DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 14 have been amended. Claims 21-28 have been added. Claims 1-28 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 20, 22, 23, 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20170129110 A1 (“Ohm”).
As per Claim 1, Ohm discloses an apparatus for providing controlled movement of a robotic appendage, comprising:
a digit comprising a first joint and a second joint, the first joint located at a proximal portion of the digit and the second joint located at a distal portion of the digit, the first joint and the second joint mechanically coupled to one another (¶ 66—“The finger 100 includes a base member 110A (which includes an integral phalanx 110), a proximal phalanx 112, a medial phalanx 114, and a distal phalanx 116. The finger 100 further includes a proximal knuckle joint JP, a medial knuckle joint JM, and a distal knuckle joint JD.”; ¶ 67—“The proximal knuckle joint JP pivotally couples the proximal phalanx 112 to the base member 110A to permit relative rotation or pivoting between the members 110A, 112 about a pivot axis PP-PP transverse or perpendicular to the longitudinal axis A-A. The medial knuckle joint JM pivotally couples the medial phalanx 114 to the proximal phalanx 112 to permit relative rotation or pivoting between the members 112, 114 about a pivot axis PM-PM transverse or perpendicular to the longitudinal axis A-A. The distal knuckle joint JD pivotally couples the distal phalanx 116 to the medial phalanx 114”; ¶ 11—“the tendon cable extends through the at least one vertebra and applies an axially compressive load to the first phalanx, the second phalanx and the at least one vertebra to hold the first phalanx, the second phalanx and the at least one vertebra together and in contact with one another”); and
an actuator configured to control a degree of freedom of the digit (¶ 92—“the drive system 150 includes an actuator 152, a driven gear 152A, a spool 154, and a tensioning mechanism 160. The actuator 152 may be an electric motor, for example… A controller associated with the robot 5 can be used to selectively drive the spool 154 in opposed rotational directions R1 and R2”);
wherein the actuator causes the first joint to bend at a first rate from a first position to a second position and the second joint to bend at a second rate from a third position to a fourth position (¶ 136—“In order to bend the finger 100 in the closing direction MC, the spool 154 is driven by the actuator 152 to rotate in the counterclockwise direction R2”; ¶ 152—“when the spool 154 is rotated to close the finger 100, the finger 100 will bend first at the proximal knuckle joint JP and then at the knuckle joints JM, JD after the finger 100 has reached the limit of the proximal joint JP or the finger encounters an external force or object”); and
wherein, in response to actuation by the actuator, the first joint is configured to bend from the first position toward the second position ahead of the second joint bending from the third position toward the fourth position (¶ 152—“the finger 100 will bend first at the proximal knuckle joint JP and then at the knuckle joints JM, JD after the finger 100 has reached the limit of the proximal joint JP”; ¶ 153—“This allows the proximal joint JP to act in a simple hinge-like manner such that the proximal joint JP swings through its entire range of motion while the more distal joints JM, JD remain in their neutral positions”).
As per Claim 2, Ohm further discloses wherein the actuator comprises at least one of a servo, motor, stepper, and linear actuator (¶ 92—“The actuator 152 may be an electric motor, for example”).
As per Claim 3, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a wire, wherein the actuator is configured to control a degree of freedom of the digit by exerting a force on the wire (¶ 94—“The tendon cables 156, 158 are each connected at their proximal ends to the spool 154 to be taken up and payed out from the spool 154 as the spool 154 is rotated”).
As per Claim 4, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a channel configured to house the wire (¶ 79—“the inner tendon cable 156 extends from a drive spool 154 and through the inner raceways 124A, 144A”).
As per Claim 5, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a bearing surface relative to an exterior of the channel, and wherein the wire is in contact with the bearing surface when a force is exerted on the wire to control the degree of freedom of the digit (¶ 79—“The tendon cables 156, 158 are slidably received in each of the raceways”; ¶ 95—“The inner tendon cable 156 is routed from the spool 154, over the outside of the guide roller 162, through the raceways”).
As per Claim 6, Ohm further discloses one or more return actuators, wherein the one or more return actuators are configured to return the first joint to the first position and return the second joint to the third position (¶ 93—“A torsion spring 166 is connected to each of the swingarms 162A and 162B to bias or force the swing arms 162A and 162B into or toward the relaxed positions”; ¶ 96—“The springs 166 are thereby displaced from their relaxed positions and apply a return bias or force to the rollers 162, 164 and the tendon cables 156, 158”).
As per Claim 7, Ohm further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a body, wherein the body comprises an arm, wherein the arm comprises the digit (¶ 63—“The robot 5 includes and arm 7 and a robotic grasper or effector 10 according to embodiments of the invention mounted on an end of the arm 7”; ¶ 64—“ The end effector 10 includes a base 20 and four fingers 100, 102, 104 and 106 mounted on the base 20”).
