DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Claims 4, 7-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 1/6/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S Patent 12,097,065 and U.S Patent 11,207,047 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oepping et al. (U.S PGPub 2019/0290236 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oepping discloses an emitting apparatus (Fig. 1, 100) [0076] for use with a non-invasive imaging system having an imaging sensor (Fig 1, 108) configured to generate an imaging signal upon an exposure of an energy [0078] (Abstract), the emitting apparatus comprising:
an energy source (Fig. 1, 102) configured to generate the energy [0076];
an emission window (Fig. 1, 104) configured to direct the energy from the energy source [0076] to produce an emission profile on the imaging sensor [0089]-[0090];
a control system (Fig. 1, 110) [0079] configured to:
receive one or more signals associated with movement of the emitting apparatus relative to the imaging sensor [0085]-[0086]+[0088] (the relative position of the x-ray source before and after a movement are signals signal associated with the movement of an emitting apparatus, as the system must move to obtain the new position), and
adjust, based on the one or more signals, a shape of the emission window to produce an adjusted emission profile on the imaging sensor [0087]+[0089].
Regarding Claim 2, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches wherein the adjusted emission profile is in operative alignment with the imaging sensor (Fig. 3, 109+131) [0089]-[0090].
Regarding Claim 3, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches wherein the adjusted emission profile is within a perimeter of the imaging sensor (Fig. 3, 109+131) [0089]-[0090].
Regarding Claim 5, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches wherein the adjusted emission profile (Fig. 3, 109+131) is scaled and/or rotated relative to the emission profile (Fig. 2, 131) (the emission profile, as indicated by the light field [0063], is clearly rotated from the initial profile in Fig. 2 to the new profile in Fig. 3) [0087].
Regarding Claim 6, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches wherein the emission window comprises a plurality of blades that are movable to adjust the shape of the emission window [0064]+[0076].
Regarding Claim 13, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches where the energy source (Fig. 1, 102) is configured to emit an x-ray energy [0076].
Regarding Claim 16, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches at least one camera (Fig. 1, 116) on the emitting apparatus [0081]-0082] (mechanically connected to the x-ray source), where the at least one camera captures a visible, thermal or infrared image [0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping et al. (U.S PGPub 2019/0290236 A1) in view of Hyde et al. (U.S PGPub 2015/0250436 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein an exposure area of the adjusted emission profile is maximized on the imaging sensor.
Hyde teaches an x-ray imaging system (Abstract). This system has an exposure area of an emission profile maximized on the imaging sensor [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Oepping to maximize the exposure area on the imaging sensor, as taught by Hyde, because this allows the system to obtain higher quality images while minimizing the patient’s exposure to radiation, as recognized by Hyde [0021].
Regarding Claim 10, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more signals are received from an emitting element of the non-invasive imaging system.
Hyde teaches an x-ray imaging system (Abstract). This system uses a camera to obtain position information (i.e. signals) from emitting elements (beacons) [0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Oepping to have emitting elements output the signals, as taught by Hyde, because this allows the system to obtain higher quality images while minimizing the patient’s exposure to radiation, as recognized by Hyde [0021], by allowing the alignment of the source and sensor to be more accurate.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach where the emitting element comprises at least one infrared emitter.
Hyde further teaches where the emitting element comprises at least one infrared emitter [0060].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system to have emitting elements output the signals, as taught by Hyde, because this allows the system to obtain higher quality images while minimizing the patient’s exposure to radiation, as recognized by Hyde [0021], by allowing the alignment of the source and sensor to be more accurate.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Laws et al. (U.S PGPub 2015/0164443 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches a motor assembly [0079] configured to move the plurality of blades to adjust the shape of the emission window [0064]+[0076].
Oepping fails to explicitly teach a motor assembly coupled to the plurality of blades.
Laws teaches a method for collimating x-rays (Abstract). This system has a motor assembly coupled to the plurality of blades [0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the actuators of Oepping with motors coupled to the plurality of blades, as taught by Laws, as the as the substitution for one known method of moving collimation blades with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of the motor coupled to the plurality of blades are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 17, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein the emitting apparatus is positionable in free space and is uncoupled from any support structure.
