about 300 mg, about 325 mg, about 350 mg, about 375 mg, about 400 mg, about 425 mg, about 450 mg, about 475 mg, about 500 mg, about 525 mg, about 550 mg, about 575 mg, about 600 mg, about 625 mg, about 650 mg, about 675 mg, about 700 mg, about 725 mg, about 750 mg, about 775 mg, about 800 mg, about 825 mg, about 850 mg, about 875 mg, about 900 mg, about 925 mg, about 950 mg, about 975 mg, about 1000 mg, about 1025 mg, about 1050 mg, about 1075 mg, about 1100 mg, about 1125 mg, about 1150 mg, about 1175 mg, about 1200 mg, about 1250 mg, about 1300 mg, about 1350 mg, about 1400 mg, about 1450 mg, about 1500 mg, about 1550 mg, about 1600 mg, about 1650 mg, about 1700 mg, about 1750 mg, about 1800 mg, about 1850 mg, about 1900 mg, about 1950 mg, about 2000 mg, about 2050 mg, about 2100 mg, about 2150 mg, about 2200 mg, about 2250 mg, about 2300 mg, about 2350 mg, about 2400 mg, about 2450 mg, about 2500 mg, about 2550 mg, about 2600 mg, about 2650 mg, about 2700 mg, about 2750 mg, about 2800 mg, about 2850 mg, about 2900 mg, about 2950 mg, or about 3000 mg (see paragraph 0154). In some embodiments, the composition comprises the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a salt thereof, and one or more additional compounds (e.g., one or more additional therapeutic compounds), or salts thereof. In some embodiments, the composition comprises the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a salt thereof; bictegravir, or a salt thereof; and one or more additional compounds (e.g., one or more additional therapeutic compounds such as tenofovir alafenamide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof), or salts thereof (paragraph 0159). In some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in combination with an additional therapeutic agent which is bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (paragraph 0371). In some embodiments, the additional therapeutic agent is bictegravir sodium (i.e., a bictegravir sodium salt). In some embodiments, the bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 1 mg to about 2000 mg, for example, about 1 mg, about 5 mg, about 10 mg, about 25 mg, about 50 mg, about 75 mg, about 100 mg, about 125 mg, about 150 mg, about 175 mg, about 200 mg, about 225 mg, about 250 mg, about 275 mg, about 300 mg, about 325 mg, about 350 mg, about 375 mg, about 400 mg, about 425 mg, about 450 mg, about 475 mg, about 500 mg, about 525 mg, about 550 mg, about 575 mg, about 600 mg, about 625 mg, about 650 mg, about 675 mg, about 700 mg, about 725 mg, about 750 mg, about 775 mg, about 800 mg, about 825 mg, about 850 mg, about 875 mg, about 900 mg, about 925 mg, about 950 mg, about 975 mg, about 1000 mg, about 1025 mg, about 1050 mg, about 1075 mg, about 1100 mg, about 1125 mg, about 1150 mg, about 1175 mg, about 1200 mg, about 1225 mg, about 1250 mg, about 1275 mg, about 1300 mg, about 1325 mg, about 1350 mg, about 1375 mg, about 1400 mg, about 1425 mg, about 1450 mg. about 1475 mg. about 1500 mg, about 1525 mg, about 1550 mg, about 1575 mg, about 1600 mg, about 1625 mg, about 1650 mg, about 1675 mg, about 1700 mg, about 1725 mg, about 1750 mg, about 1775 mg, about 1800 mg, about 1825 mg, about 1850 mg, about 1900 mg, about 1925 mg, about 1950 mg, about 1975 mg, or about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 200 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 2000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 200 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 1000 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered to the subject in a dosage of from about 10 mg to about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 600 mg (e.g., at a dosage of about about 50 mg, about 100 mg, about 150 mg, about 200 mg, about 250 mg, about 300 mg, about 350 mg, about 400 mg, about 400 mg, about 450 mg, about 500 mg, about 550 mg, or about 600 mg). In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 150 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 100 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 75 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of from about 45 mg to about 55 mg. In some embodiments, bictegravir, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered in a dosage of about 50 mg. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of bictegravir. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is bictegravir sodium salt. In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered as the sodium salt in a dosage of about 52 mg (e.g., 52.5 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered as the sodium salt in a dosage of about 104 mg (e.g., 105 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered subcutaneously (e.g., in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 2000 mg; a dosage of from about 100 mg to about 600 mg; a dosage of from about 100 mg to about 500 mg; a dosage of about 400 mg; a dosage of about 500 mg; or a dosage of about 600 mg). In some embodiments, the bictegravir is administered orally (e.g., in a dosage of from about 50 mg to about 200 mg; a dosage of about 50 mg; or a dosage of about 100 mg). In some embodiments, the bicetgravir is administered in a long-acting (or sustained release) dosage form (paragraph 0372). The method of claim 1, wherein the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is formulated as a tablet (see claim 11). The method of claim 11, wherein the tablet comprises from about 5 mg to about 500 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 12). The method of claim 11, wherein the tablet comprises about 50 mg or about 300 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (see claim 13). n some embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is formulated as a tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises from about 5 mg to about 500 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 50 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 300 mg of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (paragraph 0167). In some embodiments, the tablet disclosed herein comprises a compound of Formula (Ia) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises a compound of Formula (Ib), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate (paragraph 0312). In some embodiments, the tablet disclosed herein comprises a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 5 mg to about 500 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 500 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 