As per Claim 8, Ohm further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a user interface (¶ 92—“A controller associated with the robot 5 can be used to selectively drive the spool 154 in opposed rotational directions R1 and R2”; ¶ 18—“the remote receiver is operative to detect the electrical resistance via the first and second lead wires”).
As per Claim 10, Ohm further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a physical feedback mechanism (¶ 12—“first and second tactile sensors mounted on the first and second phalanxes”).
As per Claim 11, Ohm discloses a digit for robotic movement, the digit comprising:
a first joint and a second joint, the first joint located at a proximal portion of the digit and the second joint located at a distal portion of the digit, the first joint and the second joint mechanically coupled to one another and configured to be driven by a wire (¶ 66—“ a proximal knuckle joint JP, a medial knuckle joint JM, and a distal knuckle joint JD”; ¶ 11—“ a tendon cable associated with the at least one actuator for moving the second phalanx relative to the first phalanx”);
a channel connecting from the first joint to the second joint, the channel configured to house the wire (¶ 194—“ The tendons 156 and 158 extend continuously through the inner and outer combined raceways 125A and 125B”); and
a bearing surface relative to an exterior of the channel, wherein the wire is in contact with the bearing surface when driving the first joint and the second joint (¶ 95—“ The inner tendon cable 156 is routed from the spool 154, over the outside of the guide roller 162, through the raceways 124A, 144A”; ¶ 194—“ the raceways 125A, 125B each constitute a continuous smooth surface);
wherein, in response to the wire driving the first joint and the second joint, the first joint is configured to bend ahead of the second joint (¶ 152—“the finger 100 will bend first at the proximal knuckle joint JP and then at the knuckle joints JM, JD after the finger 100 has reached the limit of the proximal joint JP”; ¶ 153—“This allows the proximal joint JP to act in a simple hinge-like manner such that the proximal joint JP swings through its entire range of motion while the more distal joints JM, JD remain in their neutral positions”).
As per Claim 12, Ohm further discloses wherein the first joint is hyperextended to increase a force when the wire is driving the first joint and the second joint (¶ 135—“the phalanxes 112-116 can bend about the pivot axes PP-PP, PM-PM, PD-PD at the knuckle joints JP, JM, JD in both a closing direction MC and an opening direction MO”; ¶ 194—“even in the finger overload state where the joints JP, JM, JD are stretched apart”).
As per Claim 13, Ohm further discloses wherein the bearing surface is of a cylinder shape (¶ 93—“An inner guide roller 162 and an outer guide roller 164 are mounted on the swingarms”).
As per Claim 14, Ohm discloses a method for providing controlled movement of a robotic appendage, comprising:
receiving a command to control a degree of freedom of a digit, wherein the digit comprises a first joint and a second joint mechanically coupled to one another, with the first joint located at a proximal portion of the digit and the second joint located at a distal portion of the digit (¶ 92—“A controller associated with the robot 5 can be used to selectively drive the spool 154”);
using an actuator to cause the first joint to bend at a first rate from a first position to a second position and the second joint to bend at a second rate from a third position to a fourth position by exerting a force on a wire (¶ 136—“the spool 154 is driven by the actuator 152…the inner tendon cable 156 is wound onto the spool 154”);
wherein in response to the force exerted on the wire, the first joint bends from the first position toward the second position ahead of the second joint bending from the third position toward the fourth position (¶ 152—“the finger 100 will bend first at the proximal knuckle joint JP and then at the knuckle joints JM, JD after the finger 100 has reached the limit of the proximal joint JP”; ¶ 153—“This allows the proximal joint JP to act in a simple hinge-like manner such that the proximal joint JP swings through its entire range of motion while the more distal joints JM, JD remain in their neutral positions”).
As per Claim 15, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a channel configured to house the wire (¶ 194—“inner combined via or raceway 125A (FIG. 11) extending axially continuously the length of the finger 100”).
As per Claim 16, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a bearing surface relative to an exterior of the channel, and wherein the wire is in contact with the bearing surface when a force is exerted on the wire to control the degree of freedom (¶ 95—“over the outside of the guide roller 164, through the raceways 124B, 144B”).
As per Claim 17, Ohm further discloses using one or more return actuators to return the first joint to the first position and return the second joint to the third position (¶ 93—“torsion spring 166 is connected to each of the swingarms 162A and 162B to bias or force the swing arms 162A and 162B into or toward the relaxed positions”).
As per Claim 18, Ohm further discloses using a user interface to control the degree of freedom of the digit (¶ 92—“A controller associated with the robot 5 can be used to selectively drive the spool 154”).
As per Claim 20, Ohm further discloses using a physical feedback mechanism to control the degree of freedom of the digit (¶ 18—“an electrical resistance across the first and second lead wires is a function of the applied force, and the remote receiver is operative to detect the electrical resistance”).
