DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits: This application is a CON of 18/202,147 filed 05/25/2023 now PAT 12082102, 18/202,147 is a CON 17/360,087 filed 06/28/2021 now PAT 11706705, 17/360,087 has PRO 63/044,437 filed 06/26/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/14/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-19 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 11, 706, 705 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-19 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-19 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-19 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18805172
Patent 11,706,705
1. A method, comprising: sending, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; sending, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
1. A method comprising: sending, by an access and mobility management function (AMF) to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; sending, by the AMF to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receiving, by the AMF from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and in response to the PDU session establishment request, sending, by the AMF to a session management function (SMF), a create session management context request message comprising a header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request is based on the wireless device being associated with the MPS configuration.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the create session management context request message is based on the wireless device being associated with the MPS configuration.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
11. An access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising: one or more processors; and memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AMF to: send, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; send, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receive, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and send, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
11. An access and mobility management function (AMF) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AMF to: send, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; send, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receive, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and in response to the PDU session establishment request, send, to a session management function (SMF), a create session management context request message comprising a header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
13. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
12. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
14. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
13. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
15. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
15. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
16. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
16. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
17. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
17. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the AMF to send, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
18. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
18. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the AMF to send, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
19. The AMF of claim 18, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
19. The AMF of claim 18, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-19 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-19 of 11, 706, 705.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA).
Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusively beyond the term of a patent.
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-19 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 12, 082, 102 (hereinafter refers as B).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1-9 and 13-19 of the B Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18805172
Patent 12,082,102
1. A method, comprising: sending, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; sending, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
1. A method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless device from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; receiving, by the wireless device from the AMF, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; and sending, by the wireless device to the AMF, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request after receiving the parameter for the MPS configuration of the wireless device, wherein a create session management context request message is generated in response to the PDU session establishment request, wherein the session management context request message comprises a header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request is based on the wireless device being associated with the MPS configuration.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein sending the PDU session establishment request is configured to trigger the AMF to send the create session management context request message based on the wireless device being associated with the MPS configuration.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the wireless device from the AMF, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the wireless device from the AMF, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
11. An access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising: one or more processors; and memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AMF to: send, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; send, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receive, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and send, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
11. An access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising: one or more processors; and memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AMF to: send, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device; send, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device; receive, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and send, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
13. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
13. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control.
14. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
14. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS.
15. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
15. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters.
16. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
16. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice.
17. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
17. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
18. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
18. The AMF of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the AMF to be configured to send, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS.
19. The AMF of claim 18, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
19. The AMF of claim 18, wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1-9 and 13-19 of 12, 082, 102.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA).
Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusively beyond the term of a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in lines 4-5, “sending, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device” - (step A), and in lines 6-10, “receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.” – (step B). In view of step A, sending … a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device, it is unclear the relationship with step B. Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claims 11 and 20 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are also rejected since they are dependent on the respective independent claims 1 and 11, respectively as set forth above.
Claim 1 recites, “A method, comprising: sending, to a wireless device ...”. It is recommended to add the equipment/hardware/device/apparatus that is performing the method.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0267554) and further in view of Sedlacek et al (PCT/IB2020/051342, and further published as US Pub. No.:2022/0151004).
As per claim 1, Faccin disclose A method comprising:
sending, to a wireless device, a registration accept message comprising one or more configuration parameters of the wireless device (see para. 0047, the AMF initiate the SSSA procedure for the verified network slices that are determined to require SSSA, and inform /sending, the UE that the request is pending secondary authentication (e.g., by sending a N2 message that includes Registration Accept and Pending Slice-Specific Secondary Authentication data fields {one or more configuration parameters}, see also Fig.3, para. 0171-0174, in operation 21, the new AMF may generate and send an N2 message that includes a Registration Accept and a Pending Slice-Specific Secondary Authentication information element to the UE. The N2 message may also include an Allowed NSSAI element that contains only S-NSSAIs that do not require, based on subscription information, Slice-Specific Secondary Authentication);
sending, to the wireless device, a wireless device configuration update command comprising a parameter for a multimedia priority service (MPS) configuration of the wireless device (see para. 0174-0177, 0190, the Emergency Service Support indicator informs,sending, the UE that emergency services are supported, i.e. the UE is allowed to request PDU Session for emergency services. If the AMF received “MPS priority” from the UDM as part of Access and Mobility Subscription data, based on operator policy, “MPS priority” is included in the Registration Accept message to the UE to inform the UE whether configuration of Access Identity 1 is valid within the selected PLMN. If the AMF received “MCX priority” from the UDM as part of Access and Mobility Subscription data, based on operator policy and UE subscription to MCX Services, “MCX priority” may be included in the Registration Accept message to the UE to inform the UE whether configuration of Access Identity 2 is valid within the selected PLMN. The AMF sets the Interworking without N26 parameter); and
receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request (see para. 0177, 0182- 0185, the Emergency Service Support indicator informs the UE that emergency services are supported, i.e. the UE is allowed to request PDU Session for emergency services, and when the List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated is not included in the Registration Request and the Registration procedure was not initiated in CM-CONNECTED state, the AMF releases the signaling connection with the UE. When the Follow-on request is included in the Registration Request, the AMF should not release the signaling connection after the completion of the Registration procedure. If the AMF is aware that some signaling is pending in the AMF or between the UE and the 5GC, the AMF should not release the signaling connection immediately after the completion of the Registration procedure).