400 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg to about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 50 mg to about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 5 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 10 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 20 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 25 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 30 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 40 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 50 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 75 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 100 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 125 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 150 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 175 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 200 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 225 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 250 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 275 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 300 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 325 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 350 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 375 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 400 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 425 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 450 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 475 mg. In some embodiments, the amount of the compound of Formula (Ia) in the tablet comprising a sodium salt of the compound of Formula (Ia), copovidone, poloxamer 407, microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, croscarmellose sodium, and magnesium stearate is about 500 mg (paragraph 0313). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 3% weight gain from Opadry® II White 85F18422, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 3.0% weight gain from Opadry® II White 85F18422, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0324). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110187, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4.0% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110187, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0325). In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.5 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.9 w/w % copovidone, about 1.3 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.3 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.6 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.0 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.5 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110186, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet. In some embodiments, the tablet comprises about 20.46 w/w % of a sodium salt of a compound of Formula (Ia), about 4.88 w/w % copovidone, about 1.33 w/w % poloxamer 407, about 21.28 w/w % of microcrystalline cellulose, about 42.55 w/w % of mannitol, about 8.00 w/w % of croscarmellose sodium, about 1.50 w/w % of magnesium stearate, and about 4.0% weight gain from Opadry® II Green 85F110186, wherein the weight gain is based on the uncoated tablet (paragraph 0326). In certain embodiments, the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is combined with one or more additional therapeutic agents in a unitary dosage form for simultaneous administration to a subject, for example, as a solid dosage form for oral administration (e.g., a fixed dose combination tablet) (which the examiner interprets as a monolayer tablet)(paragraph 0383). Co-administration of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, with one or more additional therapeutic agents generally refers to simultaneous or sequential administration of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more additional therapeutic agents, such that therapeutically effective amounts of the compound of Formula (Ia) or Formula (Ib), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and one or more additional therapeutic agents are both present in the body of the subject (paragraph 0384). BERKMAN et al. clearly teach for a 25 mg or 50 mg lenacapavir sodium tablet: e.g., 20.46 % LEN sodium, 4.88 % copovidone, 1.33 % poloxamer 407, 21.28 % microcrystalline cellulose 42.55 % mannitol, 8.00 % croscarmellose sodium, and 1.50 % magnesium stearate.). Scaling that 50 mg lenacapavir sodium core (≈ 125–250 mg total core weight depending on drug load) and adding a 75 mg bictegravir sodium portion (typical bictegravir tablet core 200-350 mg) produces a combined monolayer core whose individual excipient masses fall squarely inside the claimed ranges:
Excipient
Claimed Range
Result of routine scale up
Poloxamer
0.5-10 mg
approximately 1.5-4 mg
Mannitol
50-200 mg
approximately 50-110 mg
Magnesium stearate
1-10 mg
approximately 2-6 mg
Microcrystalline cellulose
50-250 mg
approximately 80-180 mg
Copovidone
5-30 mg
approximately 6-15 mg
Croscarmellose Sodium
25-50 mg
approximately 20-40 mg
The examiner also brings applicant’s attention that the concept of optimizing amounts of active and ingredients from a prior art disclosed amount. The specific combination of features claimed are disclosed by BERKMAN et al. If applicants resort to argue the reference does not provide any motivation to select this specific amounts and ranges, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). One of ordinary skill in the art can perform calculations from the disclosed concentration ranges to arrive to the claimed amounts or ranges. “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Furthermore, in the case where any measurable parameters" overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, differences in concentration or measurable parameters will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable chance of success in producing the instant invention because BERKMAN et al. teach all of the claimed elements of the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art seeking a two drug maintenance regimen for virologically suppressed patients would have selected a monolayer tablet because for immediate release of actives the monolayer tablet is the simplest, cheapest and most common pharmaceutical architecture. It is conventionally known in the art that bilayer technology is reserved for incompatible active agents or for staged release.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619