As per Claim 22, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit further comprises a third joint, the third joint configured to not bend when the actuator causes the first joint to bend at the first rate and the second joint to bend at the second rate (¶ 23—“a base; a second knuckle joint coupling the first phalanx and the base”; ¶ 153—“the proximal joint JP swings through its entire range of motion while the more distal joints JM, JD remain in their neutral positions”).
As per Claim 23, Ohm further discloses wherein the third joint is located at a base of the digit (¶ 23—“a base; a second knuckle joint coupling the first phalanx and the base, wherein the second knuckle joint is configured to permit the first phalanx to pivot relative to the base”; ¶ 66—“The finger 100 includes a base member 110A”).
As per Claim 25, Ohm further discloses wherein the digit comprises a body and the channel is located inside the body, and wherein the apparatus further comprises a bearing surface positioned inside the body and extruding into the channel, the bearing surface configured to maintain the wire along a routing inside the body (¶ 72—“each of the phalanxes 110, 112, 114, 116 includes a body 120 and a central bore 122, an inner raceway 124A, and an outer raceway 124B extending axially fully through the body 120”).
As per Claim 26, Ohm further discloses wherein the bearing surface has a curved exterior shaped as at least one of a cylinder, a dowel pin, a rod, a ball bearing, and a taper pin (¶ 93—“An inner guide roller 162 and an outer guide roller 164”).
As per Claim 28, Ohm further discloses wherein the first joint is configured to fully bend from the first position to the second position before the second joint completes bending from the third position to the fourth position (¶ 152—“the finger 100 will bend first at the proximal knuckle joint JP and then at the knuckle joints JM, JD after the finger 100 has reached the limit of the proximal joint JP”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm in view of US 20210072762 A1 (“Kasuya”).
As per Claim 9, Kasuya teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Ohm, including namely wherein the apparatus comprises a gesture recognition mechanism (¶ 20—“detects a motion of a hand (specifically, a finger) of an operator, who performs a remote operation, with the motion detecting device 30, and operates the multi-fingered robot 10 in conjunction with the detected motion of the hand”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohm to include the limitations as taught by Kasuya to provide a motion detecting device which is capable of detecting a motion of an operator's hand for operating a multi-articulated robot with higher accuracy, and which has excellent durability and ease of wearing (Kasuya: ¶ 5).
As per Claim 19, Kasuya teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Ohm, including namely using a gesture recognition mechanism to control the degree of freedom of the digit (¶ 20—“detects a motion of a hand (specifically, a finger) of an operator, who performs a remote operation, with the motion detecting device 30, and operates the multi-fingered robot 10 in conjunction with the detected motion of the hand”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohm to include the limitations as taught by Kasuya to provide a motion detecting device which is capable of detecting a motion of an operator's hand for operating a multi-articulated robot with higher accuracy, and which has excellent durability and ease of wearing (Kasuya: ¶ 5).
Claims 21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm in view of US 9505134 B2 (“Guo”).
As per Claim 21, Guo teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Ohm, including namely wherein the actuator comprises a single actuator coupled to a single wire, the single actuator configured to exert a force on the single wire to simultaneously cause both the first joint to bend at the first rate and the second joint to bend at the second rate (Claim 4—“each tendon is operatively connected to a respective one of the plurality of spindles and the respective fourth phalange at opposite ends, such that rotation of the respective spindle about the axis of rotation, in a first direction, winds the respective tendon about the spindle”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohm to include the limitations as taught by Guo to provide precise control within the different spaces noted above, as well as control over the applied torque or force, motion, and the various grasp types (Guo: Col 1 Lines 49-52).
As per Claim 27, Guo teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Ohm, including namely wherein the wire comprises a single wire, and the digit further comprises a third joint at a base of the digit, the third joint configured to not bend when the single wire drives the first joint and the second joint (Col 2 Lines 3-6—“Each tendon is configured to selectively apply a first torque to the respective fourth phalange to urge the fourth phalange to rotate”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohm to include the limitations as taught by Guo to provide precise control within the different spaces noted above, as well as control over the applied torque or force, motion, and the various grasp types (Guo: Col 1 Lines 49-52).
Claims 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm in view of US 8470051 B2 (“Moyer”).
As per Claim 24, Moyer teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Ohm, including namely an additional actuator configured to control an additional degree of freedom of the digit, wherein the additional actuator is located at a point of motion of the digit and is configured to directly drive the digit (Col 2 Lines 53-54—“ driving a mechanical finger 100 using a single motor”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ohm to include the limitations as taught by Moyer to prevent deviations from the desired motion due to forces at the fingertip, causing buckling, or due to friction in the joints, causing undesirable curling behavior when not conforming (Moyer: Col 1 Lines 45-48).
Conclusion
/Basil T. Jos/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658