Although it is obvious the wireless device sends to the AMF (AMF receiving) a request PDU Session for emergency services (interpreted as a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request);
Faccin however does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device.
Sedlacek however disclose receiving, from a wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request (see Table 1, Item 1, a UE sending a PDU Session Establishment Request to an AMF) and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving a PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request (see Table 1, item 1, item 3, item 5 and 6, when the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU Session ID provided by the UE (e.g. when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request, the AMF sends the S-NSSAI from the Allowed NSSAI to the SMF) and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device (see Table 1, item 1, item 3, item 5 and 6, when the Establishment cause received as part of AN parameters during the Registration procedure or Service Request procedure is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF includes a Message Priority header to indicate priority information of the wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of receiving, from the wireless device, a packet data unit (PDU) session establishment request; and sending, to a session management function (SMF) after receiving the PDU session establishment request, a Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request and a message priority header indicating priority information of the wireless device, as taught by Sedlacek, in the system of Faccin, so as to enable a UE during an initial registration procedure, an AMF retrieves an indication of whether the LADN feature is authorized to be used by a subscriber UE. Later, if there is any changes regarding the UE configured LADN DNN(s), the UE may indicate the update or newly configured LADN DNN(s) to AMF by using a registration procedure, see Sedlacek, paragraphs 0002 and 0009.
As per claim 2, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Sedlacek further disclose sending, to the SMF, the message priority header when a parameter received during a registration procedure or a service request procedure is associated with priority services (see Table 1, item 1, item 3, item 5 and 6, when the Establishment cause received as part of AN parameters during the Registration procedure or Service Request procedure is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF includes a Message Priority header to indicate priority information of the wireless device).
As per claim 3, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Sedlacek further wherein the priority information indicates that signaling associated with the wireless device is exempt from non-access stratum (NAS) level congestion control (see page 3, Table 1, paragraph 2, when the Establishment cause received as part of AN parameters during the Registration procedure or Service Request procedure is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF includes a Message Priority header to indicate priority information. The SMF uses the Message Priority header to determine if the UE request is subject to exemption from NAS level congestion control).
As per claim 4, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Sedlacek further disclose wherein the PDU session establishment request indicates that the session is for MPS (see Table 1, UE indicates whether an explicitly subscribed DNN in its PDU Session Establishment Request and the Establishment cause received as part of AN parameters during the Registration procedure or Service Request procedure is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS) / indicates that the session is for MPS).
As per claim 5, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Faccin further disclose wherein sending the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request is based on the wireless device being associated with the MPS configuration (see Table 1, item 1, item 3, item 5 and 6, when the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU Session ID provided by the UE (e.g. when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request, the AMF sends the S-NSSAI from the Allowed NSSAI to the SMF, see also para. 0125, when the Registration type indicated by the UE is Periodic Registration Update, then operations 4 to 19 may be omitted. When the Establishment cause is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF includes a Message Priority header to indicate priority information).
As per claim 6, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Faccin further disclose wherein the wireless device configuration update command updates the one or more configuration parameters (see para. 0051, upon performing SSSA for all S-NSSAIs requiring it, a network server (e.g., AMF) performs a UE Configuration Update Procedure and send to the UE a new Allowed NSSAI (adding the S-NSSAIs for which SSSA succeeded)).
