DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are subject to examination and rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik (US PGPub 2020/0146059).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 13, Cirik teaches an uplink transmission method (Cirik, see abstract, A wireless device activates at least two downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) of a cell), comprising:
receiving configuration information that configures a supplementary uplink (SUL) and a normal uplink (NUL) for a terminal (Cirik, see paragraph 0475, the wireless device may be configured with two or more uplink carriers (e.g., SUL and NUL) for one downlink of the cell. In an example, the two or more uplink carriers may comprise the SUL carrier and a NUL carrier); and
performing transmission from the terminal to an access network device on the SUL and the NUL in time division multiplex (TDM) mode, wherein the terminal is configured with the SUL and the NUL for uplink transmission based on the configuration information (Cirik, see paragraph 0476, the base station may avoid overlapping (e.g., in time) of a first uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the SUL carrier and a second uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the NUL carrier by scheduling. the base station may configure one or more PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the SUL carrier. In an example, the base station may configure one or more second PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the NUL carrier. Even though failing to expressly disclosing the term “TDM mode”, Cirik teaches about scheduling SUL PUSCH and NUL PUSCH in time not to be overlapped during transmission. Therefore, Cirik teaches about the TDM mode.), and the terminal is located within a coverage of the NUL (Cirik, see paragraph 0462, a base station may configure a NUL and DL over a first frequency (e.g., high frequency). An SUL may be configured over a second frequency (e.g., low frequency) to support uplink transmission (e.g., in terms of coverage and/or capacity) of a cell).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, Cirik teaches wherein the NUL works on a Time Division Duplex (TDD) frequency band, and the SUL works on a SUL frequency band (Cirik, see paragraph 0462, a base station may configure a NUL and DL over a first frequency (e.g., high frequency). An SUL may be configured over a second frequency (e.g., low frequency) to support uplink transmission (e.g., in terms of coverage and/or capacity) of a cell), and
performing, by the terminal, transmission with the access network device on the NUL comprises:
performing, by the terminal, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with the access network device on the NUL on a TDD uplink time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0476, the base station may avoid overlapping (e.g., in time) of a first uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the SUL carrier and a second uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the NUL carrier by scheduling. the base station may configure one or more PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the SUL carrier. In an example, the base station may configure one or more second PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the NUL carrier); and
performing, by the terminal, transmission with the access network device on the SUL comprises:
performing, by the terminal, PUSCH transmission with the access network device on the SUL on a TDD flexible time domain resource or a TDD downlink time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0476, the base station may avoid overlapping (e.g., in time) of a first uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the SUL carrier and a second uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the NUL carrier by scheduling. the base station may configure one or more PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the SUL carrier. In an example, the base station may configure one or more second PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the NUL carrier).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 16, Cirik teaches wherein sounding reference signal (SRS) is sent on the NUL and the SUL in TDM mode, and
a NUL SRS time domain resource is a part or all of the TDD uplink time domain resource and the TDD flexible time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0228, a UE may transmit SRS 508 to a base station for channel state estimation to support uplink channel dependent scheduling and/or link adaptation. For example, SRS 508 transmitted by a UE may allow for a base station to estimate an uplink channel state at one or more different frequencies), and
a SUL SRS time domain resource is a part or all of the TDD downlink time domain resource and the TDD flexible time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0228, A UE may transmit SRS resources based on one or more trigger types, wherein the one or more trigger types may comprise higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) and/or one or more DCI formats (e.g., at least one DCI format may be employed for a UE to select at least one of one or more configured SRS resource sets).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, Cirik teaches wherein physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is configured on the NUL and NUL PUCCH time domain resource is a part or all of the TDD uplink time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0476, the base station may avoid overlapping (e.g., in time) of a first uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the SUL carrier and a second uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the NUL carrier by scheduling. the base station may configure one or more PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the SUL carrier. In an example, the base station may configure one or more second PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the NUL carrier), or
PUCCH is configured on the SUL and SUL PUCCH time domain resource is a part or all of the TDD downlink time domain resource and the TDD flexible time domain resource (Cirik, see paragraph 0476, the base station may avoid overlapping (e.g., in time) of a first uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the SUL carrier and a second uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH) via the NUL carrier by scheduling. the base station may configure one or more PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the SUL carrier. In an example, the base station may configure one or more second PUSCH resources (e.g., PUSCH-Config) for the NUL carrier).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Cirik teaches wherein a quantity of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers supported by the SUL is 1, and a quantity of MIMO layers supported by the NUL is 2 (Cirik, see paragraph 0311, the MIMO related information may comprise at least one of: PMI; precoding information; transport block swap flag; power offset between PDSCH and reference signal; reference-signal scrambling sequence; number of layers; and/or antenna ports for the transmission; and/or Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443