Laws teaches a method for collimating x-rays (Abstract). This system is a handheld (i.e. positionable in free space and uncoupled from a support structure) [0037].
It would have been obvious to substitute the method of mounting the x-ray of Oepping with a handheld configuration, as taught by Laws, as the substitution for one known method positioning an x-ray with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a handheld x-ray uncoupled from a support structure are reasonably predictable.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Laws as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Jones (U.S Patent 5,991,362).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein: the plurality of blades is housed in a blade housing having a proximal bearing on a proximal side of the plurality of blades and a distal bearing on a distal side of the plurality of blades, the motor assembly comprises a first motor coupled to the proximal bearing and a second motor coupled to the distal bearing, rotation of the first motor and the second motor in an opposite direction causes opposite movement of the proximal bearing and the distal bearing to increase or decrease a size of the emission window, and rotation of the first motor and the second motor in a first direction causes rotation of the proximal bearing and the distal bearing in the first direction to cause a rotation of the emission window.
Laws the plurality of blades (Fig. 5, 153+155) is housed in a blade housing (Fig. 5, 120) [0070] having a proximal bearing on a proximal side of the plurality of blades (Fig. 5. 122) and a distal bearing (Fig. 5, 132) on a distal side of the plurality of blades [0072], rotation of the first motor and the second motor in an opposite direction causes opposite movement of the proximal bearing and the distal bearing to increase or decrease a size of the emission window [0073]-[0074]+[0076] (one of ordinary skill would recognize the bearings moving in opposite directions would increase or decrease the size of the emission window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the collimator of Oepping with blades coupled to motors, as taught by Laws, as the as the substitution for one collimator with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a collimator with bearings and motors are reasonably predictable.
Laws fails to explicitly teach wherein the motor assembly comprises a first motor coupled to the proximal bearing and a second motor coupled to the distal bearing, and rotation of the first motor and the second motor in a first direction causes rotation of the proximal bearing and the distal bearing in the first direction to cause a rotation of the emission window.
Jones teaches an adjustable opening x-ray collimator (Abstract). This system contains proximal and distal disks (bearings) which are connected to a first and second motor (Fig. 2, M2, M3) (Col 2, lines 41-43). When the disks (and therefore motors) rotate in the same direction is causes the rotation of the emission window (Col 1, lines 40-41) (Col 2-3, lines 59-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to use multiple motors to rotate the bearings, as taught by Jones, as the substitution for one known motor assembly with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using individual motors per disk are reasonably predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the motors, and therefore disks, rotating in the same direction cause a rotation of the emission window, as taught by Jones, as this allows for a simplified, light, control mechanism to achieve x-ray beams of different shapes and orientations, as recognized by Jones (Col 1, lines 22-25). Jones teaches the disks rotating together (Col 1 lines 40-41) causes the rotation of the emission window, and the motors of the combination control each disk individually. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would recognize the motors, rotating together, in the same direction, would cause the rotation of the emission window.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Kump (U.S Patent 6,215,853 B1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The combination fails to teach where the control system is further configured to monitor a position of each of the plurality of blades using at least one encoder associated with each of the plurality of blades.
Kump teaches a collimation system (Abstract). This system contains collimation blades (Fig. 3, 322-328) which are each attached to a position encoder (Fig. 3, 388-344) (Col 5, lines 11-27)+(Col 5, lines 33-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Oepping to have position encoder associated with the blades, as taught by Kump, because this simplifies the calibration of the collimator, as recognized by Kump (Col 6, lines 1-9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Hyde as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Tamersoy (U.S PGPub 2018/0235566 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach at least one optical sensor configured to identify the emitting element to determine a distance between the emitting apparatus and the emitting element.
Hyde further teaches at least one optical sensor configured to identify the emitting element [0056]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system to have emitting elements output the signals, as taught by Hyde, because this allows the system to obtain higher quality images while minimizing the patient’s exposure to radiation, as recognized by Hyde [0021], by allowing the alignment of the source and sensor to be more accurate.
