DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
All of the I.D.S.’s have been considered. One of the I.D.S.’s has NPL documents that have been lined through. It is unclear how the objection/rejection/allowance of claims with different combination of limitations is relevant to the instant application. Without any reasoning provided by Applicant, these NPL documents have not be considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
On page 7 line 5, item 52. In Figure 3B, item 108 is used for the opening in the bridge member. Is the cavity the same as the opening?
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Before the Field of Invention on page 1, there needs to be a paragraph explaining the application is a continuation of 18/296,172 now U.S. Patent 12,090,676, which is a continuation of 17/405,678 now U.S. Patent 11,648,698, which is a divisional from 15/975,819 now U.S. Patent 11,117,278.
Figure 2A uses P2 to represent a plane tangent to the cutting edges while Figures 4B and 4C uses P3 to represent what appears to be the same plane. It is unclear why there is 2 different labels for what appears to be the same plane. If they are the same, one label should be used throughout but if there is a difference, an explanation is requested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Some of the numbers and units used in the claims are written differently. For example, in claim 1, the number is “3.0mm” while claim 6 discloses “3 mm” and “6mm”. Sometimes there is “.0” and sometimes there is no “.0”. Sometimes there is a space between the number and the “mm” and sometimes there is no space. One consistent way needs to be utilized throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the terms “top” and “above” are unclear in light of no orientation being disclosed by the claim. The cartridge is handheld and is capable of being utilized in an infinite number of orientations including ones where the surface would be a bottom surface and be below P3. Applicant can either establish an orientation in the claim (i.e. when in an upright position) and label Figure 4B as the “upright position” or use terms that are true regardless of orientation (i.e. outer). Claim 5 has the same issues with “top” and “bottom”. Claim 14 has the same issues with “top” and “beneath”. Claim 15 has the same issue with “top”.
With regards to claim 1, the phrase “positioned on a plane (P1)” is unclear. It is unclear what structure defines plane P1. As written, any plane that intersects the bridge member can be considered a situation where the bridge member is on the plane. The claim needs to disclose that the “outer surface of the bridge member defines a plane (P1)”.
With regards to claim 2, the phrase “an interblade span” is unclear. Claim 1 discloses the span and claim 2 should be amended to disclose “the interblade span”.
While claim 5 does include a label (P1), this label can only be used as a guide and not a defining disclosure that allows which plane is being reference. Claim 1 discloses plane P3 and, as written, in claim 5, the “plane” limitation can reference back to either of the claim 1 planes which is not supported.
Claim 6 is confusing in that claim 1 discloses the interblade span as being greater than 3mm but claim 6 allows for the lower boundary of the range to be “about 3mm” which can be smaller than 3mm. Claim 6 needs to be amended so that the range does not allow for a value that goes against the claim 1 limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over EP 3292964 in view of Clarke et al. (2011/0146079).
With regards to claim 1, EP 3292964 discloses the invention including a cartridge (10) having a housing (12) having a primary guard at a front of the housing (14) and a secondary cap at a rear of the housing (16), a first blade (18) having a cutting edge (22), the first blade mounted to the housing between the primary guard and the secondary cap (Fig. 2A), a second blade (20) having a cutting edge (24) extending in a same direction at the cutting edge of the first blade (Fig. 2A), the second blade mounted to the housing between the first blade and the secondary cap (Fig. 2A), the cutting edges define an interblade span (S1) greater than 3mm (abstract lines 7-8), a bridge member (26) having a primary cap surface (28) and a secondary guard surface (30) positioned between the blades (Fig. 2A), and a top surface of the bridge member is positioned on a plane (P1) above a plane (P2) tangent to the cutting edges of the blades (column 4 lines 32-39, Fig. 2A),
With regards to claims 2-16, EP 3292964 discloses a width of the bridge member is greater than 50% of the interblade span between the cutting edges (abstract lines 6-7), a width of the bridge member is about 1.75mm to about 4mm (W2), the bridge member is spaced apart from a blade support member of the first blade (36, column 5 lines 31-33), a pair of clips mounted to the housing (34a, 34b), the plane is positioned between a top surface of the clips and a bottom surface of the clips (Fig. 2A), the interblade span is about 4mm to about 5mm (paragraph [0018]), a span (S2) between the primary guard and the cutting edge of the first blade is about 0.5mm to about 0.8mm (paragraph [0018]), a span (S3) between the secondary guard and the cutting edge of the second blade is about 0.3mm to about 0.7mm (paragraph [0018]), the first and second blades are the only blades (Fig. 2A), the primary guard has a width (W1) of about 0.35mm to about 0.85mm (paragraph [0019]), a width of the bridge member (W2) is about 2mm to about 3mm (paragraph [0019]), the clips are spaced apart from the primary cap surface and the secondary guard surface (Fig. 1), the bridge member defines a cavity beneath the top surface of the bridge member (108), the top surface of the bridge member between the primary cap surface and the secondary guard surface is flat (paragraph [0016] lines 3-5), and the primary cap surface and the secondary guard surface are arcuate (paragraph [0016] lines 1-3).
However, with regards to claim 1, EP 3292964 fails to disclose the top surface of the bridge member/plane P1 is above plane P3 by about 0.01mm to about 0.20mm.
Clarke et al. teach it is known in the art of cartridge having a non-cutting element/bridge (14a, Figs. 4A and 4C) to incorporate the top surface of the bridge member (14a) defining a plane (44b) that is above a plane tangent to the cutting edges (Fig. 4C) by about 0.01mm to about 0.20mm (43, paragraph [0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have provided EP 3292964 with the dimension, as taught by Clarke et al., because all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
09 February 2026
/Jason Daniel Prone/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724