DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US20230040746, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/230,486, filed Aug. 6, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Babaei in the rejection below), in view of Hu et al. (US20230308925 hereinafter Hu), in further view of Eklof et al. (US20240357401 hereinafter Eklof, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/233,977, filed Aug. 17, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Eklof in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 1 and 10. Babaei teaches the method and apparatus for a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal (fig. 15 and par. 0101, teaches all or a subset of blocks and functions in FIG. 15 may be in the user equipment 1500 and may be performed by the user equipment 1500) comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal (fig. 15 and pars. 0101-0102, teaches the transceiver 1520 may represent a wireless transceiver at the UE and may communicate bi-directionally with the wireless transceiver at the base station); and a controller configured to control the transceiver (fig. 15 and pars. 0101-0105, teaches processor 1540 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1530) to cause the UE 1500 to perform various functions) to:
receive from the base station a first radio resource control (RRC) message (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE in a RRC connected state prior to receiving the RRC release message. Wherein, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the UE would have had to receive an indication from the base station in order to establish a RRC connected state. Furthermore, par. 0146, teaches the UE may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells (e.g., a primary cell and one or more secondary cells in case of carrier aggregation). The UE may be in an RRC connected state wherein an RRC connection is established between the UE and the base station),
wherein the first RRC message comprises a set of parameters for application layer measurement configurations (pars. 0138-0139, teaches the RRC connection configuration message may include application layer measurement reporting configuration, to either temporarily stop or restart application layer measurement reporting. Par. 0004, teaches radio resource control (RRC)) and an indication related to RRC segmentation (par. 0146, teaches the UE may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells (e.g., a primary cell and one or more secondary cells in case of carrier aggregation). Wherein, the “configuration parameters of one or more cells (e.g., a primary cell and one or more secondary cells in case of carrier aggregation)” reads as an indication related to RRC segmentation within the context of this passage),
receive from a base station, a second RRC message, wherein the second RRC message comprises a set of inactive state specific parameters (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving an RRC release message and after the UE transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state. Wherein, pars. 0146 and 0138-0139, teaches RRC connection configuration message is needed to establish a RRC connected state, thus the RRC release message reads as a second RRC message), and
receive a paging message (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving a paging message from the base station), wherein, … the paging message comprises a temporary terminal identifier allocated by a core network (Examiner respectfully notes the “in case that” language as a contingency limitation, therefore limitations tied to contingency language such as “in case”, “if”, etc. is not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. However, Babaei teaches a paging message that comprises a temporary terminal identifier allocated by a core network, see at least fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving a paging message from the base station. Wherein, fig. 20 and par. 0153, teaches the paging message may comprise a UE identifier which may be a temporary mobile subscriber identity (TMSI). Furthermore, 0035 teaches the base station is an example a core network).
However, although Babaei teaches application layer measurement configurations (pars. 0138-0139), the apparatus and methods of Babaei explicitly fails to disclose, storing the application layer measurement configurations in User Equipment (UE) Inactive Access Stratum Context.
Hu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for application layer measurement configurations, so Hu is analogous to Babaei. Furthermore, Hu teaches storing the application layer measurement configurations in User Equipment (UE) Inactive Access Stratum Context (par. 0187, teaches UE stores configuration information received from a network side in UE inactive access stratum context (UE inactive AS context), where an application layer measurement configuration received from the network side may be kept).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize storing the application layer measurement configurations in User Equipment (UE) Inactive Access Stratum Context, as disclosed by Hu with the method and apparatus of Babaei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve user experience. (see Hu par. 0009)
However, although Babaei receiving a paging message (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving a paging message from the base station), wherein, … the paging message comprises a temporary terminal identifier allocated by a core network (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving a paging message from the base station. Wherein, fig. 20 and par. 0153, teaches the paging message may comprise a UE identifier which may be a temporary mobile subscriber identity (TMSI)), the combination of Babaei and Hu explicitly fails to disclose, releasing and discarding the application layer measurement configurations based on receiving a message.
Eklof disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for application layer measurement configurations, so Eklof is analogous to Babaei. Furthermore, Eklof teaches receiving a …message, …, the terminal: discards the application layer measurement configurations stored (fig. 10 and pars. 0164-0166, teaches the UE receiving the command that indicates that the UE should discard and release the received configurations and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports. Wherein, the configurations include one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while the UE is connected to the RAN); and
release the application layer measurement configurations (Examiner notes claim language “discard” and “release” are interpreted as interchangeable synonyms. However, Eklof teaches both “discarding” and “releasing” in at least fig. 10 and pars. 0164-0166, teaches the UE receiving the command that indicates that the UE should discard and release the received configurations and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports. Wherein, the configurations include one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while the UE is connected to the RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a message to initiate the releasing and discarding the application layer measurement configurations, as disclosed by Eklof with the combination of Babaei and Hu. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performances. (see Eklof par. 0238)
Regarding claim 2. Babaei, Hu, and Eklof teaches the method for claim 1. Babaei further teaches during RRC_CONNECTED state: application layer measurement is performed (par. 0139, teaches the RRC connection configuration message includes information to restart application layer measurement reporting. Wherein, par. 0131, teaches application layer measurement collection function may enable collection of application layer measurements from the UE. Thus, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the UE is performing the application layer measurement); and application layer measurement reporting is performed (par. 0139, teaches the RRC connection configuration message includes information to restart application layer measurement reporting).
Regarding claim 4. Babaei, Hu, and Eklof teaches the method for claim 1. Babaei further teaches the set of parameters for application layer measurement configurations (pars. 0138-0139, teaches the RRC connection configuration message may include application layer measurement reporting configuration, to either temporarily stop or restart application layer measurement reporting) comprises: one or more sets of parameters associated with a service type (par. 0146, teaches the RRC connection configuration message may include QoE configuration parameters. Wherein, the QoE configurations may be associated with a service type).
