DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al (US 2005/0002606 hereinafter “James”) in view of Ogawa et al (US 2010/0322559 hereinafter “Ogawa”).
Regarding claim 1; James discloses a system (figure 4) for measuring roughness of a core sidewall (302 @ figure 3) of an optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) based on mode excitation (guide mode @ figure 4), comprising:
a few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4),
an optical power meter (e.g., optical spectrometer 406 @ figure 4), and
a processor (paragraph [0086]: e.g., a signal to be output from the radiation detector to a processor, not shown.);
wherein an optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured is arranged between the few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4) and the optical power meter (406 @ figure 4); and
a center line of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured coincides with a center line of the few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4); and
a laser beam (402 @ figure 4) is incident on the optical waveguide (402 @ figure 4) to be measured after passing through the few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4), and then is incident on the optical power meter (406 @ figure 4); and
the optical power meter (406 @ figure 4) detects output power of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured; and
the processor (paragraph [0086]) is connected with the optical power meter (406 @ figure 4); wherein the processor (paragraph [0086]) for determining the core (202 @ figure 3 and/or Core, n1 @ figure 4) of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 3) to be measured according to the output power (406 @ figure 4), output modes (paragraph [0005]: e.g., A LPG consists of a period modulation of the optical properties of an optical waveguide, typically an optical fiber. The periodicity lies typically in the range 100 μm to 1000 μm. The LPG acts to couple light from the propagating core mode to co-propagating cladding modes. Since the cladding modes suffer from high attenuation, the transmission spectrum consists of a series of attenuation bands centred on wavelengths) of a corresponding few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4) and modes of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured;
wherein the modes of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured are obtained by exciting the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured after the laser beam (402 @ figure 4) passes through the few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4). See figures 1-15
James discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a scattering loss caused by the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured and the processor is configured to calculate an equivalent value of the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide. However, Ogawa teaches that it is known in the art to provide a scattering loss caused by the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured and the processor (e.g., a mode solver in paragraph [0329]) is configured to calculate an equivalent value of the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide (paragraph [0329]: e.g., In order to evaluate the effects of roughness on the core side walls, the basic propagation mode was simulated using a mode solver, and the effective refractive index of the ribs was calculated. In Examples 1 and 2, the optical confinement coefficient in the core region was also calculated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system of James with a scattering loss caused by the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured and the processor is configured to calculate an equivalent value of the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide as taught by Ogawa for the purpose of improving the accuracy of the manufacturing process of the effective refractive index of the optical waveguide and reducing processing time and costs.
Regarding claim 7; James discloses the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured is a rectangular optical waveguide (see examiner noted in figure 4).
Regarding claim 8; James discloses one end (figure 4: coupled to LPG 403 @ figure 4) of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured is close to the few-mode long-period fiber grating (403 @ figure 4); and another end (coupled to optical spectrometer 406 @ figure 4) of the optical waveguide (404 @ figure 4) to be measured is close to the optical power meter (406 @ figure 4).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James in view of Ogawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bock et al (US Patent No. 9,366,809 hereinafter “Bock”).
Regarding claim 2; James in view of Ogawa combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the few-mode long-period fiber grating comprises a first few-mode long-period fiber grating and a second few-mode long-period fiber grating. However, Bock teaches that it is known in the art to provide the few-mode long-period fiber grating (100 @ figure 1) comprises a first few-mode long-period fiber grating (142 @ figure 1) and a second few-mode long-period fiber grating (162 @ figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system of James with limitation above as taught by Bock for the purpose of improving refractive index sensitivity and reducing the grating period to couple the power to even higher order cladding modes.
Regarding claim 3; James in view of Ogawa combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for optical fiber structures of the first few-mode long-period fiber grating and the second few-mode long-period fiber grating are same. However, Bock teaches that it is known in the art to provide the few-mode long-period fiber grating (100 @ figure 1) comprises a first few-mode long-period fiber grating (142 @ figure 1) and a second few-mode long-period fiber grating (162 @ figure 1) are same (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system of James with limitation above as taught by Bock for the purpose of improving refractive index sensitivity and reducing the grating period to couple the power to even higher order cladding modes.
Regarding claim 4; James in view of Ogawa and Bock combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for grating periods of the first few-mode long-period fiber grating and the second few-mode long-period fiber grating are different. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system of James with limitation above for the purpose of improving refractive index sensitivity and reducing the grating period to couple the power to even higher order cladding modes, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 5; James in view of Ogawa and Bock combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the output modes of the few-mode long-period fiber grating comprise a first output mode and a second output mode; and the first few-mode long-period fiber grating corresponds to the first output mode, and the second few-mode long-period fiber grating corresponds to the second output mode. However, Bock teaches that it is known in the art to provide the output modes of the few-mode long-period fiber grating (see examiner noted in figure 1A below) comprise a first output mode and a second output mode; and the first few-mode long-period fiber grating (142 @ figure 1) corresponds to the first output mode, and the second few-mode long-period fiber grating (162 @ figure 1) corresponds to the second output mode. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine system of James with limitation above as taught by Bock for the purpose of improving refractive index sensitivity and reducing the grating period to couple the power to even higher order cladding modes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails discloses or render obvious a system for measuring roughness of a core sidewall of an optical waveguide comprising all the specific elements with the specific combination including the laser beam is incident on the optical waveguide to be measured after passing through the first few-mode long-period fiber grating, and then is incident on the optical power meter after being subjected to the scattering loss caused by the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured; and the optical power meter detects first output power of the optical waveguide to be measured; the laser beam is incident on the optical waveguide to be measured after passing through the second few-mode long-period fiber grating, and then is incident on the optical power meter after being subjected to the scattering loss caused by the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured; and the optical power meter detects second output power of the optical waveguide to be measured; and the processor is connected with the optical power meter; and the processor is configured to calculate the equivalent value of the roughness of the core sidewall of the optical waveguide to be measured according to the first output power, the second output power, the first output mode, the second output mode and the modes of the optical waveguide to be measured in set forth of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Bock et al (US 2014/0254977) discloses an optical sensor has a waveguide having a core, a cladding having an outer surface and a long period fiber grating. The core, the cladding and the long period fiber grating collectively provide at least two resonant wavelengths.
2) Tsao et al (US 2003/0072005) discloses the SOI Waveguide interferometer sensor we designed presents high sensitivity than pure single waveguide Bragg grating sensor and fiber Bragg grating sensor by adjusting the length of the two interferometric arms.
/SN/
January 23, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877