As per claim 7, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Faccin further disclose wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise one or more of: a data network name (DNN); and a slice identifier of a network slice (see para. 0051, upon performing SSSA for all S-NSSAIs requiring it, a network server (e.g., AMF) performs a UE Configuration Update Procedure and send to the UE a new Allowed NSSAI (adding the S-NSSAIs for which SSSA succeeded)).
As per claim 9, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
Faccin further disclose sending, to the wireless device, a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) comprising one or more of: a data network name (DNN) that supports the MPS; and a slice identifier of a slice that supports the MPS (see Table 1, Fig.3, Fig.4, para. 0059, the UE has NSSP in the URSP, and the UE processor uses the NSSP in the URSP to ensure that the S-NSSAIs included in the Requested NSSAI are not in conflict with the NSSP in the URSP, see also para. 0125, when the Establishment cause is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF may include a Message Priority header to indicate priority information. Other NFs may relay the priority information by including the Message Priority header in service-based interfaces, see para. 0134-0135, when the UDSF was queried in operation 4, the UDSF responds to the new AMF for the Nudsf_Unstructured Data Management_Query invocation with the related contexts including established PDU Sessions, the old AMF includes SMF information DNN, S-NSSAI(s) and PDU Session ID, active NGAP UE-TNLA bindings to N3IWF, the old AMF includes information about the NGAP UE-TNLA bindings. If the Old AMF was queried in operation 4, Old AMF responds to the new AMF for the Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer invocation by including the UE's SUPI and UE Context and when old AMF holds information about established PDU Session(s), the old AMF includes SMF information, DNN(s), S-NSSAI(s) and PDU Session ID(s)).
As per claim 10, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 9.
Faccin further disclose wherein the URSP comprises a traffic descriptor associated with one or more of: an MPS-unique identifier; and an MPS code (see Fig.3, Fig.4, para. 0125, when the Establishment cause is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), the AMF include a Message Priority header to indicate priority information / an MPS code, see also para. 0158, 0177).
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Faccin also disclose A wireless device (see Fig.1, Fig.3, a user equipment device 120) comprising :one or more processors (see Fig.1, Fig.2, para, 0097-0101, the first SOC 202 includes a digital signal processor (DSP) 210,); and memory (see Fig.2, memory 220) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see para. 0099-0101, the first SOC 202 include a processor that executes a first type of operating system (e.g., FreeBSD, LINUX, OS X, etc.)).
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 9.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al (US Pub. No.:2020/0267554), and further in view of Sedlacek et al (PCT/IB2020/051342, and further published as US Pub. No.:2022/0151004) and further in view of Shan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0174449).
As per claim 8, the combination of Faccin and Sedlacek disclose the method of claim 1.
The combination of Faccin and Sedlacek however does not explicitly disclose sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS.
Shan however disclose sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS (see para. 0135-0138, the Emergency Service Support indicator informs the UE 301 that emergency services are supported (e.g., the UE 301 is allowed to request PDU Session for emergency services). If the AMF 321 received “MPS priority” from the UDM 327 as part of Access and Mobility Subscription data, based on operator policy, “MPS priority” is included in the Registration Accept message to the UE 301 to inform the UE 301 whether configuration of Access Identity 1 is valid within the selected PLMN. Also, at operation 421, the new AMF 321 sends, to the UE 301, a Registration Accept message including 5G-GUTI, Registration Area, Mobility restrictions, PDU Session status, Allowed NSSAI, Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI, Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN, Mapping Of Configured NSSAI, rejected S-NSSAIs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of sending, to the wireless device, a connection capability indication indicating network support for a connection of the wireless device for the MPS, as taught by Shan, in the system of Faccin and Sedlacek, so as to enable a UE during an initial registration procedure, an AMF retrieves an indication of whether the LADN feature is authorized to be used by a subscriber UE. Later, if there is any changes regarding the UE configured LADN DNN(s), the UE may indicate the update or newly configured LADN DNN(s) to AMF by using a registration procedure, see Shan, paragraphs 0003 and 0014.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with (see section 7). See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
So (US Pub. No.:2020/0260401) – see para. 0031, “The Registration type indicates if the UE wants to perform an Initial Registration (i.e. the UE is in RM-DEREGISTERED state), a Mobility Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to mobility or due to the UE needs to update its capabilities or protocol parameters, or to request a change of the set of network slices it is allowed to use), a Periodic Registration Update (i.e. the UE is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a Registration procedure due to the Periodic Registration Update timer expiry, see clause 4.2.2.2.1) or an Emergency Registration (i.e. the UE is in limited service state)”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469