However, although Babaei teaches application layer measurement configurations (pars. 0138-0139), the apparatus and methods of Babaei explicitly fails to disclose, the set of parameters for application layer measurement configurations comprises: one or more application layer measurement configuration identifiers.
Hu further teaches the set of parameters for application layer measurement configurations comprises: one or more application layer measurement configuration identifiers (par. 0197, teaches the terminal receives an application layer measurement configuration identifier indicating the first application layer measurement configuration information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of parameters for application layer measurement configurations comprises: one or more application layer measurement configuration identifiers, as disclosed by Hu with the method and apparatus of Babaei. The motivations for doing so would be to improve user experience. (see Hu par. 0009)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US20230040746, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/230,486, filed Aug. 6, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Babaei in the rejection below), in view of Hu et al. (US20230308925 hereinafter Hu), in view of Eklof et al. (US20240357401 hereinafter Eklof, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/233,977, filed Aug. 17, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Eklof in the rejection below), in further view of Hu et al. (US20230379743 hereinafter Hu-2).
Regarding claim 3. Babaei, Hu, and Eklof teaches the method for claim 2.
However, although Babaei teaches RRC_INACTIVE state (fig. 18 and par. 0152), the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof explicitly fails to disclose, during RRC_INACTIVE state: application layer measurement is performed; and application layer measurement reporting is not performed.
Hu -2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for RRC_INACTIVE state, so Hu -2 is analogous to Babaei. Furthermore, Hu -2 teaches during RRC_INACTIVE state: application layer measurement is performed (par. 0207, teaches the terminal performs application layer measurement corresponding to the first SIM, the RRC state corresponding to the first SIM may enter the inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state. Par. 0128 teaches subscriber identity modules (SIM)); and application layer measurement reporting is not performed (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict performing application layer measurement during RRC_INACTIVE state and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Hu-2 discloses application layer measurement reporting is not performed in at least pars. 0207, which teaches the terminal performs application layer measurement corresponding to the first SIM, the RRC state corresponding to the first SIM may enter the inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state. Whereas, par. 0196, teaches because only one transceiver is configured in the mobile phone, the mobile phone can only realize dual SIM dual standby, but cannot realize dual card communication at the same time. Thus, if the first SIM in RRC_INACTIVE state and the second SIM is in RRC_CONNECTED state then, the second SIM would be configured to use the transceiver and thus, the first SIM would not report the performed application layer measurement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize during RRC_INACTIVE state: application layer measurement is performed; and application layer measurement reporting is not performed, as disclosed by Hu -2 with the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof. The motivations for doing so would be to improve quality of experience. (see Hu-2 par. 0003)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US20230040746, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/230,486, filed Aug. 6, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Babaei in the rejection below), in view of Hu et al. (US20230308925 hereinafter Hu), in view of Eklof et al. (US20240357401 hereinafter Eklof, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/233,977, filed Aug. 17, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Eklof in the rejection below), in further view of Laselva et al. (US20230132755 hereinafter Laselva).
Regarding claim 7. Babaei, Hu, and Eklof teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Babaei teaches the set of inactive state specific parameters (fig. 18 and par. 0152, teaches the UE receiving an RRC release message and after the UE transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state), the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof explicitly fails to disclose, the set of inactive state specific parameters comprises: a first terminal identifier; and a second terminal identifier.
Laselva disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an inactive state, so Laselva is analogous to Babaei. Furthermore, Laselva teaches the set of inactive state specific parameters comprises: a first terminal identifier; and a second terminal identifier (figs. 2-3 and pars. 0069-0070, teaches the UE receiving a first identifier and the second identifier which may be used by the user equipment while in an inactive state for identifying the user equipment when accessing a network. Wherein, par. 0059, teaches the UE storing both received primary and secondary identifiers I-RNTI1 and I-RNTI2. Par. 0034, teaches inactive radio network temporary identifier (I-RNTI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of inactive state specific parameters comprises: a first terminal identifier; and a second terminal identifier, as disclosed by Laselva with the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communications. (see Laselva par. 0116)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US20230040746, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/230,486, filed Aug. 6, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Babaei in the rejection below), in view of Hu et al. (US20230308925 hereinafter Hu), in view of Eklof et al. (US20240357401 hereinafter Eklof, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/233,977, filed Aug. 17, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Eklof in the rejection below), in further view of Kim (US20220264373).
Regarding claim 9. Babaei, Hu, and Eklof teaches the method for claim 1.
However, although Babaei teaches the indication related to RRC segmentation controls (par. 0146, teaches the UE may receive, from a base station, one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells (e.g., a primary cell and one or more secondary cells in case of carrier aggregation). Wherein, the “configuration parameters of one or more cells (e.g., a primary cell and one or more secondary cells in case of carrier aggregation)” reads as an indication related to RRC segmentation within the context of this passage), the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof explicitly fails to disclose,
Kim disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for RRC segmentation controls, so Kim is analogous to Babaei. Furthermore, Kim teaches the indication related to RRC segmentation controls segmentation of one or more RRC messages relating to the application layer measurement configurations (Table 9 teaches the application layer measurement configuration may comprise rrc-SegAllowed this field, and when received indicates that RRC segmentation of measurementReporAppLayer is allowed. Wherein, par. 0127, teaches the application layer measurement configuration received from CN can be encapsulated in a transparent container, which is forwarded to UE in a downlink RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the indication related to RRC segmentation controls segmentation of one or more RRC messages relating to the application layer measurement configurations, as disclosed by Kim with the combination of Babaei, Hu, and Eklof. The motivations for doing so would be to improve service. (see Kim par. 0003)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474