Hyde is silent regarding the optical sensor determine a distance between the emitting apparatus and the emitting element.
Tamersoy teaches a system for aligning an x-ray source with a sensor (Abstract). This system uses an optical sensor to determine a distance between the emitting apparatus and the element [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to determine a distance using the optical sensor, as taught by Tamersoy, because this allows for more accurate and repeatable alignment of source and detector, as taught by Tamersoy [0041]. One of ordinary skill would recognize the combination would use the emitting elements of Hyde as the marker the determine the distance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Lalena et al. (U.S PGPub 2011/0249793 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach a distance sensor configured to measure a distance from the emitting apparatus to an object placed relative to the imaging sensor.
Lalena teaches a radiography system (Abstract). This system contains a distance sensor which measure a distance from the emitting apparatus to an object placed relative to the imaging sensor [0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to contain a distance sensor, as taught by Lalena, because this allows the system to autofocus the projector, thereby simplifying the process of using the light for source to detector alignments [0057]-[0058].
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Ancar (U.S Patent 9,693,746 B2).
Regarding Claim 15, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping further teaches a user control interface electrically coupled to the emitting apparatus [0068].
Oepping fails to explicitly teach where the user control interface is configured to control operation of the emitting apparatus.
Ancar teaches a mobile x-ray system (Abstract). This system has a user control interface which is used to control the emitting apparatus (Col 9, lines 33-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the user interface of Oepping with the user interface of Ancar, as the substitution for one known user interface with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using an interface to control the x-ray system are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 18, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein the emitting apparatus is positionable in free space and is coupled to a boom structure.
Ancar teaches a portable x-ray imaging system (Abstract). This system has an emitting apparatus that is positionable in free space and is coupled to a boom structure (Fig. 1, 17) (Col 6-7, lines 65-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Oepping to have the x-ray coupled to a boom structure, as taught by Ancar, because this allows for a mobile x-ray system that is still safe and easy to use, as recognized by Ancar (Col 3, lines 58-62).
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Nguyen et al. (U.S PGPub 2013/0182829 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Oepping teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more signals associated with movement of the emitting apparatus are generated by one or more magnetic position and orientation sensors.
Nguyen teaches an alignment system for aligning an x-ray source and detector (Abstract). This system generates signals associated with movement of the emitting apparatus using one or more magnetic position and orientation sensors [0018]+[0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Oepping to generate signals using magnetic position and orientation sensors, as taught by Nguyen, because this improved the alignment of the source to detector, thereby improving the quality of the image, as recognized by Nguyen [0005].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oepping in view of Koishi (U.S PGPub 2012/0051498 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Oepping teaches the system substantially as claimed. Oepping fails to explicitly teach wherein the control system is configured to adjust the shape of the emission window during real-time movement of the energy source.
Koishi teaches a x-ray imaging system (Abstract). This imaging system continuous (i.e. in real time) adjusts the shape of the emission window of the x-ray source during movement of the x-ray source [0046].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to adjust the shape of the emission window during real-time movement of the energy source, as taught by Koishi, because this ensures that the x-ray images are rectangular regardless of the x-ray position, thereby increasing the quality of the image, as recognized by Koishi [0010]-[0011]+[0068].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Oepping fails to teaches “receiving one or more signals associated with movement of the emitting apparatus relative to the imaging sensor”, and “adjusting, based on the one or more signals, a shape of the emission window to produce and adjusted emission profile on the imaging sensor”. The Examiner disagrees. Movement is the change of position over time. The system of Oepping obtains the relative positions of the components at one time [0085], changes the position [0086]+[0088], and then obtains the new relative positions at a second time [0085]. The position measurements that Oepping obtains result in signals “associated with movement” as claimed. Furthermore, the claim does not require that there is relative movement of the components, just that the signals are associated with a relative movement. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(2) is maintained. For similar reasons, the rejections under 35 USC 103 are also maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D MATTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798