DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, 20, 22-23 and 25-26 have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. This office action is non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19, 20, 22-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORRIS (2009/0064229) in view of REISMAN (2015/0135206) and further in view of PECKOVER (9,984,156).
As to claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8, MORRIS discloses recommendation from stochastic analysis and further discloses a method comprising:
In response to launching a television application (IPTV guide or EPG application) on a computing device, displaying, media content recommendations in a first user interface of the television application using a stateful recommendation process based on at least one known preference of a user of the TV application; in response to receiving a request for media content not based on at least one known preference of the user, initiating, by the television application, a stateless recommendation process, the stateless recommendation process (figs.1-5, [0002-0006], [0013-0031] and [0039-0051); IPTV guide or EPG application, recommendations from stochastic analysis, where the choice includes plurality of movies having disparate identifying criteria, such as different categories; where the analysis predicts similarity. Comprising:
generating, the media content suggestions; displaying the media content suggestions in the user interface of the television application; receiving a selection of at least one media content item associated with a respective media content suggestion; and updating, the media content suggestions based on the at least one media content item and in response to receiving an indication redisplaying the media content recommendation in the first user interface of the TV application using the stateful recommendation process ([0002-0006], [0013-0031] and [0039-0051), IPTV guide or EPG application, recommendations from stochastic analysis, where the choice includes plurality of movies having disparate identifying criteria, such as different categories; where the analysis predicts similarity, wherein the updating the media content suggestions adding one or more content items to the media content suggestions include media content items semantically similar to the at least one media content item, wherein the media content suggestions include media content items associated with different genres and wherein updating the media content suggestions adding one or more content items to the media content suggestions that are associated with the at least one genre ([0002-0006], [0013-0031] and [0039-0051), IPTV guide or EPG application, recommendations from stochastic analysis, where the choice includes plurality of movies having disparate identifying criteria, such as different categories; where the analysis predicts similarity; viewer selection of one movie and generating of other choices; subsequent to redisplaying the media content recommendations in the first user interface of the television application using the stateful recommendation process, receiving an indication of a selection of a media content item associated with a respective media content recommendation of the media content recommendations; and playing, by the television application, the media content item on the computing device and wherein receiving the request for the media content suggestions not based on the at least one known preference of the user is based on a mood of the user([0002-0006], [0013-0031] and [0039-0051), IPTV guide or EPG application, recommendations from stochastic analysis, where the choice includes plurality of movies having disparate identifying criteria, such as different categories; where the analysis predicts similarity; viewer selection of one movie and generating of other choices
MORRIS discloses recommendations from stochastic analysis, where the choice includes plurality of movies having disparate identifying criteria, such as different categories; where the analysis predicts similarity, BUT appears silent in response to receiving an indication to end the stateless recommendation process, the terminating (comprising not storing any selections) deleting of media content items received by the stateless recommendation process on the computing device; and redisplaying the media content recommendations in the first user interface of the television application using the stateful recommendation process, receiving an indication of a selection of a media content item associated with a respective media content recommendation of the media content recommendations; and playing, by the television application, the media content item on the computing device and wherein receiving the request for media content suggestions not based on the at least one known preference of the user is based on a mood of the user.
However, in the same field of endeavor, REISMAN discloses stateless recommendation system and further discloses terminating, by the television application, the stateless recommendation process, the terminating comprising not storing any selections received by the stateless recommendation process; subsequent to terminating the stateless recommendation process, redisplaying the media content recommendations in the user interface of the television application; receiving an indication of a selection of a media content item associated with a respective media content recommendation of the media content recommendations; and playing, by the television application, the media content item on the computing device and wherein receiving the request for media content suggestions not based on the at least one known preference of the user is based on a mood of the user (figs.1-10, Abstract, [0129-0132], [0208-0210] and [0371-0379].
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of REISMAN into the system of MORRIS to terminating the result for efficiently processing of the stateless recommendation and further generate recommendation based on the mood of the user accordingly.
MORRIS as modified by REISMAN terminates the recommendation process, delete content items and redisplays content items, BUT appear silent as to in response to receiving and indication to end a stateless recommendation process and where the terminating comprising not storing any selections
However, in the same field of endeavor, PECKOVER discloses systems and method for electronically searching for an item and further discloses where to in response to receiving and indication to end a stateless recommendation process and where the terminating comprising not storing any selections (figs.1-33, Abstract, Col.12, line 63-Col.13, line 58, Col.15, lines 9-52 and Col.20, lines 1-64). search result is halted after a specific number of matches have been found.
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of PECKOVER into the system of MORRIS as modified by REISMAN to efficiently manage the device storage.
As to claims 9, 11-13 and 16-17, the claimed “A non-transitory…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8.
As to claims 17, 19-20 and 22-23 the claimed “A system comprising…” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to 1, 3-5 and 7-8.
As to claims 25-26, MORRIS as modified above, appear silent as to displaying the updated media content suggestions in a third user interface of the television application, the third user interface including a row of recommended media content items of the updated media content suggestions and wherein updating the media content suggestions based on the at least one media content item is responsive to receiving a selection of a continue button included in the second user interface; and wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor further cause the system to display the updated media content suggestions in a third user interface of the television application, the third user interface including a row of recommended media content items of the updated media content suggestions
However, in the same field of endeavor, REISMAN discloses further discloses displaying the updated media content suggestions in a third user interface of the television application, the third user interface including a row of recommended media content items of the updated media content suggestions and wherein updating the media content suggestions based on the at least one media content item is responsive to receiving a selection of a continue button included in the second user interface; and wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor further cause the system to display the updated media content suggestions in a third user interface of the television application, the third user interface including a row of recommended media content items of the updated media content suggestions (figs.1+, [0575-0578] and [0811-0815]), updates or result are displayed in one or more screens of the displayed interface.
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of REISMAN into the system of MORRIS as modified to provide additional enhancement to the display interface as desired.
Conclusion
/ANNAN Q SHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN SHANG